BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2001

Netflix, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (408) 540-3700Fax: (408) 540-3737

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

632 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 165 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues34
Billing / Collection Issues310
Delivery Issues23
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service263
Total Closed Complaints632

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (632)
06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been a customer of Neflix for over 10 years.I recently upgraded my service to Streaming from DVD rentals.
I contacted netflix customer service to upgrade my service.The rep offered me a month of free service as advertised.I did not receive the free month as promised($11.99) .When i contacted Netflix reguarding the credit i was told to call another dept.,called streaming.When i contacted that dept. they informed me of no credit and the rep did not know what she was doing.Is this any way to treat a customer of 10 years ?

Desired Settlement
A month credit as advertised and promised by the Netflix rep. ($11.99)

Business Response
June 2, 2016

Customer: ******* *******
*********@aol.com

Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. *******'s concerns. We appreciate the time he has taken to provide us with his feedback and comments.

We are very sorry to hear Mr. ******* was having difficulty with our service and was unable to resolve the issue with our customer service department. Here at Netflix, we are constantly striving to improve the service and we do so by welcoming valuable feedback from our members. Please know that your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

As a one time courtesy, we've issued an adjustment on Mr. *******'s Netflix account for a free month of streaming ($11.99).

Again, we thank Mr. ******* for his feedback regarding our service. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Netflix Resolutions Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm still being charged for an account cancelled more than 4 months ago.
I have spoken to an agent more than once about not charging my creditcard..The young woman assured me that there will be no more charges..

Desired Settlement
I think that i should be refunded at least 32 dollars back to my credit card account..I Believed that i was wrongfully charged for the past 4 months !

Business Response
June 2, 2016

Customer: ******** *******
***************@gmail.com

Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. *******'s concerns. We appreciate the time he has taken to provide us with his feedback and comments.

We are very sorry to hear that Mr. ******* had difficulties with our service. We would like to sincerely apologize if the circumstances of this situation gave Mr. ******* a negative experience. Here at Netflix, we rely heavily on satisfying our customers and exceeding their expectations. His feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

Allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix is an online monthly subscription-based service. The collection of membership fees begins upon establishment of the account or on the day of the conclusion of any redeemed free trial offer. The billing takes place every month on that date unless there is a delay in payment or the account is cancelled.

Our records indicate Mr. *******'s account associated with an email of ************@gmail.com was activated on March 1, 2014 with a MasterCard. This account remains closed as of May 22, 2016, as per Mr. ******* request upon his contact to our customer service department on April 26, 2016.

We do not monitor accounts and rely on our members to contact our 24 hour customer service by phone or live chat at www.netflix.com/help if they no longer wish to resume service or are experiencing any billing discrepancies. Unless notified, the subscription charges are collected month-to-month per our Terms of Use (which were agreed to upon sign up), regardless of usage.

Netflix does not generally offer credits or discounts for the service. However, as a one-time courtesy we have issued a credit for Mr. ******* of $35.96. Please allow up to 10 business days for this credit to accurately reflect on his billing statement. No further credits or discounts will be provided by Netflix.

Again, we appreciate Mr. ******* for providing us with his valuable feedback, and we apologize if this has inconvenienced him in any way. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,
-Netflix Resolutions Team


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am happy to receive a refund

05/02/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Netflix imposes new conditions on its promotion not found in the original terms and conditions. It also refused to cancel streaming service when asked
I've been a loyal user of Netflix for many years, and when my large family upgraded their phones for Galaxy S6 last year and to Galaxy S7 earlier this year, the fact that those phones came with a Netflix promo, was the reason we chose more expensive Galaxy phones over other phones. However, when it came time to apply my Netflix codes I was told that more than 5 codes will not apply, which was completely new for me, since nothing like this is even found in fine print, moreover made explicit & it contradicts Netflix own term of use.

https://help.netflix.com/legal/termsofuse?locale=en&docType=termsofuse states "Promotional codes may be redeemed as described in the specifics of the promotion" However if you look at the "T-Mobile Netflix Offer Terms and Conditions" - https://promos.samsungpromotions.com/netflixtmo/Rules - it nowhere mentions that ! So not only you don't make this explicit, but you don't even put into any fine print! And state this as a matter of fact act after someone already bought thousands of dollars of merchandise that came with Netflix promo attached as a part of the deal! (I can provide the proof of purchase for thousands of dollars for the phones that came with Netlfix promo, all in my name, as I am the primary account holder for my phone plan)

