BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Endicia Internet Postage

Fax: (650) 321-0356View Additional Phone Numbers385 Sherman Ave, Palo AltoCA 94306-1864http://www.endicia.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Endicia Internet Postage is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Endicia Internet Postage's rating include:

  • 32 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Endicia Internet Postage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented by the Bureau.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues14
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 32

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Endicia Internet Postage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (32)
03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Postage labels I purchased from Endicia do not fee properly. Requested refund from bad postage printed.
I purchased labels (to print postage) through Endicia. Previous rolls were fine, however the most recent roll does not feed correctly in their official printer. When printing multiple stamps, it miss-feeds and the postage printed is not usable. In December I mailed a request to refund $2.88 postage that printed incorrectly to Endicia (on their form using their process). After two months with no response, I checked my account and see they rejected my request with no comment and no communication to me.

Desired Settlement
Requesting $2.88 for postage deducted from my account, but not printed properly, using Endicia's offical printer, labels, and app.

Business Response
spoke with customer, offered a free roll - gave customer my contact info should anything like this happen again, (misaligned postage) - customer OK with a free roll. Verified address and requested a free roll to be sent ASAP.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The roll of label I had would not feed correctly, causing the improper printing of postage. Endicia sent me a new roll of labels at no charge. I feel that is a more than reasonable way to resolve the issue. I have already received the labels and I am satisfied.

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Endicia Dazzle software failed to properly quote me for the correct amount of postage and was billed from the post office $140 additional
I used the Endicia Dazzle software to have a package sent from Michigan to Nevada. I put in the from address from michigan and the to address to las vegas and was charged $42.33. The mailman arrived today and said he needed to collect an additional $141.62 or he would not release my package to me, the package was extremely important and needed it so I paid the $141.62. I called Dazzel and was told it does not matter what address you put in the from it will charge you what is on your account online. The representative took me out of the program onto endicias website and had me go through a series of menu, where my "base" zip code was stored. I asked him how I was supposed to know that there was an online website I had to go into and change the base zip code. He replied that a person would have no way of knowing this and that they feel they are at no fault for the incorrect quote on the shipping. The label printed out states from MI to NV and the software did not properly quote the price. I feel I should be refunded for the full amount extra that I was charged by the post office, since endicias software is misleading and or faulty. The person on the phone encouraged me to not use dazzle if I do not like how the program works, offering me no help what so ever, the guy on the phone is as bad as this software works!

Desired Settlement
I want $141.62 refunded to me

Business Response
spoke with customer, issuing a check for the inconvenience. Customer satisfied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When we receive the check I will be satisfied. Have not seen a credit or check come in yet.

Thanks

Final Business Response
credit was requested on 10/28 - waiting for accounting to confirm if check was issued. Will update then...

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is nothing to respond to, I still haven't received anything. Patiently waiting.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled my account. They said they refunded my debit card. I have not received the money. They dont give me updates on issue.
I have been a customer with them for a few years I think I spent over 40k at their business. Late aug I cancelled the account (I no longer needed it). A few days later I got an email that said that my account credit had been refunded to my registered credit card ($169.77). I checked but I had not gotten anything. I waited about a week. Still no refund. I contacted them they said they would find our and get back to me. After not hearing back i contacted them again. Same answer. On the third call somebody told me the problem is they had credited an old debit card I had instead of the current registered one (the email saying I had been credited mentioned the new account number, the correct one). My old debit card had been changed in around Aug 5 because I had been stolen. The card AND bank account linked to it were both closed so its impossible the bank had received the refund at the old account. I contacted the bank anyway and they confirmed the system would have rejected the refund transaction.
In the mean time and ******* I called over and over again. I spoke with ******** with ****** with ******, with mark, etc. On each call I got either of 2 answers "I will send an email to my manager and have it escalated to the finance department" or "the system is down at the moment so I cant help you". On subsequent calls the cust serv rep told me there was "no record of an email to a supervisor or escalation to finance" Late sept (after at least a month since I closed my account) I reached a supervisor named *********. She was very helpful. She admitted that the records showed I had changed the active card several weeks before I closed the account and that the wrong card had been used in the refund process. She promised to get back to me. She contacted me over email and told me they were looking into it. This was 14 days ago. Since then I have emailed her 3 times and she has not replied.
They have already admitted they messed up, I dont understand why they dont simply give me my credit back. Its been about 40 days since I closed the account.

Desired Settlement
I want my $169.77 back. Thats all.

Business Response
We spoke to customer and we are issuing a credit for $167.77 to customer via check.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received the check yet. Please leave complaint open until I have actually received it. I will update it as soon as I get it. thanks.

