BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Beachmint, Inc

(424) 257-90001333 2nd St, 3rd Floor, Santa MonicaCA 90401-4100http://www.beachmint.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Beachmint, Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

74 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues42
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues6
Problems with Product / Service24
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 74

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Beachmint, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (74)
02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
First, I placed an order in early Dec 2013, to this date of Jan 23, 2014, I still have yet to receive my order.
First, I placed an order in early Dec 2013, to this date of Jan 23, 2014, I still have yet to receive my order. Today I received a duplicate item in the mail that I did not even order. I was told they would email me a retun address label to print and return the item. I am concerned b/c there are 2 other orders outstanding that have yet to be sent to me. I want to discontinue my relationship with this organization however, I am still owed 3 items by them and I'm afraid to close my account until I receive the items I'v paid for. I feel like this is a scam and after reading the reviews on the internet, I am very disappointed! I expect to receive my items within 7 days of todays date or I will file a Complaint in court.

Desired Settlement
Replacement items that I have ordered or a full reimbursement for all the monies that I have paid out to JewelMint.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: **** *****
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: *** S. *** Street Apt XXX XXXXX
********** TN
EMAIL: ********@aol.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against JewelMint.com by Ms. **** ***** filed on January 23, 2014. Ms. ***** reported that she has yet to receive the items she ordered and would like to deactivate her membership.

Order XXXXXXXXX was placed on December 11, 2013 for the Turquoise Spike Necklace and Silver CZ Ring-7. The shipment address typed in at checkout was *** **** **** Street, APT **** *********** SC, XXXXX. The pieces that Ms. ***** purchased are a part of our Collective Collection and as stated on all product pages:

This JewelMint Collective piece is made to order just for you by our Collective Designer. Because of the unique design, it takes up to four (4) weeks to create and deliver this piece - and it's very much worth the wait, we promise!

It seems that Ms. ***** did not realize that the pieces were made to order and can take up to 4 weeks to ship out. She contacted us on January 15, 2014 letting us know that the order was lost in transit according to USPS tracking number:XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and that the replaced order needs to be sent to her new shipping address: *** *** ******* APT **** ********** TN, XXXXX. Replacement order XXXXXXXXX was placed for her free of charge on that same day, January 15, 2014. The reason why the two replacement pieces haven't shipped is because these items are still from our Collective Collection and take up to 4 weeks to ship out. As soon as the order does leave our warehouse, Ms. ***** will be emailed tracking information.

Ms. ***** also placed order XXXXXXXXX on January 3, 2014 for the White Horn Pendant and Hummingbird Cuff. According to USPS tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, the Hummingbird cuff was delivered January 13, 2014 and XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX shows that the Collective White Horn Pendant was delivered on February 4, 2014.

Order number XXXXXXXXX was a duplicate order placed in error on January 17, 2014 by one of our agents. The contents of the order included the White Horn Pendant and the Hummingbird Cuff which were already successfully delivered. The order was placed on our end and Ms. ***** was not charged for this duplicate order. She agreed to return the duplicate Hummingbird Cuff that had already shipped with a pre-paid return label we emailed her on January 23, 2014. The duplicate Collective White Horn Pendant was cancelled before it shipped out.

Summary of action: We deactivated Ms. *****'s account and she will not be billed on a monthly basis. Even though her account is cancelled, the replacement order XXXXXXXXX for the Turquoise Spike Necklace and Silver CZ Ring-7 will still ship to her as normal. We apologize for the confusion of the duplicate order and that it was unclear to Ms. ***** that our Collective Collection takes up to 4 weeks to ship out. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had been charged $29.95, and had alerted costumer service and was told I would be given a refund. Never received it and got charged another $29.95.
This website sells items and then if you do not cancel you are charged one credit ($29.95) per month, which will get you a piece of jewelery or other items from their website. I had purchased something in 2012 and then had cancelled after I had ordered the item because I could not afford it, then found out recently that they charged me $29.95. I had contacted customer service and they said they would issue a refund. They never did. I then decided to purchase earrings thinking that they had issued a refund to my account recently- and then I contacted customer service to cancel after my purchase like I did the first time to avoid the $29.95 charge. I never got a response (you have to e-mail them or call to cancel), and got charged again. Now I have $59.98 in credit which should be in my bank account. I feel like this company has literally ran away with my money. No return e-mails or calls, and no refund after a year is ridiculous, especially when the same thing has happened TWICE.

