BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AuraVie Skincare

(866) 216-9336PO Box 10465, Van NuysCA 91410http://www.auravie.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 03/14/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to maintain minimum BBB Rating.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered AuraVie Skincare's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • 391 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 84 complaints filed against business.
  • 54 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • Overall complaint history with BBB.
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.
  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine size of business. BBB evaluation of business is based on rating formula's smallest size classification.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

394 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 285 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues149
Billing / Collection Issues137
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service100
Total Closed Complaints 394

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (394)BBB Closure Definitions
09/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: $97.88 was charged to my bank account 10 days after I received the free products
I want my $97.88 back

08/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a product

Complaint: For visiting a web site for the Scranton Public Library I was given a thank you gift of a free trial of AuraVie skin care products for the cost of shipping. I saw no other info on this free trial ad of any additional responsibilities on my part. I took the offer giving them my credit card to pay for the postage. I received the sample with info. about the products and a bill for the shipping charges. A few days later I left the country for a winter stay in Mx. for 5 mo's. When I returned I found two additional boxes of products with bills in them for $97.88 each. When I called the company I was told I had been charged for 5 months of product at $97.88 per month because I was supposed to call and cancel after 10 days if I did not like the original sample. When I said I was never given that info. I was told it had been on the web site where I had given my credit card info to pay for the shipping fee. I did not see that. On checking the internet I found 35 complaints of the same thing happening to other people. There was no offer by the company to let me send back what I had received or explanation as to why I never received a shipment after my original "free sample" until May 9th when I had also been charged for March and April. I never recognized the company name on my credit card either until Jun. I think they used a different name for billing.
Product_Or_Service: AuraVie Skincare
Order_Number: XXXXXXX and XXXXXXX

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Samples" as she suggest in her complaint. We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer. We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to an agent on 06/23/2014; the agent reviewed the transactions and as request by customer stopped her membership. This customer did not express she wanted to return her most recent shipment back for a refund. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: THEY have been charging on a card that doesnt even belong to me! This was a "SAMPLE" promotion! SCAM! AN "No" its not because I didnt read something!
IT started in March. the time I saw it on my statement I thought it was my car insurance since the description was nearly identical! I saw the offer in an email that was sent to me from Samples.com I had to fill out my name and address and they would let me try their skincare. Since I have asthma I wanted to sample it for perfumes. When I got it it was full of perfume! So I emailed them through their site! No answer. Little did I know that they were charging nearly $100 for that "sample" as the "trial period" of 5 or 10 days lapsed. Then at the end of April they charged me another $97.88 for one for "that month" that was never delivered. Then I just received another one two days ago and that is when I realized that all of this money had been taken from me? No! My sister! She gave me permission to charge the $3.02 for the "Sample shipment".....They have been using her card with NO PRIOR APPROVAL ever since! I sent numerous emails to them on their site and NO responses. They are not going to say that I did not read something or didn't understand something because I have the invoice right here and it says nothing. All I gave them was my name and address and the card number for the shipping and it said nothing else! What a SCAM!!!! This is alot of money and I have not been able to work for 4 years. I have no income! Are they kidding me? I have filled out all of the formal VISA Fraudulent Transaction forms. After doing that I spoke with the bank and they said I needed to return the 2 shipments of product and I did that today. Once they receive that they must refund the money. I called them to tell them that I returned their product and they said That is not an approved return. It is disgraceful that this is allowed to happen in the USA.

Initial Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Samples" as she suggest in her complaint.
We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession.
Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer.
We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to a supervisor on 06/03/2014, the supervisor had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed.
This customer agreed to the exception approved to her account and we can confirm that the appropriate credit was refunded to her account. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly. We encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not order their skin care product I ask for free samples as advertised. I want my 50.99 applied back to my card or a reimbursement check.
Order number XXXXX merchandise returned for refund

Initial Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this ********'s complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this ********'s concerns. In order to assist the ******** in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this ******** that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Samples" as she suggest in her complaint. We strongly encourage our online customers to review the terms before finalizing their transaction. Our terms clearly explain that if the ******** chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the ******** will be billed for the items in their possession, also explaining to cancel to avoid being enrolled in our recurring program. With reference to this ******** we regret, that she misunderstood the terms and conditions of our offer, we would like to clarify that our terms and conditions are placed in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the ********'s order can be completed. This ******** qualified for a RMA# and we have received the package back in our facility the appropriate credits have been issued transaction ID# XXXXXXXXXX validates the refund. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the ******** has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly.

