BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1998

eBay Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(800) 322-92662145 Hamilton Ave, San JoseCA 95125-5905

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1998

BBB has determined that eBay Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised eBay Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5754 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented by the Bureau.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5754 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2289 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues797
Billing / Collection Issues968
Delivery Issues145
Guarantee / Warranty Issues257
Other12
Problems with Product / Service3575
Total Closed Complaints 5754

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on eBay Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5754)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrongfully accused and indefinitely suspended account
My account was unfairly, indefinitely suspended and I would like the account suspension removed and selling privileges fully reinstated.

I have Never done anything out of practise with Ebay, the reason my account was shut down was because I share the same IP address as someone that had their account close. I do Not see this as fair!

I lodged into my ebay sellers account a few hours ago to see that I had been indefinitely suspended. I called Ebay to see why and was informed it was because I share the same iP addy as someone who was suspended ( also wrongfully suspended by Ebay). This is absolutely ridiculous. My account is in great standings, and I have never done anything to violate Ebays terms and conditions.

i understand that Ebay is trying to maintain a safe environment for all it's users, as am I with my account and my selling practises.

I fell that is is 100% an unfair act and would like my account reinstated.

Thank you!
Account ID: ******************

Desired Settlement
My ebay sellers account 100% reinstated

Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I am sorry to see that you have had such a frustrating experience with some of our Customer Service Representatives in relation to the recent restriction that has been placed on your account. It is never our intention to add any unnecessary stress to an already difficult situation. I would be more than happy to review your concerns to ensure that all measures taken are in compliance with the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement.

I have reviewed your account and have found that you have been linked to accounts that been previously suspended/restricted. We have had to apply this restriction because of risk associated with your linked accounts.

Out of our concern for the entire eBay community, we look for certain activities, which include connections between related accounts. We look for various account similarities which include but are not limited to; contact information, financial information or account behavior. I will include a link for more information about using multiple accounts.

Using multiple accounts: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/multiple-accounts.html

***** I understand that you feel as if this action is unfair. We must however look at this as a neutral party with the entire eBay Community in mind. We will no longer be able to protect you through your eBay Money Back Guarantee Program and have resolved all existing claims. You will have to work with your respective buyers to resolve your claims further. As a gesture of good will I have credited your final value fees for the transaction that was related to your eBay Money Back Guarantee claim. We will not be taking any further action in regards to this transaction considering the recent findings and actions taken in relation to your eBay Account.

At this time we must uphold our decision to restrict your selling abilities on your eBay account. This action will not be considered for an appeal as we're not comfortable with your selling practices or business model, and we feel they don't help to promote a positive buying and selling environment.

*****, thank you for being a member of the eBay Community since 2013, we invite you to continue to buy with us if you choose to do so. We are here to ensure that all buyers and sellers are protected when transacting in the eBay Marketplace. I presume that this is not the answer you are seeking but we must stand by our original decision to restrict your selling ability at this time. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I 100% feel that this action is wrong.

The person you are speaking about is my BF ******* who was on hs way to becoming top seller with eBay and even 2 days prior to this incident called in to eBay to make sure everything was okay with his account and make sure he would reach this status. This is something he strived for and took pride in achieving.

Both him and I strived to keep eBay a safe place and on a regular basis contacted eBay to help us reach our next goals with selling.

Because his account was closed wrongfully so was mine.

Had eBay looked into the case and contacted him about the 'issue' none of this would have been happening.

The products he sells are 100% authentic and he has all of the receipts to prove that. It is unfortunate that the numerous times he has called in to eBay to fix this issue they won't tell him anything.

I can guarantee you that it eBay too a moment to look at his documentation they would realize that that made a huge mistake.

Because of eBay's mistake with ****** accounts, and my account being closed as a result, I am stuck holding the bill for a customer that was wrongfully given a credit because my account was closed down! I do not have the product back nor has it been shipped backed to me. This is something that eBay should be reimbursing me!

Please let me know where we can send the documentation for his account and mine so that they can be reinstated from eBay's error.

Thank you

*****

Final Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for following up. I am sorry to hear you're displeased with my response.

I can see that you are very passionate about your selling on eBay after reviewing your concerns. I am sorry that you feel that our decisions to protect the eBay Marketplace are an injustice. You have mentioned that you have been linked to your boyfriend's account which has been cited for having issues in the past as well. It is very unfortunate that these circumstances have led to the restriction of your account.

However, we must stand by our decision to uphold the selling restrictions on your various accounts. Please know that we do not make decisions to restrict a member's ability to sell lightly. We do this with the entire eBay community in mind, and we are sorry that we're unable to allow you to sell in the eBay Marketplace.

At this time, we feel that your complaint regarding this situation has been appropriately addressed. Please note that while we will read any future correspondence that you send to us regarding this issue, we may not respond. Thank you for your cooperation and patience in the matter.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrongfully gave customer credit for a complaint that was opened.
I refund to a customer was wrongfully given and I am out over $110.00 USD and would like that reimbursed to me along with PayPal fees and Ebay Fees.

Along with this I will be opening a complaint with PayPal

Sellers beware, please read this entire article and take a moment to decide whether or not you want to do business with the company. There are plenty of other online auction sites to choose from.

July 23rd a case was open against me from a client stating that the item wasn't as described. Truthfully the item was exactly as describe, and came straight from the product manufacturer in the United States. I understand a lot of people probably say this but I have all the receipts and proof to back this claim that I am willing to share with eBay. In fact the item description came directly off the companies website.

On my listing I have stated that I do not do refunds or exchanges.

When the case was opened myself along with the customer sent a few messages back and fourth and I told them I would do a 100% refund for them. The conversation between the two of us was very pleasant.

I gave the the directions to mail the product back to the manufacture, with shipping direction, and instructions. I stated that once the product was received and we would verify this through a tracking number that I would issue the refund.

A few days went by and I didn't hear anything back from them.

July 31st I receive indefinite selling restriction on my account. I called eBay to see what this was all about because I have 100% feedback and Never had an issue. I was working hard at becoming a top - seller, and wouldn't do anything to jeopardize my account.

I was informed that my account was closed and I would never be able to sell again because I share the same IP Address (internet connection) as another account that was closed. This is 100% unfair and I have opened another case with the BBB for this and chatted with numerous eBay reps trying to get my account back and there is nothing that can be done. I am being penalized for someone else's account. I called and talked to reps and all they say is that there is no one that I can talk to higher about resolving this issue and that they can't tell me any more about it.

August 1st I received an email stating that the case from my customer was closed and they gave the customer a full refund issued from my PayPal account! This may be a coincidence but I doubt it was as it happened directly after my account was unfairly closed.