Desired Settlement
I expect a refund of $59.98. In a perfect world I would expect an apology gift as well for all the effort I have had to put into this. This has caused not only undue stress, but a lot of time on my behalf to go through such lengths to get a response from this awful company.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ******** *******
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: ** **** ******** **** **** XXXXX
***** ****** **
EMAIL: ***********@hotmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against JewelMint.com by *** ******** ******* filed on February 4, 2014. *** ******* reported that she had contacted our company to cancel her JewelMint account and was charged our monthly membership fee after she made her first purchase on October 30, 2013.

JewelMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly basis. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
* Terms of Service http://www.jewelmint.com/terms-of-service/
* Frequently Asked Questions
* How it works page
* Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
* And in the order confirmation emails.

JewelMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $29.99 charge by skipping the month if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable JewelMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer on a future purchase.

According to our records *** ******* did contact us to cancel her StyleMint account on November 8, 2012 and the agent successfully cancelled that account, however the refund for StyleMint was not processed. I also see that *** ******* activated her JewelMint account by purchasing earrings in October 2013 and we have a recorded email on November 2, 2013 where she asked to return that first purchase. An agent responded to the email and we sent her a prepaid return label to ***********@hotmail.com. Nowhere in the email did she request the cancellation of her JewelMint account. *** ******* was aware that her JewelMint membership was active and skipped the month for November 2013. She did not utilize the skip option on December 6, 2013 or January 6, 2014 and that is why she was billed.

Summary of action: It seems that *** ******* did not realize that she only requested a JewelMint return and not a JewelMint membership cancellation. Our store credits are usually non-refundable, however we have authorized two monthly billing refunds of $29.99 on February 5, 2014. There was also a refund of $29.99 processed for the StyleMint monthly billing from November 2012. Please allow 3-5 business days for the refunds to post to her bank account. Both her JewelMint and StyleMint accounts are cancelled and she will not be billed on a monthly basis. We are very sorry that it was unclear to *** ******* on how our website and return policies work. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you BBB! They said they were not going to refund anything, then you guys got involved and everything got resolved. You guys really help clear up the bad business practices. Thanks again!

02/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made 1 authorized purchase which I approved, they have made further charges and refuse to refund me stating it was for membership.
I made a one time purchase in December 2013, the goods arrived and they were fine, I paid and authorized charges of $38.99 to my card. I was reviewing my bank account and saw there had been another charge from Jewelmint for $29.99, I did not purchase anything, nor did I authorize them to charge me for anything. I called them and finally got hold of a customer rep ******* F(is all the email says) I told her the situation and she said that Jewelmint was a membership shopping site and that when I made the initial purchase I also authorized them to charge me card on a monthly basis. I said to her that when I made the purchase there was nothing there to say that and that I only authorized the purchase charge I made for the goods I received. She said it was on the website, not shown when you purchased something. I asked to please provide me with the documentation to prove I authorized the $29.99, she said she could not. I said I never signed any membership agreement or have received anything saying there was going to be a monthly fee. I requested my money back as I did not approve, authorize or purchase anything, she said she couldn't do that, that all she could do is cancel my membership. I said to her again that I did sign up as a member and I didn't purchase anything, so I wanted my money back as taking it without my authorization was in effect stealing it. She repeated the above and said all she could do is cancel my membership to prevent further charges. I said that was not a satisfactory resolution, although I definitely wanted it canceled as I had not authorize them or signed up for any membership. I received an email stating that membership was canceled, though they were clear that the would not under any circumstances refund the January charge of $29.99. I have contacted my bank and am disputing the charge in January. I have received emails from Jewelmint since April 2013 and supposedly a member since that date, I had never purchased anything from them till December 2013. When I signed to receive the emails and membership it never asked for me card details, nor said there was a monthly membership fee, if there was I would have been charged from April - December for the $29.99 monthly fee. I was not. It was not until I made a purchase in December for goods, that I have found myself with a charge to my mastercard in January 2014. At no time when I made the purchase in December did it ask me for ongoing authorization to make charges against my card, for providing nothing more than emails which they had done freely from April - December 2013.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $29.99 that was taken from my account to be refunded in full.