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Auravie Skincare site popped up stating free trial just pay shipping, nothing about the 98 dollars after 10 days on the shipment form or online
they will not refund my money after sending it back with a tracking number. They have their product back and wont refund my money

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Free Product" as she suggest in her complaint. We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer. We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to an agent on 06/03/2014; the agent reviewed the transactions and as request by customer stopped her membership. This customer also requested to return the most recent package and she was given the appropriate instructions please reference transaction ID # XXXXXXXXXX as verification of the appropriate credits refunded to the customer. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been refunded my money for the product. But I am not agreeing with what they had said about there advertising and the fact that no invoice or letter was sent with the product stating that would have to pay alost a $100 to keep the product. There are other complaints regarding this issue on the net about this company. As for what I want from this is that they do the right thing so the next person thinking they are getting something free to try knows that their will be a large charge if they keep it.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 41
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was on line and asked to take a survey to receive a FREE GIFT for taking the survey. I only had to pay for the shipping charges which was $2.95 so I agreed and took the survey. I paid the shipping charges with my credit card and then a few weeks later I received my FREE GIFT. This was 3/9/2014 After 3/28/2014 they sent out another package with the same items in it that I received for my FREE GIFT - BUT they used my credit card to pay for the package - WITHOUT my knowledge - for the amount of $97.88!!! I received this package 3/29/2014 and saw they charged me! I called the X-XXX-XXX-XXXX C.S. Dept. and when I gave them my phone number they HUNG UP!!! I did this several times to no avail!!! Then I called the Van Nuys, Ca. Phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on 3/29/2014 and left a detailed message and they never called me back! This is totally frustrating since they would not answer the phone and didn't call back! I just want them to send me a RETURN LABEL so I can return this AND CREDIT MY CHARGE $97.88 when they receive it back....
Product_Or_Service: Auravie Renew, Revive, Replenish RISK FREE TRIAL
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. We sincerely regret that the customer feels that she had a bad experience with our Risk Free Trial program. We would like to clarify that, nowhere on our website does it state we are giving "Free Gift" as this customer is declaring in her complaint. To ensure our customers understand the offer terms they are located in 3 separate locations on our website they clearly explain the length of time the customer has to try the product also explaining to cancel to avoid being billed and be enrolled in our recurring program. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any additional questions we encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My name is ****** ******** and am responding on behalf of my Mother, **** ********. My Mother is insisting that the on-line offer clearly stated Free Gift and did not indicate in any way that it was a Trial Program that would enroll her in a monthly receipt of product that she would be charged $97.88 for after using the initial "gift" from them after a set period of time! In actuality the Free Gift offer did not even state what type of gift it was...she simply got "sucked in" to their marketing ploy of "free" (which we have strongly recommended she NEVER do again).

A month later she received th additional product in the mail and her credit card was charged. If we didn't put an immediate stop to it...this product receipt and charges would have continued!!

My Mother has now returned the unused product to Auravie and they are assuring us that her credit card will be reimbursed the full amount after processing in their system. This was after numerous phone calls during which they first were only going to reimburse her a partial amount. They finally agreed to the full amount and when the product was returned they told me they couldn't reimburse her the full amount because it didn't get back to them within the 30-day trial period!! Unacceptable...it was sent Certified Mail to them in plenty of time and, if we hadn't called, it would still be sitting in their Mailroom waiting for the return to be processed.

As of yesterday, and being placed on hold more times than I can remember, they said that they would credit her charge $48.94 becasue they are only in receipt of her returned product...the additional $48.94 will be credited AFTER they fully process the return. Yesterday they were still trying to pull that she wouldn't receive the full $97.88 credit in the end!!

I insisted that she had to receive the FULL $97.88 and would accept nothing less. Also told them that they truly have a "racket" going and it is so sad to see how they are confusing the elderly with their horrible marketing ploy!! It is really a disgrace!!

