BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/11/1989

Guthy-Renker Corporation (Headquarters)

Phone: (888) 651-6602

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

298 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 140 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues25
Billing / Collection Issues159
Delivery Issues5
Problems with Product / Service109
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints298

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (298)BBB Closure Definitions
12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order with Meaningful Beauty, ***** Renker, to try their product for $29.00. They also advertised a trial of vitamin, which I agreed to try. The following month I received additional products in the mail along with more vitamins and charges to my credit card for both. I did not agree to a monthly prescription nor did I place a second order. I paid for the first two shipments and called each company, separately, although owned by the same Primary. I informed them that I did not wish to have any future shipments and to close both accounts. I did not received any further products. However, I did receive additional bills. Upon calling the service line again, I was informed that products were mailed. They agreed on two different occasions to send a form to sign, stating that I did not receive the products. The form never came but threats with collection continued. They somehow switch my address to my office and started sending bills there. I called again and was informed that it was resolved. As of October 13, I still have a collection notice. I first ordered the products in February. I logged on to my old account and it says another shipment is scheduled for 11/18/14. They no longer have my credit card as it has been canceled. I am concerned about the false reports hitting my credit report.
Product_Or_Service: Meaningful Beauty Started Set
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like for all accounts with this company to be closed that are in my name. If they have falsely reported non payment to any agency, I request that they issue a statement retracting the information, immediately.

Business Response
Ms. Andela ***********
172 Butler Lake Dr
Saint Simons Island, GA XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 11/19/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXXXXXXXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear Ms. ***********,

Thank you for contacting ***** Renker through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

Our records reflect that you enrolled online for automatic shipments of Meaningful Beauty(r) on November 4, 2013. As part of the initial purchase, customers are enrolled in the Meaningful Beauty(r) member program and are informed they **** receive automatic shipments until they contact customer service to cancel or make changes to their membership. This information is clearly stated on the order page of our website. The products are also shipped with information reiterating the terms and benefits of membership.

In addition, after a review of your account,we show that at the time you placed your initial Meaningful Beauty(r) order, you were offered one complimentary 30-day supply of our Meaningful Beauty(r)WellnessTM Vitamins. Terms of that offer stated: "After your introductory FREE month, you'll receive a new 90-day supply of supplements replenished every three months and you'll pay only $29.95 plus $2.99 shipping and handling per month. There is no minimum to buy, and you may cancel at any time."

Per the terms of the Meaningful Beauty(r) offer, on February 25, 2014 your third Meaningful Beauty(r) shipment, a 90-day replenishment supply, was sent for a total of $168.00 to be charged in three installments over three 28-day billing cycles. The first payment of $56.00 was charged at the time of shipping. Tthe second payment of $56.00 was charged on March 25, 2014. On April 22, 2014 we attempted to charge the third and final payment of $56.00 for your third Meaningful Beauty(r) shipment. However, the form of payment on file was not accepted and the balance of $56.00 remained.

Per the terms of the Meaningful Beauty(r) WellnessTM offer, on March 7, 2014 your second Meaningful Beauty(r) WellnessTMVitamins shipment, a 90-day replenishment supply, was sent for a total of $98.82 ($8.97 s&h) to be charged in three installments over three 28-day billing cycles. The first payment of $32.94 (included $2.99 s&h) was charged at the time of shipping, leaving a remaining balance of $65.88.

On March 21, 2014 you spoke with Customer Service and your Meaningful Beauty Wellness(r) VitaminsTMaccount was cancelled. However, orders that are shipped prior to cancelation **** continue to **** until paid in full or are returned for credit.

On June 6, 2014 you spoke with our Customer Service and you stated that you did not receive your second Meaningful Beauty(r) WellnessTM Vitamins shipment. As a courtesy, a refund was issued in the amount of $23.97 and a credit was applied in order to clear the remaining account balance of $59.90. This transaction left a remaining balance of $9.98 (s&h), which was charged to the form of payment on file. This payment brought your remaining Meaningful Beauty Wellness(r) Vitamins account balance to $0.00.

