BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Playerauctions.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service15
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints24

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (24)
01/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My daughter(under the age of 18) Had bought ingame currency from this website(Jan 8th 2015 @ 10:34am). The website seems to have a reputable business, so I let her.We also had purchased once before from them and had no problems with what we had ordered. A few minutes after the purchase she changed her mind and cancelled it(Jan 8th 2015 @10:49 am). For over a week now we have been trying to get a refund on this purchase. It has been taken out of my bank account and is totally cleared and in their hands(payment authorization cleared @10.36am 1/8/15). For a week with multiple customer service representatives we have been getting different stories on what is happening with our refund. On 1/15/15 we were told ( by a cs named *****)that our refund would be processed and received within 24 hours. It is more like 36 hours and there is nothing at all as evidence of a refund in our account on their website or in my bank account. I get no consistency on when or how the refund is going to happen with any of their representatives. I paid $19.87 and there was a fee of $1.16 to moneybookers so the total price is $21.03 Order ID for this purchase #XXXXXXX. Offer ID#XXXXXXXXX. I had contacted customer service online(as they have no phone number to call customer service) 1/17/15 and talked to a rude customer service rep named ******** Who said he has told the appropriate department and then ended the conversation.
Product_Or_Service: Aion Ingame currency :300m kinah
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I Would just like my refund.

09/08/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold virtual goods via Playerauctions. The items sold were given to the buyer, I still haven't been paid 30 days later.
******* *******(Myself/Seller): Player Auctions Username (************)
Order ID: XXXXXXX
Website: Playerauctions.com
Reason for complaint: Non-payment upon delivery of goods. Going on a month now.

Sold an account on their website on 7/6/2014.

In order for the sale to go through, Playerauctions verifies the account before giving it to the buyer, making sure everything is exactly as advertised, and accurate.

They verified the authenticity and quality of my account themselves, and then gave it to the buyer (User Name: *****). The they gave xybak the pertinent information, he was given control of the account, and I talked to him via site messenger and even by phone to make sure everything was all set.

After being completely satisfied with the account, he thanked me for the great help and effort to make sure things went smooth. I thought great, take care. However, upon waking up the next morning to check on the status of the payment, it showed xybak had put in a dispute on the sale.

He lied immediately in his reasoning for the dispute. Telling them the account wasn't as described, and that I lied to him about information. I messaged him pretty upset about it, and he SELF ADMITTED that it was a lie, and the real reason was because he couldn't transfer to a particular server after the fact. Not that there was ANYTHING wrong with the account itself.

This guy was calling my house constanstly, so I ended up telling him I'll talk to PA and we can probably work something out, simply to get him to stop harrassing me. I told Playerauctions in direct chat that I DO NOT wish to give him a refund, as the whole basis for it has nothing to do with the sale itself. As confirmed by their own inspection.

What has ensued since is a never-ending run around. I tell them I'll give him 30 bucks back simply to get this mess over with. They say they'll contact the buyer. A week will go by with no word, I'll hop in live chat, they'll tell me I'll have a response in 24-48 hours. Sure enough, 48 hours later, no response, i'm back in live chat, and i'm recieving the same exact speil as the time prior to that.

I have been in live chat nearly every day, or every other day from 7/14 until today 8/4/2014. I ask for a reason why i'm not paid, when even they admit the reason itself for the dispute wasn't true. Yet it's always "The higher team that is handling the case will contact you with a final verdict within 24-48 hours". This has gone on for 3 weeks straight now, and despite me being in live chat about 20 times, and sending of countless e-mails to their "mediator" that is handling the case, and it has gone absolutely nowhere.

I'm fed up with the poor customer service and lack of communication. They tell me I'll have an answer in a day, I won't hear from them for a week. I go to live chat because of this, they just give me the run around day in and day out.

I know I've probably explained this situation horribly, so to boil it down to concise facts...


-I provided to the website/buyer exactly what was advertised, to the smallest detail.

-They confirmed this themselves with their own inspection.

