BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2003

Elance, Inc.

Phone: (650) 316-7500Fax: (650) 316-7501

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

92 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 41 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues22
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service58
Total Closed Complaints92

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (92)BBB Closure Definitions
08/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Elance has been SECRETLY withdrawing $5 from my account each month FOR THE PAST 2 1/2 YEARS!
I used Elance to find a freelancer back in 2011 for a job. I had left money into the escrow account, having fully paid the current worker.

I didn't have a need to hire another freelancer until last month, at which point i signed back into my account. I was shocked to discover that $5 had been withdrawn from my account each month since 2011 for a total of $139.53!

NOT ONCE, did Elance send me an email to either let me know that if i were to leave money into my account, there would be a fee, nor informed me when they were charging $5 each month. When i have a job posted, i receive dozens of emails from them each day, to inform me there is a proposal or the progress of the project, which leads me to believe that such devious practice is intentional. They could have easily informed me that they were withdrawing money each month, however they chose not to, I find this behavior highly dishonest.

A very robotic and incompetent employee named **** kept repeating over and over that "it is listed in the terms of services". Even if it's the case, you should send email to clients to inform them of any account activity!

They offered me a measly 6 months ($30) refund, which i deemed unacceptable. They should have informed me right from the beginning that they were maliciously withdrawing payments, and i would've withdrawn the money immediately.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ***** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@elance-odesk.com
We appreciate the opportunity to respond to this claim. We have found that this user was charged the Escrow Fee for several months upon leaving a balance in his Elance account. Based on his notification settings he should have received email notifications informing him of these each charge and all users are made aware of this fee when registering. We have reached out to the user to try to assist in making sure he will receive all notifications going forward and we have refunded all related Escrow Fees totaling $139.53.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Elance refuses to remove a canceled job from my job history, despite the fact that I did not initiate any action to create the job or cancel it.
Elance facilitates contractor and client discovery. I have used its services successfully and it has functioned well. However, Elance is violating my statutory rights as a contractor by entering into contracts on my behalf without my consent. This has been an issue for a long time.

Secondarily, Elance disadvantages my account as compared to other accounts by refusing to remove a "canceled" job from my job history despite the fact that I neither initiated nor cancel the job. A canceled job is viewed negatively by other freelancers and potential clients, and negatively impacts my success in obtaining a contract and job with a client.

Elance has a system that allows clients to re-hire contractors they have worked with in the past by clicking a specific button. When they click that button, contractors are automatically "awarded" the job, without their consent or authorization.

I asked a client to invite me to a job some months ago to test Elance's contractor/client messaging feature (which I suspected was not working). The client, by accident, re-hired me instead of inviting me to a job. I asked him to cancel the job. He did so. The canceled job appeared on my public profile.

To initiate and cancel a job requires action on behalf of both the contractor and client, as stated in ***************************************************************************Elance is ignoring their own cancellation policy.

Elance, through their representatives, has repeatedly told me that they are unwilling or unable to resolve this problem:

"Thank you for contacting Elance. As previously mentioned, per our Terms of Service we cannot delete jobs on your Job History."

Initial Business Response
Elance appreciates the opportunity to follow up on *** **********'s complaint and have done so in ticket XXXXXXX. As a platform Elance is not in a position to make judgments on the validity of cancellation requests current job statuses and whether or not they should be displayed in members profiles, we must abide by the status as listed on the platform itself.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I saw Elance's response. With my experience as a programmer and web developer, their response does not make any sense. Is Elance unable to discern how the job posting and cancellation were generated?

Giving Elance the benefit of the doubt that their internal tracking is non-existent, this is the result of their automatic re-hire process (which violates basic contract law), why have they not indicated any steps to correct/remove this functionality? From Elance's response, it seems unlikely that they have understood my request and my complaint.

The following is what I said to Elance via their ticket system after they replied to me in a similar manner as their official BBB response.

==============

It seems you really don't understand the issue.

"Elance cannot make judgment calls as to whether job status should or should not be displayed and we must apply the same guidelines to all."

You do not have the authority to enter into contracts on my behalf. This is basic contract law. Your system tries to do this via your automatic hire button. Fix it.

