BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cemco Strength Equipment

(626) 443-3596View Additional Phone Numbers1816 Chico Ave, South El MonteCA 91733-2944http://www.cemcostrength.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Cemco Strength Equipment is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cemco Strength Equipment

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delivered wrong product and does not return phone calls or voice mails.
I paid for urethane plates and received rubber plates instead. Talked to **** ******* on the phone and he promised to send replacement. It's been over a month, no delivery, no product. **** ******* does not return my phone calls/voice mails. This company sells products they do not have in stock. Buyer beware. Horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement
I paid $675

Business Response
This customer received more then paid items as we sent out over $600 dollars of product to this customer. Back orders do happen, unfortunately we tried to make it right going way out of the way for this customer. Tracking number for all items shipped can be provided.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received bikes that did not meet the quality standards set by the company.
We have been in contact with Cemco regarding the purchase of 12 Schwinn AC Performance bikes with power monitors for a while now. We finally received them on Wednesday April 27th and to our disappointment, the bikes we received did not meet the standards that were laid out to us before purchase.

The company gave us two grade options including "used" for $600 a bike and "refurbished" for $825 a bike. We asked if they would make us a deal on 12 bikes to reduce the price to $708.33 per bike with an 85% prepayment wire transferred. We agreed because we had received the following explanation about both grade levels of bikes:

Items covered for 6 months include: bearings, brackets, frame, flywheel, drive system, etc.
Bikes that are used show signs of wear (we requested refurbished)
There will be (on used bikes) scratches, light paint detail, but NOT RUST ON BIKES.
All bikes will be tuned and serviced before shipped.
Both options include power monitors.

We expected the following based off of these details:
12 Schwinn AC performance bikes with power monitors
Refurbished condition
Tuned and serviced
NO RUST
6 months of insurance on bearings, brackets, frame, flywheel, drive system etc.
It was never explicitly said that refurbished would have signs of wear, so this did come as a surprise
Our power monitors would be serviced, hooked up and working

We received the following:
12 Schwinn AC performance bikes with monitors
Most monitors do not work at all and the few that do work only show RPM which suggests that these were not hooked up and calibrated, and do not have the power upgrade. The power monitors include an extra part that is not on the bikes. These cost another $250.
FULLY RUSTED and fraying braking systems that are loud when pedaling, fraying, and shouldn't even be in service.
Many screws are stripped and/or missing
The only service that was done to them that we can see is changing pedals/seats (that aren't even matching)/greasing chains
Significant cosmetic wear and tear including poor paint jobs, overspray from paint, bent and scratched handlebars, bent monitor arms, etc.

We were told that the quality of the bikes has never been an issue for other companies and that we shouldn't have expected brand new bikes. In further communication through email on May1st, the owner suggested that we had the option of re-manufactured and refurbished and suggested that we chose the lower grade level. This is false as we chose the higher grade level. Additionally in the descriptions given to us of the products and their quality for both grade levels, it was explicitly stated that bikes in both categories would be completely free from rust. Each and every one of our bikes has a completely rusted braking system and one cannot pedal without significant noise due to the poor shape of the brakes because of rust and subsequent fraying of the brake pads.

We have had a few conversations and emails regarding this issue and in every account the company has not taken ownership of the fact that the bikes all have rusted braking systems, and have come back multiple times saying that our expectations were unfounded.

The only solution that the company has suggested would be that we can ship them back and pay a 25% restocking fee, which we refuse because we shouldn't have to pay to return a product when the company did not deliver the product in the quality they laid out as expectation. The other solution was to not pay the final 15%, bringing our cost per bike to the "used" grade level price. This however, still doesn't account for the fact that no bikes were supposed to have rust on them, and the monitors should have been working, and the monitors were supposed to have power numbers, and this upgrade was left off the bikes.

This company took payment for a product and shipped something below the quality that they explicitly stated. I am shocked this company hasn't resolved the issue yet.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of $3041.04 which covers the cost of replacing the parts that do not meet the standards laid out by the company before payment. This settlement does not include specific labor costs either and is solely for the parts. We have chosen to ignore any of the other issues because of the challenge of quantifying them, as we aim for our proposed resolution to be fair and subjective.