I would also respectfully request that this company be asked to fully and clearly show any prospective purchasers that they are authorizing anything above the amount they are purchasing.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ***** *******
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: **** **** ****** Lane XXXXX
******** NC
EMAIL: ************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against JewelMint.com by Ms. ***** ******* filed on January 23, 2014. Ms. ******* reported that she was unaware that she was agreeing to our terms of service when she made her first purchase on December 11, 2013.

JewelMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly basis. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
* Terms of Service http://www.jewelmint.com/terms-of-service/
* Frequently Asked Questions
* How it works page
* Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
* And in the order confirmation emails.

JewelMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $29.99 charge if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable JewelMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer on a future purchase.

According to our records Ms. ******* did contact us on January 23, 2014. We cancelled her membership and explained that she would still be able to utilize her last store credit without reactivating her account.

Summary of action: It seems that Ms. ****** overlooked the information provided above on how the membership program works, but on January 24, 2014, we processed a $29.99 refund for the January monthly membership credit. Please allow 3-5 business days for the refund to post to her bank account. No credits remain on Ms. ********* account and her membership remains completely cancelled. We are very sorry that it was unclear to Ms. ****** on how our website and credit system work. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They misrepresent EVERTHING.When it FINALLY arrives = TOTAL JUNK.It fell apart!Wanted to return it ALL. REP SAID OK.But no instructions on HOW 4 ALL!!
Unfortunately, since I finally spoke to a Representative, after the last JUNK finally arrived, I told her the "club" was deceitful, and I did not want to be a member of ANYTHING. Now I cannot "log in" to get the detailed information you are asking me for, here.

I can look over my bank statements, and my emails. However, I do not have access to everything, obviously. I don't think my phone will go back to show all of the calls either. But I will check.

I placed my first order with them in October, and part of my order was back-ordered. I foolishly waited until that back-ordered item arrived, and I believed their promises of customer service, free returns, replacements, etc.

When their jewelry started falling apart, I was already waiting for my last ordered item to arrive. They told me they would replace it, and that I could return the replacement ring, if the stone fell out again.

I finally got the earrings that had been on back-order and another set of earrings that I had ordered with their assurance that everything was fully replaceable and/or refundable at any time.

No one told me I had a limited time, since the first order was never fulfilled until December. Apparently, they considered the October order fulfilled even though half of the order was never sent until December.

When the last two items arrived I called and emailed them RIGHT AWAY, and told them it was all junk, all too heavy (earrings), very poor quality, wrong colors. It wasn't that there was something wrong with everything, it was that everything was wrong with ALL OF IT.

I found no redeeming qualities whatsoever, in the jewelry, their policies, their advertising, or their customer service. I cannot emphasize this enough: The jewelry and the company are both scams and shams.

I will be in touch with the rest of the info. As much of it as I can reconcile, anyway. This is the main reason I didn't return the jewelry one at a time. After having been lied to by various representatives, I simply don't trust them AT ALL. I do not want this to drag out either. I want assurance that it will be handled immediately upon receipt. A FULL REFUND for ALL OF THE JUNK, at one time.

I will retain the jewelry until the rest of this is taken care of by a real person, over the phone, and we can back it up with emails, and I want documentation showing that ALL of the jewelry has been sent by me, in one box, and that the designated and proper authority at Jewel Mint, BEACHMINT, INC, has received it and that the person to whom they tell me to send it, has the power to issue a full refund for all charges immediately upon receipt.

Then, I probably won't deal with any internet companies again, after this disaster. I try to spread my business to smaller companies, and not just big companies. However, this NEVER would have happened at Amazon, for instance. Or any of the large department stores. This place gives all internet businesses a bad name!

My phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX, and I included my phone number on ALL of my correspondence with them, and asked for a phone call. Don't they have phones?

Your survey asked if I am an employee of the DOD. I am not an employee, however I am a contractor with the DOD, and I have a government ID. If that would help you, please call me, and I will do what I can to help you.

Sincerely,

**** *****
XXX-XXX-XXXX
********@gmail.com

P.S. SEE DOCUMENTATION OF CHARGES FROM MY BANK STATEMENT, showing each charge, with dates, and the total amount of the refund I am seeking (with approval and instructions how to put it ALL into one box TO RETURN EVERYTHING AT ONCE and get a FULL REFUND, on the section describing "the settlement you are seeking from the business".