Then, *remove that canceled job posting*! Surely, you can recognize when a job posting has been initiated and then canceled by a client. Do you understand the ridiculousness of what you are saying? What if I, as a client, flooded a previous contractor's jobs section with pages of canceled work? What would you do? Would you tell the contractor that you can't make judgement calls, their jobs page completely ruined, in defiance of basic contract law and your own policy?

Back to YOUR OWN POLICY:

*******************************************************************************
"To cancel a Job or request a refund, you must first submit the Job Cancellation Form or the Refund Request Form available in the Workroom. The other party to your Job will then have five days (the "Approval Period") to either approve your request or submit the Dispute Notice Form available in the Workroom.
You must then follow the applicable process described below."

The client submitted the automatic hire, then canceled it. I will again say.. there was no initiation on my part, nor cancellation on my part. Surely you must understand that the jobs listing is for interactions between clients and contractors, not clients only or contractors only.

Final Business Response
Elance has requested an opportunity to discuss the case with ************* in ticket XXXXXXX and will happily work with him to understand the issue and his position as well as explain ours.

07/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: On 6/27/14, I was advised that a problem with my account would be remedied no later than 7/1/14. No resolution has occurred.
I am a freelance contractor, and an Elance "glitch/bug" has removed my ratings from open jobs (RFPs). The problem began on 6/27/14, and I have contacted Customer Service every day since then. All I get are apologies and "we're working on it." In the meantime, I am losing out on job opportunities because my Elance profile, when accessed by potential clients through their job listings, shows up with zero reviews and no stars. I have a 4.9 (out of a possible 5) star rating, and nearly 70 jobs successfully completed. This "glitch" is not impacting all contractors; therefore, I am unable to compete effectively in the bidding process. I pay a monthly fee to utilize Elance's services, so each time I submit a proposal that goes unread or disregarded, I lose money. Here is their initial response and my final response today.

"****
Elance Help Center
* Hello *****,
Thank you for contacting Elance.
Due to recent issues affecting the site, there was a delay in updating My Stats. We do however, expect them to be updated by Tuesday at the latest.
We apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you. Please do not hesitate to contact us back if there's anything else that we can be of assistance.
Regards,
****
Elance Customer Support
http://help.elance.com
June 27, XXXX XX:XX AM

Finesse_Writing
* Dear ****, ********* and *******
My "understanding" of the situation is now non-existent. My patience is gone.
I have appreciated your kind communications, but 10 days into this situation makes me believe that no one really cares. I am a high level provider with a quality reputation, and I am left with the last action I can take. At 5:00 p.m. PST today (7/7/14), I will file a formal complaint with the BBB. This is my court of last resort, and I expect Elance to remain professional in regards to my treatment. I have alerted my lawyer of the situation just in case Elance decides to retaliate against me for taking the only option I can to remedy the situation. A system that treats its contractors disproportionately is unacceptable.
Hopelessly disillusioned,
*****
July 07, XXXX XX:XX AM

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ***** Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@elance-odesk.com
Thank you for allowing us to respond on this issue. The issue mentioned here by the user is a known issue that our Engineering Team has been working diligently to resolve for past several weeks. It was an issue that was affecting a very small number of users. We have found that this issue has now been resolved and all of the user's profiles whom were involved have been updated. We've communicated this information to the user and hope that there will be no further issues.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired a company to make over my website because it is old and outdated since early December. they have been giving me the run around and trying to give me a web design that is far less sophisticated than what I was paying for. When I began to dispute that and ask them to deliver the advanced modern design that they promised things turned ugly. Eventually I warned them that that I would file a dispute with the credit card company and Paypal which were my 2 methods of payments. i will copy and past the conversation below. It is a lot of information and some of the words were misspelled as some of the conversations were through the phone on skype and mistakes with spelling occurs often. I hope you will be able to figure it out. The bottom line is that paypal refuse to refund my $500 usd because they don't give refunds for website designs not because they don't believe my claim ( just wanted to point this out to you). However my credit card company has today taken the balance of the money from this company's account and they are now threatening to write false information all over the internet about my company and destroy my company's reputation. I just spoke to my credit card company and they told me to contact a Lawyer and they advised me not to cancel the dispute. please let me know if there is anything you can do to help me. They are located in the USA here are the other business names and websites that they operate **************************, T +X XXX XXX XXXXT +X XXX XXX XXXXEmail: ****@logopunching.com *************************** ***** **** ***** *********** ** XXXXX ***************************** **** *************** ** - XXXXX USAGlobal Headquarters441 Logue avenueMountain viewcalifornia XXXXXXXX-XXX-XXXXanother email address for the *********************@gmail.comI am very worried that they will follow through wit the threat to write bad SEO all over the internet about my company she said that she would write that my company is a Scam. I can copy all her msg to you
Product_Or_Service: website design

