BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ramos Furniture

Phone: (408) 293-9930Fax: (408) 293-9940

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/13/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** fails to warranty on my mattress want to wash there hands of corecting the problem with my mattress i have only had the mattress since sept2015
the mattress collapses along the edge and is a slip and fall danger we cant use the foot of the bed a inspector sent by ***** stopped by and only measured the bed and reported the mattress is all okay he didnt take a sit test. i reported it on the 17th of december after numerous complaint i was given a email address for ***** so i email her our problem

Desired Settlement
i want to treated like a customer should be treated i shouldnt have to be after them to honor this issue. please help my wife and i need our bed

Business Response
As a response on customer's complaint, I like to inform you that besides the mattress company declined the warranty since there is no a defect in the mattress, ***** is willing to replace the product for other model, or either brand. customer was told by our customer service rep to stop by the store to speak with manager to take care of the issue. AS soon a customer visit the store, as soon as we solve the issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
we worked it out thank you we end up trading it in for a new upgrade mattress with a added price of coarse. the manager was very polite and helpful.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Manufacturer repair led to loss of pillows
We purchased a couch from this store, after 4 months of use the couch base broke and was making weird noises when we sat in it. The staff came to our home photographed it and told us they would be in touch with us for the next step. They never contacted us, I had to call them. They told me to bring the couch back in so they could send it off to the warehouse. We brought in the couch with 3 seat cushions and 5 designer back cushions. The repairs of the couch were made, but upon inspection we noticed that the 5 back designer pillows were missing. The staff told me they would be in contact with me to resolve the issue. Never heard back from them, we have had to call numerous times and went in once. According to the staff, the couch repair staff at the warehouse threw out our pillows because they said they were damaged and dirty. We didnt understand why they would be in that condition since they were only 4 months old and fairly new. The staff offered us two of the 5 pillows that actually went with the couch and two other pillows that didn't even match. When we explained that the pillows they were offering didnt even match the couch or what was there she said outright that this was all they could do. We asked to speak to a manager and she told us that he did not have a phone number and after we questioned her more, she told us that the manager traveled to other stores and didnt deal with customers and that she was the only source of help. I explained what we wanted and she said she would call the warehouse to see what else they could do, but its been over two and half weeks and with the exception of two brown pillows, nothing else has been done. We have once again been put off until tomorrow but we dont expect them to call us back. We fully intend to follow up every day until this is resolved. We pulled up to the building earlier today only to find that the store has signs of closing in the near future, when my wife asked about the date of closure we were given a vague answer, they told us that it could be within the few weeks or months. There is no corporate office, no customer service number, no connection to the upper level staff for complaints and the only people we can get ahold of is the store we purchased the couch at. This is the absolute worst customer service I have ever received, I regret ever stepping foot in this establishment, they have lost a customer for good.

Desired Settlement
We want the five pillows we originally purchased, however we've been told just today that the couch is no longer in stock and that there was nothing else they could do. So either find pillows that match or that were happy with or reimburse us with an amount enough to purchase 5 new pillows equal to what we had.

Business Response
Today 2/20/15 our dear customer singed and agreement in which he chose 5 pillows to replace lost pillows of sofa which was in process of repair . Factory requests to complete order from 4 to 6 weeks. Our customer service will contact customer for pick up pillows as soon as they arrive to the store. we have also deeply apologized for the inconvenience. Reyna

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We agree to the replacement because they are equal or greater then those that were originally purchased with the Couch. Once we receive the pillows chosen and approved by us, then we will consider this matter closed. Our family wants to personally thank BBB for handing this matter if it weren't for this organization we felt and outcome similar to the one that we've received would of been much more difficult to come by.

11/24/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased table set from ***** for $1,080 on 10/10/14. Despite many promised delivery dates, we have not received the table.
We purchased a table set from ***** Furniture for $1,080 on 10/10/14. We were promised by sales person **** ***** that it would be delivered 10/24/14. This delivery date has been moved each week. **** *****, our designated sales rep, is unresponsive to calls, and gives false information about future delivery dates. It was promised to be delivered on 11/8, then 11/14, then 11/18, and now it is promised 11/20. It has now been 1 month and 9 days since the purchase. **** ***** promised to mail us $80 for inconvenience taken off the delivery fee. We have spent countless hours waiting for delivery and trying to get phone calls to **** *****, who is seemingly evading giving us information. We would like to have the security of knowing that we aren't being cheated out of our money, that we will receive the product that we ordered in store, and we would like to be compensated by ***** for them putting us through this awful customer experience. It would be great if they just did their job.

