BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tophatter, Inc.

Phone: (888) 502-5501Fax: (888) 502-5139

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

75 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 33 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues11
Billing / Collection Issues9
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service50
Total Closed Complaints75

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (75)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Account suspended.
On April 25th 2013, I was In the daily auction on ************* I was selling there. A few customers were in the chat room saying tophatter was fake, and a rigged auction site. I Replied with " tophatter is not rigged" "we are all real people" "please respect sellers" I was then muted from talking. Aprox 2 min after being muted, I went to the community form, where I proceeded to ask staff why I was muted, I said I felt this was un warranted, and that I felt people in charge were " trigger" happy about muting. About 3 min after my post was made, it was taken down from the form, and my account was suspended. I have been in contact with *****@************* ****@************* and Also ****@************* I was given the reason for my account being suspended for having multi accounts. They are now ignoring my emails 100%. At one point when I joined ************* I had 2 accounts. I was un aware until I contacted tophatter staff on ************* via the drop down live help tab, that i was not allowed to sell in the same item cagatory under 2 accounts. I was told That I could sell with 2 accounts under different cagatories, Ex Jewelry in one and clothing on the other. I then left one account alone and asked staff to delete it, as the rules at that point were un clear and changing weekly. I have been using tophatter for 6 months, 5 and a half months straight on my R&S account. I live in a apartment complex, with about 200 apartments, that all share free wifi. I feel That iam being told that I have been suspended due to multi accounts because they can not warrant my suspension for violating chat rules as I did nothing wrong. Staff knew at one point 6 months ago that I did have 2 accounts, when I brought that to them, and they were fine with it untill April 25th 7pm. Tophatter didn't like me saying that their staff was wrong in muting me when this "problem" buyer came along. I also feel as If iam being discriminated against for living in a apartment with a shared internet connection. This company is out of line,This company needs to do what they say, "respect" and follow rules. I want my account re activated, As I was in contact with their staff 6 months ago, and had them cancel a account that i didnt know I could have, when the rules were not outlined correctly. But I dont believe thats why I was suspended. I was suspended for my freedom of speech.

Desired Settlement
I want my account re activated, As I was in contact with their staff 6 months ago, and had them cancel a account that i didnt know I could have, when the rules were not outlined correctly. But I dont believe thats why I was suspended. I was suspended for my freedom of speech.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved by ********* customer service.

12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Im a seller on TH and I feel I am getting the short end of the stick. a buyer purchased a watch and then decided to open a case husband didnt like it!
THIS IS BAD BUSINESS PRACTICE!! I am reporting you guys to the better business bureau. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! This case is a BOGUS case in the first place and also for you guys to block me from listing for a measly $30??
I am a 5 star seller, you guys make a lot of money off of me. I am furious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"Nov 12, 8:43am ************
hi *****
just received the watch today and my hubby does not care for it so i need to return it. thank you anyways."
How is that grounds for a refund? There was nothing wrong with the watch. The buyer opened it as a not as described case. WTH? I did NOT offer a refund or wish to offer one as initially when the case opened. (there is a choice. do you want to offer a refund?) I chose no.
I just got home from working out of town and it shows that the package was delivered on the 6th. YES i received the watch back but WITHOUT the blue gift box and the blue small pillow that the watch sits on!! How is that grounds that I cant apply a restock fee if I dont have all the original packaging to attempt to resell the item??
as tophatter policy states: If an item is returned to you un-opened and in its original packaging and condition, you can't apply a restocking fee. (THIS ITEM WAS NOT RETURNED WITH ALL THE ORIGINAL PACKAGING BACK TO ME!)
THEREFORE I WILL ONLY REFUND MONEY MINUS A 20% RESTOCK FEE.This is unfair!!!!!!!!!
Why are you able to police my policies I have in place on my items?? I charge a 20% restock fee!!
WHAT PROTECTION DO I GET???????????????? WHAT ELSE DO I HAVE TO DO TO RECEIVE THE SAME RIGHTS AS THE BUYER Does??
This letter needs to go to the CEO of the company. I will have a voice in the matter. I will write to whomever it takes to get my voice heard.
MAKE THIS RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Item NUMBER and Case #*******

Desired Settlement
I feel I dont need to refund the buyer the whole amount because when I received the item back the original contents of the package were not included. The blue gift box and the blue pillow that the watch sits on. She just threw it in a bubble mailer.
And Im not allowed to charge my POLICY of a 20% restock fee? How am I going to be able to attempt to resell the product?Why are they allowed to police my policies for the items I AM SELLING?
AND THEY BLOCKED ME FROM SELLING UNTIL I REFUND THE FULL AMOUNT!!!