So, are we satisfied...not quite! Their business practice and ethic is awful. At this point, just want to see my Mom's credit card fully credited. Until then, this should not be considered closed.

Thank you for your attention to this matter and looking into the Auravie company and how they do business. My opinion, they should be shut down completely (after my Mom receives her credits)!! Appreciated!

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in July 2013 I received a package of skincare products, immediatelyupon opening it I knew it was not something I ordered so I returned it the next day. I was in and out of the hospital for three different surgeries last fall so I didn't notice I did not get credit till I went over my statements in January. My husband called and they said I left a number off my return so they didn't give me my refund, and they didn't notify me they wanted something else I returned the items exactly with the papers it came with so I don't know what else they required. I would not pursue this if it wasn't such a large amount $97.88 to be exact, I live on social security so it means a lot to me. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.Sincerely,******* ** ******
Product_Or_Service: Skincare Products I did not order
Order_Number: XXXXXXX packing list
Account_Number: ?

Initial Business Response
Thank you for taking time to contact Auravie Skincare to explain the issues that have occurred recently. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we regret there was a misunderstanding to our Risk Free Trial. As per the terms and conditions that were accepted by this customer at the time of purchase her account was billed for the products. At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. In an effort to resolve this customer's account we had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. Because we felt this was a simple misunderstanding of the terms and conditions of our trial offer, which she had agreed to; a partial credit was offered but was declined. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed but will contact this customer for further assistance.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did order a trial size product from this company, nowhere did I agree to being sent full size products (more than the original product I ordered). I sent it back as soon as I received it.
On contacting the company at a later date for a refund they claimed they didn't receive sufficient information to send a refund. I returned the product in the original container w/ the information that came with it. They offered a partial refund which I refused because I felt I
should have received a full refund. I repeat I did not order any future products just the sample
product to try. Since they sent it unsolicited and I immediately returned it in the original box with all paperwork involved I don't understand how they can refuse me a full refund even at this late date. What do they mean, they didn't have the correct information to mail me a refund, it was all with the returned products.
Sincerely,
******* ** ******

04/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with the written agreement

Complaint: Scam!! Buying on line popup came on offering a free gift. I said ok Aura Vie forced me to pay shipping. In a hurry I completed form.
Was charged $90+
This company scammed me! I purchased a product on line. When I was finished I was offered a "Free gift". The gift I chose was the Aura Vie Anti Aging Cream. I was prompted to fill out all my info. I was charged nearly $5 for shipping for a product weighing a few ounces. Just wanting to get done I clicked I accept. Come to find out my Free Gift was some kind of binding agreement. A couple of weeks later my card was charged $97.88. Since my wife opened the product and didn't tell them within 10 days (they wait till after the 10 days to debit your account) I can not get a refund.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for your correspondence in this matter. In order to assist the customer in resolving his account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in his complaint. This customer states he ordered a free gift from us, but we need to start by making clear that, nowhere on our website does it state "Free Gifts" as this customer is declaring in his complaint; furthermore the terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. To ensure our customers understand the offer terms they are located in 3 separate locations on our website they clearly explain the length of time the customer has to try the product also explaining to cancel to avoid being billed and be enrolled in our recurring program. We advise all customers who are unsatisfied with our products to call us to cancel and based on the notes for this customer the resolution offered on 01/20/13 was satisfactory and we consider this account resolved and closed. We encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate his account for further assistance.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fact is I had no intrest in their product. I was purchasing another product and was offered a free gift. When I clicked to receive the "free gift" I was linked to their web site. They walked me though a long process including giving them aproxamently $5 and my credit card number for shipping. If I was never offered a free gift I would never sought out their product. Slimy business.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: cancelled within trial period money still taken out of account cant use for medical reasons and medication interaction.i want full refund!
husband ordered thinking i could use for my skin problems. without asking first. i have skin issues and under dermatologist care. when order arrived i cancelled per automated line on 12-20-13. number 3891 rest of number i did not get due to voice speaking too quickly. noticed on 12-29-13 $97.88 taken from my account. called again. got automated line. cancelled order again num,ber XXXXX rest of number i once again could not get fast enough. 12-30-13 i spoke to customer aservice who refused to refund my money.