Desired Settlement
We would like a guaranteed delivery and delivery date. We would like the delivery charge refunded for $80. We would also like to be compensated for lost time, inconvenience, and false information. We think a $200 discount from the product would be fair, totaling in compensation of $280 returned to us of the $1080 paid. Thank you.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience caused on order delayed by back order on product. It was never our intention to upset our customer. we are definitely happy to refund the delivery fee to compensate customers patient. See attached document in which customer signed as received complete order in good condition yesterday 11/20/14. Customer must to show up at the store to get more detail about his refund check for delivery fee $89.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm mostly unhappy not about the fact it was almost a month and a half before we got the order. I am primarily upset about the horrible communication and complete lack of customer service skills shown by ***** Furniture employees. I had to skip three work days because you gave me three delivery dates and then didn't call me to let me know the table isn't coming. I understand messing up once, but three times? $89 dollars is not enough to compensate me for three days of work, but at this time I'm happy I finally got the table and I just want to forget about it.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a couch in December of XXXX - X ½ years ago and the couch is BROKE from normal wear and tear
I purchased a couch from ***** Furniture in December of 2012. They offer a warranty for 1 year and the mfg offers a limited warranty for 5 years based on my research.

A few weeks ago, we noticed the springs in the couch were broken only a year in a half after we purchased it. We are not rough on the couch and have definitely not used it in any non-normal way.

We have made two attempts to contact ***** Furniture with no level of customer service or options received. The first time we called to inquire about warranty options and they said it was past the 1 year warranty they offered themselves and there was nothing they could do. The 2nd time we called to inquire about replacing the portion of the couch that is broken and we were told No with no options.

We now have a couch that we spent a consdierate amount of money on that is unusable only a year after it's original purchase date. The quality of this product is HORRIBLE and the company should stand by their level of service and offer to fix or allow us to replace this section of the couch.

Desired Settlement
I would like the couch replaced or fixed! The manufactur obviously has a warranty and I do not understand why the retailer is not honoring that.

Business Response
As a response of this complaint, *****' furniture customer service has contacted our appreciated customer to initiate a service to repair, or replace whatever applies based on factory warranty.
Customer kindly, committed verbally with customer service to come this Weekend at the store located at *** ***** *** In San Jose to sing our service order, and provide estimate time to complete service.
We look forward to complete this process in the promptest convenience for customer.
***** *****
Customer Service

10/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought furniture irt was defective went thru warranty and the company decided to exchange . It was a 300.00 difference and they said they do not ref
I purchase furniture from ***** 06/1012 as of 12/12 yhr finish was not there. I called the store and visited and the manager refused to see me. I finally went thru the warranty and they sent out a rep who stated the finish on furniture is gone . I contacted ******* at ***** sent pictures and he said we will replace it . On 9/13 I received a call from ***** that my store credit is 175.00 instead of 300. (Delivery Charges. And then they want 150.00 Delivery charge for new furniture even though they will be picking up the damaged furniture. Where is the customer service. I would actually prefer to have a total refund minus 150.00 delivery fee. Take my business where it can be appreciated. This company needs to be out of business.

Desired Settlement
Preferably a total refund. No store credits . Act like you are in business to serve the public. I have never seen where you cannot speak to store manager or have to make a appointment. They are not customer friendly no corporate phone number

Business Response
I have now learned from the store manager at that location the following:

"I did authorize to exchange their furniture for the fact that it got damaged from inv XXXXX

Customer came on 9/15/13 to chose the new product which was less cost in the amount of $187.00

From original invoice XXXXX we just deducted the delivery fee $113, and store credit $2237

New product price is $2050 -$2237 = -$187 store credit.