Initial Business Response
Elance appreciates the opportunity to respond to this request; we had responded to this inquiry on Thursday 05/01/14, previously:

We've reviewed the Elance account associated with the email address listed and there are no disputes that were filed nor are there any active jobs noted, if there is a different Elance account we need to be reviewing to resolve the issue, please respond back with that account and we will follow up accordingly.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Elance have suspended my account due to a perceived policy violation: a second account was opened for me by a client I am working with.
My client opened an account for me in order for me to help him with a hiring process. I did not request this and did not know it was against Elance policy. My account has been suspended for this reason. I am unable to withdraw the $240 of my fees Elance is holding, and cannot bid on new jobs. Their customer service department insist that I must finish all of my open jobs before reinstatement of my account will be considered.

I consider this unfair, and the refusal to give me access to my earned money is a major financial problem for myself and my family. With no guarantee that the funds will eventually be released to me, Elance has effectively asked me to work for several months without pay, and without certainly of payment once the jobs are complete.

I have asked my client to contact Elance but am not confident they will change their minds.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 15
06/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I have four unauthorized charges a total of $US1,065.00 on my Royal Bank Visa and I was promised a refund-Feb3/14but never received from Elance Inc.
I called Elance Inc on Feb 3/14 and spoke to *** about unauthorized charges of US$110,US$405,US$250
and US$300 on my RBC Visa Statement on Sept 9,9,19 &28th of 2013 and told her I did not authorized these charges as someone misused my card and I never did any business with Elance Inc, before she said I will be refunded within 24-48hrs but the credit will take 3-5 business days to show on my visa statement. I checked back with Elance Inc on Feb 10th to ensure my refunds were coming as scheduled and was told that I may not be refunded for the above amounts, I called back again on Feb 11th and asked for *** but was told yesterday and today that she was out of the office and I got an email on Feb 11th from ****-Elance Billing Dept that said they have taken steps to close the account and flag for fraud with the company but I must take up this matter up with Royal Bank which I did but Royal Bank says more than 45 days have passed and the merchant Elance Inc. should be aware of this and they (RBC) would be stuck with the charges and they know this. On Feb 12th I contacted Elance Inc to let them know that Royal Bank cannot help me recover these refund but Elance Inc said they cannot help me out any further. I should not have to absorb these charges as I did no business with this company and it is not right that I should have to pay for these amount which total US$1,065 in total for someone else's charges. There is evidence at their end that these charges are not mines for example the e email address used is totally different from mines. I Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Initial Business Response
Elance appreciates the opportunity to follow up with this user regarding the complaint in question Elance corresponded with the user in ticket XXXXXXX and advised them to work with their bank regarding the activity they are reporting; and have taken all appropriate security measures to block future transactions. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello BBB:
I have reviewed Elance Inc. response and I disagree as I mentioned in my original complaint letter to Elance Inc, Royal Bank can no longer pursue these charges as per Visa International as 45 days have passed. Royal Bank says that Elance should be reimbursing me for these charges as I did not use their services, I also mentioned in my letter that I have never ever done any business with Elance Inc. and I should not have to pay for someone's charges, also their is evidence in their file that I did not use their services. Please look into this matter for me as I am only seeking refunds for the four amounts charged to my visa card which are US$110.00, US$405.00, US$250.00 & US$300.00 totaling US$1,065.
Please let me know if their is anything more I have to do.

