BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2012

Altatac, Inc.

(323) 402-6554532 Mateo St, Los AngelesCA 90013-2243

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/13/2012

BBB has determined that Altatac, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Altatac, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Altatac, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB since March 10, 2013
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service17
Total Closed Complaints 23

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a summary of my problem:1. I bought a tablet from a Altatac on Ebay for $123. The tablet was advertised as Ematic 9.7" EXP8 IPS Google Android 4.0 Multimedia HD Capacitive Tablet Black.2. The item arrived but was not functioning correctly.3. I contacted the seller but they did not bother to reply.4. I left a negative feedback to the seller.5. The seller contacted me and offered a full refund if I changed my feedback.6. I accepted the offer and changed the feedback to positive one.7. The seller refunded $15 only!8. I opened a case on Ebay with the resolution center.9. The seller stated that there was a misunderstanding and said that they would offer a full refund if I return the tablet. He agreed to even pay the return-shipping fees.10. I accepted the offer and shipped the item back to the seller in September.11. The seller said that they would issue a full refund once they would receive the item.12. I have never received the refund and never heard back from the seller although I have contacted them many times. More over, the case was closed on Ebay Resolution Center!P.S. I can provide a copy of all the e-mails and messages that was sent/recevied between the seller and I.
Product_Or_Service: Ematic 9.7" EXP8 IPS Google Android 4.0 Multi
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience encountered
Unfortunately we never received the returned item.
if the buyer can provide more information on the return (tracking information and proof of shipment) we will gladly assist.

Best regards
***

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/25/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: I bought a laser, I received a box when I opened the box it contained a USPS envelope but no laser. I contacted seller he requested pictures which I did send. Today he notified me that there would be no refund. The seller filed a claim which FedEx said they paid out for $271.00.
Product_Or_Service: Laser
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** (Manager)
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ***@altatac.com
This customer contacted us stating that he received an empty box,
We requested pictures and some time to contact the carrier (FedEx) and start an investigation on this issue.
This customer was very impatient with the procedure to solve the issue, and was pressuring to have a REFUND processed when most customers like to receive the ITEM that supposedly was never received.
The customer left a negative feedback on our eBay account and opened claims not giving us the time to resolve the issue,
The feedback left by the customer was removed by eBay managers due to Feedback extortion by Sending messages through eBay such as...... "Please refund me...I can't believe how slow you are to respond. I sent you the photos, if I don't hear something tomorrow I will file a claim and leave unhappy feedback"....
I personally received a phone call from the local FedEx Manager who stated the case would be denied as they had many complaints by this customer and would not deliver suspicious package or deliver without a signature.
It is clear that this person has abused the system and wanted to do the same through eBay, and now here in the BBB.
We would gladly forward the contact information from our account manager from eBay that has been assisting us through this issue
We are a high standard company that stands behind our work and wishes to assist every customer in the best way possible.
However we will not accept extortion and abuse of the system.

Customer Service Manager
Altatac

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has ads on Amazon.com selling an ematic funtab that does NOT let the customer know that the products are previously damaged and refurbished. They are selling them at full price. I ordered one thru Amazon and when the product was received, late I might add, it was for a girl. I ordered it for a boy. The product is reformatted to factory specs, not NEW. It does not work. You cannot play any of the already loaded applications. You cannot connect it to the wi-fi, as it states that you can.I have been working with Amazon and have filed an A to Z claim thru them. I have tried working with this company to get a replacement, NEW, NEVER used product or my money refunded. They are refusing to do either until they receive this one back. I have been waiting for them to send me a return label by mail, as I do not have access to a printer to print of the label they e-mailed me. I feel that this company is trying to defraud me and keep my money. This was to be an Easter gift for a boy who is Autistic. Now I am out the gift and my money to replace this gift.
Product_Or_Service: Ematic Funtab
Order_Number: ******** ***********

Initial Business Response
****** has sent the item back and has been refunded for.
We stand behind our work and offered assistance at all tome.
For any further issues or concerns we can be contacted at (XXX) XXX XXXX

Best Regards
***

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/26/2014Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 4
05/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues
05/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
Business started: 11/22/2010
Contact Information
Principal: Gus Gutierrez (Customer Service Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Internet Shopping

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Altatac, Inc.

532 Mateo St

Los Angeles, CA 90013-2243

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 532 Mateo St 

    Los Angeles, CA 90013-2243(323) 402-6554

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Altatac, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.