BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

SmartBid LLC

(415) 371-9243SunnyvaleCA 94085http://thesmartbid.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

SmartBid LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered SmartBid LLC's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised SmartBid LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SmartBid LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My credit card has unauthorized charges on it by this company.
On 01/17/2013 I was charged $50 on my Debit Card through SmartBid. I have never done business with this company, matter of fact, I have never even heard of them until now. On my Credit Statement the following $50 was charged :

SMARTBID 415-371-9243 CAUS

Desired Settlement
This company has a history of unauthorized charges after researching them on Google. This company is a fraud and I expect full compensation.

Business' Initial Response
Hi *******

Can you provide the last four digits so we may lookup your account?

Thanks,
Sean

06/13/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 1g gold bar on Smartbid 23 Mar12 and there was no delivery. After numerous emails the issues still has not been resolved.

I purchased 1 Gram Gold Statue of Liberty Bar on 23 Mar12 and did not receive it. After numerous emails to Gina in support which resulted in not receiving the item I finally requested a refund for the money which I paid for the item.
There has been no response since this email. I am very frustrated regarding this situation.

Thank you
Laurie

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the current value of the 1 gram fine .999 gold bar which is $88.00.

Thank you for your time.

Laurie Redl

Business' Initial Response
Hi ******,

Sorry for the delay. Unfortunately, our earlier attempts to send the gold bar (and subsequently the Amazon Gift Card) did not appear to be received by you. We will go ahead and refund that amount to your credit card on file.

Please let us know if that works for you.

Consumer's Final Response
Would you reopen the case since I have not received a refund from Smart Bids on my credit card nor received a refund through my Paypal address?

Thank you
Laurie

12/19/2014Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/27/2011Business started: 10/01/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Sean (Customer Support Manager)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Products & Services

This company's business is Internet Shopping Services specializing in online bidding for electronics.

Alternate Business Names
Smart Bid

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SmartBid LLC

Sunnyvale, CA 94085

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SmartBid LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.