Thank you for your time and attention in this matter.
**

Final Business Response
Elance would suggest the user work with their bank to - instead of seeking a refund - use their fraudulent charge process. At that point the bank can assist with the recovery once we receive the information from his bank that the charges were fraudulent. We realize this is a complicated process, but it is one that the customer must go through at this point.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have just spoken to Rbc Fraud security Mar 31, 2014 and was advised that the charges are over 45 days and as RBC policy, they can no longer pursue these charges.
Elance should be refunding me as I did no business with them and as I said their is evidence at their end that these are not my charges. I am very unhappy and disatified with their response and it is obvious that they do not want to refund me.
The other merchants have refunded me but Elance does not want to refund me.
**

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I have sent them lots of mails. But I guess they only reply to the one who are getting them paid. Not to the freelancer which have nothing to pay them. So, I guess they are just snatching money and then making their ears closed right after that.

I am so sucked up with their services. I won't recommend anyone to choose them who need to do clean business on Internet. Elance just make it tough for you to post something or getting you paid.

Sad Bidding at Elance !!
Never ever go with Elance, they work for the one who get them paid. For the rest they are all inactive. Simply block the account useless to them.

Initial Business Response
Elance appreciates the opportunity to clarify our position on Mr. ********'s account. Elance has previously advised him directly that there is a specific concern over Terms of Service and the number of ******** that Mr. ******** appears to have. Until these concerns are adequately and appropriately addressed, we will not be able to review the account for reinstatement. Elance has provided specifics for Mr. ******** to respond to on multiple occasions. We must apply the same rules and Terms of Service to all.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hi,

I am not completely satisfied with the response as they are not giving me a solution that have just made me culprit by marking me with multiple ********.

I would like to ask them they had many chances and they have really great resources to already predict the same but they never pointed out the issues while I made other ********. They never made the issue when I worked as an Employer at their website by becoming a source of business to them. But when it comes to withdrawing the money they summed up all the loopholes and simply triggered them all upon me when I had to just get the returns on my services.

I have lost almost 4 clients just because of these issues and I am unpaid till now but they are simply playing with every freelancer's account mainly. I am still unpaid by those clients after my services to them just because Elance made the issues just after everything had happened and Elance had to transfer money. They don;t have issues when they are getting it just make issues when they have to release it.

I need the refund and loss of money from my client's of around $800. In addition I want to look it seriously to make their system more stronger if they feel that anyone on Elance has multiple ******** then they must simply send him a warning the same time but they simply block everything in middle they don't make the things in favor of both the parties.

Elance has simply made many people like me fed up with their services. It has proved to be a gambling place for me. I have left it for always, won't recommend anyone forever.

I expect them to take my terms serious of refunding my money along with the loss of clients to me. It has been proved to be really a big loss of my business to me by Elance.

Hope to let them fix this up sooner.

Final Business Response
As previously stated, Elance has previously advised Mr. ********* directly that there is a specific concern over Terms of Service and the number of ******** that Mr. ******** appears to have. Until these concerns are adequately and appropriately addressed, we will not be able to review the account for reinstatement. Elance has provided specifics for Mr. ******** to respond to on multiple occasions. We must apply the same rules and Terms of Service to all. We will not make an exception to this policy and no refunds will be offered.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Account termination by a number of awarded projects.
Received a notice of account termination without any advance warning. (First point) - The reason was something that normally wouldn't be included in business practice . Elance eliminates the customers who don't have enough number of assigned projects. When I asked the specific number, I received the reply without the specific answer that the decision wouldn't be changed and my email would't be replied. When I called elance (Customer service), I found out that this decision was made by the management. I asked the same question and requested the specific term of condition in the customer agreement. The customer service told me that they wouldn send the term link to me. I never received it. I called the customer service again. I found out that the specific number of assigned projects out of the specific number of job applications are elance's internal information. (Second point) - And this requirement isn't even in the agreement. The customer can't prevent being terminated from the service site. After all, I still couldn't get the information. (Third point) - Again, it isn't a normal way of business operation that this type of information has to be the company's internal information. (Fourth point) - The minimum accepted rate in elance is unreasonable $3 per hour in job posts. The customers who accept the rate can be awarded the project.