Desired Settlement
12/09/13
CHECK CRD PURCHASE 12/06 BCH*jewelmint.com XXX-XXXXXXX CA XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ?MCC=****
$29.99
11/04/13
CHECK CRD PURCHASE 11/03 BCH*jewelmint.com XXX-XXXXXXX CA XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ?MCC=****
$24.98
10/15/13
CHECK CRD PURCHASE 10/12 BCH*jewelmint.com XXX-XXXXXXX CA XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ?MCC=****
$29.99

TOTAL REFUND: $84.96, AND I WANT TO RETURN IT ALL AT ONE TIME, IN ONE BOX, AS THE REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME I COULD DO, IN DECEMBER, THIS MONTH, OF 2013.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: **** *****
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: ****************** XXXXX
Colorado Springs, CO
EMAIL: ********@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against JewelMint.com by Ms. **** ***** filed on January 8, 2014. Ms. ***** reported that she was unaware that she was agreeing to our terms of service when she made her first purchase on October 11, 2013.

JewelMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly basis. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
* Terms of Service http://www.jewelmint.com/terms-of-service/
* Frequently Asked Questions
* How it works page
* Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
* And in the order confirmation emails.

JewelMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $29.99 charge if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable JewelMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer on a future purchase. Unfortunately, Ms. ***** did not utilize the skip option which is why she was billed on December 6, 2013.

According to our records Ms. ***** contacted us on November 15, 2013 for the return of the Ruby Shower Earrings from order XXXXXXXXX and an agent emailed her a prepaid return label the same day. Similarly, Ms. ***** contacted us again on November 27, 2013 to return different merchandise consisting of the Audrey Love Earrings and Budding Gem Rings from order XXXXXXXXX and a second return label was emailed to her. These returns could have been processed normally however, none of the merchandise from either request was ever returned and therefore, our company did not process a refund. Ms. ***** contacted us a third time on December 30, 2013 demanding to send all items back at the same time and for her account to be cancelled. An agent then created a third return label for all three items and deactivated her membership. According to our tracking information the merchandise was delivered to our warehouse and full refunds were processed for both orders on January 6, 2014. All details regarding return policies can be found directly on our website: http://www.jewelmint.com/faq#orders-13

Summary of action: Our store credits are usually non-refundable, however as a one time courtesy, we have already authorized a refund for one increment of $29.99 on December 31, 2013. There was also a refund of $24.98 processed for order XXXXXXXXX and a $29.99 refund processed for order XXXXXXXXX on January 6, 2014. Ms. *****' account has already been cancelled and she will not be billed on a monthly basis. We are very sorry that it was unclear to Ms. ***** on how our website and return policies work. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.

10/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ShoeMint's subscription practices are not compliant with opt-in standards. You automatically are enrolled in their subscription program (opt-out).
I have been charged $79.98/mo for a subscription program at Shoemint that I haven't opted in to join. All subscription programs should be compliant with opt-in procedures - Shoemint does not follow this practice.

Desired Settlement
I have been charged $399.90 on my credit card for a subscription I didn't opt into. I expect to be credited for this amount. I have requested cancellation of this subscription today.

Final Consumer Response
ShoeMint has responded and credited my account for the unauthorized monthly billing. This matter has been settled. However, many other online consumers have the same complaint I had. BeachMint subscription practices should be made clearer to the customer (not one mention below the BUY NOW button at the very end of the transaction. An opt-in subscription button should be added - and a AGREE TO TERMS AND PAYMENTS check box should be added. This would help make the subscription clear to consumers, avoided many complaints. It's just good business practice to do this.

Page 1 of 4
03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
no refund for the month that didn't buy anything..I didn't join a club.???Month of Feb 2014
I bought something & I had to give my name so I could buy their product & credit card #..they said that because I didn't buy something in Feb ,they charged my credit card $29.99 WHAT I NEVER HEARD OF THIS... I got a new card # because of this...

Desired Settlement
$29.00 that they charged me because I didn't buy anything.....who ever heard of this?