But it gets worse! I was told by the rep when I called in early April that I could create another account in my name to apply the promo that I cannot apply to my original account , and I thought OK, it's hassle but I could have a separate account for DVDs and a separate account for Streaming. So on April 21st I did create my second account when I've entered "www.netflix.com/specialoffer" into the browser. It nowhere asked me to select what option I want DVD vs Streaming, but it defaulted to streaming, which I thought could be fixed with a simple phone calls. However than I was told that streaming cannot be canceled until my gift balance is zero! Basically meaning if I already have another account with streaming service, the second account would have useless streaming service drawing 50% of my balance (if the other 50% goes to DVD) - so on $480 gift balance - you'll be stealing from me $240 for redundant streaming services I don't need and haven't asked for!

So not only you made me jump through these hoops of creating a second account to make use of my Netflix gift codes, but after I created it, now I am faced the situation when I lose $240 of my hard earned money on nothing ?? And that's because I spend thousands on those phones that came with this Netlix git codes, and I would never had done so had I know about your byzantine rules, that even your system and reps don't know about. For example in "My Account" it states "Your streaming plan will be canceled at the end of your current billing period." however the engineer my rep asked about told me that this message was a glitch, and in fact my streaming will not be canceled until I spend every penny out of gift balance, which strikes quite anti-consumer and more something I would expect from cable companies not from you!

Anyway, you were on of my favorite companies, but now I am utterly disgusted by both your lack of transparency of this matter, your bait and switch tactics, and the indifference I felt from your supervisor **** towards the undeserved situation I am in!

Desired Settlement
I do hope at least the corporate level you can clean your act, and straighten things up, and since I provided you with legal language above that nowhere mentions this limitations of 5 codes per account , you must abide by it and not come up with other rules after the fact! So the best resolution here would be for you transfer the original gift balance of $480 from my new account *******@gmail.com to my old account *******@gmail.com

A less ideal solution would be to cancel my Streaming services that I wasn't given a choice originally when I applied the gift balances for the account *******@gmail.com

And more broadly, please make sure your promotion details are clearly spelled out since by using these bait and switch & anti-consumer policies you erode all the good will people build up for your brand in years, in mere seconds!

Business Response
April 26, 2016

Customer: ****** ********
*******@gmail.com


Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. ********'s concerns. We appreciate the time he has taken to provide us with his comments and feedback.

We are very sorry to hear of the difficulty Mr. ******** experienced with our service. Here at Netflix, we rely heavily on satisfying our customers and exceeding their expectations. Please rest assured that his feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

Since receiving Mr. ********'s complaint, we have contacted him by phone on April 26, 2016 and assisted in cancelling his newest account and as a one time courtesy transferring his additional Samsung promotions to his main account.

Again, we appreciate Mr. ******** for providing us with his valuable feedback, and we apologize if this has inconvenienced him in any way. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
-Netflix Resolutions Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/29/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After a dispute was settled through Paypal in my favor, in retaliation, Netflix cancelled my account.
Having an unlimited account which allows for 8 discs out at a time as well as streaming services, Netflix has repeatedly failed to send out available discs for the ones that are available for delivery on my account. When this happens repeatly a dispute through Paypal is initiated. Netflix and the customer have agreed to arbitrate through Paypal in order to resolve these issues. On April 13, 2016, a dispute was filed with Paypal by me against Netflix for not sending available discs from my account list that were available at the time, Case#PP-XXX-XXX-XXX-XXX. Having stated on my dispute that I had spoken with Netflix on this issue, the dispute was escalated to a claim. Netflix was notified via e-mail by Paypal of the dispute and and had given them until April 23rd 2016 to answer this dispute. On Sunday, April 24th, I received a notification from Paypal stating that the dispute had been resolved in my favor as Netflix failed to answer the dispute and that they recovered $54.62, which is the amount I pay monthly to Netflix for the service. On Tuesday, at approximately 10am, I attempted to access my Netflix account and found that it had been shut down without any warning or notification whatsoever. I contacted Netflix and was informed that because there was a dispute my account had been shutdown. I explained that the dispute was through paypal, that they were informed of it and that they chose not to challenge it according to the rules of arbitration established by Paypal. I then spoke to a supervisor, I do not recall her name, who stated to me that the issue would be resolved and my account back up within 24 hours. At 5pm on April 26th 2016, today, I again attempted to access my account and found that it was still shutdown. The account is still shutdown at present. The customer service people at Netflix specifically stated that my account was shutdown due to the dispute. This was retaliation for filing the dispute, pure and simple.