Initial Business Response
Elance appreciates the opportunity to respond to this complaint; although we had done so previously we are not sure why the response wasn't received. Elance has certain metrics and standards that are required for all members and in this case, the number of successful job outcomes being generated for this account was below our threshold. We realize that there many be many reasons for this, but ultimately we have the discretion to determine who is and is not a good fit for the platform long-term. We wish the member the very best of luck in the future, but we will not be reinstating their Elance account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Such a standard to follow isn't elaborated anywhere.

Final Business Response
In order to ensure the integrity of the marketplace, Elance has certain metrics and standards that are required for all members and in this case, the number of successful job outcomes being generated for this account was below our threshold. Elance does not publish our performance standards, but we are concerned when freelancers submit a large volume of proposals and a very small of proposals result in awarded projects on the platform. We wish the member the very best of luck in the future, but we will not be reinstating their Elance account.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: This company is running an online scam. They did not resolve the discrepancy at any time. We lost over $10,500.00 that they need to refund immediately
I have been an active member for almost 8 years. Meaning my account was created 8 years ago. I received a job offer through Elance for $5000 project. The customer was extremely abusive and gone to the extent of calling me names in indecent and filthy language. They have all that on record as the customer was using their message board. I have submitted all the details of the work done by us but nobody reviewed anything. I had to escalate the matter to Elance CEO but they did not do anything. I was compelled to return over $2500 that we received as advance. We paid on average $60 to buy "connects" from Elance.
They have discriminated against a minority owned local San Jose Company that has been a member of BBB Silicon Valley with "A+" ratings for eight years.
In the name of crowdsourcing platform they are running scam to sell "connects" to providers. Their revenue from selling connects is way higher than revue they earn from the commission of awarding real projects. This company is running an online scam. I also find it odd that I was not given an opportunity to resolve the discrepancy at any time.

To cancel an active member's account with no warning or explanation is a bad practice, but to not afford the member an opportunity to resolve or explain the issue is simply plain bad business.
Their customer service people are extremely arrogant and being a small minority owned company we lost lot of money.
We lost over $10,500.00 that they need to refund immediately.

Initial Business Response
Elance appreciates the opportunity to follow up on Mr. ******'s complaint:

Elance will not be complying with the requests that have been made in his complaint. Mt ******'s account was reviewed and his association with Elance was terminated. The reasons for his termination have been sent to him directly.

Regardless of whether he agrees with our reasons, Elance has the right and ability to determine on their own at their own discretion who will and will not be a member.

He has spoken with members of our management staff on multiple occasions and given his account history and the difficulties over the last year, our decision was made accordingly and a refund for his most recent membership fees was processed on October 09, 2013.

As of today - October 17 - those funds are still available to him in his Elance account for withdrawal.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is typical response to camouflage
their scam.

I demand the following and based on their reply Federal Trade commission will be contacted.
They need to provide detailed reports verified by a CPA about their revenue from selling connects is way higher than revue they earn from the commission of awarding real projects. I have purchased such connects and as a buyer I have every right to demand such reports.

They are running a scam in the name of outsourcing. Millions of innocent freelancers like me are victims of their scam.

They need to provide proper explanation about their "Connect" selling business.




Final Business Response
Elance appreciates the additional follow-up on this issue, as previously stated, Elance will not be complying with the requests being made.

The reasons for Mr. ******'s termination were provided to him directly and our decision on his account will stand.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Company held my money and gave it to a Freelancer who scammed me, Company would not provide money back and took no action toward their member
I hired a Freelancer on their website, My money was taken and held! I used their service ( ELANCE) The freelancer who was a member of ELANCE did no work for me and when I asked for a 250 dollar refund I was denied... Elance could not get in touch with the Contractor so they susspened their account... Elance claims that that are ONLY an Escrow Service - But their website is a site that provides freelancers and companies a way to connect - all billing is done via their website and Elance should have a way to make sure they do not allow scammers on their website... I've spent hours and hours dealing with Elance and they just tow their company line *( do the refund process on their website) WHich i did... The Other member ( Scammer) had 5 days to write back but they didn't ELANE then banned the user ( THIS ACT OF BANNING THE USER) implies that they have taken steps and understand that the user USING ELANCE web service commented an act of fraud - It is there role as the Service provide ( Elance is this) to provide a refund....