11/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tophatter doesn't allow it's sellers to see the feedback left by customers yet their feedback prevents sellers from being able to sell.
Buyers can leave neutral or negative feedback for sellers but the sellers aren't allowed to see it. This would be okay except this feedback precludes sellers from being able to get into auctions and sell their merchandise. This is akin to spanking a child and not telling them why but expecting their behavior to change. I can't address an issue or learn from a mistake unless I know what I feel like I'm being "punished." I have been selling on Tophatter for 3 months and until this week had 100% positive feedback and in one day I am blocked from selling due to feedback someone has left but I can't know what it is. How can this be fair to the seller. We're not allowed to practice customer service. Either let us address the problems or don't let it affect our ability to stay in business. There isn't 1 happy seller there.

Desired Settlement
I want them to allow sellers to see their feedback so they can address issues. As far as I know, all the other online auction sites allow sellers and buyers to see their feedback. Currently, they have a pie chart to show areas which need improvement. For example 20% of my pie chart says "product not as good as picture" Which is actually only one buyer's review, but I'm not allowed to know what picture or product they are referring to so I can't identify and improve on my pictures, but it has caused me to be blocked from selling.

Business Response
Hi ******,

Tophatter is a marketplace that connects buyers and sellers. We have a ratings system that buyers use to rate seller performance.

Sellers are rated 1 to 5 stars based on reviews from buyers, and the formula is weighted to prevent abuse. We don't discuss the specific weights publicly, to prevent sellers and buyers from using the score as leverage to abuse one another.

The weighting of feedback includes review and classification by our Trust & Safety team of every non-positive feedback every seller receives. As part of that process, the seller is often provided with general advice concerning a particular item which is receiving higher than average negative reviews.

A pie chart is also provided to sellers for general overview of non-positive feedback reasons. In addition, sellers are presented with their average expectations of Quality, Communication and Shipping- three separate areas buyer feedback is broken into.

This way they can monitor their ratings from month to month and modify inventory as needed based on the reviews received. It is important to note that when buyers rate the Quality, Communication and Shipping, they may leave lower ratings for one or more of those, while leaving overall positive feedback, if they find that one particular issue stands out to them.

We also have thresholds in place which block sellers from continuing to sell items if they have had consistently low star ratings and expectations of quality, communication and/or shipping. The criteria for these can be viewed here: http://tophatter.com/seller status.

We replaced the direct viewing of individual negative and neutral comments from buyers with this process to encourage buyers to leave honest feedback without fear of abuse, which unfortunately, we have seen with the previous method. The new method has virtually eliminated complaints of feedback extortion and fighting and harassment among buyers and sellers.

Right now at this time ******, you have a 3-star reputation score, and you are not blocked from selling on Tophatter.

If you would like further information about your statistics, or if you would like more details on which items you have sold that have received lower than average scores in quality, please contact our costumer support team at the following link: http://help.tophatter.com/customer/portal/emails/new.

If there is anything else I can do to assist you, you can also contact me directly at *****@tophatter.com.

Kind regards,
*****

11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They allow people to sell items that are not described as pictured. Then they do not give you a full refund.
I just signed up a month ago for this website and have purchased 4 items from them. out of which, i have had problems with 2. The first one was not the same color as the picture and she left the sensor on the purse (this couldve been stolen for all i know). I did return it but had to pay 15 dollars out of my pocket. Now i purchased a purse that came today and the picture was of a small size purse and this is LARGE and i mean huge. might as well be a diaper bag. And it stated that it was new with tags but there were no tags on it. The seller offered to give me a refund if i pay for the shipping back which is 15 dollars and then she would not refund me my shipping that i paid for..which was 14. So in the last week..this website has managed to cheat me out of 44 dollars. I am so upset and disappointed. The first auction number was on september 24th (the one where she left the sensor on) and the next is october 1st. I just want my refund for my shipping costs. I will not be using this website again.

Desired Settlement
I just want my shipping costs back. i will never use this website again since i have been taken advantage of twice.

Business Response
Hi ****,

I am very sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with items purchased from sellers on Tophatter.

Tophatter has a Resolution Center, and opening a case is the best option when you are not satisfied with a purchase.

For Significantly Not as Described cases such as this, we require a buyer to ship the item back to the seller at the buyer's expense, and to provide proof of delivery.

This is in-line with the requirements of other major e-commerce business models.

