BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wilshire Consumer Credit

Phone: (866) 709-5200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues15
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints27

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (27)BBB Closure Definitions
01/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 23, 2013, I by way of email communication, I asked my loan officer, ***** ******** who would be sending me final paperwork with amounts due, dates due, etc. I have enclosed this email for you as Exhibit 2. On Monday, August 26, 2013, I again inquired as to the status of the loan. See Exhibit 3. Both of these requests went unanswered by WCC but, on August 27, 2013, I received, via Federal Express, a check in the amount of $5,000.00 with no other documents. Please see Exhibit 4 enclosed herewith.On September 24, 2013, I received a Welcome call from **** at WCC confirming information and asking me when and how I was making my first payment. During that phone call I indicated that I was still waiting for my loan payment statements and other documents and that I would be sending a check for my first payment. **** advised me that my payment was due on September 26, 2013.Because I had still not received anything from WCC, on October 4, 2013, I attempted to go online to check the status of my account and see if I could glean information to make a payment but, without my account number I was unable to access and/or create an online account. Therefore, I sent an email inquiry to both my last contact (my loan officer) and to the support center. Please see Exhibit 5. I received a response from customer support indicating I had to contact customer service.That same day, on October 4, 2013, I received a voicemail from ******* with WCC asking me for a return call. I returned her call that same day, but spoke with a different representative that informed me that my payment was overdue. During that conversation, I again asked for documents to be sent to me because I did not even know my loan number. I was told my loan number and given the address to mail my payment. I asked if WCC had any strange policies about payments and defaults or should I be concerned they would come and take my car and I was told I was fine and I was told misinformation and that a new welcome kita
Product_Or_Service: Title Loan
Order_Number: N/A
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I hereby demand return of my vehicle within the next 72 hours, and that my account be rectified immediately! If my check needs to be canceled and a replacement payment made, I am happy to do so, please have your office contact me if you so desire. However, I do NOT agree to pay any additional fees.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I did receive a response from WCC, the matter is not resolved. They caused a week's worth of pain, suffering, lost wages, and stress and anxiety by the following:

1. Repossessing my vehicle when they had no past due amount (I even paid October's payment in advance;
2. I had only been a customer for a month, received no paperwork from them, called DAILY and was told by WCC's employees or agents that I had nothing to worry about and, in reliance upon that assertion, did not worry. At 15 days late, with my very first loan payment, despite not receiving any payment coupons, or any "welcome kit" as they say they sent to me, they simply came in the middle of the night and took my vehicle.

3. They eventually returned my vehicle to me under threat of litigation and told me I could pay all the extra fees "over the course of the loan" to which I did not agree. This would require an amendment to my loan agreement and signature of all parties.

4. As of 10/22/13 I asked for a response and have yet to receive one.



Final Business Response
Wilshire Consumer Credit has communicated directly with the consumer regarding this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
WCC "response directly to *** ****** on 10/25/13" consisted of holding my account "hostage" with additional fees. I traded in my vehicle to get out of this loansharking-type loan after speaking with an attorney who informed me that he had sued WCC many times in California but had little success to date and, therefore, would not take my case on that basis until the laws changed and this was no longer allowed in the state of California. In complete terror, I immediately went to a car dealership and traded in my paid off, in perfect mint condition vehicle for a vehicle to satisfy my account with WCC. However, WCC then would NOT release final pay off information to the dealer without and UNTIL an additional $1,000 was paid for their "fees" for repossession.

They repossessed my car after I had sent money and they admit they did not do it correctly. They gave me my car back without any fees but then DEMANDED an additional $1,000 before they would release my title. It took the dealership two weeks to get them to do it, all the while additional fees were charged by Wilshire DAILY. They continue to ignore this BBB complaint with one sentence replies which is nothing more than a stall tactic. This company should be investigated by the BBB, and local California authorities and agencies for unsafe business practices.

07/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am complaining about this company's practices. Every month my payoff amount has gone up a hundred dollars. my loan was for $2600' i have paid $1000 and was told today my payoff is 2900.

There business practices are like none i have ever seen. They are committing fraud in the worst way.