Desired Settlement
I wish my account to be reinstated as it was prior to being shutdown on April 25th 2016.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. *******'s concerns. We appreciate the time he has taken to provide us with his feedback and comments.

We are deeply sorry for the frustration Mr. ******* has experienced with our Netflix DVD service. If Mr. ******* can contact our corporate office directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX, we would like to discuss this matter further with him.

Sincerely,

Netflix DVD Resolutions Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
A conversation on April 29 2016 with corporate cleared up the misunderstanding concerning the payment dispute, which did not exist. The other issues were detailed and corporate agrees to look into those complaints as well as providing me with a direct number to corporate for further complaints, should they occur. I am satified with the way Netflix has responded to my complaint and agree that this complaint should be closed.

04/27/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called about a billing dispute as my boyfriend's debit card and my credit card were being billed by Netflix which was occuring since may 2014
On 4/21 I called netflix as my boyfriend mentioned his debit card was debited money which shouldnt have happen as it comes out of my credit card. We then discovered this had been going on for 2 yrs since 5/14. They told us the one account was inactive since 4/3/14. Supposedly the email addresses were similar. They would only refund 3 months and said to take it up with bank, which I did and they said they would do investigation but at the most can only credit 3 months. And if they saw merchant credit they wouldnt give a credit on their end. I called corporate office today 4/25 and they wouldnt refund me anything but the three months they already were in process of crediting. I also asked if they confirm or verify email addresses when someone creates an account and they said no. I feel they should be confirming this as it could prevent situations like that. On 4/21 i spoke to ****** (idXXXXXXX) and his supervisor ***** ******** On 4/25 i spoke with supervisor named allan i dont remember initial rep i spoke with. He was a male. I called corporate to see if they credit the gap difference esp since the account was clearly inactive since 4/3/14. And what makes it worse if my boyfriend would have not mentioned anything they would have continued to charge us twice for one account.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the remainding 21 months that have not been credited. The 3 months credit they gave are being processed to post on my debit card.

Business Response
April 26, 2016

Customer: ********* ********
*********@yahoo.com

Thank you for the opportunity to address Ms. ********'s concerns. We appreciate the time she has taken to provide us with her feedback and comments.

We are very sorry to hear that Ms. ******** had difficulties with our service. We would like to sincerely apologize if the circumstances of this situation gave Ms. ******** a negative experience. Here at Netflix, we rely heavily on satisfying our customers and exceeding their expectations. Her feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

Allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix is an online monthly subscription-based service. The collection of membership fees begins upon establishment of the account or on the day of the conclusion of any redeemed free trial offer. The billing takes place every month on that date unless there is a delay in payment or the account is cancelled.

Netflix does not use member information to create ********. Instead, members are given the opportunity to open and close ******** on their own. If two ******** were set up in the system using Ms. ********'s information, then they were created by someone with access to her information. When an account is created, a "Welcome" email is sent from Netflix to notify the member that they have agreed to open a membership. Additionally, a statement should have been sent to Ms. ******** by her financial institution, either by mail or in electronic form, at least monthly.

Our records indicate Ms. ********'s first account associated with an email of *********@yahoo.com was activated on Apr 13, 2012 with a Visa. Please note, this account last actively streamed on Apr 26, 2016. This account currently remains active with the next billing date of May 5, 2016.

Our records indicate a second account registered to Ms. ******** with ************@yahoo.com was activated on Mar 22, 2014 with a Visa. Please note, this account last actively streamed on Apr 3, 2014. This account remains closed as of May 20, 2016, per Ms. ******** request upon her contact to our customer service department on Apr 21, 2016. Additionally, 3 credits of $7.99 were issued to her Visa.