If you are not satisfied with the outcome of a Resolution Center case, we chose PayPal as our payment processor because of their consumer protections. You have to option to take advantage of their coverage and open a dispute with them as well, if you paid with your account.

If you have any additional questions, please let me know and I would be happy to help.

Kind regards,
*****

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied to by a staff member and now they refuse to refund my money
I am a seller on Tophatter and I had a customer wanting to cancel an order that she had made from me and I emailed a staff member named******* and she informed me that if I made a complete refund to the customer she would refund my sellers fees, which were $5.00. I refunded the customer the money and then contacted******* again asking for my sellers fee refund and she processed it but only refunded me $2.30. I emailed her back, asking why I was not given a full refund and then she said that my sellers fees does not me the price I pay to have my item listed. Then I checked the invoice that I pay every time I sell something on Tophatter it says and I quote "Sellers fees:10% of final bid, 10% of shipping cost plus $2.70 to direct list" so even in Tophatter's own words I should have received my full $5.00 back. I emailed******* back and she said she would look into having someone reword this but that doesn't matter. At the time, when I paid my bill that is what it said sellers fees included and that is what I should be refunded. Then my email was transferred to a staff member named ***** and she did not do anything about this matter either, and I emailed her again and this time she just did not respond. I have the email where I was told I would be refunded my seller's fees and I also have the screenshot of my invoice that shows what seller's fees include and I would like my the entire amount I was promised back. I know it isn't that much money but it is more the principal involved...I don't like being lied to

Desired Settlement
I want my entire seller's fee back like I was told I would get...I am owed $2.70

Business Response
Hi *****,

As stated in our FAQ here, scheduling fees aren't refundable as long as Tophatter delivers on the service: http://help.tophatter.com/customer/portal/articles/XXXXXXX-can-i-request-a-refund-on-my-seller-fees-

However, since you received incorrect information from a member of staff, I have added a seller fee credit to your Tophatter account.

Please let me know if I can help you with anything else.

Best,
****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, seller fee credit has been added to my account

Final Business Response
Hi *****,

Credit was added to your account, and you have already redeemed it for this Invoice #XXXXXXX.

Page 1 of 12
09/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Conflict of Interest. Abuse of Sellers. Attempts to intimidate Sellers. Abuse of muting those who speak up, and banning.
For the past year I have been a seller on this site. I notice that sellers who voice complaints are constantly harassed, limited in their ability to list items, suspended and eventually banned. I have experienced all of the above. I have questioned the excessively HIGH fees to list and then the Seller is often given less than 10 to describe their items. I am told it is a glitch, but our fees are not refunded. We were charged fees on the cost of shipping, which I believe to be illegal. I have been asked to provided receipts for items that I list, making me feel that perhaps they felt I had stolen them. I do not keep receipts for items that I sell. I did go to the stores where I do business, copied and pasted my orders in an effort to satisfy them, to no avail. I listed one item that I could not recall where it was purchased, and therefore had no receipt. They promptly BANNED me from selling. Let me point out that the first place I saw this item was ON TH'ER. In the beginning I listed a bracelet that unfortunately had a little charm on it that said "Pandora" and I was suspended for "listing a fake item"! Let me point out that the bracelet was NOT LISTED as a Pandora bracelet, and it clearly was NOT a Pandora bracelet. I was accused of "SHILLING", a word I had never heard before, they claimed that a person bidding on an item was just trying to bid up the price! The person was from Tennessee and another was a neighbor over for a visit, and used my computer to place a bid. Even when her husband tried to place the bid from his office in NJ, where they reside, TH'ER refused it. I lost 2 customers because of this. We had CA'S, which they gradually pushed out, refusing to allow them to advertise on their site. Now they are bringing in their FAMILY to sell in VIP auctions, where sellers must first spend over $200. in their other auctions before they are given the "PRIVILEGE"of bidding on the often over priced items. The abuse of Sellers at TH'ER is rampant, forcing out old sellers who built their business on trumped up charges, bring in NEW sellers, and starting to their scheme all over. They do not respond to specific questions about their activities regarding the number of NON PAYERS, which has surged recently, costing sellers listing fees and time. They did not advise Sellers that their account had been hacked, which I questioned after getting three "YOU HAVE WON" items on which I had NOT placed a bid! If you do NOT pay these invoices, it is marked as a negative against you. They limit their count in PRIORITY LISTING advantage, only to items sold in THEIR PAY TOP LIST auctions. They do not remove neutral or negative feed back from sellers accounts, wherein "Buyers" claim not to have received the item, though USPS clearly indicates item was delivered. They have inflated revenues listed in seller statistics. This is a business that started out in the right direction, it appears to be run by a group, clearly NOT interested in ASSISTING SELLERS, just grabbing as much profit and targeting certain sellers with the audacity to question them. Sellers do their advertising for them, monitor their auctions with their "VOLUNTEER HOST" services, and those who do not volunteer, are clearly not given the same opportunities, length of time to sell their items and I wonder how many other privileges.