And when you call them they are inexperienced and transfer you to different departments. If there is someone looking into their business practices and has decided to do something about it get me involved. They do not and should not be in business.

Desired Settlement
I dont know what can be done to resolve this situation but i am not the only one who is dealing with their illegal practices. Please help if you can if not maybe just take a look into their business practices.

Thank you

******* *****

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have tried calling them several times now and they will either transfer me from one person to another with no explanation of why or who the are transferring you to, and the give you fake names so you cant report them. After being transferred several times i tell the customer service rep what i need he tells me he will email me a payment history showing where my payments are going to but doesnt send it. I have paid 1000 for a 2600 title loan they are telling me my pay off is 2900 today. Please help me. I just want out of this loan. This company is ripping people off a.d will not send me a ything to show where my money is going. I want the correct pay off amount including the 1000 i have already paid. If not i just want out of loan. I have never seen such a dishonest company.

contract and payment history request
1 message
******* ***** <************@hotmail.com>Thu, Jun 13, 2013 at 3:22 PM
To: *********@wilshireconsumer.com, *******@chicago.bbb.org
Hello. I spoke with a ***** **** for explanation of my payment history for a lengthy amount of time. I felt there were a few questions she could not explain because she simply didnt know. Either way I asked her to send me a copy of the payment history and a break down of how your company is accruing interest on the loan she explained the best she could but there were discrepancies. She said I could request this information from you and that you would be able to email me these items. I have requested items to be faxed to me from your company and the customer service rep says they will and do not. I have made complaints to The BBB And also The DOC. I would like these issues resolved and would appreciate your assistance.

Thank you

******* ***** Acct #XXXXXXX

Final Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company will not allow another lien company to acquire my title. I have spoken to Wilshire 4 times personally and the other lien company has spoken to them 4 times. They are making the new lien company to wait 10 days before are releasing the title after payment is received. They didn't wait 10 days to get the title when they were added as the lien on 4/21/12. Also this 10I day wait period isn't in the contract I signed. Customer service very rude and supervisor ****** was nasty and im a paying customer no manager was ever avail and I was transfered to a full voicmail by supervisor...main reason why I need to change from this lien holder. Just very very rude and unprofessional
Product_Or_Service: Title loan
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want my title to be released when payoff is made and the new lien to be able to put and electronic lien on my car.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In late December, my sister ****** ****** passed away both suddenly and tragically. As her closest living relative, I paid her loan off to Wilshire Consumer Credit at an agreed upon amount in the sum of $4416.00. I have a letter acknowledging the account is paid in full and paperwork stating the account is to be reported as settled and the lien on the vehicle released. This is the last thing I have of my sister. I explained all of this. It is now March 27th and I am still unable to register car- Wilshire Consumer Credit is still showing the account active and not only that, shows an outstanding balance conjured from somewhere after we paid them. I have called repeatedly and can get; A. no one who is accountable, B. no one's last name and C. no title or anything allowing me to register the car. It is not only painful for me and my family regarding her death, the the car is now incurring tickets for not having the registration while the car is parked. Shouldn't this company be paying for debt I am incurring because they have defaulted on their part of the settlement? It is bad business and there are many more who are having the exact same issue with this company. I feel there should ought to be a legal remedy we can seek as a group for both monetary and emotional damage.
Product_Or_Service: title lien
Account_Number: acct# XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Immediate return of a CLEAN title upon payment of debt. A sanction against the company for failing to do so and reimbursement of fees due to negligence stemming from delays, tickets and having to replace titles. An investigation from city, county and IRS of their business practices.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Westlake/Wilshire Credit has NOT been in contact. When I call, no one has an answer as to why the lien has not been cleared, why the account still is shown as 'open' or can say when the title might be mailed and if that title will be listed as 'clean'. Furthermore, IF someone transfers me to the person I handed the check to back in February, I have to leave a voice mail that is not returned. The business has just provided NO information-information would consist of resolution or address the specific topic-none of which is in that stock statement.In fact the answer they sent is NOT the intent of the company as evidenced by so many other people in my situation.

Final Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 5
09/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues
12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Loans - Small Business, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.