-They gave my goods to the buyer, on 7/6/2014. It is now 8/4/2014 and I'm still not paid what I am owed, and am basically getting told "company" lines every time I talk to customer service. With no actual information being told to me, no real updates. Never prompt responses, varying from 5 days to 2 weeks, when i'm told I will be updated 24-48 hours.

-It's like talking to a wall. Everyday they feed me the same bogus, vague statements, that explain absolutely nothing about what's actually going on, and refuse to give me an accurate ETA of when it will be settled.


The buyer got EXACTLY what he paid for, and what was advertised. Playerauctions confirmed this, and gave him the goods I was selling. They have since refused to pay me, going on 30 days, and every day I try to contact them I get treated like ****.

Desired Settlement
I simply want the money I am owed. Truthfully I feel after all of this aggrivation they should compensate me more, but just give me what is rightfully mine so I can stop dealing with this atrocious customer service day in and day out.

Business Response
Playerauctions ended up resolving the issue, by paying me on the 18th of August, 2014. While still not thrilled by any means with how long it took them, the main issue is resolved.

I would like to thank you for your assistance in the matter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PlayerAuctions will not disperse payment for items I sold on their website although I've provided proof of delivery.
on 5/11/15, the buyer, *******, placed an order for virtual goods via the playerauctions website. I goods within an hour, at which time, the buyer disputed the order. He is not disputing delivery, but is disputing the listing that purchased. I have provided PlayerAuctions proof of said delivery, the buyer has acknowledged delivery and possession of the items. The order was escalated to the Player Auctions "Final Resolution Committee" and "Manual Arbitration". I have provided all of the necessary proof that they requested. They have access to all of the communication between myself and buyer. The communication that I have received from PlayerAuctions was on 5/21/14, instructing me to contact the buyer and resolve the situation amongst us. The buyer is verbally abusive and threatening and I cannot reach an amicable resolution with him/her. Since 5/21/14, PlayerAuctions will not respond to emails and requests from me. At this point, they are holding the funds and will not disperse payment as they agreed to do when I sold items through their website.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting payment of the full amount of the listing which is $53.02 ($60.00 for the listing minus their commission of $6.98).

06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My account I purchased off this website along with "additional protection" was recovered I have tried many times to talk to both the seller and PA
I purchased this account along with insurance. it was recovered multiple times I would report it stolen to the company and they would just ignore my emails or send me a message saying " the seller said they didnt recover it" but the seller ignores me and playerauctions. he claims not to be active on runescape but has bought over 50 runescape items in that time. on July 27th 2013 this seller sold the same account he sold to me on the website. the order ID was XXXXXX and the seller is ******. I just want store credit in return for this.

Desired Settlement
Refund in form of store credit.

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've recently purchased goods from playerauctions and had the goods removed 24 hours later with no refund and horrible customer service
Hello my name is ******* ****** and i've recently purchased goods from player auctions they are legit on getting my items but there refund policy is not. The problem started about 1/7/14 after i was given lousy customer support by there 24-7 live chat giving little to no information other to wait for an email. I Never received one email about the problem i even sent another email as the guy on livechat instructed me to do and i didn't receive anything. But they sure were quick to respond back when i was giving them my money. I Paid a total of $270 V.I.A moneybookers/skrill using a VISA debit card linked to my Bank i requested a refund and the guy told me that they would give me a coupon. I Told him that i would rather just have them refund it to my bank for the troubles they have given me, I would be perfectly fine if i received an email stating that they were looking into the issue but i haven't received anything i told the guy on livechat i would have to resort into contacting the better business bureau about my refund. He explained to me that his higher up team had to investigate and i told him thats fine but can you keep me up to date and they never did. The Order ID for my purchased goods is (Order ID: XXXXXXX) all i would like for them to do is simply refund my money as they have stated they will nothing else or at least keep me up to date with the current problems/investigation As i'm out $270 and the purchased goods i received and no email in site of saying how long i should wait or what to do. Thank you BBB for allowing me to express my problems and you helping me fix them ~ ******* ******