As a gesture of goodwill and in an effort to fully resolve this matter, we have cancelled your Meaningful Beauty(r) account and have cleared the remaining account balance of $56.00 for your third Meaningful Beauty(r) shipment.

Rest assured, your Meaningful Beauty(r) and Meaningful Beauty Wellness(r) Vitamins accounts are closed with no further balances owed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed. In addition, no information regarding the previous balance for your third Meaningful Beauty(r) shipment has been reported to any credit reporting agencies.

Sincerely,


********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I HAVE HAD PLENTY OF ISSUES NOT BEING ABLE TO CONTACT WEN AND THEN WHEN I FINALLY SPOKE TO A CSR THEY WERE VERY RUDE AND IN A HURRY TO HANG UP WITH ME. I HAD TO ASK SEVERAL TIMES SO SHE WOULD PROVIDE ME WITH THE INFORMATION I WAS ASKING FOR. I ALSO FOR THE LAST 3 SHIPMENTS HAVE NOT RECEIVED THE PRODUCT YET THEY STILL CHARGED MY CHECKING ACCOUNT EVERY MONTH AND EVEN SOMETIMES TWICE A MONTH. THE CSR DID NOT WANT TO EVEN HEAR ME AND KEPT INTERRUPTING ME CONSTANTLY. SHE FINALLY GAVE ME A CANCELLATION # AFTER I ASKED NUMEROUS TIMES. SHE FINALLY SAID THIS IS ALL AND HUNG UP ON ME. THE PRODUCT IS NOT AT ALL LIKE ADVERTISED EITHER.

Desired Settlement
REFUND FOR NOT RECEIVING PRODUCTS A TOTAL OF $167.88 I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS COMPANY.

Business Response
*** **** ******
***** ****** *** **
******* ** XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 10/30/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear *** ******,

Thank you for contacting ***** Renker through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

We apologize if you were treated less than professionally by any member of our staff. Rest assured, your customer service experience has been reviewed and **** be used to improve our service going forward.

On July 16, 2014 your fifth WEN(r) shipment, an extra-large supply, was sent for a total of $98.84 to be billed in three installments over three 28-day billing cycles. The first payment of $38.94 (included $8.99 s&h) was charged at the time of shipping. UPS tracking number ****************** shows this shipment was delivered on July 22, 2014. We have no record of notification within the 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee that this shipment was not received.

On August 13 and September 10, 2014 the second and third payments were processed in the amount of $29.95 each.

On October 10, 2014 your sixth WEN(r) shipment, an extra-large supply, was sent for a total of $98.84 to be billed in three installments over three 28-day billing cycles. The first payment of $38.94 (included $8.99 s&h) was charged at the time of shipping. UPS tracking number ****************** shows this shipment was delivered on October 17, 2014.

On October 22, 2014 you called to inform us that that you had not received your sixth shipment. At that time our representative sent you an affidavit, which is a legal document used to issue credit for shipments never received.

However, as a gesture of goodwill and in an effort to resolve this matter, I have issued refunds totaling $38.94 and cleared the remaining account balance of $59.90 for your sixth shipment. Please allow 3-5 business days for these credits to post. There is no need to return the affidavit once you receive it.

Your WEN(r) account is now closed with no further balance owed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

11/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had tried numerous times to totally cancel with this company. I have spent hours (in total) on the telephone trying to accomplish this. I would receive another shipment of their product and call again. Finally I had no alternative but to go through my bank and have them stop letting them withdraw any money from my account. Then they started billing me. I have written back on their bill (twice) that I didn't have any of their product, that I had refused delivery but they just keep sending their bills saying they haven't heard from me. I am so frustrated. Please get them to stop.
Product_Or_Service: hair care
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Please get them to stop sending bills, product, etc. Just get out of my life.

Business Response
*** ********* ********
** *** ****
********* ** XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 10/31/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear *** ********,

Thank you for contacting ***** Renker through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

Our records reflect that you enrolled online for automatic shipments of WEN(r) Healthy Hair Care System on December 18, 2014. We regret we have no record of a cancelation request prior to August 8, 2014.

