BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Italy 2000

(310) 649-2000View Additional Phone Numbers16715 Hawthorne Blvd, LawndaleCA 90260-3244http://www.italy2000.org

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Italy 2000 is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Italy 2000's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Italy 2000

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/05/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company does not fulfill warranty agreement. Damaged parts during install not replaced.
About 1 year ago, me and my wife purchased 2 bedroom sets from Ray in the Sherman oaks showroom. Then he promised me that all warranty issues let them do the legwork. We were very happy to hear that.

During the install, the installer damaged one of the drawers, causing the drawer not to fit correctly. He then claimed that the drawer's design was as such, nothing he could do. After he left we reviewed the issue and found he had installed a peg incorrectly damaging the wood. Furthermore he had installed one of the bed platforms upside down! We then contacted Ray asking for a replacement drawer to which he agreed.

During the period of one year, *** has told us various things from the shipping person cannot be contacted to he ordered the wrong drawer to will we take cash as a subtitute. Up to today he's still making promises to when he wants to fulfill this but has not yet delivered!

Desired Settlement
We just want the damaged drawer replaced.

Business Response
yes we did promise the warranty on the furniture but the furniture was damaged by the moving company that picked from Sherman Oaks CA to deliver it to San Fransisco that is something that MR. NG has to claim with the shipping company which he didn't but we did it from him and it takes time to get the parts from Italy which we finally received it 2 weeks ago and called the shipping company and changed the drawer from them at NO CHARGE

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was not stipulated by Italy 2000, the furniture was not damaged during delivery but during the white glove installation. He did not indicate that the warranty was separate from the delivery team when they arranged for the delivery service. Again I quote, "we do all the legwork" as stipulated when furniture was purchased. We had no interaction with the delivery company other than receiving a call from them to arrange date of delivery.

In fact I have gotten calls from the owner apologizing about this incident and admitting that they have dropped the ball on this.

Yes we have just gotten our replacement drawer, however, we do not like to be misrepresented in our statements nor do we appreciate them making it out to be our fault.

Final Consumer Response

07/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not get the furniture we ordered, and we are not getting a refund. Also concerned for the way the owner is yelling at us on the phone.
My husband and I flew to California to purchase a couch from Italy 200 in Fairfax *** N. La **** ******* ******** CA XXXXX. The couch was bought cash $2,400.00, as the store owner Ray insisted that we purchase with cash. Purchased on December 30th 2015. The couch was to come in a maximum of 3 months and arrives in 5.5 months (very late) on June 9th 2015. The couch arrived wrinkled, stitching is crooked, the material part has spots all over it (looks like it may be glue) and is missing the buttons on the couch. The buttons were in our invoice. We tried to resolve the issue with the business, they were ignoring us for a while. Today on 6/16/15 I talked to the store manager, ***, finally after calling them many times, and he was screaming at me on the phone the entire time. He said it is not his fault it is the fault of the manufacturing company and the moving company and that it is not his problem. I told him I would complain and he said he doesn't care, and that he isn't scared of our complain. This has been a nightmare. We are trying to have him take our couch back and return our money back. I fear calling him again as he is screaming at the top of his lungs at me and it's very unprofessional. The yelp reviews talk about the same type of behavior.

Desired Settlement
We would like our money back. We do not even want to discuss trying to get another couch as it took them almost 6 months to bring us the first one and it was obviously not the quality that we have seen in the store.

Final Consumer Response

The issue with Italy 2000 had been resolved . They returned the money and picked-up defected furniture.

Thanks, ****

12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business is not responding to efforts to resolve several issues: incorrect item delivered, another damaged item, missing items, promise to replace.
$13k order of several pieces placed 11/15. Delivery set for 12/13, Couch was missing one piece and believed to be floor sample, dresser with a large crack, buffet with broken piece and incorrect coffee table. Delivery notified "owner" ***** at that time. Contacted again on 12/15. ***** makes no efforts to resolve the issue, although he continues to promise to. Contacted again on 12/16 and notified of the major issues- missing piece to the couch and cracked dresser drawer. ***** called back on 12/16 indicated it would be another 2 months for the additional piece of the couch to arrive and that the piece was damaged and that is why it was not delivered. However, at the time of purchase the sales rep ******* indicated there was only ONE set. When we asked ***** if he sent us the floor sample, he indicated he has sold two others after our purchase and asked us to go and check the store. We went to the store and the sample was no longer there. The sample only had 5 pieces. Our order was for a 6 piece sectional, only 5 were delivered. He was notified we would like to return it. He indicated he would call back a day later with a pick up date and refund amount- not sure if we would get full refund. He has not returned our call. Email sent on 12/18, message left on 12/20 with **** and notifying him to let ***** know email was sent to main email from website, and call on 12/23. We were promised a call back on 12/18 with a pick up date. There have been 3 attempts to contact him after that.

We are not even focused on other issues such as unclear charges on the receipt. There seems to be overage charges on the items and the delivery. Delivery date was noted as "second week of December." When we contact him prior to the second week, it was EXTREMELY difficult to schedule a date. They even attempted to charge and additional fee as some of the items were not there and they had to make a second delivery. After much discussion, they agreed to 12/13. They did not provide a time until the DAY OF 12/13, causing a loss of 12 hour shift at work. Promised delivery from 5-8pm, arriving at 8:35pm.

it is also evident the floor sample of the couch was delivered to us after we specifically asked if it was a new couch. Following the order , we read a review on Yelp of a similar situation in which the consumer went to the store a day after delivery and noticed the floor sample was missing. Not only were we sent a floor sample, we were also not provided what we paid for. We paid for 6 pieces. Why should the consumer have to wait an additional 2 months for a promise and purchase we paid for and he did not deliver on.

The timing of this all also could not be worse. It is around the holidays and the purchase of new furniture, a large purchase of $13k in products, was all to have arrived by the holidays. I have never dealt with a business who is so unresponsive, insulting & most of all unethical. ***** and his staff have not worked to resolve the issues- expecting us to wait 2 months for the missing piece, not replacing the cracked drawer and not responding to our requests to return the couch. Every single time we have attempted to contact ***** the calls are screened and he is either with a customer or on the phone. He has returned only about 2 calls during this extremely frustrating time. We have contributed to his business and should not have to wait to resolve the issue, not have a quality product or not have the full product we paid for.

Desired Settlement
Full refund, including 9% sales tax on the couch. No charges for pick up/restocking since it is a floor sample etc. Expedited pick up of their couch as we not have to find another couch elsewhere.
Replacement of the cracked drawer. ***** indicated they would have to pick it up then bring back a replacement 2-3 days later. At this time, we cannot even get a response from him. I refuse to leave my drawer with him as he will not return a fixed product in a timely manner. He indicated he would have to deal with the manufacturer, but what he has to do behind the scenes should not be at the expense of his customer. He needs to provide a new drawer and switch it out for the cracked drawer.

There are other issues, such as suspected overrages, the incorrect coffee table, etc, However, I have focused on the MAIN issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Wholesale

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/30/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Wholesale

Alternate Business Names
Argamaan, Inc.- DBA Italy 2000

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Italy 2000

16715 Hawthorne Blvd

Lawndale, CA 90260-3244

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 16715 Hawthorne Blvd 

    Lawndale, CA 90260-3244(818) 762-2000
    (310) 649-2000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Italy 2000 is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (818) 762-2000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.