BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

The Sofa Company

Phone: (888) 778-7632

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sofa I purchased in Nov. 2013 for more than $2,000 at the present day still missing a cushion. The customer service rep just gives empty promises.
I have purchased a sofa from the company back on 22nd of Nov 2013. Our contract stated they'll deliver the item in 30 days. It finally arrived on the 6th of Jan 2014 and upon assembling we noticed that one of the cushion was wrong shape and size. Following the salesman's instruction I took a picture of the problematic cushion sent the item back with the delivery service with written notes to the customer service representative ******* ********* I also sent her an email to explain the situation. She acknowledged the problem and promised a prompt resolution. After numerous phone calls to her I was informed they do not send out anything via mail it is going to be delivered.
Today is the 8th of April 2014 and I still haven't received that cushion, leaving the sofa semi useless and an eyesore.

Desired Settlement
Immediate delivery and a partial refund

Business Response
He ordered a sofa 11/25/2013. It was complete on 12/27/2013 which is within our terms and conditions of 4-6 weeks for handcrafted sofas.
We called him for delivery which he accepted in January 2014. A month later he decided he didn't like the length of a cushion so at our expense we reduced the cushion by 2".
It was quality controlled on 3/5/2014, put on the transfer to our Pasadena showroom on 3/18/2014 where the customer wanted it and was told he could pick up the cushion.

As far as we know it was picked up in our Pasadena showroom. He hasn't contacted us since so we assumed he picked up the cushion without incident.

Thanks,
*******

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delivery men damage some walls and doors during delivery
We ordered two identical couches from The Sofa Company about a month apart (Order ##SXXXXXX & SXXXXXX). When the first couch arrived, the order was incorrect. We made a deal where the first couch would be picked up to be fixed when the second couch was delivered. However, when the second couch arrived, it too was incorrect. Therefore, we sent the first couch back with the delivery drivers and refused delivery on the second couch. Unfortunately, the delivery men damaged some walls and some doors during this delivery. This damage is the subject of our complaint.

On or around 6/10/14, we negotiated a deal with *******,where we would allow the company to fix the 2 couches instead of us returning them. During these discussions, ******* was made aware of the damage to the home and assured us that a man named ****** ********* would be calling shortly to schedule a repair. A month passed *** ****** never contacted us. We emailed ******* again on 7/3/14 to inform her of this and to request the repair be scheduled immediately. ******* never responded to that email and, as of today, no one has called to repair these damages.

Desired Settlement
Repair the damage

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ********* Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@thesofaco.com
We were told this repair was done. We are contacting the customer today and will make all the necessary repairs.

05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective Product-Took 10 months for them to acknowledge due to personnel changes. Still have half a couch and no cushions sitting in my living room.
We went to the Lincoln location when I was about 7 months pregnant and ordered rush so that we could have it for when we came home from the hospital so that we had some place for our guests to sit. We were also upsold on the "most expensive" filler that they offered. We spent over $7000+ on the couch.
The couch came late and they refunded me for 50% of the rush fee. Then, the sofa was delivered and we realized there was a defect in the fabric. It looked stained but later, we were told that it was imperfection in the fabric. Additionally, the couch was sagging and wrinkled horribly when people sat on it. Finally, the couch squeaked much like a Whoopy Cushion when sitting on it.
We complained and complained and got passed **** and forth for months and months. The couch wasn't really usable and it sat in our living room for 10 months. We had spent $7000+ and didn't even have a usable couch to show for it. Finally, we got in touch with someone who was pretty helpful. The first thing she told me us that she would immediately get me refunded on the remaining portion of the rush shipping which should have been $800. She was let go and when other people took over, most of them told me I was already refunded the rest of the rush shipping and when I showed them they were wrong, I was told that I would not be credited for the rush and that was the management's final decision.
After months of trying to schedule a time for them to come pick up the couch and make it right (they had cancelled many times), the took half the couch and all of the cushions. I told them they should take it all because I did not want a portion of a couch sitting in the middle of my living room. I also had told them it would not be enough at this point, to just "fix" the product after all of this time without a couch. They asked if they could just look at it, assess and come up with a solution. They also told me that due to the fact that my husband is very tall and 230 lbs, he should never have been uphold the stuffing/filler that we were. They blamed the salesperson. They had originally told me they would change the stuffing and refund me the difference for the price difference of the product we decided to take. Now, they are saying they never said that. It has now been over a year and a half. I have half a couch and no cushions in my living room for over 6 months. I have asked for them to work with me over and over or give me my money back. They want to change the stuffing to a less expensive stuffing and return the product to me and call it a day.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the my rush shipping (It is $800 that they owe me for this item. It was originally $1600 and they refunded me $800 for the rush and $300 for a discharge (as our original dimensions changed). I also want a refund or a discount for the difference in the price of the stuffing that they find to be more appropriate. Finally, I want some type of concession for the fact that I paid over $7000 over 18 months ago and still don't have the product I ordered. Ideally, I would like them to take back the couch and either refund me or give me credit at their store. Or, I would like a heavy discount. This has been one of the most frustrating experiences of my life. I write over and over and they never answer. I should never have let them take half the couch without cutting a deal ahead of time but they said they wanted management to look at it. They admit it is defective product and they also admit that it should never have been sold to us. The customer should not be left holding the bag for their horrible sales, product and customer service. Unfortunately, I saw that MANY people have the same experiences as me. I have asked to speak with the owner multiple times and he hides behind his employees.
They have changed personnel multiple times and each time, I have to start over and get told something different. I am a business owner and when I mistakes, I know I have to take responsibility for those mistakes. I am also a Better Business Bureau member.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Wholesale

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.