TH'er needs to review their practices, stop the targeting, level the playing field, get STAFF with a true interest in helping their sellers, AND STOP THE DAILY revision of their rules. No one ever knows what is going on, on a daily basis.

Desired Settlement
I was BANNED for not having a receipt for one item and unfair claims when I initially started. I would like this ban to be removed. I would like to know that ALL sellers are asked for "RECEIPTS", and that this is not just for targeted people who speak up. Thank you.

***** *********

Business Response
Tophatter allows all users ample space to voice their concerns in a civil and respectful manner. Sellers can speak up in the Seller's lounge, post on the community forums, category-specific Facebook pages and are welcome to email any staff member with feedback or concerns. However, it is the nature of the business that not all sellers will be happy with the business decisions made my Tophatter.

My first priority is to ensure a good experience for all buyers, and to this end we expect our sellers to deliver excellent products and customer service. Sellers who violate any of our listed policies or terms of use are promptly removed from the platform.

In the case of this specific seller, we received reports that the items sold were counterfeit, and therefore we requested receipts to indicate if the item was authentic. This was simple due diligence on our part as a business.

We do not target sellers or buyers for speaking up or voicing their opinions.

If there is anything we can do to assist you, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no resolution offered here. And the explanations are UNTRUE to say the very least.


People wait and have so stated for up to 2 weeks to get a response, if they ever do.

It is well known that Sellers are afraid to say what is on their mind, for fear of being "TARGETED", if anyone LISTENED this is not too hard to hear. As for removal, a seller was removed temporarily for "SHILLING". I wonder how anyone knows truly what is a persons heart and why are you so eager to suspend or remove, sellers, who in effect built your company? I would like to answer that for you, because it is so much easier to MOLD the kids coming in, and know nothing about selling, into falling into line.

I was accused of selling fake items, and receipts demanded, I provided those receipts by copying and pasting from the places I order. I gave my sign in name and pass **** to your co. because, I do not keep receipt, and with the atmosphere of mistrust of your sellers, I though I would cover all bases. I have NOTHING to hide.

The sellers lounge is suppose to be a place for exchange. Everyone knows that in the room, what ever is aid is known by STAFF. So there is no FREE EXCHANGE.

The responses to specific questions, are generally referrals to ever changing rules and regulations.

What I view as conflict of interest is: A) Telling sellers to buy in your VIP auctions, they must first EARN their paddle by buying over $200. worth of items first.
I view as conflict of interest that a company competing against itself, by bringing in FAMILY MEMBERS to compete against sellers. They are given higher exposure and time to expound on their items.

****, I am surprise that if you had read what transpired here that you would still assume that what was done is correct. I have NOT sold items on your site that were not authentic, and the one item that I do no have a receipt for, I first saw on your site. Instead of ALWAYS trying to find negatives with the people who have worked so very hard to build up your company, I believe it would be much more beneficial to help your sellers. Sellers,for the most part, are hard working honest people. They do not deserve to be always walking on egg shells for fear that they are going to be accused of some unfounded issue. That is NO way to treat anyone, and certainly NOT the way to keep good sellers.

As for Pay Pal, many sellers made it quite clear that they would not sign up for that, the reason their was no legitimate reason for it, and so they left rather than battle with you.

Your company has NO RIGHT to defame a seller by sending out messages, which indicate that a seller was BANNED for not meeting your rules. Does not take two brain cells to figure out what that means.


***** was wrong the first time that she did this, and she is EVEN MORE WRONG, this time. She needs to go for a course in Interpersonal Relationships.

Thank you ****, I appreciate your getting involved. God bless.

Warmest wishes,
*****



Final Business Response
Hi *****,

1. Our response times are quite excellent, with a 24 hour turnaround at this time. You can read our official response time window here:

2. We are always happy to respond to specific questions, and all of our policies and guidelines are clearly posted on our help page help.tophatter.com. You can always use the search feature to look for specific areas of the policies.

3. We do not remove users for questioning our motives or practices. Users are, however, removed from further participate for failure to abide by Tophatter rules.

