BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American Apparel

Phone: (213) 488-0226

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Placed an online order for Imperfect tank tops - set of 5 (Not-So-Perfect Unisex Poly-Cotton T). Tops were not as described in customer chat session.
On 4/27/14, I placed an online order for Imperfect tank tops - set of 5 (Not-So-Perfect Unisex Poly-Cotton T). Tops were not as described in customer chat session. Customer service agent said that the imperfect tank tops had small defects. The example used was loose threads. After this conversation, I purchased the tank tops in size L. When I received the tank tops, they were all extremely short - some significantly shorter than others. In all cases, the tank tops had significant defects. I called American Apparel to inquire about a return. The AA rep said he would discuss with his manager and give me a call back the next day. I never received any call or correspondence from that customer service rep or any AA rep.

Initial Business Response
Hello *****,

We apologize for the frustration with your online order in April. We unfortunately have no added info on your request to speak to a supervisor. For this we apologize.

The items ordered are part of a pack that in the description, states "not so perfect". There is also added info on the product page that describes the issues in your email. These are highly discounted for that reason.

We realize the frustration is with the service more than the product at this point. We will send you a new set of shirts in hopes to close this case. It will arrive via Fed-Ex to the original address on the order.

My name is ***** and below you will find my info. Please contact me directly or email me if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention,

***** ******

Online Sales Supervisor
American Apparel
*** ********* st.
*** ******** ** XXXXX
ph. XXX-XXX-XXXX ex. ****
******@americanapparel.net

03/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: My complaint is due to unauthorized charges on my credit card that they refused to reverse, shipping problems & TERRIBLE ******** SERVICE!!
Jan 27th I placed an order to American apparel online ordering 4 pairs of leggings.
Jan 29th American apparel charged my card for two pairs $42.72
Jan 28th received an email conformation that the first two pairs shipping from the warehouse had been shipped out.
Jan 29th received a second email that the third pair had been shipped
Jan 30th received a second charge to my card for $21.36 for pair # 3
Jan 31st received a third charge for $21.36 for 4th pair of leggings.
Received the first shipment on 2/4 and the second a few days later.
1/7 I called to check on the pair that was shipping from the store that I hadn't yet received . They acknowledged that I had been charged, but that the store had a shipping problem, and their system said they had shipped even though they weren't. They assured my that my item would be shipped out ASAP and that I should receive them by the end of the week at the latest
A week goes by... Still no leggings
2/17 I again call aa to check on
My order status I spoke with one of their ******** service representatives and after looking into my order they said that the original problem had never been resolved. That their wear house system said
My order had been shipped but there was a problem on the store level and my items were still waiting to be shipped. Again they assured me that my items will be shipped ASAP and I will receive them
Shortly.
2/19 after checking my bank statements I see that I was charged a four time in the amount of $21.36. Almost Three weeks after all the charges had cleared my account for everything that I ordered. When I called to inquired why, I spoke with the most unapologetic and rude employee I have ever dealt with. She told me that they have no record of ever charging my card for the 4th pair and that they will not be able to ship my last item till the charge clears my account. I tell her that I have my statements in hand that I can fax over to prove I have already been charged the full amount due. After I keep insisting that I have already been charged for all 4 items she is still defensive, and puts me on hold to speak with her manager. After waiting on hold for over 10 minutes she comes back on the line and tells me that their system is not showing a charge for the last transaction made on 1/31 and that providing statements doesn't change anything because their system doesn't show the charge. And I am responsible for this last 5th charge if I want to receive my last two items. After yelling this at me in a very demeaning and disrespectful manner I ask if I make speak with her manger. She coldly declines my request and tells me that her manger will not speak with me regarding my issues, that the matter has been closed. I was in complete shock and again asked to be transferred to her manger she again tells me the manger will not speak to me and them just hangs up on me.
I still haven't resolved this issue and am now having to go through the claims department at my bank, to get back the money that was rightfully mine. I have never experienced such horrendous ******** service from any company, and never expected it from one that claims to uphold the highest American standards.

Initial Business Response
Hello ****,

My name is ***** I'm the online store manager. I sincerely apologize that you experienced this from our company. It it completely unacceptable!! I have looked at the charges and will speak with my IT department in further detail to look into what happen with your order; as this is not normal.

I will also speak with my staff for further training purposes just in case a system glitch like this occurs in the future. I will address the issues that occurred on 2/19 with the individual you spoke with in particular as well as the shift supervisors.

My system shows that you were refunded on 2/24/14. You should see the refund on your bank statement 3-5 business days after this date.

Thank you for alerting me of these issues. I would like to email you a gift card as a courtesy for the inconvenience. Please look out for this in your email.

Please let me know if you have any additional concerns or do not see the refund.

Thank you again for all of your help.

Best Regards,
****

03/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: Hi there,I have bought a American Apparel coupon code from teambuy.ca on Oct, 2012. I used it on my very first purchase from American Apparel Online store. On december i checked my teambuy account, i just realized that i didnt receive anything from AA yet. I emailed Teambuy, they told me that i need to ask AA for this case. So i emailed AA, at first, they said there is no record of this purchase in their system. So i tried to use the coupon again on Dec, but when i entered the code, it says it is no longer redeemable. So i emailed AA again, and they sd this voucher code was already applied on order number XXXXXX.....(but they just sd they couldnt find the order in their system...) And they said they will contact me later when they find out what the problem is.... Now the discount code is expired. and it has been almost 6 months...still waiting for their response...i tried to contact AA and teambuy recently, but seems like none of them wants to take the responsibility(no answer...)I dont know if it has happened to anyone else, or just me...Very very disappointed.btw, My teambuy promotion code is #***************.
Product_Or_Service: cloth
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: #***************

Initial Business Response
My name is Rossana, the manager for Online Canada. I apologize for your unfortunate experience. I am not sure who you spoke to regarding this matter but when I enter XXXXXX I do not find an order. For the inconveience I can offer that we send the items you placed originally free of charge. However, I will need to know what those items are or if you can provide some other information to help me locate your order.


This was an unfortunate oversight and we thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for shopping at American Apparel. Your feedback will help us make the necessary changes. Thank you again for taking the time to review our services.


Hope to hear back from you soon.

*******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4
10/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
08/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

General Merchandise - Wholesale

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.