Initial Business Response
We would like to thank you for your correspondence on this matter. We strongly encourage our online customers to review the terms before finalizing their transaction. Our terms clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession, also explaining to cancel to avoid being enrolled in our recurring program. With reference to this customer we regret, that this customer misunderstood the terms and conditions of our offer we will need to start by explaining that our terms and conditions are placed in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed. Now, if this information was overlooked we definitely understand and are willing to find a mutually satisfactory resolution. At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. When we spoke to this customer on 12/30/13, she was offered the best resolution for her account but the customer declined and hung up on our agent. At this time his account is considered closed. If the customer has any more questions or needs to review her account we encourage she contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i did not personally order the product it was a well intended gift that unfortunately i could not use. i was offered a employee discount on this product but what good would that do? i want a full refund. next step attorney general office.

Final Business Response
With reference to the customers response we are sorry to hear the customer feels our initial resolution is unsatisfactory. Upon reevaluating this customer's account, we have done everything in our power to assist her in resolving her account. We would like to point out that on 12/30/13, we spoke to this customer in efforts to resolve the account and the courtesy credit is saved in our notes. Because we felt this was a simple oversight the customer was offered the best resolution for her account despite it not being eligible for any additional refunds. In order for us to resolve the customer's account we had to make quite a few exceptions to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. We wish there was more we could do for the customer but at this time her account is considered resolved and closed. Furthermore, we strongly encourage our online customers to review the terms and conditions of the trial offer prior to the completion of their order. We encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they still have not returned my money. i will be contacting a lawyer and i do not consider this account closed and it is not resolved!

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

07/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 11
08/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement did not disclose all conditions required to take advantage of an offer

Complaint: Requested a refund of a charge I thought was a gift for doing a survey. AuraVie is only offering a conditional/partial refund not the full refund.
2/6/14-took survey and chose AuraVie. Paid the s/h in the amounts of $1.02 and $1.93 and charged to my debit card. Rec'd the product. Order #XXXXXXX. 2/6/14: Received confirmation info about my order- NO mention of terms and conditions. 2/6/14: Rec'd another email that product was shipped. Again, no mention/no link to the terms and conditions. Unknown to me and conveniently for the AuraVie, the terms and conditions outlined the conditions of the 10-day risk-free trial and that if product not returned in 10 days, I would be placed on automated shipping list. These very important statements were not reiterated in the summary email nor in the package when I got the products. I thought my account was stolen, when I saw a charge for $97.88 against my account on 2/24 or 2/25. I notified my bank to let them know and filed a dispute. I tried to contact AuraVie first by email: letting them know that I was surprised by the charge; that I didn't order nor want the product; that I wanted a refund. Instead of addressing me, I got the "canned" email this time referring to the terms and conditions (a link) which I did not receive when they confirmed my order. I tried calling: AuraVie has an automated voice system that directs you to options to 2 products. There is an option to also cancel which I did. I wanted to talk to a representative. When I went through the options again, I got the automated: "This order has already been cancelled and then the call ended (2/27/14). On the 28th I called, on hold for 10 minutes, hung up. Email from AuraVie that they tried calling me (my Caller ID did not have their number and there was no message to call). I responded that I didn't get a message and that I just wanted my money refunded. 3/11/14-Finally got through the phone. The AuraVie customer svs rep had all the information: that the terms and conditions (which was just a link) were on the page when I entered my account no. to pay for the s/h; that that's the info they would give my bank once they received my dispute claim, and I would, therefore, lose my claim. The rep told me they had my IP address; that all the info was on the AuraVie website; that they could offer me a partial refund because I didn't return the product by the 30th day (crucial info that should be included). However, there was a condition that I would only get the refund if I sent a no-dispute email: that I would not submit a dispute claim against them. All this just seemed so convenient for them to bait consumers and then make it frustrating to get a refund. Yes, I was stupid! I contend that I should be more diligent about reading all terms and conditions, but I didn't go to this company's website by choice. I was under the impression I was getting a "free" product by taking the survey. I just want my dispute settled and my money returned. They should not be rewarded (getting my money, even partially) by using their sneaky tactics to make money in their business nor should they be able to prey on unsuspecting consumers. Thank you.