4. The PayPal permissions were rolled back because we realized that our community was not happy with the changes.

5. The seller's lounge is a place for sellers to engage in constructive conversation with each other and with members of staff. We also have he community forum as well as several category specific Facebook groups to allows users (Sellers or buyers) to communicate with each other. Users are of course free to exchange information and ideas freely via private messaging means as well.

6. It is not clear what you perceive to be conflict of interest. Please elaborate and I'm happy to discuss further.

Best,
****

08/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tophatter is collecting a fee to sell, a commission of 14% of winning price. And taking a 14% commission of shipping charges leveed by sellers.
Tophatter
chargers each seller based on their category a "Pay to play" fee 1.50 to 2.75 just to get into an auction. regardless of win or lose. They also charge a commission of between 10 and 20 percent on the final hammer price. Now they have decided in order to regulate sellers shipping costs or inflation they are going to use that same commission rate against our shipping fees. Fees sellers use on stamps.com and the postal service.
If a seller sells an item for 20.00 and charges 5.00 shipping tophatter can take up to 20% of that 25.00
Forcing sellers to raise their shipping prices just to be able to ship a produce via USPS.

Does Tophatter have this right? Are they allowed to commission on shipping? Is there a limitation to how far these insane commission percentages can go?

Desired Settlement
I'm looking for information. Tophatter keeps sellers in the dark and few know their rights.

Business' Initial Response
Hi ***,

Sellers are not required to use the Tophatter shipping tool. Should we wish to use the Tophatter shipping tool, you will be refunded any commission charged to you on shipping.

I hope this clarifies.

Best,
****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Tophatter offered a shipping tool before without a commission attached to a sellers shipping fees. Tophatter's shipping tool is higher than paypal and stamps.com

I feel this is tophatters attempt to nudge sellers towards using their products and services. Shipping should not be something a company takes a commission out of. Whether a seller choices to use their tools or not.

11/06/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have never received the item I won and paid for at auction. I was offered a second shipment and never received that.
I won an auction and paid for it via Paypal. It never came. Tophatter opened an online dialog between me and the seller. She provided the tracking number. USPS claims it was delivered, but I never received it. Seller offered a second shipment which also never arrived. I have been trying to file a claim with USPS but they require a shipping address for the shipper. Neither Tophatter or the seller would provide it for me. I can no longer contact the seller through
Tophatter, and Tophatter will no longer help me because this has taken more than 40 days.

Desired Settlement
I would accept refund, or the item as originally ordered. Seller is **********. The item was 200 mixed size and color pearls. The order number was XXXXXX.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@tophatter.com
Hi *****,

Thank you for reaching out.

The seller provided the following tracking information for your item, and it shows as delivered to your location: https://tools.usps.com/go/TrackConfirmAction?qtc tLabels1=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

We are only able to go by the delivery information provided by the USPS. If you did not receive your item, please contact your local Postal Inspector and ask for a trace of the item so that they can investigate the matter further.

You will need to show the Postal Inspector your ID with your delivery address and the tracking number. Tophatter can't do that on your behalf under the USPS policies because we are not the recipient of the item. You would contact the Postal Inspector, not your local post office, and there is more information on this here: https://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/contactus/filecomplaint.aspx

Kind regards,
*****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This would be fine if I had a way to contact the seller, but due to your confidentiality between seller and buyer I have no way to contact the seller. The link you established has expired. I would be happy to scan and send you a copy of the UPS claim form showing you the information USPS requires in order for me to file a claim. This complaint boils down to only 1 thing. I really believe the problem lies in the USPS but neither you, nor the seller, have allowed me to have the information to file a claim against them. I am asking, again, for your help.

Final Business Response
Hi *****,

As a marketplace that connects buyers and sellers, we are unable to provide user to user personal information that is not collected as part of a transaction. A seller's mailing address is not something that is collected for a buyer as a part of the typical transaction process.

Because of this, you as the buyer would need to contact the seller to request their mailing address, in order to begin the "Mail Not Received" trace: https://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/forms/mlntrcvd.aspx.

As a courtesy, I have added a $5 credit to your account for use toward your next purchase. Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional questions.

