BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Robbins Bros. Jewelry, Inc.

Phone: (626) 224-9400

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I brought my diamond marquis solitaire to the Arlington, Texas store on X-XX-XXXX to have it placed in a new setting, and they damaged my diamond.
I brought my diamond marquis solitaire to ******* Brothers in Arlington,Texas on X-XX-XXXX to have their jewelers place it in a new setting I planned to purchase from their store. We agreed on a value of my diamond at $2.500.00. After completing paperwork for the purchase of the new setting, mount, and labor I entrusted the store and its employees with my diamond and left to have lunch and complete errands. My Salesman, ******* ****** promised to call me later in the day with an update on the progress of the work being done. I was hopeful that I would not have to make an extra trip to pick up the finished ring. However, I had expected to return on another day to allow sufficient time for the work to be done well, and I specifically mentioned to Randell that I would rather wait a day or more to ensure that the work done was of excellent quality rather than have it done quickly.

After completing my errands I had not heard from ******* and decided to call him to check on the progress. During this phone conversation I learned that my diamond solitaire had been damaged while placing it in the new mount. He said it was not noticeable to the naked eye and called the damage similar to a splinter. I could barely speak because I was so upset. Time would not allow me to return to the store that day to handle the new situation. So I asked that no other work be done until I could return and see exactly what had happened.

I called on Thursday, X-XX-XXXX and spoke with ****. I made an appointment to see ******* for the next day. **** led me to believe he would also be in store on Friday at this time. My husband and I met with ******* on Friday to view the damage and hear what options were available as compensation for the lost value of my diamond. We never met ****. The damage to the solitaire WAS visible to the naked eye. I also discovered and pointed out to ******* that a corner had been chipped off. ******* let us know the company would try to polish the surface damage off and use the new mounting to cover the chipped corner as well as cover the cost to do so. Believeing this was a good starting point, my husband and I agreed to give it a try to see the results. And we left the store.

After more thought about how much value my diamond had lost due to the damage from the poor work and realizing that polishing the stone and using the mount as a bandage to cover up the missing corner would not be sufficient to restore the value, my husband and I decided that a replacement diamond of equivalent value would be the best solution for the situation. I called and spoke to Randell on Monday, X-XX-XXXX asking him to not ship the ring to be polished and check on the possibility of replacing the diamond with one of equal value.

When we spoke again on Monday afternoon, he said that the company would be willing to replace the diamond for an equivalent value or offer a discount on an upgrade to a more expensive diamond if I chose. Here I believed that meant ******* Brothers would allow me to pick out a diamond comparable in price and quality to the diamond I trusted them with in exchange for the diamond they damaged at no additional cost to me. There was no mention of a 'discount' other than if I chose a diamond valued higher than $2,500.00.

I was able to make a trip back to Arlington on Friday, 4-25-2014. I had the intention to see what inventory was available within the $2,500.00 price range in order to select a replacement solitaire. I asked if I could call him after a few days with my decision. This is the first time he mentioned that I would need to pay for replacing the diamond. He stated "we are not going to just GIVE you a diamond"... That ******* Brothers would return the damaged stone and would only offer me a discount off of one of their diamonds even if it was equal in value.

I was misled twice: 1.about the extent of the damage and 2.the offer to replace the stone

Desired Settlement
Because there is not a way to put a sentimental value on the diamond that my husband chose for me when he asked for my hand in marriage, I only ask for the monetary value.

I am asking for a replacement diamond solitaire of my choice equivalent to the monetary value of my diamond ($2,500.00) as estimated with ************** and to not be additionally charged for services needed to mount the replacement stone I choose into the setting I have already purchased. I also expect ******* Brothers to uphold their "peace of mind Service promise" agreement of repair and replacement for their setting and diamonds after services are complete. A "Peace of mine service promise" has already been purchased.

If I choose a diamond that has a value more than $2,500.00. I agree to pay the difference in cost.

We trusted ******* Brothers with a $2,500.00 diamond and that is what we expected to receive after the work was complete.

I decided to do business with ******* Brothers after much research and visiting other retailers. I had been impressed during previous visits with the high level of customer service I received from ******* Brothers as well as the appearance of knowledge of the employees.

I believe my settlement to be fair and good business practice as well as a reasonable request. I am certain that the company would want excellent word of mouth advertising by placing excellent quality craftsmanship on their customer's hands. I would not be proud to tell people I trusted ******* Brothers with my diamond and after they damaged it, they just polished out and covered up their mistake.

