BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2009

A-1 Glass & Shower Door

Phone: (408) 739-4837Fax: (408) 739-0238987 E El Camino Real, SunnyvaleCA 94087-3740

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2009

BBB has determined that A-1 Glass & Shower Door meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A-1 Glass & Shower Door's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/26/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purchase a defective balancer, they refused to refund. I stopped payment. The owner threatened to bring me to court and demanding me to pay $61.32. I'm registering a complaint against A-1 Glass Shower & Door Company, Contractor's License # XXXXXX Located in 987 E. El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA XXXXX. I attempted to return a defective product, a Sash Balancer costing $16.32, on 9/17/2012, but they refused to refund my purchase. Unable to resolve the matter with them, I stopped payment through my credit card company.
Today, 10/9/2012, the owner called to complain about my stop-payment. Not only did my credit card company refuse payment, but his merchant service company charged him an additional $45 fee. The owner was belligerent and abusive, demanding payment for both the defective sash and his merchant fee - a total of $61.32. He threatened to bring me to small claims court, where he claims I will have to pay the $61.32 in addition to court fees. His hostility was frightening. Subsequently, I checked online for similar complaints about A-1 Glass, and there were many.
The menacing behavior of this man (the owner) is totally unacceptable and therefore I request that record of this incident to be entered in the Better Business Bureau file.

Business' Initial Response
****** was not our customer, our customer was Jeff , some relation I assume. I have not spoken with Jeff as ****** is the person demanding the money back. First off, we have a confirmation receipt that the product, a window sash balancer, was received in good order by the customer Jeff. There is no warranty on these products because it is highly recommended that they be installed by a professional as we told the customer. The customer claimed that they had installed one before. We, A-1 glass, have installed hundreds of these and never had one break. We explained to the customer that we would be happy to order another one for her, but we would recommend once again that a professional install it. This product is no different than a piece of glass that we would sell, if we break it during installation we are responsible for it, if the customer breaks it during installation we are not responsible. The customer claims that it was defective and that we owed her a new one even though it broke during their attempt to install it as the claimant has stated. At this point, given the tone of the customer, we felt that the customer was being unreasonable so we reaffirmed our position that we could get her another one at cost, and that was the extent of our liability. On Oct. 9th I received a charge back from our merchant processor which refunded Jeff the $16.32 as well as a $45 charge back fee to us. Since ****** was the person demanding that we replace the product, I spoke with her regarding the charge back fee and explained to her that the paperwork Jeff had signed specifically states that should they not pay for the product, they would be held responsible for all fees associated with attempts to collect the debt. I explained to her that we are due the balance of the debt as well as the charge back fee and should this go to small claims, we could be due more than the $61.32 that had been taken out of my account. I hardly feel that I was acting in the manner described above, I acted as someone trying to collect a debt that was taken out of my account. The $16.32 has been put back into my account but the $45 is still owed. Per my final discussion with the customer, she had stated that she had called the credit card company and authorized them to re-deposit the $16.32 into our account. This conversation took place two days ago and we have not received confirmation that it has been deposited yet. We have approximately 15-30 customers a day that buy products from us and we have an excellent record at resolving issues such as this. It was my understanding upon our last conversation that we had resolved this issue when the customer agreed to authorize the transaction. I still hold out hope that this can be resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Glass - Plate and Window

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/2002Business started: 08/01/1955
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 664237 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2015.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/LicenseDetail.aspx?LicNum=664237

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of C0832847 for this company.

Type: Department of Corporations

Check License Status: http://kepler.sos.ca.gov/cbs.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1977, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Joe Arfman (RMO/President) Janelle Anderson (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Glass - Plate and Window

Alternate Business Names
A-1 Shower Door & Glass, Delong & Son Glass Company, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A-1 Glass & Shower Door

987 E El Camino Real

Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3740

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 987 E El Camino Real 

    Sunnyvale, CA 94087-3740

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A-1 Glass & Shower Door is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Glass - Plate and Window

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.