BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wilshire Consumer Credit

Phone: (866) 709-5200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues14
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints24

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (24)BBB Closure Definitions
01/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 23, 2013, I by way of email communication, I asked my loan officer, ***** ******** who would be sending me final paperwork with amounts due, dates due, etc. I have enclosed this email for you as Exhibit 2. On Monday, August 26, 2013, I again inquired as to the status of the loan. See Exhibit 3. Both of these requests went unanswered by WCC but, on August 27, 2013, I received, via Federal Express, a check in the amount of $5,000.00 with no other documents. Please see Exhibit 4 enclosed herewith.On September 24, 2013, I received a Welcome call from **** at WCC confirming information and asking me when and how I was making my first payment. During that phone call I indicated that I was still waiting for my loan payment statements and other documents and that I would be sending a check for my first payment. **** advised me that my payment was due on September 26, 2013.Because I had still not received anything from WCC, on October 4, 2013, I attempted to go online to check the status of my account and see if I could glean information to make a payment but, without my account number I was unable to access and/or create an online account. Therefore, I sent an email inquiry to both my last contact (my loan officer) and to the support center. Please see Exhibit 5. I received a response from customer support indicating I had to contact customer service.That same day, on October 4, 2013, I received a voicemail from ******* with WCC asking me for a return call. I returned her call that same day, but spoke with a different representative that informed me that my payment was overdue. During that conversation, I again asked for documents to be sent to me because I did not even know my loan number. I was told my loan number and given the address to mail my payment. I asked if WCC had any strange policies about payments and defaults or should I be concerned they would come and take my car and I was told I was fine and I was told misinformation and that a new welcome kita
Product_Or_Service: Title Loan
Order_Number: N/A
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I did receive a response from WCC, the matter is not resolved. They caused a week's worth of pain, suffering, lost wages, and stress and anxiety by the following:

1. Repossessing my vehicle when they had no past due amount (I even paid October's payment in advance;
2. I had only been a customer for a month, received no paperwork from them, called DAILY and was told by WCC's employees or agents that I had nothing to worry about and, in reliance upon that assertion, did not worry. At 15 days late, with my very first loan payment, despite not receiving any payment coupons, or any "welcome kit" as they say they sent to me, they simply came in the middle of the night and took my vehicle.

3. They eventually returned my vehicle to me under threat of litigation and told me I could pay all the extra fees "over the course of the loan" to which I did not agree. This would require an amendment to my loan agreement and signature of all parties.

4. As of 10/22/13 I asked for a response and have yet to receive one.



Final Business Response
Wilshire Consumer Credit has communicated directly with the consumer regarding this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
WCC "response directly to *** ****** on 10/25/13" consisted of holding my account "hostage" with additional fees. I traded in my vehicle to get out of this loansharking-type loan after speaking with an attorney who informed me that he had sued WCC many times in California but had little success to date and, therefore, would not take my case on that basis until the laws changed and this was no longer allowed in the state of California. In complete terror, I immediately went to a car dealership and traded in my paid off, in perfect mint condition vehicle for a vehicle to satisfy my account with WCC. However, WCC then would NOT release final pay off information to the dealer without and UNTIL an additional $1,000 was paid for their "fees" for repossession.

They repossessed my car after I had sent money and they admit they did not do it correctly. They gave me my car back without any fees but then DEMANDED an additional $1,000 before they would release my title. It took the dealership two weeks to get them to do it, all the while additional fees were charged by Wilshire DAILY. They continue to ignore this BBB complaint with one sentence replies which is nothing more than a stall tactic. This company should be investigated by the BBB, and local California authorities and agencies for unsafe business practices.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company will not allow another lien company to acquire my title. I have spoken to Wilshire 4 times personally and the other lien company has spoken to them 4 times. They are making the new lien company to wait 10 days before are releasing the title after payment is received. They didn't wait 10 days to get the title when they were added as the lien on 4/21/12. Also this 10I day wait period isn't in the contract I signed. Customer service very rude and supervisor ****** was nasty and im a paying customer no manager was ever avail and I was transfered to a full voicmail by supervisor...main reason why I need to change from this lien holder. Just very very rude and unprofessional
Product_Or_Service: Title loan
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late December, my sister ****** ****** passed away both suddenly and tragically. As her closest living relative, I paid her loan off to Wilshire Consumer Credit at an agreed upon amount in the sum of $4416.00. I have a letter acknowledging the account is paid in full and paperwork stating the account is to be reported as settled and the lien on the vehicle released. This is the last thing I have of my sister. I explained all of this. It is now March 27th and I am still unable to register car- Wilshire Consumer Credit is still showing the account active and not only that, shows an outstanding balance conjured from somewhere after we paid them. I have called repeatedly and can get; A. no one who is accountable, B. no one's last name and C. no title or anything allowing me to register the car. It is not only painful for me and my family regarding her death, the the car is now incurring tickets for not having the registration while the car is parked. Shouldn't this company be paying for debt I am incurring because they have defaulted on their part of the settlement? It is bad business and there are many more who are having the exact same issue with this company. I feel there should ought to be a legal remedy we can seek as a group for both monetary and emotional damage.
Product_Or_Service: title lien
Account_Number: acct# XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Westlake/Wilshire Credit has NOT been in contact. When I call, no one has an answer as to why the lien has not been cleared, why the account still is shown as 'open' or can say when the title might be mailed and if that title will be listed as 'clean'. Furthermore, IF someone transfers me to the person I handed the check to back in February, I have to leave a voice mail that is not returned. The business has just provided NO information-information would consist of resolution or address the specific topic-none of which is in that stock statement.In fact the answer they sent is NOT the intent of the company as evidenced by so many other people in my situation.

Final Business Response
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Westlake Financial Services ("Westlake") values our consumers and takes each complaint seriously as an opportunity to assist and service consumers more effectively. Westlake has reviewed the consumer's concerns as well as the account and responded directly to the consumer in an effort to provide quality personal service. The consumer may reach Westlake directly at the contact information provided in the response.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 5
09/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues
12/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Loans - Small Business, Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.