Initial Business Response
We would like to thank you for your correspondence on this matter. We strongly encourage our online customers to review the terms before finalizing their transaction. Our terms clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession, also explaining to cancel to avoid being enrolled in our recurring program. .At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. When the customer spoke to the customer service representative the customer stated she would peruse this in another way and declined our offers at which point the customer disconnected the call. We have noted this customer's account of any exceptions we are willing to honor her but this account is considered resolved and closed. . If the customer has any questions in regards to her account we are more than willing to discuss that with him directly. We encourage him to contact our Executive Resolutions Department to further assistance.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not sure how strongly emphasis added AuraVie encourages customers to review the terms embedded in a link when the more important terms such as the 10-day (versus 30-day) period to return the product if the customer is not satisfied, and an automatic renewal at the end of the 30-day period should be clearly on the webpage. As I indicated, I was being offered a "free gift" after completing a survey and only paying S/H. As to their offer to refund 40% of the total if I sent an email indicating that I would not dispute the charge was unacceptable to me. I understood that emailing that no-dispute statement was a prerequisite to receiving the refund. Again, unacceptable. As to their notations to my account, they challenged my bank's inquiry (as was promised by the CSR) and my account was again charged. However, I did rebut the claim, and my bank has reversed the charge. Hoping this has been closed and resolved as they state. Thank you for this opportunity to state my case. My concern is for those unsuspecting seniors who don't realize the conditions they are signing up for. The conditions should be enclosed with the shipped product (my shipment contained only the product). Thank you, again.

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Only because their customer service has been less than desirable. For the record, I did appeal my banking institution's decision to reverse the credit, and they responded favorably to my appeal. Additionally, I hung up because I was frustrated by Aura Vie's offer to refund only 40% of my purchase price with the condition that I would not dispute my purchase, and it would only be given to me if I emailed my request with this stipulation. So, I am satisfied with my bank's action to refund my money. I am not satisfied with Aura Vie's rebuttal, but it is what it is. Caveat emptor.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

08/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: Misrepresentative advertising practices led to $97.88 credit card charge.
I signed up for a trial sample of Auravie through Amazon.com. I read the entire agreement and I do not recall seeing any information regarding recurring charges. Nonetheless, my credit card was charged $97.88 since my membership was not cancelled before a certain date. Again, I do not recall seeing any information about charges aside from the product shipping fee.

Auravie processed a $44.00 refund on my behalf and assured me that no further charges would be applied to my credit card. Nonetheless, I would like to be refunded the entire amount of $97.88 since the company's advertising practices are improper or, at the very least, poorly presented.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for taking time to contact Auravie Skincare to explain the issues that have occurred recently. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we regret there was a misunderstanding to our Risk Free Trial. As per the terms and conditions that were accepted by this customer at the time of purchase her account was billed for the products. At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. In an effort to resolve this customer's account we had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. Because we felt this was a simple misunderstanding of the terms and conditions of our trial offer, which he had agreed to; a partial credit was offered. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with him directly.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still believe that Auravie Skincare's practices were misrepresentative. At no time was I aware that I would be entering into a trial period with a recurring billing cycle by receiving the products. The merchant is offering no additional compensation. Therefore, I do not consider their resolution satisfactory.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Advertising Complaint Issue