I've never dealt with a shady company like this before... I posted a comment on their Facebook page hoping they would reply BUT they instead blocked my comments... Elance IS NOT an escorw company! people have to sign up to become members in order to bid, just like EBAY... excpet ELANCE feels they are above any responsbilty for the members

this is a sum of 250.00 dollars.... I was scammed from a ELANCE member! I was told by this member I had to pay half up front and half during the contract... I did this, but ELANCE puts NOTHING in place to protech it's users like myself... in fact if i want to try and get my money back I would have to pay 133 dollars? and that is split between me and the other party, and the other party does not reply..... Awful busnies....

Initial Business Response
Elance has "release conditions" outlined in our Terms of Service. Mr. ****** funded escrow on August 2 and released those funds the same day. When releasing funds a dialog box appears that specifically informs the customer that they are authorizing Elance to release the funds because the work has been reviewed, is satisfactory, and meets customer requirements.

Once funds are released, Elance has very little control. We are the bidding platform, we cannot arbitrarily determine that a refund is owed or compel a member to honor a refund request; in the same way we cannot force a member to fund escrow or make a payment.

When work is submitted clients have 14 days to review the work before they are requested to release funds. In this case, Mr. ****** released those funds the same day the request was made.

We appreciate that Mr. ****** feels that no work was done, but we have insufficient documentation in the workroom to demonstrate that or even investigate the freelancer regarding this job.

Mr. ****** indicates that a refund is owed because the member is on our site; as stated in our Terms and Conditions, we are not a party to jobs nor do freelancers work for us -- we are merely providing a means so that work can be accomplished. We make no guarantees that work can or will be done.

In this case, the dispute that Mr. ****** filed should have happened while the funds were still in escrow; it did not - the job was funded and released on the same day.

As stated earlier we cannot obligate the freelancer to offer a refund, but Mr. ****** can provide more detail to us regarding the job and the service delivery concerns by contacting our customer service team and they can forward to the Elance Performance Department.

We are happy to investigate and review the freelancer to ensure service delivery is appropriate and that others don't have similar experiences, but we do not have enough data to do so at this point.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm at a loss here -

1) Your member did not do any work
2) When I asked for help from your company the member did not reply to a dispute
3) You suspended their account and their account is still suspended
4) The Freelancer is no longer on your site and no longer replying to anything
You as a company need to take SOME responsibility when YOUR members do this... I don't understand why you wont refund me the money or part of the money and THEN go after YOUR freelancer...
This is someone USING YOUR WEBSITE TO STEAL FROM PEOPLE.... and you don't do anything about it other than closing their account when they can open a new one... you have nothing in place to prevent this...
My company is out 250 dollars, we are also out 1 month of a PR campaign plus all the time dealing with your company... this is costing me SO MUCH TIME AND MONEY.... My website is a site that is an Anti Bully Site and I feel ELANCE is bullying people like myself when you don't offer a way to find a solution to this...
This is your member...who used YOUR service to steal from me... Sometimes you just have to do the right thing.....
1) I completed the dispute process
2) The member didn't reply and doesn't care and is using another company/ service
3) I posted online on Facebook about my issue and I was BLOCKED...
This is no way to treat someone that has spent about 6,000 dollars on your site.... As a company you should stand behind your service - Refund me the Money and GO AFTER THE MEMBER


Final Business Response
As stated earlier:

We cannot obligate the freelancer to offer a refund, but Mr. ****** can provide more detail to us regarding the job and the service delivery concerns by contacting our customer service team and they can forward to the Elance Performance Department.

We are happy to investigate and review the freelancer to ensure service delivery is appropriate and that others don't have similar experiences, but we cannot and will not be accepting responsibility for his decision to authorize Elance to release funds and then not file a dispute within the appropriate time-frame if there were concerns.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services,

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.