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ****** ******
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: *** *** ****** Cir XXXXX
********, AZ
EMAIL: ********@cableone.net
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against JewelMint.com by Ms. ****** ****** filed on March 10, 2014. Ms. ****** reported that she was unaware that she was agreeing to our terms of service when she made her first purchase on October 23, 2013.

JewelMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly basis. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
Terms of Service: http://www.jewelmint.com/terms-of-service
Frequently Asked Questions
How it works page
Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
And in the order confirmation emails.

JewelMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $29.99 charge if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable JewelMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer on a future purchase. Unfortunately, Ms. ****** did not utilize the skip option which is why she was billed on November 6th, 2013, December 6th, 2013, January 6th, 2014 and February 6th, 2014.

According to our records Ms. ****** contacted Customer Care on March 8th, 2014. An agent explained our policies, deactivated her preferred membership and informed Ms. ****** that she would still be able to utilize her remaining store credits. A second contact was made by Mr. ****** on March 10th, 2104 and another agent confirmed the termination of her preferred membership and explained how to apply her store credits towards her next purchase.

Summary of action: Since it appears that Ms. ****** was unaware of how our membership works, we have processed one refund of $29.99 on March 11th, 2014. Please allow 3-5 business days for the refund to post to Ms. ******' bank account. Three credits remain on her account and she will still be able to log in and use those last credits on JewelMint, StyleMint, IntiMint or ShoeMint for 12 months from the credit's issue date. The monthly billing portion of Ms. ******' membership has been completely cancelled and she will not be billed in the future. We are very sorry that it was unclear to Ms. ****** on how our website and credit system works. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Frad ... I web site & I never heard of this before..I bought from different web sites & I never had any problems...I sister next door to me had the same Problem & they refunded her $29.99 why am I different????

Final Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ****** ******
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: 422 Fox Hollow Cir XXXXX
Prescott, AZ
EMAIL: ********@cableone.net
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer rebuttal against JewelMint.com by Ms. ****** ****** filed on March 15, 2014. Ms. ****** reports that she is still not satisfied with our completion of her desired resolution from her previous complaint filed March 10, 2014.

As stated previously, information on how our membership works is explained in several places on our site. It appears that Ms. ****** overlooked all of the following:
Terms of Service: http://www.jewelmint.com/terms-of-service
Frequently Asked Questions
How it works page
Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
And in the order confirmation emails.

Summary of action: Our Terms of Service state that credits are non refundable, however we have authorized four more monthly billing refunds, each in increments of $29.99. Please allow 3-5 business days for the refunds to post to her bank account. Ms. ******' membership remains completely cancelled. She will no longer be able to shop on our website or be billed monthly.

03/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ShoeMint charges their customers credit cards $80/month after their first purchase. I was unaware that this was happening and was charged $160.
ShoeMint charges their customers $79.98 each month to be a "preferred member". They use the credit card information that the customer uses to make their first purchase and repeatedly charges it after the first purchase. They make VERY little mention of this process. They put a small note in the receipt of your first purchase but it seems to be intentionally sneaky. I was unaware of these charges to my card being made and when I contacted customer support they only offered to deactivate this feature as a "one time courtesy". They take the money that they have billed you for and use it as "credit" in your account. You can apply this "credit" to a purchase but if your purchase is less than your credit then you lose the difference (if you buy something for $60 and use your $80 credit then you lose $20). It seems like a very sneaky and dishonest business model and I was not the only one who was unaware that they were billing my card. When I googled ShoeMint Reviews there were countless reviews saying the same thing: that they were unaware that their account was being billed and that ShoeMint's customer service was unhelpful and uninterested. I believe that ShoeMint should be required to refund the people who they billed and they should also be required to present them with an opt-in to this billing cycle. Instead of automatically billing people they should ask the customer if they would like to be a "preferred customer". I think it's a terribly sneaky business model and I will never recommend ShoeMint to anyone and I will never patronize their business again because I believe it is unethical.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for the $160 that I was unknowingly billed for.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ***** **********
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: 6 ******* Drive XXXXX
************ PA
EMAIL: ****************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against ShoeMint.com by Ms. ***** ********** filed on February 25, 2014. Ms. ********** reported that she was unaware that she was agreeing to our terms of service when she made her first purchase on December 8, 2013.

ShoeMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly basis. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
Terms of Service http://www.shoemint.com/terms-of-service
Frequently Asked Questions
How it works page
Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
And in the order confirmation emails.

ShoeMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $79.98 charge if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable ShoeMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer on a future purchase. Unfortunately, Ms. ********** did not utilize the skip option which is why she was billed on January 6th, 2014 and February 6th, 2014.

According to our records Ms. ********** applied her last two store credits towards a purchase on February 19th. She then contacted Customer Care later that day and one our agents deactivated her preferred membership. She will still be able to access the site and her order history, but will no longer have to skip the month or be billed monthly.

Summary of action: Since Ms. ********** placed an order using her remaining ShoeMint credits for merchandise on February 19th, we are unable to refund the monthly charges. No credits remain on her account and Ms. **********' membership has been completely cancelled. We are very sorry that it was unclear to Ms. ********** on how our website and credit system works. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I used the credits towards the shoes before I realized it was my own money, I thought it was a rewards program. I am returning the shoes and would like a full refund including shipping and a waived restocking fee.

Final Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ***** **********
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: 6 Berkley Drive XXXXX
Morrisville, PA
EMAIL: ****************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer rebuttal against ShoeMint.com by Ms. ***** ********** filed on March 7, 2014. Ms. ********** reported that she did not realize that she purchased the monthly credits used towards her most recent order placed on February 19, 2014.

Ms. ********** was contacted on March 10, 2014 and emailed a pre-paid return label. She was instructed to return both shoes that were purchased on February 19, 2014 and once the merchandise reaches our warehouse, her credit card would be refunded the full amount of $159.96.

Once again we apologize that our membership and credit system was unclear to Ms. **********.

03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like a refund of $29.99 I was charged for a monthly membership I had no knowledge of joining until I got the charge on my account.
I ordered a Watch from the company at the end of February.
ORDER #: XXXXXXXXX

Order Date: February 25, 2014 Total: $20.56

With my Debit card. When I visited the homepage, browsed through the products and started 'window shopping' on there site. There was nothing that clearly stated that if you purchase an item, you are signing up for a monthly membership. When I did the check out- it wasn't NOTICEABLY listed that purchasing one item, automatically signs you up for a recurring membership.

I went on line at the end of every week, as usual to view transactions on my account. To my surprised I was charged $29.99 on March 7th.

I explained this to the customer care person (******** ****) over the chat and of course it was against their terms of service that's isn't easily accessible unless you want to keep scrolling through all the products on the site before you reach the bottom of the page.

I feel like the way they have the site set up is misleading. You see all these nice items, for an affordable rate...and as you're browsing, there isn't anything anywhere unless you go to FAQs or Terms of service stating that this is a membership based retailer. Sites like shoedazzle.com and other retailers similar to that make it very clear. Jewelmint looks just like a normal store front, and there isn't anything visibly stating that you'll be charged $29.99 as soon as you order one item on the regular basis.

Desired Settlement
All I want is the $29.99 back that was charged to my account. When I filled out my payment information, I didn't remember reading anything authorizing a recurring charge on my account. I don't want a store credit, because I don't trust their practices because I feel they aren't completely transparent. I understand businesses have to reel people in, but the purchase terms were not clearly stated in the areas that they needed to be or as accessible as other online retailers.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ****** ****
DAY PHONE: XXX-XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: **** W ******** Ave #XXX XXXXX
*** ******** CA
EMAIL: ************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against JewelMint.com by Ms. ****** **** filed on March 11, 2014. Ms. **** reported that she was unaware that she was agreeing to our terms of service when she made her first purchase on February 24, 2014.

JewelMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly basis. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
Terms of Service http://www.jewelmint.com/terms-of-service/
Frequently Asked Questions
How it works page
Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
And in the order confirmation emails.

JewelMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $29.99 charge if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable JewelMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer on a future purchase. Unfortunately, Ms. **** did not utilize the skip option which is why she was billed on March 6, 2014.

According to our records Ms. **** contacted us on March 10, 2014 and we were able to explain JewelMint's policies, deactivate the monthly billing portion of her preferred membership and explain how she can still use the last remaining credit on JewelMint, ShoeMint, StyleMint or IntiMint.