Complaint: To whom it may concern, I am writing to request assistance with a company in California. I was duped into an expensive purchase through the implementation of a risk-free trial in which I was expected to pay shipping and handling only. When I tried to call the company with the phone number they gave me, I only get a recording. When I push O for a company representative as they direct in their recording, they hang up on me. There was no fine-print on their internet ad that claimed I was entering into any kind of agreement. When my bank checked out the company for me, they found a tiny T&C down at the bottom of the advertisement. Since this was not spelled out, I had absolutely no idea that these letters were supposed to stand for terms and conditions, which I have since discovered through the help of my bank. When I received my "trial package" there was not one word in it about any kind of payment due within any specified time period, let alone how much! This is one of the most dishonest practices I have ever been subjected to and I need to discover if there is anything that I can do about this company and possibly recover my money as I am on Social Security and this caused an over-draft on my bank account. The company is AuraVie Skincare, PO Box XXXXX, VanNuys, CA, XXXXX. Thank you for any assistance you can offer me. ******* ******
Product_Or_Service: skincare product
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Thank you for your correspondents in this matter. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. This customer mentions that when she placed the order on our website she didn't see the terms and conditions of our Risk Free Trial, but later when she reached out for assistance from her bank they showed her where those terms were located. Unfortunately because of this oversight the customer's account was billed according to the terms she had agreed to. We would like to make clear that our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed. Because of this we can ensure our customer's understand how and when to cancel, in the event they are not satisfied with the product. The terms and conditions clearly explain any and all future billing that will take place if the customer decides to continue receiving product and not cancel with our company. When this customer called in and spoke to a customer service representative on 04/26/13, she expressed to the agent that she was not aware of the terms because they were not present when she placed her order. In efforts to assist this customer she was guided back to the same website she ordered from to demonstrate the specific location of the terms and conditions. As the customer requested we cancelled her account to ensure no further shipments or charges to her account. We encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

05/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: BBB made a mistake approving this scam. To order a "free sample" a form is provided which is too long to fit on a laptop screen. The hidden part contains an agreement for continued shipment of their skin cream products at $97.88 each month. A clear cheap trick which conforms to your standards of full disclosure, but hides the "hook". The have agreed to refund $25.00 but will keep the rest. ***?

Initial Business Response
We appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. Now, in order for us to properly address the statements made in the letter that have been forwarded to the BBB, we will need to start by explaining that our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed. Nowhere on our website does it state a "Free Sample" as this customer is stating; furthermore the terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. As an added courtesy we reiterate to customers in their confirmation email that they have just agreed to terms and conditions on our website. Now, if this information was overlooked we defiantly understand and are willing to make exceptions to our policy as we did for this customer. At this time his account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer feels there is more we can do for him we are more than willing to discuss that with him directly. We encourage him to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate his account for further assistance.

05/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: On 2/18/13,while on the Internet, I received a popup from AuraVie advertising a completely free beauty product, excluding shipping and handling. I was then redirected to their website requiring my debit card number to pay the shipping and handling costs. At no time did I see anything regarding their terms and agreement outlining that within 10 days I had to return product or my account would be charged $97.88. When I called customer service they were rude and told me I agreed to their terms and that they had my ISP number to prove it. This type of trickery and deceipt is the height of Internet Scam. I might add that when I received their product there was nothing in the box other than a packing list for order no. XXXXXXX. I was advised that I could return the product if it had been opened, which unfortunately it had been opened. I feel this is an exorbitant amount to charge for a facial product and deceptive business practice. This business practice is fraudulent and this company, in my opinion, should face criminal charges.
Product_Or_Service: Facial
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We would like to thank you for your correspondence in this matter. To appropriately address these concerns we must start by pointing out a few key facts. Our terms and conditions are detailed and comprehensive. We strongly encourage all online customers to review the terms and conditions of the trial offer prior to completing their order. The terms and conditions of our trial are provided in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the order can be completed. Our website in no way explains the customer is getting free product. The website clearly explains the AuraVie Skincare products can be tried for free on a trial basis. The terms and conditions explain by keeping the initial package beyond the trial period the customer is agreeing to be billed for the items in their possession. When this customer contacted us on 3/08/13 she stated that she unfortunately only quickly glanced at the terms and conditions which may be the cause of this misunderstanding. Despite this misunderstanding we have offered to assist this customer and have given her instructions to resolve this situation. The customer did not follow the steps provided; therefore, a refund was not issued. We are still more than willing to review the customer's account with her to see about an exception that can be made due to her unique situation. We encourage the customer to contact our Executive Resolutions Department so we can assist her in resolving her account.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I contacted the company on two occasions, was treated rudely, and advised they would only consider a refund if I returned the product unsealed. The terms and conditions are only visible when you maximize the window. It is not clearly visible when you are redirected from their popup on the Internet to their website. This is the reason I agreed to try their free product. I maintain this is deceptive business practice and this product is sold for the sole purpose of making money off unsuspecting customers. There are numerous complaints from customers who feel they were mislead and were never offered any type of resolution or refund. They have basically stolen my money and I am entitled to a refund. Again, the company only offered to a refund if the product was returned unsealed.

