BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Daniel's Jewelers

(310) 665-2110View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 3750, Culver CityCA 90231-3750View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.danielsjewelers.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers jewelry services.

BBB Accreditation

Daniel's Jewelers is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 26

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Daniel's Jewelers

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (26)BBB Closure Definitions
01/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Back in 4/2013 Is when Job lay off and when I finally scrapped up money to closed this account I paid this account in full and They have yet to put closed on my credit bureau and when you call to resolve you get run around and no one to directly speak too due to short of staff. Yet if I when I was late due to hardship they had so easily put this on my credit bureau.
Product_Or_Service: Wedding Ring

Desired Settlement
To Close account on credit Bureau

Business Response
Information provided did not allow us to find any prior request to close account. We contacted the consumer, located the account and have closed the account. The closed status has been reported to the three national credit bureaus and will likely be available within the next 30 days. All payment practices history of the account will remain on the account as originally reported.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have 2 complaints - delivery issue and product issue.On September 20,2014, my wife ****** and I were looking for some birthday gifts at ******* Jewelers. While we were looking around 2 sales representatives approached us ****** and *****) & offered to clean for free the horseshoe ring that I previously bought on layaway and finished paying on 5/18/2014. Through the sales reps. persistence, we ended up buying a men's watch in the amount of $650.00 & women earrings,$750.00. We were assured that the men's watch is automatic. When we got home, I found out that the horseshoe ring was missing one stone and when I read the watch manual, it specifically mentioned it was a battery operated one, not automatic. I called the store right away and spoke to ***** and she told me to come back to the store anytime promising they will take care it. I was supposed to go to work and I told ***** that I will return to the store on Friday, 9/26 and she said it was good. When we showed up at the store on Friday, 9/26 *****/***** immediately told us that their boss indicated that they will NOT be able to replace the missing stone and they could not accept the return of the watch that they said was automatic. We also filed a complaint at the mall security management. The store gave us a phone number of the Regional Manager, ******* ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and we left 2 messages, but our call has been not returned.We would like to have my horseshoe missing stone replaced and I would like to be able to return the watch because of false information. The return policy on ******* invoice indicate that the items can be returned within 10 days or exchanged within 30 days...in its original condition. It has only been 6 days since the watch was purchased. I have been a great customer for 2 years. I ended up having a ring being cleaned for free and being given a ring with a missing stone, and a watch sold not being automatic but battery operated instead. I want to return all the ITEMS INSTEAD.

Desired Settlement
We would like the store to replace the stone on the horseshoe ring.We would like to return all the items that we recently purchased - the watch including the earrings that we purchased with ****** Jewelers on 9/20/2014.We would like ******* Jewelers' apologies for bad customer service and bad advertising. We do not want to deal with them again.

Business Response
We are very sorry to hear that the customer has not had the best experience possible in our store. We have agreet to repair the ring as well as offer an exchange for the watch.

We appologize for any inconvenience.

07/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Manager at Daniels Jewlery in the Lakewood Mall. Opened a credit card for 1500 with out my knowledge. ***** told me I will soley be a co-signer.
In early part of May of 2014. My husband went into Daniels with our 2 daugheters to purchase me a surprise anniversary gift (ring)after my husband was starting to be confussed regarding why the monthly payment would be more than 400.00 on a purchase on 2000. My husband called me being that he has never opened any credit with a jewelery store.After he explained the issue to me I told him don't do it. I will go with you the next day. My husband and I spoke with ***** the store manager and I asked her why would the monthly payments be so high, she stated that he would need a CO-SIGNER, I agreed after filling out a brief application for CO-SIGNER. ***** suggested that we walk around and come back in 10 minutes.after returning she stated I HAVE GREAT NEWS YOU HAVE BEEN APPROVED AS CO - SIGNER WITH 0 DOWN! I said great. she typed up a contract MY and I signed and she stated that I sign the receipt becuase I was the CO-SIGNER, only to find out from the credit card company that the receipt that I signed was for the credit card. ***** stated that with me being a co-signe, our payments will be 74.00 a month, which was perfect becuase we informed ***** we did not want to pay over 100.00. I received a credit card from GE services and immediately notified GE that I never opened a credit card GE representive stated I had a balance due for 1500 that was opened in Daniels store. I was in complete shock I never agreed to open a credit card nor was I giving any information about a credit card. I called Daniels Reigional office at XXX-XXX-XXXX and a very RUDE assistant Manger by the name of ***** told me O WELL YOU SIGNED THE CONTRACT AND WE WILL TAKE YOU TO COURT, I asked him how can you take me to court and even you stated that Im not on the account.After stating that he would not give me any more information. He would not even give me his last name. However I spoke with GE CREDIT card services and the representive told me that the credit card should have never been open because Im not on the Daniels account as a co -signer and the credit card was used to open the Daniels account. GE credit card services stated they will be investigating this issue. I truly believe My husband and I was swindled into this account.***** could clearly tell my husband and I was inexperienced and she took full advantage.