We do not monitor ******** and rely on our members to contact our 24 hour customer service by phone or live chat at www.netflix.com/help if they no longer wish to resume service or are experiencing any billing discrepancies. Unless notified, the subscription charges are collected month-to-month per our Terms of Use (which were agreed to upon sign up), regardless of usage.

Netflix does not generally offer credits or discounts for the service. However, upon contacting our customer service on Apr 21, 2016 , 3 credits were issued to Ms. ********. As a one-time courtesy, we have issued an additional 21 credits of $7.99 to her Visa ending in 7449. This, in addition to the credits already provided by our customer service, represents the maximum credit Netflix will provide. Please allow up to 10 business days for these credits to accurately reflect on her billing statement as it depends on the refund policies of her financial institution.

Again, we appreciate Ms. ******** for providing us with her valuable feedback, and we apologize if this has inconvenienced her in any way. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,
- Netflix Resolutions Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept this response as they have stated they would refund the remainding 21 months I was charged twice. I will check my account in 10 business days to see if the credits have posted. Otherwise per the fine print above I will file another claim. I will also print this for my records. Thank you again.

Page 1 of 31
06/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled an account with Netflix but another one inadvertently started up -- no one used the service for 7 months, but only willing to refund 3.
I cancelled my account with Netflix. Not sure how, but my work email address started another account that was watched for a few days, until viewing ceased by my family because we thought we had cancelled the the account. The same credit card was charged and I did not catch it until recently. Netflix confirmed that no watching took place for seven months. The account was closed and three months were credited. I asked two polite Netflix customer service individuals to refund the other four months, but they were not willing. This equals $8.99 a month, for four months.

* We still view Netflix and like the product; we added a screen on my son's account and pay him for that *

Desired Settlement
1. a refund of $35.96.
2. ask Netflix to examine their procedures... When an account is never used, not a single log in for seven months in my case, why are they still charging for service they are obviously not providing.

Business Response
June 9, 2016

Customer: *** *****
************@gmail.com

Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. *****'s concerns. We appreciate the time he has taken to provide us with his feedback and comments.

We are very sorry to hear that Mr. ***** had difficulties with our service. We would like to sincerely apologize if the circumstances of this situation gave Mr. ***** a negative experience. Here at Netflix, we rely heavily on satisfying our customers and exceeding their expectations. His feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

Allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix is an online monthly subscription-based service. The collection of membership fees begins upon establishment of the account or on the day of the conclusion of any redeemed free trial offer. The billing takes place every month on that date unless there is a delay in payment or the account is cancelled.

Please know that it is never our intent to erroneously collect funds from our members. We do not monitor accounts and rely on our members to contact our 24 hour customer service by phone or live chat at www.netflix.com/help if they no longer wish to resume service or are experiencing any billing discrepancies. Unless notified, the subscription charges are collected month-to-month per our Terms of Use (which were agreed to upon sign up), regardless of usage. Additionally, a statement should have been sent to Mr. ***** by his financial institution, either by mail or in electronic form, at least monthly.

Our records indicate Mr. *****'s account associated with an email of ******@allamakee.k12.ia.us was activated on February 5th, 2013. Please note, this account last actively streamed on October, 20th 2015. This account remains closed as of June 8th, 2016, per Mr. *****'s request upon his contact to our customer service department on June 8th, 2016.

Netflix does not generally offer credits or discounts for the service. However, upon contacting our customer service on June 8th, 2016, 3 credits were issued to Mr. *****. As a one-time courtesy, we have issued an additional 4 credits of $35.96 to his type of Visa ending in 7233. This, in addition to the credits already provided by our customer service, represents the maximum credit Netflix will provide. Please allow up to 10 business days for these credits to accurately reflect on his billing statement as it depends on the refund policies of his financial institute.