On July 17, 2014 your fourth shipment, an extra-large supply, was sent and invoiced for a total of $79.84 (included $7.99 s&h) for which payment was never received.

On August 8, 2014, per your request, your account was canceled; however, orders that are shipped prior to cancelation continue to **** until paid in full or are returned for credit. To date we have no record of that fourth shipment being returned for credit.

On October 16, 2014 a courtesy credit of $71.85 was applied to the balance for your fourth shipment, leaving a remaining balance of $7.99. Per the terms of our 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee, the $7.99 s&h was not cleared.

However, in an effort to fully resolve this matter, I have cleared the remaining account balance of $7.99 for your fourth shipment. Please allow 3-5 business days for this credit to post.

Your WEN(r) account is now closed with no further balance owed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

11/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a product called XOut back in April for my daughter. When I ordered, I specifically stated that I did not want a monthly plan, I just wanted to try the product. This was fine until the end of July when I received another shipment! I thought it was strange, so I set it aside with plans to call and inquire why, since I did not order that package. I knew I had at least 30 days to cancel, so I waited, and of course, forgot about it. Then, two weeks later, I received another shipment! I called on August 10 and asked why I received this. I was told that I had a plan with them. I didn't. I told the woman to cancel the plan and I would send back all the products. I sent them on August 11. Just tonight, I received a notice for a delinquent balance of $45.88 a "notice of pending bad debt". I immediately called the 800 number and explained to them what I wrote here. The man said that a shipment was sent in May!! I did not get one. I got it in July and August!! He said that I was past the 60 day plan and there was nothing he could do. He then asked if he could place me on hold to get someone higher up, but he thought there was nothing he could do either. I said that I sent the products backwhich they claim to never have received, and now I owe $45.88. I told him I was not paying for product I did not want. Especially since I did not even have it anymore! I am just so angry at this. He also claims that they sent me 6 notices!!!! I only received the one I am writing about here. I do not know how this company operates, but I need this resolved. I pay what I am supposed to and am appalled at the fact that they expect me to pay for a product that I jo longer have because I sent it back to the company!
Product_Or_Service: Xout
Account_Number: XX-XXX-XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to not be required to pay for the product that I did not want any more of and one that I sent two shipments of back!

Business Response
*** ********* *****
** ******** **
******* ****** ** XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 10/31/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for contacting ***** Renker through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

We make every effort to be forthcoming regarding our promotions and offers for X Out(r) via the website, TV infomercials, inbound sales phone line, print materials, product packaging and billing. The information regarding the terms of the online offer and the continuity program are provided in the shopping cart in bold font prior to any personal information being entered. Before customers may finalize their purchase they must check a box that states they agree to the terms of the purchase. The products are also shipped with information reiterating the terms and benefits of membership.

More specifically, the online offer stated quote: "Approximately 30 days after your first order is shipped, and then approximately every 3 months thereafter, you **** be sent a new 90 day supply of X Out(r). You **** receive the guaranteed price of $29.95 plus $3.99 shipping and handling per month, which **** conveniently be charged to the card you provide today at the time of each shipment unless you call to cancel. There is no commitment and no minimum to buy. Please note exact shipment times may vary. To customize this program or future shipments and charges, call customer service anytime at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Every X Out(r) order comes with our 60-day Money Back Guarantee less shipping and handling."

Per the terms of the online offer, on May 2, 2014 your second shipment, a 90-day supply, was sent for a total of $68.82 (included $8.97 s&h) to be billed in three installments over three 28-day billing cycles. The first payment of $22.94 was charged at the time of shipping.

On May 30, 2014 we attempted to process your second payment of $22.94 for your second shipment, but your charge card was declined by your financial institution. Several invoices have been sent informing you of the remaining two payments of $22.94 each for a total remaining balance of $45.88.

However, as a gesture of goodwill and in an effort to resolve this matter, I have cleared the remaining account balance of $45.88. Please consider any invoices received after the date of this correspondence as having crossed in the mail.