Summary of action: Our store credits are usually non-refundable, however since it seems that Ms. **** was completely unaware of how JewelMint works, we have authorized one refund of $29.99 on March 12, 2014. Please allow 3-5 business days for the refund to post to her bank account. Ms. ****'s account no longer holds any credits and remains cancelled. She will not have to skip the month or be billed on a monthly basis. We are very sorry that it was unclear to Ms. **** on how our website and return policies work. Here at JewelMint our member's satisfaction for our product and service is our primary goal.

10/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The sign up for this shoe service is extremely vague and very misleading. I ordered a pair of shoes in August 2012. They were cheaply made and I only wore them once. Apparently, just by ordering I was signed up for free! Fast forward a year later and I notice a random $80 charge to my credit card from shoemint. Thinking it was a mistake, or that someone stole my info, I go onto the site for the first time in a year only to see that I have been charged $80 a month for 5 months. Ive been charged $400 for credits which expire, can only be used on non-sale merchandise, are non-refundable, and only apply to purchases made in exact credit denominations. So the credits are essentially useless, or require you to spend more, unless your purchase is an exact multiple of one of their credits. Therefore, not only to they mislead you into thinking your just buying a pair of shoes, but once they charge you for the credits, you can't even use the money they've charged you for unless it comes out to exactly the value of a credit. Further, their merchandise, or at least the shoes I ordered, are extremely low quality. It is very devastating to know a company is out there doing this to people.
Product_Or_Service: credits

Desired Settlement
I'd like all my "credits" refunded.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ***** ******
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: **** Red Bus St XXXXX
Las Vegas, NV
EMAIL: *************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against ShoeMint.com by Ms. ***** ****** filed on August 28th, 2013. Ms. ****** reported that she was unaware that she was agreeing to our terms of service when she made her first purchase on August 20th, 2012.

ShoeMint is part of a monthly membership program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly subscription. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:
* Terms of Service http://www.shoemint.com/terms-of-service/
* Frequently Asked Questions
* How it works page
* Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
* And in the order confirmation emails.

ShoeMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out of the $79.98 charge if they do not wish to be billed the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a non-refundable ShoeMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer for products on our site. Unfortunately, Ms. ****** did not utilize the skip option for the following months:

09/06/2012
10/06/2012
11/06/2012
07/11/2013
08/06/2013

The reason Ms. ****** was not billed other months in between was due to her credit card being declined.

Summary of action: On September 1st, 2013 Ms. ****** contacted us through our Live Chat option where we explained how and why she was legitimately billed. We extended a onetime courtesy refund to Ms. ******. We deactivated the billing portion of the membership which will allow her to log into the account and use the existing credits without reactivating the monthly billing. Only if Ms. ****** uses her credit card would it reactivate the monthly billing. No further refunds will be provided.

09/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received an email from them out of the blue with the subject line "Great news: Your credit has been added", checked my debit card charges, and was shocked that they had charged me $79.98. Once I went through the entire website and every email they had sent me, I discovered for the first time in the FAQs that they were a subscription based website, and charged their members $79.98 each month after their first purchase. I was never made aware that this was a subscription based site, not when I first discovered the website, nor when I made my first purchase and was signed up for the monthly charges. Upon calling their Customer Service line to inform them that I never wished to join a subscription, that I did not consent to that payment, and that I wished the money refunded to me, the customer service representative (****) informed me that there was no way to refund that money.This is a fraudulent charge. Any mention of this monthly charge is buried deeply within the website, several paragraphs down in both the Terms of Service and the FAQs. There is no mention of it on the front page, or on any other commonly visited page. Although they state in the FAQs that they do not allow one-time purchases, their website and emails are structured so as to hide the subscription aspect of the website as deeply as possible. The only mention of the subscription in any communication they with me before the charge was made was at the very bottom of a monthly email, in minuscule font almost the same color as the background of the email, with no mention of it in the subject line or body. It is clear that the text was only there to cover them legally, and that they had no intention of ever making me or any other customer properly aware of the charge beforehand.
Product_Or_Service: Credit for shoes

Desired Settlement
I would like the $79.98 returned, in whole, to my account as soon as possible, with no further monthly charges from ShoeMint or any affiliated companies.

Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ******** ***** ********
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: **** N ******* Rd XXXXX
Reston, VA
EMAIL: **************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer complaint against ShoeMint.com by Ms. ******** ***** ******** filed on July 12th, 2013. Ms. ******** reported she was unaware that she was entering our monthly membership when making her first purchase back on March 24th, 2013.