Again, we appreciate Mr. ***** for providing us with his valuable feedback, and we apologize if this has inconvenienced him in any way. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,
Netflix Resolution Team

06/20/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Every movie we ask for has a wait time. This wait time issue only began this past year. Contacted customer service and they could care less.
We have been members for many years and this past year all of a sudden, every movie we ask for has a wait time. We subscribed for 2 movies a week provided we returned them in time. We have returned them in time but get nothing in return due to wait times. We had one older movie on our list that had no wait time but today, all of a sudden it had a wait time and therefore they did not ship anything to us. Contacted customer service and their attitude was rude and could care less. He said that this movie was available and I asked, then why didn't you ship it to us? His answer was well it wasn't available earlier but we will ship it tomorrow (well we will see) It would appear that they are selling more subscriptions than they have supplies for. This is unethical. They say that the demand for newer movies is high but this was not the case in past years so they are not fulfilling their obligations to their customers.

Desired Settlement
Would like Netflix to live up to their commitment that we paid for and that is 2 movies per week upon return of the previous movie. No more wait times

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address Ms. *********'s concerns. We appreciate the time she has taken to provide us with her feedback and comments.

We are sorry for the difficulties Ms. ********* has experienced with the Netflix DVD service.

Please allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix DVD is a monthly subscription service that allows our members to rent DVDs by mail. Ms. ********* currently subscribes to our 1 DVD out at-a-time Unlimited Plan. This allows her to rent one DVD at a time and when she returns her DVD, we will send the next DVD from her requested titles known as the DVD Queue.

It is always our goal to send the top title in the DVD queue to our customers. However, a title may have a "wait" status due to the amount of customers who have rented them out. Moreover, because we don't charge our customers any late fees, we do not guarantee availability for our titles. Additionally, we do not guarantee a specific number of titles our customers can rent each month. For the months for April and May, Ms. ********* had received 8 and 7 DVD shipments respectively. The purpose of presenting the amount of DVDs sent to Ms. ********* is to show that she has consistently received DVDs weekly.

When our system detects any waited titles at the top of the queue, it will automatically send the next available title below. After review, it is estimated that 7 out of 16 titles have a "wait" status. We recommend that Ms. ********* add additional titles to her queue, so we may continue sending her movies if there are any waited titles at the top.

Please know we appreciate Ms. *********'s feedback regarding our service. We understand the frustration Ms. ********* has experienced and in good faith we will provide the next two months of DVD subscription free of charge. If Ms. ********* has any additional questions or concerns, she can feel free to contact us. Our customer service center can be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Saturday between 5AM and 8PM PST.

06/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We consistently send back several DVDs and they send out 1 or none. We pay for 3 DVDs at a time.
We pay $16.95 per month for 3 DVDs at a time. We are consistently sending back several DVDs and they send us 1 or none. The last time I called them I sent in 4 DVDs (they occasionally send an extra DVD if they mess up or I complain)and they sent back 1. I told them I was tired of calling and complaining and that I would file a complaint with the BBB if they did this again. They where sending them out regularly and now they are back to their tricks again. 1 week I received only 2 DVDs the whole week and this week I sent in 2 and they sent out 1.

Desired Settlement
I would simply like to receive the service that I pay for, 3 DVDs at a time

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to address ***** ****'s concerns. We appreciate the time *****
has taken to provide us with the feedback and comments.

We are deeply sorry for the frustration ***** has experienced with our DVD service. If ***** can contact our corporate office directly at XXX-XXX- XXXX, we would like to discuss
this matter further.

Sincerely,

Netflix DVD Resolutions Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I told them that I was Not receiving my 3 DVDs at a time and they told me that they don't have to give me 3 DVDs and that they could send them out when ever they wanted. He said my 3 DVD plan does not mean I get 3 DVDs at a time. To my understanding a 3 DVD plan should mean that I get 3 DVDs. I would say that they are misrepresenting their service.

Final Business Response
Thank you again for the opportunity to address Ms. ****'s concerns. We are sorry to hear that she was not satisfied with our response over the phone regarding the number of DVDs she receives and the delivery time.

Please allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix DVD is a monthly subscription service that allows our members to rent DVDs by mail. Ms. ****'s currently subscribes to our 3 DVDs out at-a-time Unlimited Plan. This allows her to rent up to three DVDs at a time and when she returns her DVDs, we will send the corresponding number of DVDs from her requested titles known as the DVD Queue.