Final Consumer Response

11/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Denial of packages that were send for refund
We hava several postage labels that we have printed in mistake, or were not able to print, because our printer didn't work. We have submitted these postage labels for refund. The refund was rejected because there were packages shipped under those trackings. But if you look at the tracking numbers the packages were not shipped from our facility in Pennsylvania, but were shipped from different states. I do not know, if the tracking number was issued twice, or Endicia has a loophole for criminals to get to postage labels that were submitted for refund but we lost over 700$ so far because of this. Endicia has promised a week ago to issue us a check for first four packages involved. But they said that they do it as a gesture, one time courtesy and will not do it again, thus they act like this is some fault of ours. Now when this happened again I do not know where to go and who to appeal. I firmly believe that ENDICIA and USPS is responsible for this and not us a small business. Here are the tracking numbers which we issued from our facility in Warminster, PA:
Shipped in February, March
ECXXXXXXXXXUS
ECXXXXXXXXXUS
ECXXXXXXXXXUS
ECXXXXXXXXXUS
I am still waiting for promised check for $428.15

shipped in May
ECXXXXXXXXXUS
ECXXXXXXXXXUS

I am expecting a refund for $255.40

Desired Settlement
a full refund for not shipped packages as per our agreement with ENDICIA and USPS.

Business Response
We have issued a check for $428.15 as a courtesy to customer. We are currently working on a resolution on this case with *****. We are in contact with customer daily and have involved our Engineering and Fraud Dept.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Endicia doesn't know what is going on and claims that there is a fraud in our company. Although we are a small company only two employees. And both of my employees are not that smart to commit fraud on such level. Endicia could work with USPS and do the research correct way, instead of just telling me that they don't see any problems on their part. I have change computers, antivirus, passwords ***** help of Endicia security guy) etc. My main fear that this will be continue to happening.

Final Business Response
this case was resolved in August/September. We have issued customer check for her losses and also assisted with changing her passwords ** a more stronger passwords *** security reasons to avoid additional fraud

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Endicia customer service failed to help with my printing problem, and left me on hold over 30 mins.
The software on the Dymo printer has failed. I print a stamp and 5 blank labels come out. After being on the phone for 2 and a half hours trying to get the problem fixed, I was told that I needed to call another phone number. When I tried to call the other phone number, it kept hanging up on me. I still can't print a postage stamp.

Desired Settlement
I need someone from the Company to call me, I have left a number of messages, and get the soft ware back up and running.

Final Consumer Response
The company solved the problem. They send a new machine with labels.

Page 1 of 3
03/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Due to an acknowledged software glitch on 09/08/2014 I was overcharged for shipping on 78 packages. Endicia refuses to refund for the overcharge.
Endicia released a mandatory software upgrade in September of 2014. The software upgrade included a programming glitch that caused my business to be overcharged for postage on 78 packages.

I phoned endicia and they freely acknowledged responsibility for the glitch that caused the shipping overcharge. They acknowledged that other customers were also affected. They fixed my account over the phone so that, going forward, their software would charge the correct rate for shipping.

But, they refused to refund the shipping overcharges that had already been incurred to my business, despite admitting fault for the overcharges.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the overcharged shipping for the 78 shipping labels I printed using Endicia's software on 09/08/2014.

Business Response
Called customer and left a message. USPS will refund a full overcharged postage amount to customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was promised a refund of the overcharge, but I have not received a refund for the overcharge. A representative called me on the phone and promised to research this and call me back. But, I have not heard back and I did not receive a refund.

I would still like a refund for the amount of the overcharge.

Final Business Response
Left two VM's for customer. Will try again later.

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised refund not received
On 10/14/14, I requested to close account # XXXXXX. I received email confirmation stating I would receive a refund of my balance, $23.45. No refund or check has been issued. I called on 11/6/14, and spoke with Joanne Liu, who stated, "Your closing balance is on the way to you." She said I should have received the refund and that they would investigate the "reissue" the refund again. I called back on 11/13/14 to inquire as to why I had not received the refund. I spoke with ******, she told me, "We do need to wait some more." It has now been a month after I spoke with ****** and still no refund has been issued for my closing balance. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the representatives how this is being handled. Refunds from across the world do not take this long. How do we go from "Your closing balance is on the way to you." to "We do need to wait some more."

Desired Settlement
Refund my unused balance or it can be transferred to my Windows account and I will simply print the postage.

Business Response
We had a wrong address on customers account and have placed a stop payment on a check issued earlier. We have now re-issued a new check to customers new address.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Every time I contacted your company, the customer service representatives confirmed my address on file as being correct. Nothing has changed with my address unless it was a typo on your end when sending it. I would like tracking info for the check being sent.

Final Business Response
alled customer, not able to leave a VM as customer does not accept calls at this time. Emailed customer to contact me - per our accounting records, check was issued 1/8 and was cashed 1/20. tracking XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Net stamps pricing vs. Commercial Rate
Using Endicia's software we came across a button within the software that took us to a new screen we had never explored.