If you go back and read though the email between me and the customer, everything was sorted out ad they would have received a full refund once the product was received back at the warehouse but now that the refund was given from ebay instead of looking at how we resolved it:

1- I do not have my products back - cost me $49.85 to purchase
2- I had to refund the customer - $67.63 USD
3- I paid PayPal fees on that item sold
4- I paid Ebay fees on that item sold
5- The customer still has the product

I am requesting the re-eimbusment for the initial cost of the product - I will gladly send the receipts that I paid for this product directly from the manufacturer, please inform me of the best address possible to email them or email them.

I am requesting a FULL refund for my ebay fees for this product being sold onto my Credit Card

I am requesting a full refund for my pay pal fees for this product. Again I will send you a direct copy of the fees for this item sold and would like that placed on my credit card..

Future sellers beware. This could happen to you and any of your products. Had I know ( and this is my bad for not looking into all the complaints with ebay prior to using this platform) I would never have chosen to sell my products on this platform.

This is absolutely ridiculous and I would like this sorted out as soon as possible with refunds given on the credit card number that you have on file.


Account ID: ******************

Desired Settlement
1- I do not have my products back - cost me $49.85 to purchase
2- I had to refund the customer - $67.63 USD
3- I paid PayPal fees on that item sold
4- I paid Ebay fees on that item sold
5- The customer still has the product

I am requesting the re-eimbusment for the initial cost of the product - I will gladly send the receipts that I paid for this product directly from the manufacturer, please inform me of the best address possible to email them or email them.

I am requesting a FULL refund for my ebay fees for this product being sold onto my Credit Card

Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I am sorry to see that you have had such a frustrating experience with some of our Customer Service Representatives in relation to the recent restriction that has been placed on your account. It is never our intention to add any unnecessary stress to an already difficult situation. I would be more than happy to review your concerns to ensure that all measures taken are in compliance with the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement.

I have reviewed your account and have found that you have been linked to accounts that been previously suspended/restricted. We have had to apply this restriction because of risk associated with your linked accounts.

Out of our concern for the entire eBay community, we look for certain activities, which include connections between related accounts. We look for various account similarities which include but are not limited to; contact information, financial information or account behavior. I will include a link for more information about using multiple accounts.

Using multiple accounts: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/multiple-accounts.html


***** I understand that you feel as if this action is unfair. We must however look at this as a neutral party with the entire eBay Community in mind. We will no longer be able to protect you through your eBay Money Back Guarantee Program and have resolved all existing claims. You will have to work with your respective buyers to resolve your claims further. As a gesture of good will I have credited your final value fees for the transaction that was related to your eBay Money Back Guarantee claim. We will not be taking any further action in regards to this transaction considering the recent findings and actions taken in relation to your eBay Account.

At this time we must uphold our decision to restrict your selling abilities on your eBay account. This action will not be considered for an appeal as we're not comfortable with your selling practices or business model, and we feel they don't help to promote a positive buying and selling environment.

*****, thank you for being a member of the eBay Community since 2013, we invite you to continue to buy with us if you choose to do so. We are here to ensure that all buyers and sellers are protected when transacting in the eBay Marketplace. I presume that this is not the answer you are seeking but we must stand by our original decision to restrict your selling ability at this time. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*****

Thank you for your prompt response.

I do not feel as this is a fair response to me. The person who's account you are speaking about that is linked to mine (through an internet connection) is my Boyfriends, *******

His account was wrongfully suspended as eBay stated that he was selling counterfeit products. Without talking to him they closed his account.

The products that his account sells are in fact 100% authentic, and he has all the documentation, and receipts for these products purchased directly front the company themselves - making them 100% authentic.

Had eBay asked for records prior to closing his account, none of this would be happening.

Both him and I have been trying over the last week to speak to representatives, so we can get this cleared up and our accounts re-instated.

It is a shame that eBay didn't look into this case more, as we are both great sellers with great feedback from our customers. We work with our customers always to ensure if any issues arise that they are taken care of immediately and the issue is resolved.

Because of these mess with his account and eBay not looking in to it properly before suspending it has resulted in my account also being closed unfairly.

I understand that people probably tell you this often but in our cases it is true and we have all documentation to prove that all the products we sell are 100% authentic.

You stated that my case is not allowed to be appealed, why is that? If we have all the documents to prove and the receipts for us purchasing them that they are authentic and out seller feedback histories why won't you allow up to appeal our cases?

This is very poor business practises on eBay!

-*****

Final Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for following up. I am sorry to hear you're displeased with my response.

I can see that you are very passionate about your selling on eBay after reviewing your concerns. I am sorry that you feel that our decisions to protect the eBay Marketplace are an injustice. You have mentioned that you have been linked to your boyfriend's account which has been cited for having issues in the past as well. It is very unfortunate that these circumstances have led to the restriction of your account.

However, we must stand by our decision to uphold the selling restrictions on your various accounts. Please know that we do not make decisions to restrict a member's ability to sell lightly. We do this with the entire eBay community in mind, and we are sorry that we're unable to allow you to sell in the eBay Marketplace.

At this time, we feel that your complaint regarding this situation has been appropriately addressed. Please note that while we will read any future correspondence that you send to us regarding this issue, we may not respond. Thank you for your cooperation and patience in the matter.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is that eBay has made several charges to my account without authorization. They promised on multiple occasions to reverse these charges,of which once they do, they re post them. And, items that I have removed for sale there, have sold. When I contact the customer service phone number I get rude people or they promise to fix, of which is never the case. And, they refuse to call me back. No one at the office is available to talk with me.

Desired Settlement
Fix unauthorized charges.

Business Response
Hello ******,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today. I can only imagine how upsetting it was to be told you would receive credits, only to not receive them. I would be more than happy to address this with you.

I would like to start by thanking you for your business over the past 4 years although it sounds like you don't intend to sell with us any longer. I found where you said this to your most recent buyer, "Hi, I am sorry. I'm not sure how this is still listed. I removed all of my listings from this company because of illegal and unethical treatment from them. I am refunding the money through ebay because, this was pulled over three weeks ago! If you are still interested in this product, please purchase from *************************************************************************************************** I'm sorry for the inconvenience" It seems you are aware of where the $2.40 charge came from (Final Value Fees) but you chose to refund the money and ask the buyer to purchase the item elsewhere. I do need to let you know that this is against eBay policy and I would encourage you to review the following link.

Offers to buy or sell outside of eBay: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/rfe-spam-non-ebay-sale.html

While I can certainly relate to the frustration you experienced with your invoices, I must remind you that as outlined in our User Agreement, we do require that our members familiarize themselves with the policies and procedures impacting their participation within the eBay Community prior to taking part in activities on our site. It appears you were not aware of changes that were made to our fee schedule quite some time ago and as such you requested to have fees credited back. I see this happened on June 25th and after finding out that you still had an item listed for sale that sold and was paid for (the item referred to above) I see we credited back the Final Value Fees as a courtesy on July 24th. At this point your seller account shows a $0.00 balance.