Kind regards,
*****



09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Filed a dispute against me on behalf of the buyer against his wishes
Hi i am a seller on www.tophatter.com, i ship my items
internationally
and i explain this in my listing saying the delivery can take up to
30 days
after 7 days tophatter contacted the buyer and asked for feedback on
the
item. the buyer responded that he could not give feedback on an
item he did not get yet
so against his wishes tophatter opened a dispute against me and
decided i owed him a full refund. The buyer has been in contact with
me saying he is so sorry and that he wrote to tophatter twice saying
he did not want the dispute filed and he did not want a refund yet.
tophatter have ignore his request and a trying to force me to refund
a customer that does not want it refunded. i can show communication
proof with the buyer to back this up. this is a case of the website
trying to bully me for some reason.

Desired Settlement
1) i want the dispute dropped and the refund request to go away

2) i want my 4 star rating back that was taken for no good reason

3) i want a public apology posted to the sellers form

Business Response
Hi ****,

We review each negative feedback that is posted to the site, and take pre-emptive action to ensure that no potential issues fall through the cracks.

I'm glad to hear that you were able to resolve the matter with the buyer, and at this time, all disputes in your accounts have been resolved.

I am sorry for any inconvenience our new review system may have caused.

Best,
****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
there are few few reasons
1) they lied when the first told the B.B.B. that they had dropped the dispute. it has been dropped now but only after they were caught in a lie
also as stated by tophatter quote "After your initial contact, we contacted the buyer and once we received confirmation that the item was received, we closed the case on behalf of the buyer." After your initial contact?? ha ha them must be joking they ignored but the buyer and I's emails and when the finally responded to the buyer they refused the buyers request to drop the dispute. so yet another lie from tophatter.

2) the star rating they gave me on the closed account was fake. they dropped it before they were doing the shady practice of hiding feedback and they dropped me from 3 stars to just 1 with no new feedback of any kind. they this this just so they could say i was trying to use the other account just to get around the fake rating they gave me. they can also stop point out have two accounts is against the rules since both accounts were opened a long long time before there was any such rule.

3) i was also promised by ******* ******* that my account on the sellers form would be unblocked as soon as i got back to him with the profile name with i did within a few min of getting his email. that was yet another lie since that was 5 days ago now.

i had 3 stars on both accounts i had raised one account up to 4 stars before tophatter gave me a fake rating that dropped one account down to 1 star. then after they stared hiding feedback from sellers the account i had raised to 4 stars all of a sudden started to get negative feedback bring it down to 3 stars. At worst i should have an average of 4& 3 stars giving me a 3 star rating since there are no half stars. but i have earned that 4 star rating two ways, 1) via hard work and 2) by getting treated so horribly by a company that does not care about its customers and only stared to " care" about my problem because of the B.B.B. complaint when before the complaint i could not even get a response from a low level customer service rep.

so no this is far from a satisfactory answer

Hi once again i must add to my complaint, in my first complaint i explained how tophatter kept screwing my over on my feedback status and they have done it yet again. they are trying to get around the fact that they wanted my account blocked but felt like they had to reinstate it because of the complaint i filed with the B.B.B. so what they have now done is lowered my feedback score so low that i can not list anything. if you read my past messages you will see how the screwed me over from 4 stars down to two stars and now today i log in to find i have 4 new positive feedback's and zero complaints from customers and have dropped to just one star which is the lowest you can go and which stops you for getting anything listed. I have asked them a few times to simply prove it by allowing me to see my feedback. now anyone telling the truth would jump at the chance to prove it is so but not tophatter, they just ignore me requests. At this time i request that the B.B.B. close this as an unresolved case against them because everything they are doing to resolve it is nothing more than window dressing for the B.B.B.

1) i asked my account to be reinstated, they did and then made it so i could not list anything which is basically the same as having it blocked
2) they accused me of fake tracking which was untrue and when they back tracked said it would still cause me future problems
3) they refunded to drop a dispute after the buyer told them to. the flat out refused the buyers request and then claimed that the buyer never contacted them when the buyer forwarded the conversations they had to me
4) they told the B.B.B. the had removed the dispute against me which i proved at the time was a lie with screen shot evidence
5) then they promised to reinstate me account on the seller form with they blocked for me voicing the truth just because they did not like it and that was also a lie at the time because they did not do so for 5 days after when i reported them again to the b.b.b. for lying. they claimed that they could not find my blocked account. well how many voices have they muted that it makes it that hard to find one?

Feedback is called seller feedback for a reason, it belongs to me and taking it is like stealing and the only reason to hide it is so they can manipulate it to fit what they want it to.

Note to tophatter who i have added via cc. Any response other that the following two options will be unacceptable
1) apologize and reinstate my hard earned 4 star rating
or
2) announce that you are changing your feedback policy and will no longer steal it from sellers by allowing them to see all their feedback positive neutral and negative





Final Business Response
Hi ****,

Thank you for your response.