Generally, we only use Net Stamps (a sheet of sticky labels) that we affix to packages for shipping with the USPS. When we entered our information into this "NEW" screen we were offered a $0.49 discount on our shipping charges.

We are considered a commercial based shipper and should have received this discount whether shipping VIA net stamps or this other window within their software.

When we spoke to Endicia, we were informed that the USPS does not recognize Net Stamps at the commercial rate. After some fact finding, their direct competitor Stamps.com and the USPS post office ALLOW for net stamps to be used with the commercial rate.

We have spent roughly $34K in postage with Endicia over the last 7 years and countless more dollars on purchasing their recommended Net Stamps and paying for their subscription service at the tune of $15.99 per month.

You can see screen shots of the difference below:
http://www.box5.com/endicia/endicia_scs1.jpeg
http://www.box5.com/endicia/endicia_scs2.jpeg

When I asked Endicia why this was different, I was given the following response: "You're in a different program" As you can see in the above screen shots they are the exact same program.

I contend that Endicia has been purposefully and willfully deceiving its customers with this pricing structure to unfairly overcharge its customers to pad profits.

We believe through our research that this a widespread problem and needs attention immediately. We are asking for your help in rectifying the matter and bringing closure to our relationship with Endicia.

Desired Settlement
We are looking to settle this claim for $7000 to $10000 in overcharging from Endicia. We are willing to accept this payment in the form of credit within our account.

We also look to have Endicia issue a public apology to small businesses across the country who have been overcharged by Endicia's practices.

Business Response
contacted customer, sending him a roll of labels for the inconvenience. Also followed up with an email.

11/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my son wanted to do business with this company and they asked for a credit card to have it on fileso i gave him my cred card for file only..then the company went and charges me 181 for something else that i have no knowledge at all off.when i called them they agreed that those charges should have not been made, they said 'send them that page on my bank statement and they would send the money back to me..i did that then they said they were going to keep thaat money..i dont know them and i have used that card many times for having a card on file and usually they charge a dollar..and the bill is paid once a month my bank withdrawal ..they charged 5 charges with out my autherization.. they told my son they would just keep it on file
Product_Or_Service: none

Desired Settlement
i want the 181 dollars put back in my accountrichard ***** im a retired police officer living on 800 dollars a month ss

Business Response
This case was resolved in May with the son of the complainant to everyone's satisfaction. The son authorized Endicia to use the card for postage and service fees. Our Fraud Manager worked with this customer.

11/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cannot print stamps using the Dymo Label Writer 400 with funds that I have in my DYMO stamp account I have had with them Endicia since December 2006.
I have had a DYMO Label Writer 400 stamp and label printing machine, mail scale and account with Endicia since December 2006. Today, I went to print stamps using the equipment I have had for over 8 years, including blank labels, which I do believe were purchased from Endicia and was told that I could not print stamps without an activation code even though I have an account balance with them.

I did the online chat tonight to try to get this resolved and the support person informed me that since the labels, in her opinion were not Encidia produced labels, there is nothing she could do.

I purchased the labels, as far as I can remember back in 2006 when I bought the machine. I am pretty sure that I bought them at the same time and would not have bought them from an "unauthorized" supplier. I originally thought I would use the machine much more than I do, but I hardly every print stamps, maybe 5 a month or so which is why they have lasted so long.

The labels that I have do not have any codes on them and are blank, which is how they were when I bought them.

I don't think that it is fair for DYMO to at some point start printing labels with authorization codes upon them after I have purchased the machine and the scale and then change the rules to only allow printing with labels with a code on them. From everything that I know, the labels that I have came from DYMO or at least a retailer that had them with the machine to purchase.

This action of selling a customer equipment and then changing the rules does not seem fair or at the very lease a good way to do business. I can understand wanting to force people to buy your labels, but you should have taken care of customers who already had labels before the "Change in service".

Desired Settlement
I want to be able to use the remaining labels that I have or have the labels replaced.

Business Response
contacted customer, sending him a roll of labels for the inconvenience, also followed up with an email.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services, Mailing Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/16/2004Business started: 01/01/1982
Contact Information
Principal: Nadim Shehayed (Sr. Manager of Sr. Services) Brenda Feltham (Manager of Customer Service) Amine Khechfe (General Manager) Jon Minard (Manager of Sales) Harry Whitehouse (Chief Development Officer)
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Internet Services, Mailing Services

Products & Services

This company's business is Internet - Products & Services and Mailing Services.

Alternate Business Names
Picture IT Postage, PSI Systems Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Endicia Internet Postage

385 Sherman Ave

Palo Alto, CA 94306-1864

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 385 Sherman Ave 

    Palo Alto, CA 94306-1864

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Endicia Internet Postage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 576-3279
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.