Final Business Response
Thank you again for your correspondence in this matter. The terms and conditions are visible and can be found in 3 separate locations, we do this to insure our customer's always have access to that information. Based on the information the customer has provided to us, we have determined that the products in the customers possession are ineligible for a return. When the customer contacted us on 3/18/2013 our customer service agent instructed the customer to take certain actions and then call our company back, as we were willing to make some exceptions on her account. The customer did not follow these steps therefore we were unable to resolve her account at that time. We are still more than willing to make an exception to her file and assist her with a resolution. In order for us to do this we will need the customer to contact our company so we can review her account with her. We would also like to address all for her concerns and clear up any misunderstanding that has occurred. We strongly encourage the customer to contact our Executive Resolutions Department so we can move forward in resolving her account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company can twist the truth again and again in an attempt to retain my money. The bottom line is that I DID NOT agree to their terms and conditions and DID NOT authorize them to charge my account $98.00. This business is operating in violation of federal law and ripping customers off left and right. It is deceptive advertising and a scam. I will not contact the business again to be treated rudely and will accept nothing less than a full refund for them. They stole money from my account and should be held accountable and should be ashamed for ripping off hardworking and unsuspecting people for a totally useless product and then refusing to offer any type of refund.

Page 1 of 10
08/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: paid 4.95 for "free trial" when I realized they now have my acct# and want to withdraw $95.00 monthly I wanted to cancel, had to pay 37.50 to cancel.
After paying $37.50 to cancel they then told me if I do not also return the products they will charge me 95.00. So, I now have to pay for shipping it back to them and hope they do not scam me for more money now that they have my acct #. Being a senior citizen, I am on a limited income, so much so I have to live with my daughter.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Misleading trial offer on auravietrialkit.com, patrons never asked to agree to terms & conditions which then auto enroll to $97.88/month subscription
Purchase Date: June 10, 2014, Order#: XXXXX, Payment Amount: $2.95, Payment Method: Credit Card. On 6/27/14 at approximately 8am I noticed a pending payment for $97.88 on my Chase credit card from AuraVie. I then called AuraVie and spoke with telephone representative ******* *************** ID: ******) in which he notified me about the 10 day trial period that would automatically enroll you in a monthly subscription of their products unless cancelled before the trial period end date. I go back to the site and see that it does state that in fine print at the bottom, but nowhere does it tell you that by processing the order you agree to the terms and conditions of the trial period and subscription enrollment. I tell him I was not satisfied with the product and ask to return it for a full refund, he tells me that is not possible that "the best he could do is provide me with a partial refund of $36". Rejecting his partial refund he then proceeded to cancel my subscription (cancellation ID#: XXXXX). I then ask to speak to his supervisor, he tells me she is not available and that there was nothing more she could do. I request to speak to his supervisor again, making my intentions clear that I am willing to wait for her to become available. Within a matter of seconds his lead supervisor *************** (Employee ID: ******) comes on the line. I tell her their business practices are questionable and deceiving. I request for a refund again, reassuring them that I used the product once and couldn't stand the smell therefore discontinued use of the product had I know I had to cancel a subscription I would have done it that first day. She insists the best they can do is refund me $59. I remind her that their practices were unethical and that a single notice in fine print is not fair business practices. I also tell her that the email confirmation never mentioned that such subscription would take place after a 10 day trial period. She continues to tell me that there is nothing that can be done. I closed our conversation by letting her kow I would not settle for a partial refund and would investigate the issue and file necessary complaints. After ending the conversation I went online and found that this was a scam, they prey on individuals through coupon sites - promising a free trial without mention of the terms and conditions then charge them the $97.88 repeatedly even after cancellation request were made. After reading this I called to confirm the employee information they provided me, the first woman who answered the call I believe to have been *************** (Employee ID: ******* - voice sounded identical to hers, I asked to speak with ******** and she hung up on me. I called again a woman by the name of **** answered the call, this time I asked her in a friendly manner if she could confirm some information for me. I proceeded to ask her if ******** worked there and if so what her title was. After some hesitation **** confirmed her title as a supervisor. It was around this time I began to hear my voice echoing in the background so I asked **** if I was on speaker and she said yes, I asked her why I was on speaker and she would not reply. Wanting to insure that the cancellation was in place I gave her my last name and zip code so she could find my account, once she found it she was hesitant to directly say the account was cancelled - she would instead say that I would no longer be billed until I insisted she say it directly, after a few minutes of this and her going over payments (information I did not request nor mention) I finally got her to explicitly state my account was cancelled. At this point the call was terminated and I will be disputing the charges with my credit card. They are preying on individuals and using bad business practices in the process, something needs to be done.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

