BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

USSearch.Com, Inc.

Phone: (800) 877-3272

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints21

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
07/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had my personal information removed from the site, but they still display my legal name and will not remove it.
I had my personal information removed from the site, but they still display my legal name and will not remove it.

This is a link:

*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

On 6/27 and 6/29 when escalating the supervisor they promised me this page would not show my personal name as in the name field above but still does.

I spoke with the followiing
Initial support caller - June 6/27 & soloman 6/29
Supervisor - Cheryl Employee# XXXX X/27
Supervisor - Rose employee# XXXX - X/29

Desired Settlement
Deletion of my legal name on this page:
***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
Managing personal information through the US Search opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have confirmed that there are no listings in our database for Mr. *****. The information on the page Mr. ***** linked to is generated based on the URL and not information in our database. The URL will change depending on what information is entered into the search fields on USSearch.com. Since Mr. *****'s information has already been removed, a new search cannot be performed to access this page. However, if a copy of the URL was saved before Mr. *****'s information was removed; the page could still be accessed. Since Mr. *****'s information was already opted out, no report can be purchased from this page.

We recommend Mr. ***** review our privacy policy located on the US Search website at https://www.ussearch.com/about/privacy.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the procedure to opt out is temporary. US Search is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit a request to opt out for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last opt out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information should be deleted. That is the only place on the internet my legal names shows. I would prefer to have it deleted and the company has no right to use the first, middle initial, and last name as it advertises it the company. No other internet services have done this, so they can remove it.

Final Business Response
The name which appears on the webpage Mr. ***** refers to is generated based on the name the user enters into the search fields on USSearch.com. It is not based on information available in our database. Mr. *****'s information has been removed from the US Search database, as well as affiliated sites.

A removal request to Google.com was recently submitted on Mr. *****'s behalf for a listing which contained the link he referred to. The removal is currently reflecting on Google.com.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your help.

05/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Opt out requires copy of drivers license to me sent.
Company I have never heard of asked me to send a photocopy of my drivers license to allow opt out VIA mail -manager refused to proceed recorded while they recorded me. This is unacceptable - I could understand a request for a notarized signature but to give more information to them to have information removed is ridiculous. This is all about preventing
ID theft information from circulating on the internet.

Desired Settlement
having my information removed from their database

Business Response
Managing personal information through the US Search opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have removed the requested information from the US Search database, as well as affiliated sites.

We recommend Mr. ******** review our privacy policy located on the US Search website at https://www.ussearch.com/about/privacy.

Generally, we do require an individual's identity to be verified prior to processing an opt-out. To do this, we request that proof of identity be submitted along with the removal request. Proof of identity can be a state issued ID card or driver's license. When faxing or mailing a copy of a driver's license, we require that the photo and the driver's license number be crossed out. However, we do need to see the name, address, and date of birth to ensure that all information is removed from our database. If an individual does not feel comfortable faxing us their driver's license or other state issued identification; they can send a notarized statement of their identity.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. US Search is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is fine I would have been happy to send a redacted copy of my Drivers License but that is not what the rep. or her manager asked for.

11/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
USSearch.com charged me $19.95 a month for a subscription I never asked for or wanted. I thought I was buying a service for $1.95.
In June of 2014 I used USSearch.com to find the whereabouts of an old friend who I wanted to let know that my mother had died. The transaction was for $1.95 and allowed me to do this one search. For the last 4 months they have been charging me $19.95 a month for a "subscription " I was never told about and definitely did not want. My wife paid those Visa bills without asking me about the charges. I called them today and they told me it was because I never cancelled the subscription is why I was charged each month. I am so frustrated. Nowhere did it say anything about a subscription. This is basically stealing. I gott he guy to take the 4th month's charge off. He seemed like he had had this discussion a thousand times before. If you do a search on USSearch on Google there are thousands of similar complaints about this company.

I would like my first 3 payments of $19.95 refunded and I think they should be forced to fix this dishonest practice or they should be shut down.

Thanks.

Desired Settlement
I want my 3 payments of $19.95 (a total of $58.95) refunded.

Thanks.

Business Response
US Search customers are presented with a two tier pricing structure when purchasing reports on the US Search website. They have the option of paying the full price, or a discounted promotional price which includes a 7-Day Pass ** the OmniSearch Membership offered through US Search. When a customer selects the promotional price, they are presented the benefits of the membership and the terms and conditions of the offer, including billing. By choosing to proceed with the purchase at the promotional price, the customer agrees to the terms and conditions of the promotional offer.

