BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

USSearch.Com, Inc.

Phone: (800) 877-3272

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My debit card was billed for $19.95 for an additional service that I did not sign up for. I paid for and ordered one report, I was prompted to signup for the omni search, which I clicked no, I did not want this additional service. The website gave me a confirmation that I would not be charged for this extra service. I looked at my monthly statement and discovered I was in fact charged for this service anyway. I called and emailed us search and they cancelled that service and refunded me $19.95, however I was billed for two different months for the same amount. The first amount was in June 2014 and I believe I was refunded the July amount for $19.95. I've emailed them regarding the 2nd amount of 19.95 I got a response of they've received my email and would contact me, but it's been over a week, it didn't take them that long to charge my debit card, they need to give me back the money I didn't authorize them to take.
Product_Or_Service: Current address and phone number of a friend

Initial Business Response
US Search customers are presented with a two tier pricing structure when purchasing reports on the US Search website. They have the option of paying the full price, or a discounted promotional price which includes a 2 day trial of the OmniSearch Monthly Membership offered through US Search. When a customer selects the promotional price, they are redirected to a full page display that describes in detail the benefits of the subscription and the terms and conditions of the offer. By choosing to proceed with the purchase at the promotional price, the customer agrees to the terms and conditions of the promotional offer. The customer also has the option to remove the membership offer and pay the regular price.

In this case, *** ****** accepted the promotional offer and signed up for the OmniSearch Monthly Membership from US Search.

As requested, ******* OmniSearch Monthly Membership was canceled and on 07/13/2014 a refund was issued for $19.95. On 08/08/2014 the remaining charge of $19.95 for the OmniSearch Monthly was refunded to her account. The refund will appear on her statement in one of the next two billing cycles, depending on the closing date.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: erroneous info - had to pay to get it verified by the state. US SEARCH refused to refund money.
I ordered a National search for myself for a NC state contract. There were 30 erroneous cases from SC. I had to pay SC to get a SC criminal record check to see if this was a mistake on the public record. The SC check came back empty. When I contacted US SEARCH they refused to fix this error and they refused to give a refund, even though I was willing to supply them a copy of the SC record check. I paid with a Visa. The reach ID number is #XXXXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
US Search policy is to use all reasonable efforts to deliver this information service to our customers. The information we provide is gathered from selected public records and other sources such as department of corrections, county and state court repositories and state sex offender registries. This data is compiled into a comprehensive public record search that US Search maintains with active updates from its sources.

Since *** ***** was not satisfied with the Instant Nationwide Criminal Search purchased from the US Search website we have issued a refund for the full cost of the report in the amount of $24.95 on 7/21/2014. This refund will appear on *** *****'s statement in one of the next two billing cycles depending on the closing.

We sincerely appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/28/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Information Bureaus, Internet Services

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.