BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

Mixbook.com

Phone: (408) 775-8025Fax: (408) 434-0159409 Sherman Ave, Palo AltoCA 94306-1827

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

BBB has determined that Mixbook.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mixbook.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented by the Bureau.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues5
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: The products I received from Mixbook were printed improperly. They refused to issue a refund, even after I sent the photo evidence they requested.
My order number is: XXXXXXX. I ordered 2 identical photo books for $33.97. When my order arrived, I was immediately disappointed in the quality - some photos were printed so dark that you cannot even make out the faces in the photos. Every page was printed poorly. I immediately emailed Mixbook and was assigned Inquiry #XXXXX-XXXXXX. They asked me to send photos of the Mixbook, which I had to do twice. Then they asked me to create a photobook with pictures of the Mixbook I received. I also did this. After 14 emails from me, they finally responded that they issue was with the original files used to create the Mixbook. This is not the case at all - you can easily see when you compare the original photos to the product I received that there has been an error in printing. They offered me a 50% coupon or said they could issue me a refund, IF I paid for the books to be mailed to them, with tracking numbers. I have already taken a lot of time to send them pictures of the books and this decision to now make me pay for shipping them back took them exactly 22 days to come up with. I wish to receive a refund, at no cost to myself, as I have already done what they originally asked for (provided photos of the poorly printed product).

Initial Business Response
Thank you for writing to the Mixbook team!

We reviewed this case and it appears that this user was refunded on 12/14 in the full amount paid for her order, $33.97.

Please see our last Email below:

12/14/XXXX XX:XX PM PST

Thank you for writing back!

At this time we will be happy to provide a full refund back to your method of payment and you will not be required to return the items in question. A total of $33.97 has been issued back to your method of payment, please allow up to 7 business days for the transaction to settle.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. We do hope that you will give Mixbook another try in the future. Thank you and Happy Holidays!

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: The product I received was of bad quality. No help from Mixbook received.
I ordered a photo book for my husband's 30th birthday on December 7, 2013 (order # XXXXXXX). In order to get it on time, I paid $46 for express delivery. When I received it on Thursday December 12, I saw how bad the quality of the covers was. I emailed Mixbook right away, as it was very important for me to have the photo book by December 19. (My email: ************@gmail.com, emailed to: *******@mixbook.com). I attached pictures of the problem and gave a description of it. I got a confirmation email that I would get a response within 24-48 hours, which I didn't. I emailed them again on Friday, December 13. And started a live chat on their website. The live chat person asked me to resend the pictures which I did, and said I should be getting a response within 24 hours and the problem fixed during the weekend. I have the chat transcript of the conversation. It's Monday, December 16, and I haven't received anything from them. I emailed them several times on Saturday and Sunday. Their live chat is unavailable on weekends. No phone number to call. The birthday present is ruined and I ended up paying CAD73.48 (USD66.98) for a terrible quality, defective product. (Paid with AmEx).

Initial Business Response
Thank you for writing to the Mixbook team!

We reviewed this case and it appears that this order was reprinted on 12/16/13 due to color variances. At that time, we also refunded the full amount paid for shipping, $45.99. According to the UPS tracking information this order was delivered on 12/20/13. If there's anything we can do to make things right, please let us know and we'll help!

08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: They are not honoring refund when they double billed me.
I have purchased quite a few custom photobooks from Mixbook. They have binding issues so they had to remake some. On my last order they printed twice and charged me twice. Once for $123 and once for $169. I immediately sent back the duplicate book and they are refusing to give me $169 saying they printed for free. I can show on my visa that is simply not the case. $123 was the correct charge, $169 would have been without a discount and I had a discount.

Consumer's Final Response
CLOSE CASE

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Mixbook purposefully makes it difficult to contact customer service so that consumers are stuck with their products.
I placed an order for Christmas cards on Monday, 11/26 at approx. 7PM. Shortly after submitting my order, I noticed that there was an error on the family names. In trying to go back to correct the issue, I could not find a place to make changes, cancel the order, nor could I locate a phone number to call the company. They offer only email which takes 24-48 hours or live chat which is only open 9A-5P. This morning when I arrived to work, I tried again on the website but noticed that the order was now in "printing" status. I sent an email, posted my problem on their Facebook page, and tried to use live chat (which took me 4 tries and 4 disconnects to only made me more frustrated and without a solution.) They have horrible customer service and I believe purposefully make it difficult to contact them because they do not accept returns so once the order goes in, the customer is stuck with the product.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******, Support Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@mixbook.com
We're so sorry to hear of your experience! This is definitely terrible and not the experience we want you to have. Of course we're with you on this one, we would not want you to be stuck with cards that have "sample" names that do not match your family. That might cause lots of confusion when the cards are sent out :) We promise we'll want to fix this and make it right! We tried to call you to fix this issue, but your phone number is not accepting inbound calls.

We have canceled the incorrect order but we do see that you have made your changes inside your account. we hope you will give us the honor to fix this issue - we can order your new designs for you instead so that when your cards arrive, they will show your family's names. Please know we take customer support very seriously and we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee! If you're ever unhappy with your product we will replace it for you.

We have processed a refund for you, but just let us know if you still would like to receive your order of the cards you have worked so ****. We've placed your (updated and fixed) order on hold pending your reply. We hope to work with you again soon. Take care and we wish you nothing but the best; have a wonderful, peaceful and safe holiday season.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4
01/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/02/2012Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet - Web Hosting, Photo Finishing - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/18/2008Business started: 09/20/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2006, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Andrew Laffoon (Owner)Customer Contact: Elizabeth Amezcua (Customer Service Manager)
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting, Photo Finishing - Retail

Products & Services

This company provides customers the availability to custom craft photo books.

Industry Tips
Business Travelers Beware: Free Wi-Fi Scam Strikes at Airports
Choosing a Web Hosting Service for your Business Web Site
Phony Invoices Target Domain Name Holders
Protecting your wireless network from hackers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mixbook.com

409 Sherman Ave

Palo Alto, CA 94306-1827

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 409 Sherman Ave 

    Palo Alto, CA 94306-1827

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mixbook.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.