Desired Settlement
The only thing i would like to receive for the settlement from Player Auctions is my Promised refund to my Bank or Paypal. No coupon for there website as i can see there refund policy is slow and unreliable if they refund you at all i am not sure.I paid $270 + some change all i want is a full refund of $270 to ethier my Bank Account it came out of or my Paypal account. Once again Thank you so much BBB for allowing me to bring you my problems and they be fixed i am very thankful ~ ******* ******

Business Response
Hello Mr. ******,

My name is *****, I am the Head of Legal Affairs at PlayerAuctions. One of my colleagues just forwarded your case to me, so I have been been investigating your transaction's details. According to our records, a refund for your purchase on Jan. 6, 2014 was disbursed to you on Jan. 14, 2014.

Sorry about the delay! It can occasionally take a little over a week to process refunds because we take the time to manually review cases where our payment rule triggers detect anomalies (such as evidence of fraud, as was the case with your seller here, evidently).

Please confirm that you have received the money so that I can rest assured that your problem has been solved! :)

Best regards,

*****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have received the refund from player auctions it took a while but i received and i am very thankful i appreciate you! Thanks BBB too for your support! Case Closed :)

Page 1 of 2
04/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for an account. Account was compromised by previous owner. Gave them sufficient evidence. No reply, felt scammed by company.
I paid for my purchase 2 months ago and due to previous owner the purchase became inaccessible. So I don't consider my purchase as being complete since as of now I literally paid for nothing.

I tried contacting the company playerauctions various times through their on-line chat and also through email and provided significant proof of the purchase being compromised by the previous owner, but was just given the run around about investigations etc. without actually receiving any reply after.

On-line chat was with: ******
Email was with: ***

I felt like I have been scammed into paying over $180 and ended up with nothing and also playerauctions refuse to do anything. Their buyer protection is a lie because it is non-existent. Just overall a fraudulent company.

Desired Settlement
Just the amount I paid. $175 + $6.85 paypal fees.

Business Response
Hello, *******,

My name is *****, I handle business and legal affairs at PlayerAuctions. First, I'd like to say that I am very sorry that you have been defrauded. Our entire C2C business model is centered around preventing such occurrences. Thus, I never like to hear about gamer to gamer fraud.

Can you give me some details about your order and your user name? I haven't been able to locate you in our records.

Regards,

*****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My account is: ********
Order ID: XXXXXXX

I have contacted online chat and was instructed to send in proof to *******@playerauctions.com which I did and have yet to receive any response. I sent multiple emails of the proof that my purchase was compromised by the previous owner and now have no access to it at all. Which means I paid $175 + paypal fees for nothing and ended up with nothing... I am very disappointed and frustrated about this situation and the way it was handled by playerauctions.

Final Business Response
Hi ***,

Please send me your user name and I will look into this case.

Regards,

*****

03/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues
10/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/06/2013Delivery Issues
08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This site scammed me! I didn't get what I paid for, but they're not giving a full refund! They've also tried everything they can to scam me more!
My money was transferred, but I never received what I ordered. When I filed a dispute after 24 hours, I had to wait another 3 days during which the seller tried everything in the book to scam me - tried getting me to cancel the order so he could keep my money, tried getting me to cancel the dispute, tried telling me my account was invalid and someone else got it, tried telling me -they were out of stock- (this isn't supposed to be a site for illegal gold farmers anyways!)... and then, once the three days were up, the dispute went through the system automatically even though I was told by a CS that it wouldn't because he sent the seller a warning and postponed it for another 24 hours even though I told him not to because I didn't want to wait any longer... and now I have to wait EVEN LONGER, PLUS I'm being PENALIZED for something that wasn't even under my control! I'm having to wait THREE MORE DAYS for my refund, and it's not even a full refund!!! *I* am being *PUNISHED* because the *SELLER* didn't do his job, and nobody wants to do ANYTHING about ANY of it!!!