Since this is a service exchange, customer was told by our customer service rep (*****) that we don't refund any money. It is store credit."

Now, I do understand that sometimes merchandise does get damaged and we honor any goods within the manufacturer's warranty. THAT is the procedure on purchases....

07/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete delivery and missing parts on order XXXXXX.
The delivery for order XXXXXX on June 25, 2015 was incomplete as the person assembling our beds (3 bedroom sets) could not assemble one of our bedroom sets as he indicated that he was missing the relevant parts (slats and screws). I spoke to ****** from the delivery and he indicated that the missing parts and installation will be delivered in an expedited manner. Now, when we call to check on the status, they are asking us to check with the location where the original order was placed and the location manner indicates that they do not see anything missing. We have an incomplete bedroom set and our home disorganized and we have already waited for more than a month for the original order to be delivered. Based on the responses we have received, we do not believe that they will resolve the issue. We also spoke to ***** who is the store manager and he has not resolved the issue either. We are requesting that our bed be assembled with the trundle option as originally promised to us. We can be contacted at either XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Please assemble the full/trundle bed ASAP!

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience. We will fix anything needed as soon as possible. Thanks

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to deliver furniture as scheduled. Failure to compensate for this inconvenience as suggested by the Pittsburg Store where order was placed,
I got a call on April 25th at 2:22PM from (XXX)XXX-XXXX which is the number to delivery department to schedule us for Thursday that week, the 28th. I asked for a Saturday delivery, the person on the phone said that May 7th is the next Saturday delivery. May 7th is another week away so I said I'd contact my husband to see if he's okay with it. My husband happened to be on a conference call which I didn't know about it right away, but because I had to call the delivery department right back, at 2:26PM, I texted him. Good thing I texted him because then I have it as a proof that May 7th, Saturday was the date given to me to consider. Anyways, I finally got to talk to him at 3:33PM, we both decided it is best to wait till May 7th so at 3:34PM that day, I called (XXX)XXX-XXXX for the confirmation. It was another person who picked up the phone but we still got the Saturday, May 7th schedule regardless.

On May 4th, I received a voice message from (XXX)XXX-XXXX by the name of Richard regarding the Saturday delivery. Another call was received later that day but no day/date was ever mentioned in the voice message as far as when they're looking to deliver the sofa set. On May 5th, there was a call from (XXX)XXX-XXXX, to confirm a Friday, May 6th delivery. I told the person we are not expecting a Friday delivery. Saturday is what we have agreed on. Saturday, May 7th is what I have on my calendar. May 7th is what I texted to my husband as suggested to me by the person I spoke with on April 25th at 2:22PM, and which was confirmed with me by the next person I spoke with at 3:34PM on same day. It was never for a Friday. It was never for May 6th. The person then told me he will discuss it with the manager and will call me sometime probably late that night. I was firm telling him to make it happen, to make the May 7th delivery happen because that's what was confirmed on April 25th. I didn't receive a call that night anyway.

Yesterday, May 6th, I got a call from (XXX)XXX-XXXX advising me of a delivery that he said was scheduled for yesterday. Of course, I told him that we are not anticipating a Friday delivery. I called both (XXX)XXX-XXXX and (XXX)XXX-XXXX right away but neither number picked up my call. I had my husband call the Pittsburg store to give his card number to cover hauling away of the old furniture and to assist us with the Saturday delivery that we had it scheduled for. Even the store knew about the Saturday delivery.

On May 7th, the day of the supposed delivery, I called (XXX)XXX-XXXX. It was the manager (delivery) on the phone. I learned from the Pittsburg store that his name is Richard (last name, Hernandez). This guy certainly does not have the qualities of an effective manager, not even quick to apologize for the mess his team has created. Nor admitted that someone lied abut the situation. He insisted that it was a miscommunication and or misunderstanding but definitely no one in his team he said lied about the situation.