Your X Out(r) account is now closed with no further balance owed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

09/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I foolishly ordered product from the Supersmile company who put me on autoship. They claim people have a full 30 days to try the product prior to the first autoship being sent. However, despite the fact I can prove by USPS delivery that my initial package didn't even arrive until July 23, 2014, the company sent out the autoship item on Aug 14, 2014, giving me only 23 days to try the product. They have deceptive business practices. The customer service representative only states that I should have known the 30 days would start on the date of the order. Really? Why would any person or any company for that matter think it's a fair business practice to offer a full 30 day trial period and then only allow for 23 days instead?? I want a full refund once I refuse the initial order from the company that was sent to me on 08/14/14 including the shipping cost because THEY are the once who are deceptive in their dealings with the public. The President and CEO of the company, ***** ******* should know this is unfair business practice. A refund on the order including the shipping cost is demanded immediately.Product_Or_Service: SupersmileOrder_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund IMMEDIATELY for the order sent on Aug 14 2014 including the shipping amount. Even on the invoice, it clearly states the order wouldn't be shipped until Aug 18, 2014. So they shipped the items 4 days earlier than they even stated they would. UNBELIEVABLE! So much for the 30 day trial period. It's a huge scam to get money from people for the "handling" charges they so obviously inflate as much as they possibly can!

Business Response
*** ***** *******
**** ********* **
** ********** ** XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 09/05/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
FulfilPro Account Number: XXX-XXXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear *** *******,

Thank you for contacting Guthy Renker through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

We make every effort to be forthcoming regarding our promotions and offers for Supersmile(r) via the website, TV infomercials, inbound sales phone line, print materials, product packaging and billing. The information regarding the terms of the online offer and the continuity program are provided in the shopping cart prior to any personal information being entered. These terms are bold and in the same size font as the rest of the page. Before customers may finalize their purchase they must check a box that states they agree to the terms of the purchase. The products are also shipped with information reiterating the terms and benefits of membership.

More specifically, the online offer stated quote: "Starting 30 days from your order date, you'll receive a new 90-day supply of our 5-piece System every 3 months at the guaranteed low price of just $39.95 plus $3.99 shipping and handling per month, which will conveniently be charged to the card you provide today unless you call to cancel. There is no commitment and no minimum to buy. To customize this program or future shipments and charges, call Customer Service anytime at XXX-XXX-XXXX. This Supersmile exclusive offer comes with our 60-day Money Back Guarantee (less shipping & handling)." Please be advised that also states is that sales tax added in CA, CO, IA, LA, NC, OH, & PA. We regret if you found the offer deceptive in anyway.

Our records reflect that you enrolled online for automatic shipments of Supersmile(r) on July 13, 2014.

Per the terms of the offer, on August 15, 2014 your second shipment, a 90-day supply, was sent for a total of $143.68 (including $11.97 s&h) to be billed in three installments over three 30-day billing cycles. The first payment of $55.80 (included $11.86 CA tax) was charged at the time of shipping.

On August 21, 2014, per your request, your account was canceled; however, orders that are shipped prior to cancelation continue to bill until paid in full or are returned for credit.

In anticipation of the return of that second shipment and in an effort to resolve this matter, I have issued a refund of $43.83 and cleared the remaining account balance of $87.88. Please allow 3-5 business days for this credit to post. Per the terms of our 60-Day Money-Back Guarantee, the $11.97 (s&h) is non-refundable.

Your Supersmile(r) account is now closed with no further balance owed. Nothing further will be shipped or billed.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

Page 1 of 58
01/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive sales practice - selling recurring product orders although ads require a call to receive recurring orders.
On April 22, I placed 2 orders. Each was to have a free gift. I received them today April 30, and no free gift was included in either order. I reviewed my order confirmation emails and called the company. They stated "the people filling the boxes did not do very well that day" and they offered to send the free gifts. When I confirmed, per the order confirmation that I was NOT on a recurring order, the company said no I was set to receive a recurring order that their ads should have stated to call to NOT receive recurring orders. Imagine my surprise. I made them aware that I would be filing a complaint against them. They also informed me their website has been down for a while. Which does no one any good in trying to contact them should they not have their receipts. My order numbers were ********* and *********** I was surprised that the agent could NOT retrieve the orders using the order numbers. Seems to be a big scam!