After your initial contact, we contacted the buyer and once we received confirmation that the item was received, we closed the case on behalf of the buyer. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

As for your star rating, since you have two separate accounts (which is against our policy), we merged these accounts into one. Just like all sellers on our platform, you must earn the higher star rating by selling good quality items, shipping quickly and providing excellent customer service.

If you need any assistant, we will be happy to help. You can reach our help desk here: ****@tophatter.com

Best,
****

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company suspended my account for no reason.
I created an account with this business several months ago intending on selling items that I sell in my business. My wife had an account on this site and she was doing well, so I created one too. A few weeks after my account was created my wife had an issue with the company in which her account was suspended. No, I did not agree with the suspension and the reasoning behind it, but I never made a comment nor stated anything to this business or in public. I have not had an opportunity to use my account due to the fact I travel with my occupation and drag race. Now that the racing season is coming to a close I tried to access my account last night to get accustomed to things in order to sell. They suspended my account on the day they took my wives! I WANT TO KNOW WHY??? We are 2 different people and had 2 seperate accounts. I am more than upset over the fact my account was taken and I have not even sold the first item! What did I do?? If this can not be resolved I plan on seeking legal advise about discrimination as they have judged me and my business by the way my wife handled her end. Are they afraid I might spot fake stuff too and be forced to turn them in? That is the reason they got rid of my wife, but that is between her and them. My account is mine and should not have anything to do with those issues. I wish to have my account reinstated or I will take this further.

Desired Settlement
I wish to have my account reinstated due to the fact I have not did anything or had the chance to sell anything. They can not punish me by others actions. it is not fair, nor is it legal.

Business' Initial Response
Hi *****,

Thank you for your reaching out.

We use multiple pieces of information to determine if an account is unique. In your case, the email associated with your account is the same email which was associated with the previously suspended account of "Factory Direct Purses". Businesses are only allowed to have only one unique account on our site.

Please be sure to read our terms of use here http://tophatter.com/terms and our policy on multiple accounts here http://help.tophatter.com/customer/portal/articles/XXXXXX-can-a-household-family-business-have-more-than-one-account-

Best,
****

Consumer's Final Response
They suspended my account and I had nothing to do with the issue between them and my wife. They said it was done because of similar things on the account such as address, email, etc. Well, forgive me for living WITH my wife! That still does not give them the right to judge me by what happened between them and suspend my account. Do they expect me to move out? Get a divorce? They are past absurd! Every time you close a case in their favor (stating they made a reasonable offer and customer refused) it gives them a heads up in their BBB rating. This company had the proper rating in April of an F. Look at the number of complaints they get, check out their rep on the Internet and Facebook, listen to the people who are complaining instead of saying TH did nothing or made a reasonable offer. Stop hiding this companies rating and put the TRUTH out there for all to see.

They did me wrong, I did not accept their decision and it should not be ruled they made a reasonable offer. They made me NO OFFER. They TOLD me my account was gone and to get over it. I have did nothing personally wrong and they should be told they can not cancel a members account unless that member crosses the line. Can you answer for your spouse? Your kids? Your parents? Should you be punished over their actions?? What good is the BBB if you can not do anything???

Business' Final Response
Hi *****,

I am sorry, but per our Terms of Use, we cannot allow one household to have multiple accounts on the platform. This is especially the case if the original or a related account was removed due to improper conduct.

You can read our full terms here: http://tophatter.com/terms.

Best,
****

09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfair pactices
I have been selling on Tophatter for a while now. And feel they are being unfair. They blocked me from selling in main auctions for a negative feedback that they shouldln't of allowed. A lady purchased an item and I sent it out right away to her with tracking. The tracking shows it arrived within days. SHe said she never got the item..and left me negative feedback. I am not allowed to sell in main auctions anymore due to this. I emailed tophatter support and they told me thay no longer change feedback. But they lady got her item and and I have tracking to prove it. Tophatter requires tracking for this reason. I feel it is unfair to punish the seller for this. Tophatter charges anywhere from $1.75-$2.50 to list then charges 10-20% when your item sells...then ontop of that they charge you 10-20% of what you charge for shipping. They happily took the $$ for which item that got me banned from selling in main auctions and won't refund that but won't remove the negative from my account. I also have a feeling that sending you this will ban my account all together. But enough is enough. I pay my invoices on time all the time. Actually they have made some GREAT money off of me...I hear no complaints from them about that. I just want to be treated fair and for them to have their sellers back. If it weren't for us sellers they wouldn't be making money.