Moving forward, please keep in mind that if you have not sold in a while it would be best to make yourself familiar with any changes that could have happened during the time you were away. We typically email sellers about changes to fees, seller performance requirements, etc. but if it has been a while since you last sold you could have an old email address on file that the emails are being sent to. In the end it is your responsibility to review our Help Pages or contact eBay Customer Support regarding any questions you may have.

eBay User Agreement: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/user-agreement.html?rt=nc

I am happy to find that courtesy credits were provided to you ****** and we hope that you one day decide to give eBay another try.

Regards,

******** *******
eBay's Office of the President

08/15/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have won a legitimate auction, paid for the item and the seller refuses to deliver the item. Ebay removed negative feedback and allows fraud.
On 6/23/2014 I won auction XXXXXXXXXXXX for $415.00. I immediately paid for the item via paypal. The seller then refused to deliver the item. At first he said he wanted to cancel supposedly because of a shipping request. I immediately contacted ebay and alerted them of the fraud, they told me he was not allowed to do that. I opened an investigation and they determined that he had to honor the auction, he had no grounds to cancel it, and he was breaking a legal contract. The seller has refused to honor the auction and ship the item. When I pay he returns the money and refuses to honor the sale.

To fully understand what's happening, you have to know about the item in question. What I am buying is a simple guitar effects pedal worth ~$30 in parts. They were originally made by a man named *************. I bought one from him many years ago and it was stolen recently. I went to buy another and found out why it was stolen. ** ******** stopped making the pedals and unscrupulous capitalists are trying (and succeeding) in driving the price to ridiculous levels (primarily using ebay) to artificially inflate the price. They are trying to sell the old pedals for between $2,000 - $4,000+ The ironic thing is that I've found that they have started manufacturing them again. The new units are being built but there is a backlog. The unit I bought was a unit, that I found out later, was made this year and sold for $265. Since there is a backlog these unscrupulous sellers are trying to drive the prices up to 3x 4x 5x.... the original price because many musicians are not aware they are available again. So until people realize that they can buy these units new for $265. A horde of unscrupulous sellers are doing everything to drive up the price before the backlog is filled. I spent weeks watching auction to replace my old pedal and finally bought one for $415 (when the seller paid $265). Yet still this wasn't enough profit and he's refusing to sell in hopes of cashing in before the market dries up. He has no other reason not to honor the sale and ebay has told him as much.

Since the seller is committing fraud, refuses to honor his agreement and is withholding the item, I posted negative feedback. Very appropriate feedback, saying the seller was a rip off, and that he refused to ship the item after I had won the auction and paid in full.

So here we are 4 weeks later... the seller refuses to ship the item. I am out 5 weeks of research and bidding, time and hassle, money deducted from my account, and still don't have an effects pedal I paid for. eBay still allows this seller to sell on the site unrestricted even though the are aware that he is actively committing fraud. Even with this full knowledge they refuse to ban, restrict or even flag his account. To add insult to injury, they have even removed my negative feedback, and refuse to reinstate it. Actively masking criminal activity and breach of contract and acting as an accomplice to this fraudulent seller. They have now given other buyers the false impression that this seller is reputable when they know the reverse is true.

The fact is that the seller and ebay are in breach of contract. Ebay has actively participated in allowing the fraud to continue. This seller is violating policy and driving up prices unethically ($4,000 for a $200 pedal... shame shame) and ebay allows this. They have refused to enforce their own stated consequences for fraudulent operations and business practices. Allowing this seller to continue to operate and perpetuate these criminal practices. Even going as far as to remove appropriate negative feedback and therefore misleading their customers in violation of their own rules and guidelines and customer mission statement.

Account ID: ****

Desired Settlement
I expect the seller to honor the sale

If eBay cannot convince him to honor his legal commitment, I expect ebay to honor theirs, AND their user agreement, by terminating his account, and ban him so that others won't be subjected to this type of fraud from known unethical sellers.

Also the negative feedback should be restored immediately.

Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I can see that you are very frustrated with your recent transaction for the **** *** ****** effects pedal (eBay Item#: XXXXXXXXXXXX) that you have been attempting to resolve with your seller. It appears that your seller has decided to cancel the transaction because of a shipping issue in the onset of the transaction. I am sorry to see that this transaction has not proceeded as you have expected. Your seller has stated that they will not ship to the new address that you have requested it to be sent to after realizing your address was not correct in your order details.

After reviewing your concerns I have found that you seller was concerned with shipping this item to an unconfirmed address. Many sellers will request to cancel a transaction after having a change of this nature because they are required to ship to the confirmed address in PayPal in order to be full covered by PayPal's Seller Protection Program.

If a seller elects to cancel a transaction they will be held accountable for each instance through our fees policy and within their Seller Performance metrics. Our primary goal is to ensure that all transactions are being completed as seamlessly as possible. We recognize that these types of experiences are unavoidable in some situations but we do have many measures in place to have issues such as this reported and actioned as appropriate. I will make sure that you concerns are reported through the appropriate channels to ensure that the integrity of the eBay Marketplace is not being compromised.

I apologize that these policies have affected your experience with this seller to the point that you opted to leave negative Feedback. I understand that one of your major concerns with this transaction is that your Feedback was removed after the transaction was cancelled. Please know that we only remove Feedback when it is direct violation of one of the provisions of the eBay User Agreement.

Your Feedback was removed because it has violated one of our structured fields provisions. The provision states that Feedback can be removed if a buyer made a request that was clearly different from what was stated in the listing, and the seller didn't accommodate the request. For example, a buyer left negative Feedback because they requested a different delivery method than what was offered in the listing, and the seller refused.

This action was taken correctly as the seller has been requested to ship to an alternative address that what was indicated within the original order details. For more information pertaining to our policies regarding Feedback please reference the following link.

****************************************************************************
*****, I must apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. I understand that you have spent a considerable amount of time bidding and watching other items to try and obtain this particular item. I may presume that this is not the resolution you were expecting but we must operate within our policies and procedures equally for all members in the eBay Marketplace. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello,
I appreciate the response but your reasoning is completely inaccurate. You state the reason for not continuing with the sale as some mix up about the address. THIS IS NOT THE CASE. I told him if it was a problem then he could ship it to the other address. Current adssress or ANY ADDRESS but he refused. EBAY opened an investigation and told him that I was a legitimate buyer and that there was nothing wrong with my request. Still he refused to ship to ANY address. Not you protect this fraudulent seller who does not honor the terms of the sale and you are complicit in this fraudulent transaction that he has decided to back out of for no other reason than GREED.

This response is completely unacceptable. The seller has committed fraud, ebays is complicit and has gone to great lengths to cover up any feedback so they can continue to make money from unethical sellers. Putting other buyers at risk unnecessarily by ensuring 100% positive feedback for a known fraudulent seller. You've been told over and over it had nothing to do with the address and your own investigation concluded that it was no reason to cancel the transaction. Thank you for going on record and sighting this bogus reason as the motivation for your complacency. Since there is already significant documentation, and audio recordings from me and your own company clearly indicating that this is completely untrue. I will pursue this matter through the court system.
Thank you for your time and consideration
*****

Final Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for following up. I am sorry to hear you're displeased with my response.