Desired Settlement
I would like this credit card removed from my credit report. I'm not sure if the credit card service and Daniels are working together. However at this point I do not trust either company.

Business Response
Spoke to the customer and discussed the way the account was set up at the time of purchase.

Adjusted monthly payments to better suit customers budget. Also informed customer we will be speaking to associate who was rude to her and handling that on our end.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
April 14, 2014Better Business BureauTo Whom it May Concern,We are seeking your assistance in resolving an issue we have had with a purchase at Daniels (Jewelers) located in the Westminster Mall in Westminster, CA. Their corporate address is **** *** **** ****** ***** ** XXXXX. Corporate fax # is XXX-XXX-XXXX Corporate Fax # to ******** Service is XXX-XXX-XXXX On February 22, 2014, I placed a down payment on an engagement ring for my fianc and picked up the ring on February 27th, 2014. After a series of issues, my fianc (******) and I have asked for a full refund. Below is a timeline of specific events:20Feb14 **** makes first down payment of $50022Feb14 (4:56pm) **** put second down payment of $200.00 for the ring. 27Feb14 **** picked up ring1Mar14 - **** gave ****** the ring3Mar14 Ring not sized correctly so ****** called *****/Daniels Jewelers. ***** said to bring the ring in the next day (Tuesday) as she explained they send rings out on Wednesday so they can get rings back on Sunday. 4Mar14 ****** dropped off ring to be resized9Mar14 After call to ***** on Sunday, ****** was told ring did not come in as specified and can pick up on Monday10Mar14 - ****** picked up ring on Monday 16Mar14 ****** noticed diamond was missing from band. Immediately call Daniels Jewelers and talked with ***** asking to bring the ring in. ***** told ****** that she would have to call back and/or bring in the ring when the manager (****) was there but that wasnt until 19Mar14, making us wait.19Mar14 ****** called and spoke with **** and explained that they were considering requesting a refund on the ring. **** asked **** and ****** to come into the store and said that they wanted to make it right by finding a new ring of the same style rather than granting a refund. **** said he would not be there, but would leave notes for ***** on how to handle. **** and ****** went into the store, but ***** did not find any notes left for her from ****, and was not sure how **** wanted to handle Therefore, she would need to call him. ***** then advised us that they had located the exact same ring in Fresno, and said they would have it sent to their corporate office to be sized accurately. **** and ****** left the ring with *****.28Mar14 **** called ***** to check status on the ring. ***** advised it was too late in the day to look up and she would call him on Monday (31Mar14)31Mar14 **** did not hear from ***** so he called later in the day and spoke with ***** who said she would try to have the new ring overnighted to them as it was not in yet. He told ***** he wanted the ring by ******* birthday 2Apr14. 2Apr14 **** called Daniels Jewelers at 12pm to see if ring was in and was told yes, so he went into the store to pick it up. ***** advised **** that Daniels did not have any of the exact same rings in stock after all. Therefore, they had to purchase a brand new ring from the manufacturer who created a whole new ring with the same specifications as the previous (defective) ring.8Apr14 ****** noticed late evening, that a diamond was missing again. This was the second time and now, on a different ring.9Apr14 ****** called Daniels Jewelers first thing in the morning and spoke with ***** and told her we wanted to return the ring and get ***** money back. She told us we needed to talk with the manager, ****, who was not in until Tuesday, 10Apr14, making us wait again.10Apr14- ****** and **** went in to Daniels Jewelers at 6:00pm to return the ring. He told us we could not return the ring because we had it longer than 30 days and was one week late. Up to the date of April 9th when **** and ****** requested a refund, **** (and ******) has physically had a ring in his possession a total of 21 of 42 days since he first picked it up on February 27th. Three of those 21 days were waiting for **** to get back in the office before they could drop it back off which can be argued totals 18 days in ***** possession.Daniels has held the ring(s) a total of 21 of the 42 days since February 27th to April 9th.The first ring was returned 20 days after first being picked up.Daniels had a new ring created which was picked up by **** on April 2nd. **** requested a refund 8 days after receiving this new ring.10Apr14 ****** called Daniels Jewelers customer service at 6:19pm and left a voice mail of the situation and to please return her call immediately.10Apr14 ****** called Westminster Malls customer service at 6:20pm and left a voice mail of the situation and to please return her call.11Apr14 9:13am ******* from Westminster Mall ******** service returned ******* call and she gave ****** the owners name and corporate office info of Daniels Jewelers11Apr14 9:24am ****** called ******* Jewelers corporate office and left a voice mail 11Ap14 9:29am ********* from corporate office called me back and after discussing the situation, she said she would personally walk the complaint over to the manager of customer service (******).11Apr14 9:43am ****** from corporate returned ******* call and after discussing the situation. He said that he would pass the complaint on to one of the district managers (***** and ***** and one of the district managers would call **** within 2 business days. 11Apr14 11:56am ***** the store manager of Daniels Jewelers, called **** and told him he would give to him a $200.00 extra store credit.11Ap14 12:000pm ****** called ********* at the corporate office leaving a voice mail of the phone conversation between **** and ****.11Apr14 12:10pm ****** talked to a receptionist at corporate who said she would pass the message on to ****** as ****** was unable to leave a voice mail.11Apr14 3:57pm ****** was then able to leave ****** a voice mail about the call between **** and ****.11Apr 14 ****** contacted Better Business Bureau and spoke with ***** who after hearing about the situation informed her that she should file a complaint.14Apr14 9:08am ******* (Customer Service at Westminster Mall) called
Product_Or_Service: Engagment ring