Desired Settlement
I want my listing ban removed the negative mark on my account removed....and not to be retaliated upon for going this route. If this happens I will remove this complaint and or give praise for fixing the issue.

Business' Initial Response
Hi *****,

Thank you for reaching out.

In order to ensure that our buyers are exposed the best sellers, only certain (3 starts or higher) are able to sell in our featured Showcase auctions. For sellers with 1 or 2 stars, all other auctions are available on the site.

As for the negative feedback, we no longer remove the negative feedback from an account. This is part of the change which assigns a star value to a seller and no individual feedback is displayed.

I hope this clarifies.

Best,
****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is wrong and you are just blowing smoke here to make yourselves look good. I was able to sell before those feedback and now I can't, You changed it as to say that is not the reason...but why is everything different now. ANd I do believe you are retaliating now by not allowing me to schedule items into the the bigger showcases.

Business' Final Response
Tophatter is a marketplace that connects buyers and sellers. We have a ratings system that buyers use to rate seller performance. We changed this 3 weeks ago. Sellers are rated 1 to 5 stars based on reviews from buyers, and the formula is weighted to prevent abuse. We don't discuss the weights publicly to prevent sellers and buyers from using the score as leverage to abuse one another.

This seller is asking us to remove negative reviews posted by some buyers who said they did not receive the item. The weightings we built 3 weeks ago make it unnecessary to remove negative feedback. We built the weights to eliminate the need to remove negative feedback. In other words, we have a solution in place that addresses the seller's concerns. It's a newer solution that has replaced the solution the seller is asking us to use.

05/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to issue refund for payment made for merchandise not received.
I paid $47 via PayPal for an auction I won in mid-October. The seller of said auction (Diane White), in emails to me, informed me that it would take approximately 2 weeks to get the item from her supplier, and then it would be shipped. She later attached a non-traceable USPS tracking code to my order on tophatter.com. I had absoultely no reason to believe the item had not been shipped. When I finally realized that the item wasn't coming, I attempted to file a dispute with PayPal, but it was too late by that point, and they would not do anything. I contacted tophatter.com today, and was informed that the seller had been banned from the site for similar issues, and was offered a $10 credit.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for the purchase. Someone should be held responsible for tophatter.com's inability to have honest, trustworthy sellers. They are a big company, let them go after the seller for the money.

Business' Initial Response
Payments on the Tophatter platform are exchanged between buyers and sellers directly via PayPal; Tophatter is not part of the transaction. We picked PayPal specifically because it provides buyers with added protection if their item is not received with in 45 days of purchase. It is unfortunate that the buyer did not receive the item, and we immediately remove sellers from the platform who do not ship items in a timely manner. While we are unable to issue a full refund to the buyer (because do not retain any funds), we have issued a credit which should help offset some of the cost of the lost sale. We are not a large company and it is not feasible to issue refunds when Tophatter was not at fault. The buyer may view our terms of use here: tophatter.com/terms

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Don't want your $10. Won't do business with you ever again. You still are doing nothing to ensure that people don't lose money. That woman was allowed to lead me on until I could no longer file a dispute with PayPal. It isn't right, and I won't ever spend money on your site again. I will also tell everyone I know that your business practices are shady at best. I'll stick with eBay. At least they know what they're doing.

Business' Final Response
Tophatter is a live auction platform that connects buyers and sellers. We do not handle any merchandise directly. Transactions are made directly between the buyer and seller. In this manner we are similar to eBay or Craigslist. We do not currently offer coverage for items listed on our site, but we do require buyers and sellers to use PayPal due to the protections PayPal offers.
Vicki Dawson filed a BBB complaint after she purchased an item and did not receive it. She did not file a complaint with PayPal within their required timeframe and was therefore declined. She then asked Tophatter to reimburse her. We cannot currently offer full coverage and were not able issue a full refund in this instance, but we did offer a $10 credit as to offset some of the costs. We explained this in our original response to the complaint.
Trust and Safety is a priority for Tophatter, and we have made a number of Trust and Safety improvements since Vicki filed her original complaint. These include hiring a new Director of Trust and Safety, implementing proactive review processes, automatic blocking of sellers if they have unresolved negative feedback, and a dispute resolution process to make it easier for buyers and sellers to resolve disputes when they do occur. We will continue to make Trust and Safety improvements to protect our buyers and sellers.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Auction Service, Internet Shopping

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.