Desired Settlement
Settlement: for the purpose of their fraudulent practices respondent may either refund double the purchase price for both orders, a total of $119.80. Alternatively, respondent may send a duplicate order at NO cost and there shall be NO recurring orders send. I have wasted over an hour of my time which is usually billed at a rate of over $200/hr on my current government contract. Government rates are usually less than commercial rates. Commerical value of my time exceeds $400/hr.

Business Response
*** ****** *****
*************************************** XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 05/12/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for contacting ***** ****** through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

In researching your inquiry we were able to locate three X Out(r) accounts in your name. The oldest account, XXX-XXX-XXX, was created on August 6, 2013 which consisted of the original 30-day entry kit and one 90-day replenishment kit prior to its cancelation. The other two accounts, XXX-XXX-XXX and XXX-XXX-XXX, were created on April 22, 2014 and have only consisted of one 30-day entry kit for each account to date. All three accounts were created online with each of your initial purchases. Our online offer has always had the terms that the purchase would enroll the customer into a replenishment program.

We have processed a replacement order for your missing free gifts of (2) X-Out(r) Cleansing Bars. Please allow 7-10 business days for this shipment to arrive.

As your April 22, 2014 accounts were opened with the same terms as your August 6, 2013 account, no further compensation may be issued.

Your X Out(r) accounts are now closed with no further balances owed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their statement that our online orders always had the terms....is sn outright case of Freud. Their followup email specifically stated that if continued receipt was desired to call. The original order was for one (1) order only without a subscription service. And when their resent active stated their email should have said to call to STOP receipt, tis deceptive practice falls under fraud, bait and switch, and outright false advertising. Someone must make an example of and keep them from such practices!

Final Business Response
*** ****** *****
**** ********* ******* **
********** ** XXXXX-XXXX


Date: 06/05/14

Complaint ID: XXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear *** *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond. We make every effort to be forthcoming regarding our promotions and offers for X Out(r) via the website, TV infomercials, inbound sales phone line, print materials, product packaging and billing. We regret if you feel our offers for X Out(r) are in anyway deceptive.

Again, your X Out(r) accounts are closed with no further balances owed. Nothing further will be shipped or billed.


Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have skirted the issue of false and misleading practices completely and must make retribution!

04/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Here is the letter I sent them:*********WEN PRODUCTSXXXXX ********************************** XXXXX X-XXX-XXX-XXXXDATE: 3/23/13 RE: XXXXXXXXXTo Whom it may Concern:I first ordered your product on 2/14/13. When placing the order I SPECIFICALLY said to the girl this is a ONE time order and stopped the order because she said monthly and then she said no it **** be a one time only purchase. Friday 3/22 your products arrived at my home and a charge of $38.94 was made to my AMEX 3/18/13 ****. I NEVER AUTHORIZED THIS and SPECIFICALLY STATED I would obtain an attorney should this happen. I am REPORTING YOU to the BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU as this is unethical and basically STEALING!!!Even if I had liked your product I would NEVER purchase it for the UNETHICAL way you sell it and the LIBERTY you took on sending something NOT ORDERED and CHARGING MY ACCOUNT. Now I have received an email stating I owe you $59.90?? I owe nothing my card was charged for the $29.95 purchase on 2/14 and you owe me a credit for the UNAUTHORIZED charge $38.84 on 3/18!!!So VERY UNETHICAL AND YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED!!Again reporting to BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU and **** convey my experience. TAKE ME OFF YOUR EMAIL LIST AND MAILING LIST IMMEDIATELY! And AMEX has a DISPUTE as well $38.94
Sincerely
******** ****
**************************** XXXXX
Product_Or_Service: Hair Products
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I believe people need to be made aware of their sales process and they should be listed for their UNETHICAL, basically stealing process which is NOT what they ADVERTISE AT ALL!! Need to be stopped it is stealing and FALSE ADVERTISING. I am working out my own credit to my AMEX and hoping they do not affect my credit in any way! As again SPECIFICALLY NEVER ordered and they took the liberty of charging my AMEX THAT IS STEALING

Business Response
Ms. ******** ****
************************** XXXXX-XXXX

Date: 04/02/13

Complaint ID: XXXXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear Ms. ****,

Thank you for contacting GuthyRenker through the Better Business Bureau. We received your inquiry and sincerely apologize for any miscommunication. We take these complaints very seriously and appreciate the time you have taken to let us know about your experience.