ShoeMint is part of a continuity program meaning that the customer will be charged on a monthly subscription. Information on how our membership works is easily accessible throughout our website, but in detail under the:

*Terms of Service http://www.shoemint.com/terms-of-service/
*Frequently Asked Questions
*How it works page
*Right under the purchase button at checkout. When a customer makes a purchase on our site, we do advise that by clicking on the "Purchase" button at check out they are agreeing to be part of a membership.
*And in the order confirmation emails.

ShoeMint allows our customers the first five days of each month to either make a purchase or opt out if they do not wish to be charged the monthly fee and receive a credit to their account. Each monthly charge earns the customer a ShoeMint credit valid for one year from date of issue and can be redeemed by the customer for products on our site. The customer can simply log into their account and will be able to view their credit and make a purchase. Please see attached image of our terms which are located directly under our purchase button.

After further research we see that Ms. ******** logged into her account on April 2nd, 2013 and utilize the skip the month feature to avoid being billed. This shows that she was aware of how our Membership works and how to avoid being billed. She then made an additional purchase on April 3rd, 2013 for a pair of shoes priced at $89.98.

We attempted to bill Ms. ******** on May 6th and again on June 6th but both transactions were declined due to Insufficient Funds on Card according to our credit card processor.

Unfortunately, Ms. ******** did not use the skip option she was charged $79.98 on the 6th of July. This provided her a ShoeMint member credit valued at $79.98 which is good towards a future purchase and will be valid for 12 months. We offered a one-time courtesy downgrade to Ms. ********'s membership on July 8th, 2013 which deactivates her monthly billing portion of her membership to prevent further charges. She will have access to the account, receive promotional emails that we send to members only, and she will be allowed to use her (1) existing non-refundable ShoeMint credit on a future purchase. Using her existing credit will not reactivate the monthly billing portion as long as she does not use her credit card.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have no recollection of skipping the charge on April 2nd, nor is there any record that I did so in my emails from ShoeMint or my account information on the ShoeMint website. (As an aside, I also did not buy an additional pair of shoes on April 3rd, and am thus not convinced of the accuracy or veracity of their records.)

The fact that they are claiming the charge is non-refundable is itself an admission of guilt, as there is no honest reason to deny a refund of an unintended purchase.

Final Business Response
CUSTOMER NAME: ******** ***** ********
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
BILLING ADDRESS: **** N ******* Rd XXXXX
Reston, VA
EMAIL: **************@gmail.com
Complaint ID: XXXXXXXX

To Whom It May Concern:

We are responding to a recent consumer rebuttal against ShoeMint.com by Ms. ******** ***** ******** posted on August 13th, 2013. Ms. ******** reported she has no recollection of skipping our monthly membership fee on April 2nd, 2013. The screen shots we provided in our initial response would prove that she indeed did log into her account to avoid a monthly billing charge. This action can only be taken by the account holder.

The purchase we indicated that was made on April 3rd, 2013 was actually an exchange order that was initiated on April 1st, 2013 via email by Ms. ********. We apologize for the misinformation regarding the statement of Ms. ******** making another purchase. During the communication via email however there was indication that she was unaware of how ShoeMint operates.

Again, Ms. ********'s monthly billing for her membership was deactivated on July 8th, 2013. She still will have access to the account, receive promotional emails that we send to members only, and she will be allowed to use her (1) existing non-refundable $79.98 ShoeMint credit on a future purchase. Using her existing credit will not reactivate the monthly billing portion as long as she does not use her credit card.

Page 1 of 11

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Buyers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 05/17/2009
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Wendy O'Neil (Director of Customer Care)
Contact Information
Diego Berdakin (President and Co-Founder) Josh Berman (CEO and Co-Founder)
Number of Employees

110

Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Jewelry Buyers

Alternate Business Names
IntiMint, JewelMint, ShoeMint, StyleMint

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Beachmint, Inc

1333 2nd St, 3rd Floor

Santa Monica, CA 90401-4100

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1333 2nd St, 3rd Floor 

    Santa Monica, CA 90401-4100(424) 257-9000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Beachmint, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.jewelmint.com
  • http://www.stylemint.com
  • http://www.shoemint.com
  • http://www.intimint.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.