BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mailers Haven, LLC

(661) 678-1885View Additional Phone Numbers27819 Smyth Dr, ValenciaCA 91355-4011http://www.mailershaven.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Mailers Haven, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mailers Haven, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mailers Haven, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company sells my address to other companies and refuses to remove
As the email trail below indicates, Mailers Haven sells my address to other people. I tracked them down through a coupon vendor who told me that they simple pass *** name through from the list they get from Mailers Haven.

Mailers Haven, who sells the list, claims I need to go through Direct Marketing Association (DMA). I am on the DMA DO-NOT-MAIL-LIST and never receive mail from a DMA member.

When I asked again, I was promptly denied. I kindly ask the business again to please not sell my information to other companies.



On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 10:15 AM, Shirley Lysse <*******@mailershaven.com> wrote:
I have given you all the information I can. I have nothing else to give you.

On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 10:07 AM, ******** **** <*********@hyuan.com> wrote:
You are one of the very few companies I've had this problem with. I'm sorry but you sell the list, I'm asking you to remove my name and it's not a DMA problem because you're the only person I've ever heard make this claim.

Please stop selling my information

Han ****

On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 08:51, Shirley Lysse <*******@mailershaven.com> wrote:
Re-register at the dma do not mail and make sure the registration information matches the mail piece exactly. My boss said you should do this. That is all the information I have for you.

On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 8:23 AM, ******** **** <*********@hyuan.com> wrote:
I guess I don't understand since you sell the list to other people. I'm very disappointed.

But it's clear you cannot help me so I **** have to seek out more aggressive options like contact the better business bureau.

Han ****

On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 08:22, Shirley Lysse <*******@mailershaven.com> wrote:
I am sorry we have no way of taking your name off. We do not complie the list.

On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 8:20 AM, ******** **** <*********@hyuan.com> wrote:
I was on the DMA and you mailed me anyway. Please help if you can.

Han ****

On Mon, Feb 22, 2016 at 08:00, Shirley Lysse <*******@mailershaven.com> wrote:
Please refer to DMA (DIrect Mail Association) XXX-XXX-XXXX

On Sun, Feb 21, 2016 at 10:42 PM, ******** **** <*********@hyuan.com> wrote:
Hi, I recently received a solution from a business who claims you sold them my name.

I would really like to be removed as I prefer to help the environment and I generally ignore paper mail anyway (except to write to people like you to complain).

My address to be removed is:

803 Wilmington Terrace
Sunnyvale, CA XXXXX

I would really appreciate it if you could help me so this does not continue and hopefully it should save you some money as well. Please see below for more information regarding this.

Thank you very much,


Han ****

Forwarded message
From: Piere <*****@bestvaluecoupon.com>
Date: Sun, Feb 21, 2016 at 9:45 PM
Subject: Fwd: Please remove me from me your mailing list
To: *********@hyuan.com <*********@hyuan.com>
Hi,

Thanks for contacting me, As a small business owner in direct marketing, we purchase the 90K mailing list we mail from Mailers Haven.
Millions of addresses are in the data bases, the best thing to do probably is to contact them & ask them to remove your address if possible.

Sincerely. Piere

Mailers Haven
Ph. XXX-XXX-XXXX




From: ******** **** <*********@hyuan.com>


To: *****@yahoo.com
Sent: Sunday, February 21, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: Please remove me from me your mailing list

Hi, I recently received a solution from your business and I would really like to be removed as I prefer to help the environment and I generally ignore paper mail anyway (except to write to people like you to complain).

My address to be removed is:

803 Wilmington Terrace
Sunnyvale, CA XXXXX

I would really appreciate it if you could help me so this does not continue and hopefully it should save you some money as well.

Thank you very much,

Han








Shirley Lysse: Reception
*******@mailershaven.com

Mailers Haven: The Highest Quality, Most Responsive Mailing Lists... GUARANTEED!

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop selling my information to other parties.

Business Response
As we explain to any consumers that ask, Mailers Haven does not compile any mailing address information. We do have customers that request Mailing Lists, but we simply purchase them from one of many compilers in the U.S. We have no ability to add or remove people from an advertising campaign.

I don't know of ********'s specific case, but our employees are directed to tell people the following: "all vendors we use comply with DMA practices. This means they remove all names that have been placed on the DMA Do Not Mail list. To remove herself from these lists, all she needs to do is go to:www.dmachoice.org and sign up to be part of the Do Not Mail list." If she does that, this will greatly limit the amount of direct mail she gets. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This does not make sense. First, I have been on the DMA list for years. This is the first time I have ever seen anyone make these claims. I generally do not get solicitations. I traced all my solicitations back to this company.

Second, if you get the list, you have a chance to clean the list up before you resell. I want my information removed from the distribution. If the business does not comply, they have not satisfied my request.

Final Business Response
We're not the compiler, but I will notify Acxiom who was the company we purchased the data from and ask them to take your name off their list immediately. I still recommend the customer gets on the DMA Do No Mail list as their are many compilers. We are just a small broker and can't stop all the mail from coming to them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
First, I have to flag this. I have repeatedly said I am on the DMA list and I have been for many years. If my rights are not being respected, you have a problem upstream. Regardless of how you got my name, I expect from you as a company to respect my requests.

Until this last note, you have not offered anything helpful by way of solution. I am glad you have finally acknowledged the issue and offered something in the way of a positive development. If my name is not removed and I continue to receive mailings from people who buy the list from you, I will reopen this case and continue to do so until you stop selling my information.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Marketing Programs & Services

Additional Information

top
Business started: 08/16/2004
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Marketing Programs & Services

Alternate Business Names
Mailers Haven

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mailers Haven, LLC

27819 Smyth Dr

Valencia, CA 91355-4011

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 27819 Smyth Dr 

    Valencia, CA 91355-4011(800) 557-5487
    (661) 678-1885

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mailers Haven, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 557-5487
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.directmailquotes.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Marketing Programs & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.