The reputation of ******* Brothers has been ruined as far as I am concerned, and once this issue is resolved I will no longer pay for any of their goods or services. I would not recommend this company to a friend, and I will have no problem with stating the facts of the situation to anyone that asks.

I hope that the end to this situation will live up to the quality of service that ******* Brothers boasts and their prices allude to.

Final Consumer Response
The General Manager, ***** ****** of the Arlington, Texas location of ******* Brothers contacted me directly and this issue has been favorably settled as of today May 15, 2014. I hereby drop this claim.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My fiance bought a bracelet from Robbins Brothers a year and a half ago. I kept having problems with it falling off so I had to take it in to have the rings clasp taken down in size. One day my bracelet broke so I took it in to have it fixed. They help on to the bracelet for 3 weeks and finally called me telling me they were unable to fix the bracelet because they no longer have a relationship with the designer of the bracelet. I asked the gentlemen what I am supposed to do with a bracelet that we paid $120 for and he basically told me it was my problem.
Product_Or_Service: Triple Strand Silver Slide Charm Bracelet - Long

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement ID: Replacement
I would like my bracelet to be fixed free of charge.

Business Response
Our General Manager reached out to Ms. ****** and they have come to an amicable solution. Our client is very satisfied.
Thanks,
****** *******
Director of Operations

01/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would love to get resolved.
I purchased an engagement ring from ******* Brothers in April 2012 using their credit card that said deferred interest for 12 months. I planned on paying it down as much as I can in that one year period and transferring it out to my lower interest card when the time came. The last month that the bill was due before the 12 months were up, I notified them that I had requested a balance transfer offer through my credit card and they were sending the check over to them within 7-10 days. I was not informed at the time that my credit card was going to send a paper check instead of a wired transferred to pay off the ring, so when I found out I called ******* Bros to see if they could put a note on my account saying that it was going to be a couple of days late just in case and to see whether or not it would affect my deferred interest because if so, I would cancel the transfer and just pay it out of pocket for the mean time. They told me there was no problem and to keep calling and checking to make sure it came in and there was no damage to my account. When the time came, they told me it was all okay and the check was received and was post-marked for the due date or maybe just a day late like I had informed. A month goes by and I receive a bill in the mail stating that I had owed almost $2000 more that I had to pay in deferred interest even though my balance was paid off and they told us it was all taken care of. We contacted them numerous times and even sent in a letter stating that it was a misunderstanding and we have NEVER been late with any of our payments except for that time (which they said they made an exception) and I have even paid more than what was the minimum but in the end they told us and sent us a letter stating that we had to pay that amount even though our balance was paid off. I informed them that I had paid off the balance in full because I wanted to avoid paying the almost $2000 deferred interest and was willing to pay it through my bank instead of the balance transfer but they told us that the transfer would be okay as long as we kept calling to inform them that it was on it's way and that the check was postmarked for the date. Even through all those phone calls and letters they still would not cooperate with us, even giving us any type of deal or one time forgivance for the complete misunderstanding. I decided to pay it off to never do business with them again but am so heartbroken that after my engagement a huge chunk of my wedding money was being used to pay off deferred interest that should have never been charged to me like that. I would have gladly taken a late payment fee or some type of agreement but they would not cooperate.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to refund us the deferred interested charge they sent us that was almost $2000 for a misunderstanding or even a partial refund to give us back what we ultimately lost on a bunch of misunderstanding and miscommunication. If they told us that we would have to pay the deferred interest even if we paid off the balance in full because the method of payment was slightly delayed and that they were in fact not taking notes on the account stating that the full payment was on its way, then we would have just given them an alternative payment method the first time we called because we called them days before the payment was due to make sure that it was okay and that the account was noted. And we called them everyday after that even after the due date to make sure that it was in fact noted and that we would not be charged for that.