Various missing screws, feet, etc. $15 per bike
Brake Adjustment **** (since rusted) $67.09 per bike
Brake Carriage (since rusted and frayed) $96.33 per bike
Issue with the power monitors $75 per bike- I think this is fair because you didn't clearly lay out either situation with the power monitors, however they are not working and you said they would be. The power upgrade would cost $250 per bike, but we've agreed on $75 as a reasonable amount for this fault.
Refund per bike: $253.42 per bike
Total Refund Requested: $3041.04

Business Response
Owner and Buyer have come to an agreement on this issue. This case is now closed.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We ordered 13 spin bikes on 3/13/14 that were promised to be delivered by 4/1. Rec'd bikes today and are not what we originally ordered.
On March 13, 2014 we spoke to **** at Cemco and ordered 13 Star Trac Spinner Pro spin bikes with the handle bars that hold water bottles to be delivered by April 1, 2014. We paid in full and the money was deducted from our Chase checking account via our debit card on March 17, 2014. On March 31st, we still had not heard from the company. I called on Monday, March 31st and spoke with ****. He stated that he was waiting on the handle bars and would call me back in an hour. I did not hear from him for the remainder of the day. I called back on Tuesday April 1st and spoke with **** again. I was told again that he was going to get the handle bars and would call me back in an hour. Once again, I did not hear from **** for the rest of the day. I did not hear from **** for two days. On Friday April 4th, ****'s brother, ****, called me and informed me that **** went into the hospital for an emergency appendectomy and that **** was handling our order. **** stated he made an executive decision to ship the bikes on Monday, April 7th because if they were shipped Saturday, the way the trucking business works is that it would take longer to get to us.
**** had called on Monday, April 7th 9:30pm EST and informed me that he was waiting for the trucking company to come as they were supposed to be there to pick up the bikes for shipment by 7:00pm PST and he would send us the tracking number. I woke up Tuesday morning to no tracking number. Both myself and my partner, ******, called and left messages at 7:00am and 7:30am EST. At 11:10am EST, ****** called the company and was told **** was busy. She informed the receptionist that she would call every 15 minutes until he was av0ailable. ****** called back 15 minutes later and spoke with ****. She inquired to the delivery of the bikes and was told by **** that they shipped on the evening of April 7th. ****** requested the name of the trucking company to call directly. ****** spoke with ********* at EDI Trucking and was told that there was no request for a shipment from Cemco Strength to Inspire Fitness in their system at all. While ****** was on the phone with *********, the trucking company received an email with the shipment request from Cemco for two palettes to be delivered to Sparta, NJ. ****** asked ********* is there was any way to expedite the delivery for Friday as we had already delayed class from starting on April 7th to April 14th due to the delivery of the bikes. ********* indicated she did. ****** then called Cemco back to inquire why we were told the bikes were picked up Monday night when they were not. She was on a conference call with **** and **** and expressed our concern as to the lateness of the bikes being delivered along with the delay in being told that they were waiting for the new handle bars. ****** informed **** and **** that each day we do not hold class, it cost us money.
On Friday, April 11th, we did receive a call from the trucking company that they were at our studio with our delivery. Upon opening the palettes, we discovered that we were missing 5 chain guard covers, missing 5 seat inserts and only 5 of the 13 bikes had handle bars and they were not the handle bars with the water bottle holders per our original order. We were never informed that the bikes would be missing all of these items even after being on the phone with both **** and **** for about 20 minutes on Tuesday morning. We immediately called **** at Cemco and **** informed us that the missing items and the wrong handle bars were being shipped separately. He denied that our original order was for the handle bars with the water bottle holders. **** is not honoring the original order agreement and is causing lost revenue to our business because we can't start our spin classes! These bikes are paid in full on March 17, 2014 and what we have sitting in our facility is not what we paid $9,373 for.

Desired Settlement
to be determined

Business Response
We worked with Inspire Fitness to the best of our abilities by communicating with them after we were informed of the issues. We immediately took care of any missing parts and issued ups tracking numbers for the items that weren't received. We didn't drag this out in circles and immediately answered to the request of Brian. Originally there was a misunderstanding as the bikes that were purchased from us were Star Trac Pro 6800 Remanufactured with no water bottle holders. These bikes Don't come with new edition handle bars. This company was given a projected delivery date but unfortunately due to back orders on bike parts we weren't able to meet their deadline. When customers contacted us we did our best to get the bikes delivered out that week. Transit time 3 days from Los Angeles to NJ. Efficiently we were able to deliver all parts which were missing within 2-3 days.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/28/2010
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales

Alternate Business Names
New Cemco Strength Eqpt Corporation, New Cemco Strength Equipment, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cemco Strength Equipment

1816 Chico Ave

South El Monte, CA 91733-2944

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1816 Chico Ave 

    South El Monte, CA 91733-2944(626) 443-3596
    (855) 232-3626

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cemco Strength Equipment is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 232-3626
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.