Desired Settlement
We are only asking for a full refund so that we can move on.

Business Response
We have spoken to the customer and approved a return of the merchandise.

01/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 5
04/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dear Better Business Bureau,

Daniel's Jewelers in the Santa Anita Shopping Mall in Arcadia, CA has a sign at the entrance to their store that advertises "Completely Free Ear Piercing, as well as a free pair of starter earrings". I brought my granddaughter there to have her ears pierced after a special occasion in her life, and the salesperson said the ear piercing is free but the starter studs are not. I said that's not what your sign says. It says the starter studs are free as well. (See attached picture of their sign.)

As you can imagine, I was disappointed and upset that it cost me $53.00 to have my granddaughter's ears pierced when their sign says Completely Free Ear Piercing!

I would like to file a complaint against Daniel's Jewelers for false advertising. Bait and switch is very evident.

***** ****
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a complete refund of the money I had to pay for "completely free" ear-piercing!

Business Response
Sorry for the delay in responding to this complaint. After contacting your department, I was made aware that perhaps the letter of complaint was sent to our store, and not our Corporate Office.

Daniel's Jewelers is pleased to offer free ear piercing. We do also run a promotion offering a free pair of Starter earrings with the purchase of an item priced $199 or more.

This sign that is displayed does mention to ask an associate for details.
Our associate explained the promotion, and the customer went ahead and got the piercing done.

Sorry if there was any confusion.


****** **********
Daniel's Jewelers Customer Service
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree with the response from Daniel's Jewelers. When I asked the sales associate about the sign that indicates free ear piercing and starter studs, she did not say I needed to make a qualifying purchase of $199. She said, "We have to make money. It's not free." No mention of the qualitying purchase requirement. There were 4 adults in our party when this conversation took place and we all heard the same thing. I was very disappointed that I needed to pay over $50 for what I thought was free ear piercing and starter studs. If I was told I needed to make a minimum purchase to quality for the free ear piercing and starter studs, I would have understood their policy. But due to the sales associate's inaccurate respnse to me, I still feel I am entitled to a refund.

Thank you.

Final Business Response
The actual ear piercing is free. The Starter earrings used to do the piercing is not free. We are unfortunately not able to offer a refund in this case.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their sign at the entrance to the store said "Completely Free Ear Piercing and Free 14K Gold Studex Starter Earrings." Therefore, this is false advertising and I am entitled to a refund because I had to pay for the starter studs. Please refer to the previous email where a picture of their sign was attached.

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Buyers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1948
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1957, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Art Ronci (Sr. Vice President)
Number of Employees

450

Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Buyers

Alternate Business Names
Daniel's Jewelry, Daniels Jewlers, Sherwood Management Co., Inc.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 3750 

    Culver City, CA 90231-3750(866) 958-7664

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Daniel's Jewelers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 973-7464
  • (323) 562-5590
  • (800) 819-8000
  • (562) 432-4412
  • (626) 965-4112
  • (760) 241-0606
  • (310) 665-2110
  • (562) 863-3482
  • (310) 665-2110
  • (661) 266-0177
  • (562) 948-3454
  • (562) 531-4350
  • (909) 482-4582
  • (562) 402-2807
  • (323) 773-5300
  • (323) 773-2203
  • (626) 960-2733
  • (323) 257-8111
  • (909) 822-9380
  • (562) 947-2548
  • (714) 684-6211
  • (909) 884-8213
  • (310) 665-2100
  • (310) 327-9221
  • (323) 264-2052
  • (626) 304-9996
  • (760) 241-0606
  • (323) 773-5300
  • (323) 294-8050
  • (949) 653-0155
  • (310) 665-2111
  • (818) 892-0530
  • (866) 958-7664
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.