Please be aware that we are taking all appropriate action to ensure that future transactions will not result in similar experiences. It is never our intention to create a bad experience for either our buyers or our sellers. We are here to facilitate transactions when requested by our members to the best of our abilities. I am sorry that you feel as if you did not receive the level of service that you were expecting from eBay. We have noted all of your concerns to ensure that any opportunities found will be addressed appropriately.

I understand if you wish to look into litigation avenues regarding this matter, but understand that I am not an attorney, as such I cannot provide you with any legal advice. If however, you do choose to contact our legal department I may be again discussing this matter with you further.

*****, thanks again for your time an cooperation in this matter and I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to provide costumer assistance, failure to be fair and reasonable
On July 21, Ebay unlawfully and unfairly suspended my account for no legitemate reason. They did not give me a chance to defend myself they suspended my account for 30 days and I did nothing wrong. They are causing me to lose money on my business by suspending my account
Account ID: *******

Desired Settlement
Ebay needs to reactivate my account and reactivate any and all suspended selling rights that I have

Business Response
Hello *******,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I am so glad to see that you have found a way to supplement your income by selling on eBay. This is exactly how we have intended the eBay Community to operate. It is great to see that you have been selling again since that restriction that was placed on your account. You mention that there was a 30 day restriction placed on your account. I would like to expand upon why this restriction was placed on your selling abilities.

To ensure that we comply with the law, we take precaution when it comes to the sale of items that are being infringed to avoid having possible issue in the future. Whatever changes you make to a new listing will be taken into consideration, but this doesn't guarantee that it will not be removed if it was reviewed again. We want to make sure that there will be no confusion or hesitation with your buyers and they'll be at ease when browsing through your items, which in return, helps you become a more reliable and trusted seller.

Your listing was brought to our attention by multiple members of the community who reported it for questionable authenticity. We want to give you a chance to improve your listing and make use of the following information:

- Provide a more detailed description of the item, accurately defining the features of what's for sale.
- We noticed that you had listings removed in May and June of 2014. Please be advised that counterfeit items cannot be listed on eBay and following this guideline helps us maintain buyer trust.

Please take note that this removal is not to question your item but to help make your listings better, become a successful eBayer and eventually, improve your future sales. Please be advised that when there are concerning factors within a listing, buyer confidence in purchasing or bidding on your item can be severely impacted. Please reference the following link if you would like more information pertaining to why your items were removed from our site.

***************************************************************************************************
I am so sorry that you feel as if we are singling you out in comparison to other sellers in the Marketplace. Please know that we do this with entire eBay Community in mind and do so in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement. We invite you to sell again in the Marketplace once your 30 day restriction has expired.

I appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention so that we can have this instance properly recorded for future market security purposes. I may presume that this is not the resolution you were expecting but we must operate within our policies and procedures equally for all members in the eBay Marketplace. We would love to continue to do business with you in the future and hope that this transaction has not detracted from your opinion of eBay.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response. Ebay did not in anyway give me a chance to provide information for the sale. They are not allowing me to RELIST any of the items that were listed and not in question. I am losing money because of Ebay. The shoes in question had been on ebay for 4 months without a word. It is very hard to counterfiet shoes almost impossible.

Final Business Response
Hello *******,

Thank you for following up.

I am sorry to hear you're displeased with my response. However, the previous information I have given you is correct.

The restriction that has been placed on your account has been taken in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement. We are sorry for any inconvenience this restriction may have caused, however as stated before, this has been done considering the risks we have found with your selling activity.

At this time, we have addressed all issues to the best of our abilities and will continue to monitor your concerns with your sales. We will not be taking any further action in regards to these concerns beyond this point. I want to thank you for your cooperation and patience in the matter and I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Page 1 of 770
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item purchased was damaged due to poor packing. I paid $255 for the bed and return shipping is $378.
EBay says i need to pay return shipping.
I purchased an oak sleigh bed from ********* for $255 plus $160 shipping, the Item arrived by Fedex Freight damaged. Seller opened a claim with Fedex freight which could take 45 days to resolve. Ebay says I have 7 days to return the item to receive a refund - however Fedex says shipping is $378 which is more than I paid for the bed.
Freight Bill number is XXXXXXXXXX. Fedex says they will only work with the seller to resolve the issue. EBay guarantees refunds because I used paypal, but they will not assist in return shipping.
Account ID:*******

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my $255 & $1XX - XXX and EBay to cover the return shipping

Business Response
Hello ****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

Upon reviewing your complaint, I have found that the personal information that you have provided through your Better Business Bureau complaint does not match the personal information on your eBay account. As the personal information does not match, I am not able to verify your account. Our Privacy Policy prevents me from discussing the details of this account unless I can verify that I am speaking with the account owner.

Please update the contact information on your eBay account and then rebut to this email confirming the changes. Contact information consists of your name, email address, address, and phone number. Once I can verify that you are the owner of the account, I will be able to address your account specific concerns. Thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation with our Privacy Policy.

While I can't provide account specific information, I can provide you with general information about our policies concerning the eBay Money Back Guarantee Program. Below are helpful links that outline the many different provisions the eBay Resolution Center operates within.

eBay Money Back Guarantee Program:
**************************************************************
Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I updated my eBay information as requested and now I would like eBay to respond to my complaint


Final Business Response
Hello ****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I can see that you have a very frustrating transaction regarding the Solid Oak Sleigh Bed Frame (eBay item#: XXXXXXXXXXXX) that you have purchased from drewtek21. It is always a shame to see when one of our buyers has to go through so much effort to try and resolve an issue with one of their sellers. I can see a majority of your concerns are with the return shipping cost required to have your item returned for a refund. I would be more than happy to address your concerns and suggestions.

It appears that you have contacted our Customer Service Representatives in regards to the return shipping that you have incurred for this transaction. Typically, the eBay Money Back Guarantee cannot cover return shipping costs. The eBay Money Back Guarantee only covers the initial shipping cost and the item price paid through the eBay Checkout process. In some cases we will offer our buyers a courtesy return shipping label if the circumstances are appropriate. Considering you were not eligible for a courtesy return shipping label for this transaction we were not able to offer you any form of compensation for this transaction.

I can see that you have stated that you have opened a claim with FedEx and your seller for this transaction. Seeing that your eBay Money Back Guarantee case has now closed I would like to extend a gesture of goodwill by personally reaching out to your seller to ask them to work with you by possibly offering your compensation for the damaged item if the insurance claim is processed successfully. We will be asking for your seller to reach out to you directly with any resolution they are willing to offer.

If you would like to contact your seller directly you may use our contact information swap process to obtain your seller's contact information. I have provided a link below that explains how to complete this process. Please note that completing this process will give your seller your contact information as well.