In this case, the promotional offer was accepted and the OmniSearch 7-Day Pass *** activated.

The OmniSearch Membership was canceled on 11/7/2014 and a refund was issued for $19.95. On 11/10/2014, the remaining three charges of $19.95 for the OmniSearch Membership were refunded. This will reflect on Mr. ****'s statement ($19.95x4) in one of the next two billing cycles, depending on the closing date. There will be no future membership billing.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree because they are refunding all 4 payments. Thanks.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My debit card was billed for $19.95 for an additional service that I did not sign up for. I paid for and ordered one report, I was prompted to signup for the omni search, which I clicked no, I did not want this additional service. The website gave me a confirmation that I would not be charged for this extra service. I looked at my monthly statement and discovered I was in fact charged for this service anyway. I called and emailed us search and they cancelled that service and refunded me $19.95, however I was billed for two different months for the same amount. The first amount was in June 2014 and I believe I was refunded the July amount for $19.95. I've emailed them regarding the 2nd amount of 19.95 I got a response of they've received my email and would contact me, but it's been over a week, it didn't take them that long to charge my debit card, they need to give me back the money I didn't authorize them to take.
Product_Or_Service: Current address and phone number of a friend

Desired Settlement
$19.95 refunded back onto my debit card

Business Response
US Search customers are presented with a two tier pricing structure when purchasing reports on the US Search website. They have the option of paying the full price, or a discounted promotional price which includes a 2 day trial of the OmniSearch Monthly Membership offered through US Search. When a customer selects the promotional price, they are redirected to a full page display that describes in detail the benefits of the subscription and the terms and conditions of the offer. By choosing to proceed with the purchase at the promotional price, the customer agrees to the terms and conditions of the promotional offer. The customer also has the option to remove the membership offer and pay the regular price.

In this case, *** ****** accepted the promotional offer and signed up for the OmniSearch Monthly Membership from US Search.

As requested, ******* OmniSearch Monthly Membership was canceled and on 07/13/2014 a refund was issued for $19.95. On 08/08/2014 the remaining charge of $19.95 for the OmniSearch Monthly was refunded to her account. The refund will appear on her statement in one of the next two billing cycles, depending on the closing date.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

01/12/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company i fill is a big scam
I contacted USSearch customer service to ask about there site about how many searches i would get with monthly membership fees and what kind of information would i get from searches i was told basic info address phone numbers social media. So I was satisfied paid for a monthly membership. To start the site i thought i signed up for USSearch is not the site i ended up with it is Omnisearch.com Turned around did a search on my mother,father,sister & myself.. And on the 4 different searches i did not one of them was accurate. Like the search i did on myself the address that where given where its been over 8yrs sents i lived there said i had no social media when im on facebook.. So I contacted customer support again.. My account was not even a hour old at this time.. Told ***** thank his name was in customer support that i had just started my account my issues i was having and i wanted my money back.. I was then told that he recommended I use the site as much as possible for a month then cancel my account cause they would not refund my money.. I ordered my membership on 11/03/2015 around 9:30am my order#XXXXXXXXX and I contacted customer support back by 10:30am to tell them my issues and i wanted my money back..

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back this is the only resolution and something be done abojt this scam

Business Response
US Search's policy is to use all applicable means to deliver the information service to our customers. The information we provide is gathered from selected public records and other sources. Local, state, and federal agencies make updates to public records. The information can come from sources such as: marketing surveys, land deeds, catalog purchases, voter registrations, lawsuit filings, court records, magazine subscriptions, and address changes. This data is compiled into a comprehensive public record search that Intelius maintains with active updates from its sources.

As requested, ****** *******'s OmniSearch Membership was canceled on 11/3/2015 along with the pending charge of $19.95. This will reflect on their statement in one of the next two billing cycles, depending on the closing date. No future membership charges will occur.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

11/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company charges customers for a service that is found for free.
On Oct. 28, 2015 I attempted for the first time ever to do a background check on a person who has committed an act of fraud on my family. I reluctantly agreed to put my credit card for this service to do a background check and I got no info whatsoever besides what I had already found for free on a google search. I was charged $14.95 for this service and they attempted to collect more money. This is just as bad as the person I am trying to get info on. Can't even imagine how many people they have ripped off. I immediately cancelled account as they were about to charge me monthly for this "service."