03/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engagement ring purchase nightmare
I purchased an engagement ring from Robbins Brothers in April 2012 using their credit card that said deferred interest for 12 months. I planned on paying it down as much as I can in that one year period and transferring it out to my lower interest card or paying it off when the time came. The last month that the bill was due before the 12 months were up, I notified them that I had requested a balance transfer offer through my credit card and they were transferring the funds. I was not informed at the time that my credit card was going to send a paper check instead of a wired transferred to pay off the ring, so when I found out I called Robbins Bros to see if they could put a note on my account saying that it was going to be a couple of days late JUST IN CASE and to see whether or not it would affect my deferred interest because if so, I would cancel the transfer and just pay it out of pocket for the mean time. They told me there was no problem and to keep calling and checking to make sure it came in and there was no damage to my account. When the time came, they told me it was all okay and the check was received and was post-marked for the due date or maybe just a day late like I had informed. A month goes by and I receive a bill in the mail stating that I had owed almost $2000 more due to deferred interest even though my balance was paid off and they told us it was all taken care of. We contacted them numerous times and even sent in a letter stating that it was a misunderstanding and we have NEVER been late with any of our payments except for that time (which they said they made an exception) and I have even paid more than what was the minimum but in the end they told us and sent us a letter stating that we had to pay that amount even though our balance was paid off. I informed them that I had paid off the balance in full because I wanted to avoid paying the almost $2000 deferred interest and was willing to pay it through my bank instead of the balance transfer but they told us that the transfer would be okay as long as we kept calling to inform them that it was on it's way and that the check was postmarked for the date. Even through all those phone calls and letters they still would not cooperate with us, even giving us any type of deal or one time forgivance for the complete misunderstanding. I decided to pay it off to never do business with them again but am so heartbroken that after my engagement a huge chunk of my wedding money was being used to pay off deferred interest that should have never been charged to me like that. I would have gladly taken a late payment fee or some type of agreement but they would not cooperate.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to refund us the deferred interested charge they sent us that was almost $2000 for a misunderstanding or even a partial refund or store credit to give us back what we ultimately lost on a bunch of misunderstanding and miscommunication. If they told us that we would have to pay the deferred interest even if we paid off the balance in full because the method of payment was slightly delayed and that they were in fact not taking notes on the account stating that the full payment was on its way, then we would have just given them an alternative payment method the first time we called because we called them days before the payment was due to make sure that it was okay and that the account was noted. And we called them everyday after that even after the due date to make sure that it was in fact noted and that we would not be charged for that.

01/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Engagement ring purchase that turned into an expensive nightmare.
I purchased an engagement ring from ******* Brothers in April 2012 using their credit card that said deferred interest for 12 months. I planned on paying it down as much as I can in that one year period and transferring it out to my lower interest card when the time came. The last month that the bill was due before the 12 months were up, I notified them that I had requested a balance transfer offer through my credit card and they were sending the check over to them within 7-10 days. I was not informed at the time that my credit card was going to send a paper check instead of a wired transferred to pay off the ring, so when I found out I called ******* Bros to see if they could put a note on my account saying that it was going to be a couple of days late just in case and to see whether or not it would affect my deferred interest because if so, I would cancel the transfer and just pay it out of pocket for the mean time. They told me there was no problem and to keep calling and checking to make sure it came in and there was no damage to my account. When the time came, they told me it was all okay and the check was received and was post-marked for the due date or maybe just a day late like I had informed. A month goes by and I receive a bill in the mail stating that I had owed almost $2000 more that I had to pay in deferred interest even though my balance was paid off and they told us it was all taken care of. We contacted them numerous times and even sent in a letter stating that it was a misunderstanding and we have NEVER been late with any of our payments except for that time (which they said they made an exception) and I have even paid more than what was the minimum but in the end they told us and sent us a letter stating that we had to pay that amount even though our balance was paid off. I informed them that I had paid off the balance in full because I wanted to avoid paying the almost $2000 deferred interest and was willing to pay it through my bank instead of the balance transfer but they told us that the transfer would be okay as long as we kept calling to inform them that it was on it's way and that the check was postmarked for the date. Even through all those phone calls and letters they still would not cooperate with us, even giving us any type of deal or one time forgivance for the complete misunderstanding. I decided to pay it off to never do business with them again but am so heartbroken that after my engagement a huge chunk of my wedding money was being used to pay off deferred interest that should have never been charged to me like that. I would have gladly taken a late payment fee or some type of agreement but they would not cooperate.

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to refund us the deferred interested charge they sent us that was almost $2000 for a misunderstanding or even a partial refund to give us back what we ultimately lost on a bunch of misunderstanding and miscommunication. If they told us that we would have to pay the deferred interest even if we paid off the balance in full because the method of payment was slightly delayed and that they were in fact not taking notes on the account stating that the full payment was on its way, then we would have just given them an alternative payment method the first time we called because we called them days before the payment was due to make sure that it was okay and that the account was noted. And we called them everyday after that even after the due date to make sure that it was in fact noted and that we would not be charged for that.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Buyers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.