Contact information Swap Request:
***************************************************
****, I would like to thank you for continuing to be an exceptional buyer and seller within the eBay Marketplace. Please know that it is never our intention to deny service when requested from the members of our community; however we strive to ensure that all members are protected equally under the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement. At this time, we have addressed all issues to the best of our abilities and will continue to monitor your concerns with your seller. We will not be able to pursue these concerns any further beyond this point. I want to thank you for your cooperation and patience in the matter and I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
Why was this complaint closed - I have waited for the seller to contact me and he has not - I want this case reopened. EBay said the seller would contact me but EBay removed the negative feedback that I left and found in the seller favor so the seller had no incentive to contact me. I had offered to rent a UHAUL and drive over 3 hours to return the bed, but seller refused. I contacted FEDEX Freight but they said the do not deal with the buyer only the seller. EBBay promises to protect the buyer but they did not. The bed was poorly packed and the there may be pieces missing - I left it packaged so FEDEX can see it as it was delivered but they did not contact me. I think EBAy asked me to wait for the seller to contact me so I gave him enough time to contact me but EBay removed all the initiatives for him to call by finding in favor of him and removing my feedback. As you can see in the photos the bed was poorly packed and probably damaged or scratched based on the packing nothing to protect the wood and wood layered upon wood. I want a full refund - I was willing to pay 160 return shipping but could not get a quote anywhere near that amount I am attaching the email to seller trying to determine how he shipped it for 160 and he never responded. I believe I have done everything I could do without any support from EBay actually they fought against me the whole way. My positive feedeback on ebay is 2121 - and the seller only had 58 at the time of the sale. I would BBB to help me resolve this issue. thanks **** A *******


Business Response
Hello ****,

Thank you for following up.

I am sorry to see that you are dissatisfied with the resolution provided. As stated previously we can only request that your seller continue to work with you at this time. We will not be able to force any further action from your seller as your eBay Money Back Guarantee case has been closed.

We must ask that you continue to work with your seller by utilizing the previously provided links and processes to contact your seller.

At this time, we have addressed all issues to the best of our abilities and will continue to monitor your concerns with your seller. We will not be able to pursue these concerns any further beyond this point. I want to thank you for your cooperation and patience in the matter and I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

Owen Gray
eBay's Office of the President


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have sent several emails to the seller and they do not respond, I offered to drive the bed back to them over 3 hours each and pay for renting the UHAUL. EBay advised the seller against that because there would be no tracking number, so EBay needs to cover the return shipping or advise the seller to allow me to drive it up to them. If I cannot get assistance from EBay this will go to court - the bed was damaged because it was poorly packed, even if there were no gaping damage to the box the bed were laid on atop the other with no protection so the bed was have been damaged with damage to the box. I tried to find out from the seller how the complaint with Fedex is going and he refused to respond - I think he may have even closed the case because EBay closed the case prematurely ( Fedex freight will not even talk to the buyer I tried they only deal with the seller) - therefore EBay and seller are liablble and will be sued, if this cannot be brout to fresolution

08/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ebay failed to notify me of charging seller fees and deducted them from my bank without consent, causing an overdraft fee.
Ebay charged me two "seller fees" of $5.18 and $7.84. When these were withdrawn with my automatic payment form (debit card I use for purchasing), it caused a $35 overdraft fee in my bank account because I did not have more than $10 in there as I tend to carry cash. When I called and spoke to ebay and told them I did not authorize the charges, they said they have rights to the seller fees and that they refuse to close my account or refund the charges. They are refusing to allow me to close my account and are choosing to withdraw from my paypal balance instead of the debit card, thinking that this resolved the issue when I asked them to not take any more money.
Account ID: *******

Desired Settlement
I would like the $35 overdraft fee in my account, as well as all my paypal funds released and my paypal and ebay closed permanantly. I refuse to enlist in using their services any longer.

Business Response
Hello *******

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

Being new to selling on eBay, I can understand how unfamiliarity with our seller fees and requirements for when you are held responsible for these costs would be a concern for you. Firstly, I would like to apologize if the information from our Customer Service Teams did not clearly explain our seller fees and account closure requirements. In situations where you have additional questions beyond the information listed within our help pages, we certainly want to be available to address your concerns to the best of our ability with the highest levels of professionalism. I am sorry if you did not feel that we did not meet your Customer Support expectations. As we are always looking for ways to improve upon the service we provide our customers, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our Executive Office.

We certainly don't want our sellers to be surprised by our application of seller fees. In an attempt to remain open and honest with the selling community, we do make several sources of information available to notify sellers of the costs they may encounter. Beyond our Customer Support Help Pages outlining individual costs (http://pages.ebay.com/help/sell/seller-fees.html), we do allow seller's the opportunity to gain an estimate of total fees for listing an item through use of our Fee Calculator (http://www.fees.ebay.com/feeweb/feecalculator).

I am aware that you may not have been familiar with the webpages noted above; however, I must remind you that as outlined in our User Agreement, we do require that our members familiarize themselves with the policies and procedures impacting their participation within the eBay Community prior to taking part in activities on our site.

To review our User Agreement, please see the webpage listed below:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/user-agreement.html?_trksid=m40

I understand you have reported that payment for your seller fees was processed without your authorization, resulting in an overdraft of your personal bank account. However, please keep in mind that as you placed a PayPal account on file as the automatic payment method for your eBay account, when an invoice becomes due, your PayPal account is billed per your authorization. Additionally, we are unable to offer compensation for instances of insufficient funds being available through your personal bank account.

Please note that at this time, we have only processed a payment for your June 2014 seller invoice, which totaled $5.18. While your account is currently showing a $7.84 balance due, it is set to be processed through your PayPal account, as you still have this information on file for automatic billing.
Although you reported that you had informed our teammates that you no longer wanted to pay seller fees, making these types of statements does not allow us the opportunity to offer your account special exceptions such as releasing you from your seller fee obligations going forward. Although you had the opportunity to update your automatic payment method prior to your next invoice, we recognize that you may not have taken this action due to some confusion with the automatic payment process.

Although we are unable to stop the $7.84 payment from being processed through your PayPal account, you do have the option of changing your fund source through PayPal (from what you reported to be your debit card to something such as your savings account). However, in order to make sure that the new information is used for an invoice payment, you will need to update the account before the end of your billing cycle (in your case by 15th of the month, which would be tomorrow).

For additional information regarding how automatic payments work and options to update your automatic payment method, we recommend that you review the Customer Support Help Page listed below:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/sell/automatic-payments.html

While I recognize that you had contacted us through the BBB in hopes of having your seller fees refunded, we are unable to comply with your request. Please keep in mind that the fees for your account were processed in accordance with our Fee Schedule and the expectations set forth within our User Agreement. As there were not any errors in the invoices you have received, you will be held accountable for the balances.