We understand that typically Ms. **** sees her next movie ship out the same day that we receive it and this is certainly the timing we strive for; however, this is not a guarantee. Per our Terms of Use agreement, to which Mr. **** agreed prior to signing up, "Generally, on the same day that we receive a DVD from you, we ship the next available DVD from your Queue. In certain instances, your next available DVD will not ship until at least one business day following our receipt of your returned DVD."

Additionally, because we are unable to directly control delivery times, our DVD subscription plans do not guarantee a specific number of DVDs per month. Which is also stated in our Terms of Use agreement, "we do not establish a monthly limit on the number of DVDs you can rent, however, the actual number of DVDs you rent in any month will vary based on a number of factors" and "factors that may affect delivery times, include, but are not limited to....circumstances impacting delivery by the U.S. Postal Service."

Please know we appreciate Ms. ****'s feedback regarding our service. We understand the frustration Ms. **** has experienced and in good faith we will provide the next two months of her DVD subscription free of charge. If Ms. **** has any additional questions or concerns, she can feel free to contact us. Our customer service center can be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Saturday between 5AM and 8PM PST.

06/20/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FRADULENT BILLING COMPLETED ON TWO ********
ACCT: ********@YAHOO.COM BILLED FOR 8.35 SINCE 2/2014
ACCT:*******@INPROCORP.COM BILLED 9.40
BILLED ON SAME CREDIT CARD FOR DUPLICATE SERVICES WITH OUR NETFLIX ******** BEING HACKED AND THE COMPANY NOTIFIED NETFLIX INC WAS NOT AUTHORIZED TO BILL US TWICE FOR TWO SEPERATE ACCTS UNDER *******@INPROCORP.COM
& ********@YAHOO.COM
********@YAHOO.COM WAS BILLED @225.45 FROM 2/2014 FRADULENTLY A SUPERVISOR WAS NOTIFIED AND REFUSED TO REFUND THE CREDIT CARD ON FILE OPERATOR # XXXXXXX.
THE CREDIT CARD COMPANY IS BEING NOTIFIED AS WELL.

*******@INPROCORP.COM WAS BILLED $9.40 SINCE 1/22/2015 TOTALLING OVER $131.60

Desired Settlement
WE ARE SEEKING A FULL REFUND OR WILL FILE FRAUD CHARGES WITH OUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY ON FILE.

Business Response
May 23, 2016

Customer: ******** ******
********@yahoo.com

Thank you for the opportunity to address Ms. ******'s concerns. We appreciate the time she has taken to provide us with her feedback and comments.

We are very sorry to hear that Ms. ****** had difficulties with our service. We would like to sincerely apologize if the circumstances of this situation gave Ms. ****** a negative experience. Here at Netflix, we rely heavily on satisfying our customers and exceeding their expectations. Her feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

Allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix is an online monthly subscription-based service. The collection of membership fees begins upon establishment of the account or on the day of the conclusion of any redeemed free trial offer. The billing takes place every month on that date unless there is a delay in payment or the account is cancelled.

Netflix does not use member information to create ********. Instead, members are given the opportunity to open and close ******** on their own. If two ******** were set up in the system using Ms. ******'s information, then they were created by someone with access to her information. When an account is created, a "Welcome" email is sent from Netflix to notify the member that they have agreed to open a membership. Additionally, a statement should have been sent to Ms. ****** by her financial institution, either by mail or in electronic form, at least monthly.

Our records indicate Ms. ****** first account associated with an email of ********@yahoo.com was activated on Feburary 9, 2014. Please note, this account last actively streamed on April 26, 2016.This account is set to close on May 23, 2016, per Ms. ******'s request upon her contact to our customer service department on May 17, 2016.

Our records indicate a second account registered to Ms. ****** with *******@inprocorp.com was activated on January 22, 2015. Please note, this account last actively streamed on May 17, 2016. This account is set to close on May 22, 2016, per Ms. ******'s request upon her contact to our customer service department on May 17, 2016.

We do not monitor ******** and rely on our members to contact our 24 hour customer service by phone or live chat at www.netflix.com/help if they no longer wish to resume service or are experiencing any billing discrepancies. Unless notified, the subscription charges are collected month-to-month per our Terms of Use (which were agreed to upon sign up), regardless of usage. We have no record of Ms. ****** contacting us prior to May 17, 2016.