Desired Settlement
I want ALL of my money back, and I want it done NOW, not whenever they feel like it! I don't want to be punished because the seller didn't do their job! That is not under my control, so why should I be PENALIZED for it?! This site should just be shut down, because it's nothing more than a fraudulent scam!!!

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a product that i never received. They gave me the run around and scammed my money.
Product_Or_Service: Rs 2007 Account
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
A full refund because i never got the product

11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I sent my payment through my sister's paypal to the website, they denied my purchase, yet kept the money.
There was a misunderstanding in the payment process that left me without my money that I spent, and without my item that I'd ordered. Thanks to the absolutely TERRIBLE service that I sat through, I'm now without the $70 that I spent and I have multiple days to even TRY to get it back. They wouldn't even consider any explanation or try to adjust their opinion on the misunderstanding. I paid through Paypal and the names did not match. Despite the fact that the person who I am buying for is a DIRECT relative, they said that the payment couldn't be completed, even after they'd told me previously that a direct relative was acceptable. I now have days to wait for even a chance at getting a response from anyone who has the power to help me. That's the best case scenario. Likely this site stole $70 from me and I'll never see it again.

Happened on 10/17/2014. They said there would be no refund through them, only Paypal. They said there'd be no way for them to offer me my item, either. So waiting will accomplish nothing. I've tried Paypal, but all Paypal can do is go through them to ask.

I payed $69.18 through my own debit card through Paypal.

Website Order ID: XXXXXXX

Seller: *****

Website: **************

Desired Settlement
$69.18 USD

That's the exact amount that left my Paypal to purchase the item I never received.

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service/Product not provided.
I purchased an account of Playerauctions where they guarantee safety and security of the account. After i received the account, it was taken back in 20 days and I've been trying to reach the support ever since. After responding to my first email, they never responded again for a week. I then contacted their chat support who literally did nothing except say that email support would email me in a day. I then received a very simplistic email from support the next day asking me for some information which i provided the very next day. 3 days later, I emailed them again asking for an update. No response. 1 week later, still no response, I contacted the chat support again. They "guaranteed" that email support would once again reach out to me. And no matter what I said, that's the only response they would provide and to be honest, the chat support does nothing at all other than say email support will follow. At this point I didn't want to waste any more time so I'm submitting this complaint.

Desired Settlement
At this point I'm tired of dealing with their support and poor service. So the only thing I want back is the money I spent.

09/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a game account on their site. The account lasted around 30 days and got blocked and I was unable to access it again.
I purchased a game account for the game ************************************************* I even purchased the recommended insurance just in case there was any problems with the account.
I had access to the account for less than 30 days. In fact, it was when I tried to log on to pay my subscription that I noticed it was blocked and I no longer had access to my account.
I tried contacting the seller through the playerauctions website but I feel playerauctions did not collect enough contact info from the seller since the only thing I could do was send a message through on the website.

Here is the order info from the playerauctions site.
Order Detail (Order ID: XXXXXXX)


Current Order Status: Delivery Fully Completed
PlayerAuctions has confirmed the full completion of delivery for this order.
1 purchased, 1 is claimed to be delivered.


Order Info
Offer: NA Account Level 24 Stalker Closed Beta Invited account ... + '$39.99 Insurance Coverage for 1 year'
Market: Wildstar NA - Caretaker - Dominion - Accounts
Seller: ****88 Feedback score between 1 and 10.
Seller Availibility: Submit
Please contact me to confirm my availability Please contact me to confirm my availability.
Price: $39.99 + $6.99(Insurance)
Payment Gateway Processing Fee: Credit Card +$2.05
Paid Price: $49.03
After Sale Insurance Guarantee Submit
Remaining Protection: 299 Days 13:42:34
Reclamation Status: Completed. Unknown Reason without compensation.

I also have a copy of emails and support chats exchanged with the company but They do not fit.

Desired Settlement
Since I payed for the reclaim insurance I would like my money back. I would also like to see others warned about their service if at all possible.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.