I am sorry to hear that based on your frustration with this situation, you are considering leaving eBay. With over 4 years of eBay experience under your belt and growing opportunities for you to be successful through both buying and selling, we'd hate to see you leave our community. While we hope you reconsider closing your account, we understand that you have to make the decision that you feel best supports your interests.

Please keep in mind that if you are still looking to close your eBay account, you will first need to ensure that your fees are paid and that your account balance is listed at zero. For additional information regarding your options for account closure and issues that may impact such an action, please see the webpage below:

http://pages.ebay.com/help/account/closing-account.html

Thank you for your time.

Regards,

****** ******
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not pay the seller fees until the overdraft fee is taken care of. Then I will close my account.

Final Business Response
Hello *******,

Thank you for your reply.

I am sorry to hear that you still wish to move forward with the closure of your eBay account. While I recognize that you are in a difficult position, please understand that per my previous response we will not be able to assist you in resolving overdraft fees with your personal bank account.

In regards to your seller fees, although you previous showed a $7.60 balance due, our records show that your automatic payment successfully processed to resolve this balance on August 15th. At this time, no fees are showing due to eBay.

We feel that your complaint regarding this situation has been appropriately addressed. As the correct information has been provided, please note that although we may read any future correspondence that you send to us regarding this issue, we may not respond.

Regards,

****** ******
eBay's Office of the President

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ebays mailing system in Ky shipped my expensive crystal to the wrong persons in europe
3 months ago i sold several expensive swarovski crystal to several buyers in Europe,,, France, Uk, japan and Australia.
Because the items were international purchase ebay has a mailing center that will ship the items to the purchaser.

i forwarded the crystal to Ky, ebay mail center and they then proceeded to ship i items to the wrong persons.
1 Person in France sent me email telling me she got the item she purchased ,,, but she also got 2 other items that she didn't buy.

2 days later i got another email telling me , he received an item from me but it wasn't the item he purchased. None of the items purchased cost less than $300.00 dollars. I contacted ebay 4 times over the last 3 months to fix this problem. they told me they would get back to me. it never happened. each time i called i was told that the mailing dept has no phone everything is handled via email. I then spoke to a supervisor who promised to call me back. that never happened.

so here i am 3 months later making a complaint because EBAY has no problem going into my bank account to take funds out if a purchaser has a dispute. But now that i have a dispute i have no way of getting my money back. I WANT MY MONEY BACK.

i can not list the item numbers because ebay only goes back 60 days. the items were purchased in late April 2014.
Account ID:**********

Desired Settlement
the cost of the crystal.

swarvoski's pluto
i forget the other item

Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I am sorry to see that you are having such a frustrating experience with our Global Shipping Program. It appears that there has been some sort of mix up on items that you have sold several months ago. I would be more than happy to look into your concerns with these particular transactions and also the customer service experience that you have described.

I apologize if you feel you did not receive the level of service you expected of eBay. I personally want to thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. I am alarmed by the experience you described and am going to make sure it's addressed accordingly. I've asked our Quality Assurance team to review your contacts with our customer service. Please know that the appropriate action will be taken based on our findings. We're always looking for ways to continuously improve the services we offer and, again, thank you for letting us know about your experience.

After reviewing your concerns with the limited information available I have not found any eBay Money Back Guarantee claims that have been opened up against you in relation to the items that you have described. This is currently the only way that eBay would be able to hold you financially accountable for issues of this nature.

As there is no sign of a dispute being opened on our side, I have taken the time to research your associated PayPal disputes. It appears as if there are a few disputes within the last few months that may be in relation to the items that you are referencing. Seeing as this is most likely the process your buyer has decided to take we must ask that you continue to resolve these issues with PayPal for any further clarity as to what has happened with these transactions.

*****, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention for possible improvements that we can make to the eBay Marketplace. At this time we have addressed your issue to the best of our ability considering the limited amount of information provided. I may presume that this is not the resolution you were expecting but we must operate within our policies and procedures equally for all members in the eBay Marketplace. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
from what i have read, the person responding did NOT seem to understand the problem.

the problem is my property that was sold to overseas buyers, did not receive their items. IN FACT i was contacted by my 3 of my buyers who informed me that they received someone elses purchases.
I THEN PAID THOSE BUYERs TO SHIP/FORWARD THE ITEM TO THE ORIGINAL BUYER. this money came out of my pocket. there is still 1 item missing. I EXPECT TO GET MY MONEY BACK DUE TO THE FACT THAT EBAY MADE THE MISTAKE OF SHIPPING MY EXPENSIVE CRYSTAL TO THE WRONG PEOPLE..
I cannot give you item listings because ebay only goes back 60days.
I called ebay twice a month since april,,, concerning the mistake of their shipping dept in Ky. I was promised a call back or email TO THIS DAY I HAVE NOT RECEIVED THIS CALL.

the person who responded to my complaint has no idea whats going on or his company or its company is faulty in keeping up with their sellers complaint. which does not surprise me. they have the worst costomer service for their sellers.

ebay has the ability to go back into emails exchanged by buyer and seller to get the information needed to fix this problem and issue my refund. This has been and was done when i called several times about the issue,, each representive confirmed that they see where the buyer contacted me to tell me they have someone elses purchase.
why this was not done to address this complaint is beyond me.

1.
Dear************,

Sir:
i just got a email that your pluto is in france with another buyer.
i have asked this buyer to forward it to you,,i am waiting for them to
agree. HOWEVER i need your address so the can be done.

i have also contacted ebay and their international shipping dept to find out
how someone else got your Pluto.

i will await your response.

thank you

- **********

2.Dear ***********

Hello,

I received my order, everything perfect. I think there was an error on your part: I received a second, labeled package in my name but on the inside there was the subject Swarovski Disney's Pluto. I think it is not for me and I do not know how.

- *******

Swarovski crystal figurines small elephant
Swarovski crystal figurines small elephant
Item Id: XXXXXXXXXXXX
End time: Apr-01-14 22:11:46 PDT
Seller:
********** (XXX)
98.0% Positive Feedback
Member since May-18-05 in United States
Location: FL, United States
Listing Status: This message was sent while the listing was closed.

3.Dear *******,

OMG YES I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR IT.

CAN YOU SEND IT BACK.

- **********

THESE ARE 3 OF THE EMAILS EXCHANGED BETWEEN MYSELF AND THE OVERSEAS BUYERS,,, 1 IN FRANCE, UK, AND JAPAN. AUSTRAILA

WHY EBAY CANT FIND THE INFO IS BEYOND ME.

Final Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for following up. I am sorry to see that there has been some confusion as to the intentions of my previous response.

I have tried to explain our process of disputing and offering financial compensation in relation to transactions that have been completed through the eBay Marketplace. As stated before, we cannot take further action without the proper amount of information to identify the specific transactions you have referred to. I understand that you have provided a message from one of your buyers that states they have received additional items to what they have ordered. This is useful information that can help in tracking down the packages you are referring to.