Netflix does not generally offer credits or discounts for the service. Due to both ******** having consistently and actively used Netflix, with no record of Ms. ****** attempting to contact Netflix previously to May 17, 2016, no credits will be provided by Netflix.

Sincerely,

Netflix Resolutions Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are filing a Fraud Charge with our credit card company NETFLIX CLOSE ALL ACCOUNTS IMMEDIATELY IN ALL ABOVE UNAUTHORIZED E MAILS.

Final Business Response
June 2, 2016

Customer: ******** ******
********@yahoo.com

Thank you again for the opportunity to address Ms. ******'s concerns. We are sorry to hear she was not satisfied with our last response.

Additionally, both of Ms. ******'s ******** have been closed. As we have mentioned, due to both account being actively used, Netflix will not be providing credits. If Ms. ****** is concerned that her information has been compromised, we strongly suggest she reaches out to her financial institution for further assistance. We are not aware of any compromises of our system that would have exposed her information. Please know that as a company, we make it a priority to provide safe and secure systems for our customers' information. We use reasonable administrative, technical, physical, and managerial measures to protect personal information against unauthorized access. As such, Netflix follows many industry best practices, including Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards, to monitor, protect, detect, block, and react to inappropriate access to personal information. These security controls are reviewed for their efficacy on a regular basis and modified as needed to keep pace with known threats and emerging trends.

Again, we appreciate Ms. ****** for providing us with her valuable feedback, and we apologize if this has inconvenienced her in any way. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Netflix Resolutions Team

06/13/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm on Social Security disability and they continue to Bill me after I cancelled my account I can't eat if they keep taking my money
the account was cancelled over 6 months ago and they continued to Bill me even to this day after I have called them numerous times

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund.

Business Response
Date XXXX-XX-XX

Customer: ***** ****
*********@gmail.com


Thank you for the opportunity to address Mr. ****'s concerns. We appreciate the time he has taken to provide us with his feedback and comments.

We are very sorry to hear that Mr. **** had difficulties with our service. We would like to sincerely apologize if the circumstances of this situation gave Mr. **** a negative experience. Here at Netflix, we rely heavily on satisfying our customers and exceeding their expectations. His feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.

Allow us to begin by explaining that Netflix is an online monthly subscription-based service. The collection of membership fees begins upon establishment of the account or on the day of the conclusion of any redeemed free trial offer. The billing takes place every month on that date unless there is a delay in payment or the account is cancelled.

Netflix does not use member information to create accounts. Instead, members are given the opportunity to open and close accounts on their own. When an account is created, a "Welcome" email is sent from Netflix to notify the member that they have agreed to open a membership. Additionally, a statement should have been sent to Mr. **** by his financial institution, either by mail or in electronic form, at least monthly.

Our records indicate Mr. ****'s account associated with an email of (*********@gmail.com) was activated on November XX XXXX with a MasterCard. Please note, this account last actively streamed on February XX XXXX. This account remains closed as of May XX XXXX, per Mr. ****'s request upon his contact to our customer service department on May XX XXXX.

We do not monitor accounts and rely on our members to contact our 24 hour customer service by phone or live chat at www.netflix.com/help if they no longer wish to resume service or are experiencing any billing discrepancies. Unless notified, the subscription charges are collected month-to-month per our Terms of Use (which were agreed to upon sign up), regardless of usage.

Netflix does not generally offer credits or discounts for the service. However, upon contacting our customer service on May XX XXXX, 1 credit of $9.99 was issued to Mr. ****. As a one-time courtesy, we have issued an additional 2 credits of $9.99 to his MasterCard ending in 4116. This, in addition to the credit already provided by our customer service, represents the maximum credit Netflix will provide. Please allow up to 10 business days for these credits to accurately reflect on his/her billing statement as it depends on the refund policies of his/her financial institution.

Again, we appreciate Mr. **** for providing us with his valuable feedback, and we apologize if this has inconvenienced him in any way. If either of you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Sincerely,
-Netflix Resolutions Team

Page 1 of 96

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.