Desired Settlement
Refund of $14.95

Business Response
US Search's policy is to use all applicable means to deliver the information service to our customers. The information we provide is gathered from selected public records and other sources. Local, state, and federal agencies make updates to public records. The information can come from sources such as: marketing surveys, land deeds, catalog purchases, voter registrations, lawsuit filings, court records, magazine subscriptions, and address changes. This data is compiled into a comprehensive public record search that US Search maintains with active updates from its sources.
We want Ms. ****** to be fully satisfied with her purchase from US Search. Since she was not completely satisfied with the Basic Background Report, we have canceled the charge of $14.95 on 10/30/2015. This will reflect on her statement in one of the next two billing cycles depending on the closing.

We sincerely appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased the ussearch.com website in September and then purchased the advantage search at 39.99, they cancelled on me saying I gave permission.
Purchased ussearch.com omnisearch at the beginning of September then upgraded to the 39.99 which is the advantage, called because of the update and was told by a gentlemen named ******* did I want to cancel Omni at 19.95 I told him yes now they have cancelled my whole subscription with only a refund of 19.95 which he said they would do, now won't refund my money for the one I didn't cancel but they did saying I told him too.

Desired Settlement
I want a total refund

Business Response
US Search customers are presented with a two tier pricing structure when purchasing reports on the US Search website. They have the option of paying the full price, or a discounted promotional price which includes a free trial of the OmniSearch Membership offered through US Search. When a customer selects the promotional price, they are presented the benefits of the membership and the terms and conditions of the offer, including billing. By choosing to proceed with the purchase at the promotional price, the customer agrees to the terms and conditions of the promotional offer.

In this case, the promotional offer was accepted and the OmniSearch Membership was activated.

As requested, the OmniSearch Membership was canceled on 10/1/2015 and a refund was issued for $19.95. Additionally, the two Advanced Background Reports for $29.95 and $39.95 and the Instant Nationwide Criminal Check for $37.90 were refunded on 10/5/2015. The refund will appear on Ms. ****'s statement ($19.95, $29.95, $39.95, $37.90) in one of the next two billing cycles, depending on the closing date. Again, all charges have been refunded and no future membership charges will occur.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cannot remove my personal information. The web site asks to fax a number with a record number and proof of ID however the fax number does not work.
I cannot remove my personal information. The web site asks to fax a number with a record number and proof of ID however the fax number does not work. I would like USSearch.com to remove all of my personal information and block it from all third-party firms, including all marketing companies.

Desired Settlement
I would like USSearch.com to remove all of my personal information and block it from all third-party firms, including all marketing companies.

Business Response
Managing personal information through the US Search opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites, and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have removed the requested information from the US Search database, as well as affiliated sites.

We recommend Mr. ******** review our privacy policy located on the US Search website at https://www.ussearch.com/about/privacy.

We have verified that there have been no recent issues with the fax number Mr. ******** attempted to submit his Opt Out request to. If faxing is not convenient, we also accept Opt Out requests by mail. Directions on how to submit an Opt Out request by fax or mail can be found at https://www.ussearch.com/privacylock.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. US Search is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

10/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I looked at my credit card statements and an unauthorized charge to infoUSSearch.com/SB for 19.95 showed up for the last several months. I don't even know what this company is and never gave them my card info. I tried calling 2 different numbers (the one on my statement and the one on the website) and they do not work. You just get a muffled voice. I have been getting charged 19.95 for the last 6 months now.
Product_Or_Service: I don'tknow what the company i

Desired Settlement
I want my money back. Charge dates are as follows: 03/24, 04/24, 05/24, 06/24, 07/24 &08/24And I want the subscription cancelled: which I can't do if I can't get a hold of the company

Business Response
We are more than willing to help with Ms. *******'s US Search account; however, we are unable to locate an account in our system using the information provided to us. In order for us to locate an account, we need to be provided with at least one of the following:

-An alternative email address that may have been used to create the account

-The name of which the account is under (perhaps a spouse or other family member)

-The Order Number provided when a product is purchased

-The last four digits of the credit card being charged along with the city, state, and zip code associated with the credit card.

Once we receive the required information we will be able to investigate this matter further. For additional assistance, she may also contact Customer Care at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Monday through Friday 5:00AM to 6:00PM PST and Saturday and Sunday from 6:00AM to 4:00PM PST.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Information Bureaus, Internet Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.