06/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information.
As I was browsing on the Internet, an advertisement from AuraVie.com popped up saying that AuraVie.com. was offering free trial samples for their products. I ordered the sample and paid $4.95 for the shipping. However, I was charged $97.88 on March 28, 2014 for the sample and another $97.88 on April 14, 2014 for the free sample and was not sent another package. I dispute the two charges because I only authorized AuraVie.com to charge $7.95 on my credit card for the shipping cost for their free trial sample. AuraVie.com does not have my authorization to charge my credit card for $97.88 on April 14, 2014

I dispute the charges of 97.88 for the following reasons:

1.AuraVie.com advertises for free sample trials and then contradicts the ad by adding conditions that the order will be charged $97.88. If a trial is free, it should not be charged in any way. If a trial has conditions imposed upon it, it is not free. AuraVie.com is deceitful by leading customers to believe that the sample trial is free while it is not.

2.Since there are conditions imposed to the sample trial, AuraVie.com should place their ad with clear indication sample trial with conditions. It is unethical for AuraVie.com to hide charge in their ad.

3.AuraVie.com claims that the condition is listed on the order page. However, the condition is in small black print and placed down the bottom of the page while their ad uses large font size and catching red font color emphasizing 0 charge for the trial sample. The ad is placed on the eye level in the page. AuraVie.com is fraudulent in leading customers to see their ad for a sample trial with 0 charge while making imposed conditions as obscure as possible.

4.AuraVie.com is running a scam and ripping off customers. There are numerous websites dedicated to document and quantify this fraud. The complaints are coming in at an exponential rate. Hundreds of customers have filed their complaints against AuraVie.com.

There are hundreds of complaints against AuraVie.com on www.scambook.com. Customers have also filed complaints on www.ripoff.com (hundreds of complaints) and www.amazon.com).

Based on the above reasons, I dispute the charge made by AuraVie.com. AuraVie.com is misleading customers on purpose. AuraVie.com is deceitful, unethical, and fraudulent. I should not pay for their scam. - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/sanjose/business-reviews/internet-shopping/auravie-skincare-in-van-nuys-ca-XXXXXXXXX/complaints#breakdown

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I was offered a free product for S& H of $4.95. I was billed $1.93 followed by an unauthorized charge for $97.88.
I did not searched the site before ordering & found nothing to indicate future charges. The sales rep was very belligerent & bullying. She repeatedly gave incorrect information & indicated that if I disputed the charge with my credit card co, they would just send their T & C to them & that would be that. The site that the rep says I ordered from seelauravie.com is not to be found. I think that the co may be setting up & taking down sites or rerouting potential customers to other sites. The rep also said that I placed the order at 5:27am EST. I have not been up at that hour in over 14 years except for 2X in preparation for a trips some time ago.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

05/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: The AuraVie Co. I don't remember giving them my credit card information. later I received a package with 3 small bottles. They had billed my card $97
AuraVie had sent me a "free" package of 3 small skin care item. I don't remember giving them my credit card No. About 1 month later they sent me a same package, and stole $97.88 from my credit card. I tried to call them. Reached #1 person (recorded). was told to press #2 contact. No one answered after waiting over 10 minutes. I canceled my credit card number and paid$9.95 to return the package.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Page 1 of 18

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping, Cosmetic Sales by Internet

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/2010
Contact Information
David Davidian (Agent for Service for Corp.)
Business Category

Internet Shopping, Cosmetic Sales by Internet

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AuraVie Skincare is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.bunzaimedia.com
  • http://www.miraclefacekit.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.