This is a very simple scenario, what could possibly complicate it that misunderstanding and or miscommunication can ever occur? How did I learn about the Saturday, May 7th availability if it wasn't provided to me? How could it be that that was what I texted to my husband if that's not what was given to me? What would be the point of arranging the delivery schedule and getting it confirmed for the incorrect day and date? That would be useless and pointless, right? Why can't and why won't the manager not even consider that his staff made a terrible mistake of giving me the May 7th availability only for them to later had to change schedule because somebody realized the scheduling got messed up by them, and then hoping it wouldn't create a slightest issue at all? They changed the date without even telling us, not acknowledging there was a scheduling error. The lady at the store where we bought the set said she'd have the manager consider an account credit given to us.

Desired Settlement
With all the waiting, frustration having to deal with the delivery department's management team, we want an account credit/billing adjustment. We did not feel our business being valued by the delivery staff at this company's warehouse.

The lady at the store said she'd have the store manager, perhaps Francisco, the sales person who took our order of the sofa set, to extend us account credit. It's been a month and we have not realized that account credit. I called the store on May 23rd and left a message to call me back in reference to the credit but they haven't returned my call to date.

The company could review the dates and times I mentioned here with regards to the calls made to our contact number, and the times I called them. If they record their customer service calls, everything I said on here would be proven truthful. And if they do record calls for staff development purposes, then they will be able to review how the tone in every phone was made.

04/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did order new furniture at ***** Furniture store Feb.08th 2015.On March 13th 2015,because they never, never answer the phone I went directly to the store after work, to check when delivery will happened. The young employee (*******) called the delivery guy (******* XXX-XXX-XXXX)which confirmed delivery on Monday 3/16th with me over the phone. I did ask him twice and in front of *******, if he was sure of that because I had to take a day off from work no pay and he said "yes" we will be there for sure. Well, after many calls to the store and with him that day, I never got the furniture. I was really upset loosing a day at work and that didn't do what they said they will.The manager then confirmed for next day, so I went to work on 3/17 & my neighbor was there waiting for the delivery. Well they sent me the used furniture, the ones on display in the store: model ******* sofa #XXXXXXX and loveseat #XXXXXXX, all smelly, dirty with hole on armrest. Again, I went to the store the same day and saw the empty spot where furniture was on display. The manager *** (sorry forgot last name)said she didn't know what happened. LIES! We never talk about me buying used furniture and they never told me they were shipping used ones to me, I would've refused it anyway.The man who delivered sofa and loveseat, wrote on delivery slip that they were not new, were damaged and signed it off. I have a copy of it.On 3/19 I wrote a letter to have full refund and them to take back the old ones, I went to see manager *** and she signed the paper which I also have a copy. They picked it up on 3/19 and now I am without furniture, I have to go shopping again and might have to wait a month until new delivery occurred, I have to sit on kitchen chair or on the carpet because no sofa. Yes I sold my old ones, expecting a delivery of new sofa and loveseat. This is false representation, dishonest store and thief because not honest enough to say they didn't have the new ones on order and instead ship used ones that I never order.
Product_Or_Service: sofa and loveseat
Order_Number: sofa #XXXXXXX and lo
Account_Number: Invoice # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Like I said above, I already got the refund for furniture $977. plus delivery $80. -What I would like is them to land me a sofa until I buy new ones and not from their store of course, very bad service, never answer the phone, never say about old sofas and I don't trust them. -I want them to pay my day off from work $190. and my neighbor time off $200. who was for waiting for my furniture to be delivered 3/17. I am sending you copy of the letter signed by manager ***.

07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a chair from a ***** Affiliate at a great deal. They took the money, then called and said they couldn't get it
I ordered a recliner at Furniture Deal Outlet at a going out of business sale. The original price was just under $800. We got an amazing deal at $444 plus tax. There was a floor model that had a minor problem, so we asked if one could be ordered. "No Problem!" they said. The day after they closed, they called to tell us that the company no longer makes that chair. We asked if we could have the floor model. They claimed to have sold it to someone else. We were told that all we could do was contact ***** Furniture, which was their partner store. We went in and they refused to give us more than $25 discount on any furniture there. We went from buying a chair at 50% off to one that we didn't like nearly as much for $25 off. Very shady business practices between them and their affiliate.

Desired Settlement
I don't really know what can be done. If there is another chair that has reclining, heating and massage capabilities, I would like to hear how much they are asking for it now.

03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Childrens

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.