I must inform you, however, that we cannot go through personal messages between our members until a dispute is opened. We cannot view these messages due to the eBay Privacy Policy that all eBay Members have agreed to when signing up for their eBay account.

Considering there have not been any disputes opened to investigate your concerns, we cannot investigate these issues any further. We must ask that you identify and work with you buyers to resolve these issues as there is no further action that may be taken due to the amount of time that has lapsed since these purchases were made.

I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. I may presume that this is not the resolution you were expecting but we must operate within our policies and procedures equally for all members in the eBay Marketplace. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
ebay states that they cant make a refund because the buyers did not open a cast against me.

because they the buyers were honest and willing to forward the items received in error instead of making a complaint.

where does that take away from the fact that ebay made the mistake?

where does that take away from the fact that ebay failed to act when contacted by me?

where is the explation for not contacting me when i MADE MY COMPLAINT?

the buyers did not make a complaint BUT I DID. i want ebay to address my complaint which is WHY WAS MY COMPLAINT NOT ADDRESS.

why is ebay hiding behind privacy prolicy... well i have provided the emails as proof so there is no need for ebay to fear violation of a policy since the emails have been provied. and in those emails are the listing numbers so all has been proved.

presently i have a open dispute ... ebay has gone into my bank account and taken money out.... why does ebay think they have the right to take my money and hold it AND YET. there is no-one to exercise the same action over them?

IT IS QUITE CLEAR THAT EBAY HAS NO INTENTIONS OF ADDRESSING MY MONEY ISSUE AND CONTINUES TO HIDE BEHING POLICY.

SO NO I DO NOT ACCEPT THEIR RESOUTION.. AND YET I EXPECT NOTHING TO COME OF MY COMPLAINT.

I WILL HAVE TO SETTLE FOR THIS BEING PUBLIC RECORD.

AND I WANT MY ACCOUNT CLOSED.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Denied refund although purchased item was sent to seller
I purchased a backless wedding gown on 4/14/14 from ebay seller ********* Item XXXXXXXXXXXX. Once item arrived I immediately noticed the dress was totally different from what I agreed to purchase. I immediately contacted the seller who wanted me to just return the item to them outside of ebay. I stated to them I was unwilling to do so and would go through ebay resolution center in regards. I opened up case XXXXXXXXXX . Ebay stated some type of tracking number must be reported to them in order for the case to stay open. I immediately returned the item through the usps and provided ebay with us customs tracking label LcXXXXXXXXXus. Not once did ebay state a tracking number other than this one was required. Ebay messages me stating they needed another tracking number other than this one. This was not discussed prior to me sending item or I would've purchased an additional tracking number which would've cost less than twenty dollars more. Ebay now states I am out of my 165.00 plus the 30 dollars I spent to return this item
Account ID: *************

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back. Not only did I spend 165.00 on the dress but had to spend 30.00 to send it back. Ebay should've been more specific which would have avoided this issue. This loophole provided room for scams on the sellers end. This is unfair to your customers

Business Response
Hello ********,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

Upon reviewing your complaint, I have found that the personal information that you have provided through your Better Business Bureau complaint does not match the personal information on your eBay account. As the personal information does not match, I am not able to verify your account. Our Privacy Policy prevents me from discussing the details of this account unless I can verify that I am speaking with the account owner.

Please update the contact information on your eBay account and then rebut to this email confirming the changes. Contact information consists of your name, email address, address, and phone number. Once I can verify that you are the owner of the account, I will be able to address your account specific concerns. Thank you in advance for your understanding and cooperation with our Privacy Policy.

While I can't provide account specific information, I can provide you with general information about our policies concerning the eBay Money Back Guarantee Program. Below is a helpful link that outlines protections offered through the eBay Money Back Guarantee.

eBay Money Back Guarantee Program:
**************************************************************
Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have given you my user name ************* as well as my name. I cannot place further private identifying information because this complaint is accessible to the public. You have access to all of my information through your website. I've emailed ebay customer service on plenty of occasions on the past and all they needed was my user id. I don't understand why you are asking for in depth private information that you should already have access to

Final Business Response
Hello ********,

Thank you for verifying your contact information. We only do this to protect your account specific information from unauthorized users. I will be more than happy to review your concerns.

I can see that you have been having some issues with a dress that you have returned to your international seller for a refund. I am sorry to see that you have had to open an eBay Money Back Guarantee against your seller in relation to the Mermaid White Ivory backless V-neck Wedding Dresses (eBay item #: XXXXXXXXXXXX) that you have purchased.

After reviewing your complaint and associated eBay Money Back Guarantee Case I can see that your seller has requested that you return this dress in order to receive a refund for the "Not as Described" item. I can see that you were not willing to return this item initially as you have stated that you had received a dress that was nothing like what was pictured and did not want to pay for return shipping. After escalating your case to the eBay Resolution Center you have decided to return this item for a refund and provided us with the USPS customs number (**XXXXXXXXX**). I have investigated the tracking number that was provided to find that there has not been any update since June 2nd, 2014. Seeing as this is the first case you have had of this nature, I would like to expand upon why your case has been closed without a refund being issued to your PayPal account.

The requirements that must be fulfilled in order for a refund to be issued to your associated PayPal account are as follows:

-The buyer must return the item in the same condition in which it was received.
-The seller is required to accept the return at the same location specified in the listing.
-If the cost of return shipping isn't covered by the seller according to their return policy, we may decide to pay for return shipping costs in some cases. If we don't pay for the return shipping costs, the buyer is responsible. For items with a total cost of $750 or more, signature confirmation is required for the return.
-The seller pays for any customs charges on the returned item.

After confirming that the item was returned to the seller, we refund the full cost of the item and original shipping to the buyer's PayPal account. The seller reimburses us for the amount.

eBay Money Back Guarantee Program:
**************************************************************
Considering that the tracking number provided for your return has never updated to show that it was returned to your seller, we cannot force a refund through the eBay Money Back Guarantee claim process. I understand that you may not have known this at the time of your return, however we must adjudicate all claims equally and fairly for all members in accordance with the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement. We must ask that you try and locate your item, if it has not been returned to you, to continue to work with your seller. We cannot take any further action in regards to your claim when the proper information is not provided for a return for a refund. I will provide you with a link below with information on how to obtain your seller's contact information to further resolve your concerns with this dress.

***************************************************
*Please keep in mind that when you request a member's information your information is also provided to them.