We make every effort to be forthcoming regarding our promotions and offers for WENÂï® Healthy Hair Care System via the website, TV infomercials, inbound sales phone line, print materials, product packaging and billing. By accepting the promotional price of $29.95 (includes free shipping) every WENÂï® customer is enrolled in our automatic replenishment program. We sincerely regret that you were not provided the correct information with regard to this at the point of purchasing your initial order. This matter **** be reviewed and used to improve our service going forward.

Our records indicate that on March 15, 2013, your second WENÂï® shipment (a 90-Day supply) was mailed for a total of $98.84 to be billed in three installments over three consecutive billing cycles. The first payment of $38.94 (included $8.99 s&h) was charged at the time of shipping. This left a balance $59.90 due on account.

In an effort to resolve this matter, on March 22, 2013, a refund of $29.95 was issued and the $59.90 balance was cleared. On March 27, 2013, an additional refund was issued in the amount of $8.99 (s&h), thus fully refunding you for your second shipment. Please allow 3-5 business days from date of issue for these credits to post. There is no need to return this shipment; please keep it with our compliments.

Your WENÂï® account is closed with no balance owed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed.

Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I SPECIFICALLY SPECIFIED TO THE SALESPERSON that I would ONLY PURCHASE ONE TIME!!! If it is stated in your ADS it is NOT AT ALL CLEAR to a CONSUMER!!! This companies sales tactics are deliberate!!! AGAIN I STATED TO THE SALES PERSON SHOULD I RE I WANTED TO TRY ONE TIME, SHOULD I RECEIVE ADDITIONAL PRODUCTS I WOULD CALL AN ATTORNEY!HOW MUCH CLEARER COULD I HAVE SPECIFIED TO YOUR SALESPERSON????? I experienced your same sales tactics with a coffee company and I feel you need to list my complaint on the BBB site as I am CONFIDENT other consumers have experienced it is basically stealing and harassing a consumer in an underhanded manner!!! You can say above that it is stated but it is NOT NOT CLEAR at all ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU STATE TO YOUR SALESPERSON THAT I ONLY AM PURCHASING ONE TIME!!! I do not ACCEPT your response as I an CONFIDENT YOU ARE WELL AWARE THAT THE CONSUMER IS NOT NOT NOT AWARE OF YOUR MONTHLY PROCESS/sales AGAIN UNETHICAL and feel it should be noted on the BBB for all to be aware of the slimy sales process with your misleading advertising and sales people. ALL NEED TO BE AWARE!!!

Final Business Response
ID XXXXXXXXXA

Ms. ******** ****
************************** XXXXX-XXXX

Date: 04/10/13

Complaint ID: XXXXXXXX
NCSS Account Number: XXX-XXX-XXX
GR File Number: XXXXXXXXXA

Dear Ms. ****,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond. Your order call has been reviewed, and we sincerely apologize that you received unprofessional service from a WENÂï® representative. The terms of our offer were stated clearly during your phone order; and you expressed that you did not wish to place an order, as you have stated. The agent with whom you spoke then stated that you would be shipped a one-time order at our member price of $29.95.

Thank you for your input. The representative with whom you placed your order has been addressed regarding this matter, and this **** be used to improve our service going forward.

In an effort to fully resolve this matter and as a compensatory gesture, I have issued an additional refund of $29.95 for your initial shipment. You have now been refunded all monies paid to WENÂï®. Please allow 3-5 business days for this additional credit to post.

Your WENÂï® account is closed. Nothing further **** be shipped or billed.

Sincerely,

********* ****
Manager of Consumer Affairs

03/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues
11/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Marketing Consultants, Television Home Shopping, General Merchandise - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.