BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2006

The Wisdom Companies, LLC

(310) 937-8686909 N Sepulveda Blvd #210, El SegundoCA 90245-2734View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/22/2006

BBB has determined that The Wisdom Companies, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Wisdom Companies, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company will not stop spam mailing me.
I have sent emails to this company to remove me from this email list and they do not listen. I receive 4-5 spam mails a day from this company using my former address to a house I lost to foreclosure 3 years ago. Its really upsetting to me to remind me of that everyday with there Harp Advertisement. This is the email they send.

michael *****, A massive quantity of homeowners appear to be disregarding Obamas refi-guidance... how come? He previously declared, all householders who do one miniature trick, may have the capacity to save huge. Why aren't you doing this trick? Find out the trick. It has a hiper link to the BBB
with this company name

Desired Settlement
I want them to remove my email ********* from there list. I am also considering to forwarding the email to the President to see how he feels about companies that advertise with his picture.

Business Response
We called and spoke with Mr. *****. We went ahead and removed him from our internal marketing list. We explained that we did not send the specific email that he received, however we'd be happy to try to help him track down the sender. Mr. ***** is going to send over the original email and we will research if that email was sent by one of our marketing partners. Feel free to contact us with any further questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

i went here because they were hiring for a job and you have to fill out a form when you first go on this site. one of the questions asks do you want to further your education. my answer was no and then 5 minutes after i filled out the application people were calling me about furthering my education. now i have alot of calls about this.

Desired Settlement
i want this information removed and i DO NOT want these people calling me. now all the education people are calling my house and i want it stopped immediately.

Business Response
Thanks for allowing us the opportunity to respond to this complaint. For some reason I missed it when it was initially filed.

I've personally reviewed the information supplied by Ms. *******. As she mentioned, she visited our job listing site, to search for employment in her area. During the signup process, we asked if she was interested in furthering her education. She clicked the "Yes" button and as a result was connected to several educational opportunities in her area.

I understand that she may have not remembered (or even possibly made a mistake) clicking the button, but I can say with extreme confidence that she did in fact opt in to the service. I have pulled the record from, an independent 3rd party verification service and they validate that she did opt in to receive more information on educational opportunities.

Nevertheless, I have deleted her from all of our databases and lists and asked our partners to do the same. She should not receive any further calls and I regret if it has caused her any issues.

Please let me know if you have any questions or would like to discuss the issue further. Thank you for the opportunity to answer the complaint.

02/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I did not get the product I paid for. I paid for interested mortgage inquiries. What I got was random garbage. Most were bait and switch/w zero int.
I put $1000 in my account in June 2013. I was to get about 150 leads. After I got to leads 103, I noticed the quality was just trash. They may as well have just mailed me a telephone book and said those were my paid for "leads". It is a shame because I had used this company in the past with some success, but it is clear they are just baiting people into filling out the forms with deceptive advertising (which we fielded tons of complaints about).

This was not what I paid for. SO I want a refund. I currently have over $300 still in the account which I had asked to be sent back with no reply. But that is not sufficient, companies need to be held responsible for the product they sell. The mortgage lead companies have become shadier and shadier as time goes on.

I want a full refund of my $1000 deposit as I without a doubt did not get what I paid for.

I wanted the leads to be quality so I could buy MORE. I wanted to spend more money with this company. And if the leads were just average I would have. But out of the last 103 leads I received before pausing the campaign, not ONE person was interested in a mortgage loan. Not One. And the vast majority we reached complained about the misleading form.

Desired Settlement
I want my $1000 deposit refunded ASAP.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
We refunded this consumer the remaining $342.39 balance left in his account. We've done business with this consumer for several years, and our approach and marketing techniques have not changed. If he's had success with us in the past, we're confident he can moving forward. We've reached out to him and will be happy to discuss his account and how we can work with him again in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I wanted a full refund as the "leads" were that bad. And things without question did change. I have bought leads in the past from them and did ok with them for a time period, but quality dropped back then so I stopped buying for over a year. I agreed to try again and the quality was even worse.

I will try and reach ** ******** and will update this once I do.

Thank you.

08/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

No way to opt out of their constant junk emails and they claim on their website to be a member of the BBB though your site doesn't recognize them as a member

Desired Settlement
Get them to stop sending me emails and claiming to be a member of the BBB

Business Response
I called *** **** on 7/21/14 and explained to him that we are in fact members of the BBB and we did not send him the email. I asked him to send me any emails that he thinks may have been from our company and I will be happy to research them to help him find the advertiser or sender. He is going to monitor his inbox and forward me any emails that he thinks may be from The Wisdom Companies.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Marketing Programs & Services

Additional Information

Business started: 05/16/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mark McKendry (Founder/Partner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Marketing Programs & Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Wisdom Companies, LLC

909 N Sepulveda Blvd #210

El Segundo, CA 90245-2734

To | From


1 Locations

  • 909 N Sepulveda Blvd #210 

    El Segundo, CA 90245-2734

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Wisdom Companies, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Marketing Programs & Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.