********, I may presume this is not the resolution you were expecting, however we have addressed all issues to the best of our abilities and will continue to monitor your concerns with your seller. We will not be able to pursue these concerns any further beyond this point. I want to thank you for your continued cooperation and patience in the matter and I wish you the best in your future endeavors

Regards,

**** Gray
eBay's Office of the President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*****************************
************************************************

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
weather related shipping problems, customer service telling me not to worry about it
someone elses ebay account
on march 4th ebay suspended me permanently for being below seller standards. I had been told about being below standard in january. The reason for being below standards was because this winter season was really bad. In december after the first storm came through I called ebay and told them that I was late getting packages out due to storm, ebay rep told me not to worry that it didn't matter because it was an act of god. For the month of december we had 2 weeks during the month with no power and 5 days when we were told not to drive on the roads. Ebay rep asured me that this would not count against me because of the situation.
Then in january I went below standard, once again called ebay was told not to worry about it. Then in febuary I got notice of suspention, not sure what to do I called ebay the rep had me fax electric bills, newspaper stuff to them show how low our power usage was do to no power compared to normal. This happens 6 more times including the fax. Then in June I get a rep on the phone from selling vetting who tells me how we can get my account reinstated, i said great. So I spent the day on the phone and went round and round transfer through transfer did everything the rep said I had to do. I finally after 5 hours made my way back to selling vetting. The new rep agreed I was no longer below standards and I had the right to sell however there is a new catch, we are not going to let you. I got upset and said why i am not below standard and have done nothing wrong. THe rep won't give a reason why other than to say my account is linked to another account. I said we went through this years ago after I opened this account it belongs to the former owner of the business it is not mine. The rep says it does not matter what we agreed to then it matters now. I said that is not right the rep say well that is how it is.
Account ID: ***************************

Desired Settlement
I want my ebay account reinstated as I called and was told not to worry about the late shippment for weather and because my account is above standard. I want this other account you guys are holding against me taken off of my account as I have no involment or control over it
thanks
*****

Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for the opportunity to address your BBB complaint today.

I am sorry to see that you have had such a frustrating experience with some of our Customer Service Representatives in relation to the recent restriction that has been placed on your account. It is never our intention to add any unnecessary stress to an already difficult situation. I would be more than happy to review your concerns to ensure that all measures taken are in compliance with the Terms and Conditions of the eBay User Agreement.

I apologize if you feel you did not receive the level of service you expected of eBay. I personally want to thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. I am alarmed by the experience you described and am going to make sure it's addressed accordingly. I've asked our Quality Assurance team to review your contacts with our customer service. Please know that the appropriate action will be taken based on our findings. We're always looking for ways to continuously improve the services we offer and, again, thank you for letting us know about your experience.

After reviewing your contacts I have found that you have been linked to the eBay User: wwwtrainswww. We have had to apply this restriction because of risk associated with your linked account/s.

Out of our concern for the entire eBay community, we look for certain activities, which include connections between related accounts. We look for various account similarities which include but are not limited to; contact information, financial information or account behavior. I will include a link for more information about using multiple accounts.

Using multiple accounts:***********************************************************

At this time we must uphold our decision to restrict your selling abilities on your eBay account. This action will not be considered for an appeal until all issues with your associated accounts are resolved. The restriction placed on your account has only disallowed your from selling in the eBay Marketplace. This is a business decision that we have decided to take with the best interest of all of our buyers and sellers in mind.

*****, I know that you have had issues over the past few months that were out of your control but we cannot overlook issues that could be potential risks to the eBay Community. We are here to ensure that all buyers and sellers are protected when transacting in the eBay Marketplace. I presume that this is not the answer you are seeking but we must stand by our original decision to restrict your selling ability at this time. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello
I do not except this response because the account the are referring to they agree I do not own, they up till now would even give me the user name. They claimed there were linked but not how they were linked. They tell me they want me to resolve the issue of this account I. Which they agree I do not own, how can I resolve someone else's issue? This letter of linked account condridicts the letter they gave me for reason to suspend my account. I have proven them wrong and all reasons that they put in writing for suspendinge which was the dsr have been resolved and I am not below standard on any of them. I have proven that and beaus reps agree with that. After ebays reps agreed that they were in the wrong on it they came up with this linked account, but if you go back a couple of years ago I filed a complaint with BBB and Ebay then called me and said we are sorry we were in the wrong we have unlinked the account. I closed the compaint then. Now we are d

Final Business Response
Hello *****,

Thank you for following up. I am sorry to hear you're displeased with my response.

I can see that you are very passionate about your selling on eBay after reviewing your concerns. I am sorry that you feel that our decisions to protect the eBay Marketplace are an incorrect. You have mentioned that you have been linked to other accounts in the past as well. Please know that we take all necessary precautions to ensure that all account links are appropriate.

At this time we must stand by our decision to uphold the selling restrictions on your account. Please know that we do not make decisions to restrict a member's ability to sell lightly. We will not take any further action until you resolve all issues with your associated accounts. We do this with the entire eBay community in mind, and we are sorry that we're unable to allow you to sell in the eBay Marketplace.

At this time, we feel that your complaint regarding this situation has been appropriately addressed. Please note that while we will read any future correspondence that you send to us regarding this issue, we may not respond. Thank you for your cooperation and patience in the matter.

Regards,

**** ****
eBay's Office of the President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello
I called tonight I went through four transfers and almost 4 hours on the phone. I talked to Amy in selling vetting and she could not discuss the account with me. The reason she couldn't is because I didn't own the account. She also informed me that I couldn't fix the account either as it had to be done by the owner of the account. She also said that it was connected by a credit card and that there was some old notes on file from last time that it was an employee of mine that owed the account. I am sure that her story is somewhat true as employees would have access from time to time of my credit cars and some years ago I did fire one over some an issue like this.
So she did agree that I didn't own the account and told me there was nothing I could do
She also agreed that thus account was connected and then you guys ignored it as you guys figured out it was not me.
She also did agree that this account had nothing to do with my suspension and that you guys did not use thus account nor ever mention it when you guys suspended me.
If you need I will give you guys a copy of the email and you can also see that it did not contain anything about another user name only told me not to create a new one.

So you state to the bbb that I must correct the other user I'd before you will reinstate my account. How do you propose I do that when you guys can't even discuss the account with me?
What need to be done to fix that account to your standards ?
Who's name is in the account that owns it?
What address did this person use?
Since this connection is through my credit card wouldn't it have to have my name on it?
Did you guys ever bill my credit card for this account? If so how much and when? Cause I didn't authorize my credit card to be used on this account?
In the past you guys were confused when I bought the business you guys has the old owners account linked to my new ebay account and that is what I was referring to. We resolved the partially through the bbb and mostly with faxes and phone calls. I had to give you guys proof when I bought the business and proof I owned it and proof I had the inventory and was the one paying for it. After that you guys said we were good to go and I never heard another word bout it. I don't remember the user name of the account as it has been to long ago for that I am sorry.
So please let me know how we can resolve this since you guys can't discuss the matter with me
Thanks
*****

Page 1 of 382

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/02/1997Business started: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1998, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mike Rigley OOTP Accounts Payable
Number of Employees

15000

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Products & Services

This company is an online marketplace for the sale of goods and services by individuals and businesses. Currently, eBay has approximately 100 million registered users and they operate in 23 countries.

Alternate Business Names
E-Bay, ebay

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for eBay Inc.

2145 Hamilton Ave

San Jose, CA 95125-5905

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*eBay Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.