BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sunvalleytek International Inc

Fax: (408) 980-96992228 Junction Ave, San JoseCA 95131-1210http://www.sunvalleytek.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sunvalleytek International Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sunvalleytek International Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented by the Bureau.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sunvalleytek International Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reneged on promise to send return shipping & handling label and refund full purchase price of item.
Amazon.com and Sunvalley tek have reneged on promise to issue return label and to refund amount of purchase for defective headset.

by dealheroes


Order placed

March 25, 2013

Order Details Invoice
*Order #XXX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXX
*Recipient *****************
*Delivery Address:
*****************
************************* XXXXX-XXXX
United States
Phone: XXXXXXXXXX

*Total $24.59
Payment method was credit card

Purchase was made by my fiancé ******* as a gift to me; I need a headset for the part-time position I just began in July.
The headset has been returned and replaced at my expense once already, upon hearing that in a "chat" conversation w/a customer rep. I was promised when returning the headset the second time, I'd be issued a return label once they received the info. regarding the purchase from ******* (I did not have it at the time I was in the chat session with the rep.). Once I received the required info. I began to receive harsh, rude treatment and in the end I've been told the entire conversation that I had with the customer rep. has accidently been erased from the system, they have no record of it - well, because the last chat session lasted over THREE HOURS, I copied portions of it, so I can prove it existed. I think they stalled trying to wait out the return period because at several times, I offered to again return the item and pay for the return and was not given a return address. That is the issue now, they will not give me an address to which to return the item. Amazon says they've turned us over to Sunvalley tek who is the third party merchant to handle this but the email address from which we've corresponded is still an amazon address - ***@amazon.com
Now, Sunvalley is offering us $15 and we don't have to return the item. Following is the correspondence:

From: amazon amazon <******@sunvalleytek.com>
To: **** ******** <************@yahoo.com>
Sent: Sunday, September 15, XXXX XX:XX PM
Subject: Re: Return

Dear ****,

Thank you for your reply.
Since you have had the item for more than 3 months, we would like to refund $15 to you without return, will you be fine with that?

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us.

I declined this amount. I reminded them item was still under warranty when initial contact was made and that I'd already returned one item and paid shipping and handling and that the rep. promised me a return label. With the return label, we would not pay shipping and handling cost and get full refund, now if they allow us not to send item back, thus saving us shipping and handling (when we shouldn't be liable for it anyway)they only wish to refund a portion of the cost. I do not want that. I want a full refund. After the way they've dragged this on and lied and hid things - behaved in absolute unprofessional behavior, they should include an upgrade in headset along with my refund not take something away!!!
Amazon is a grand corporation with many umbrella companies- what is $25 (rounded off) to them?? Why are they giving us such a hard time?? We have a prime membership and are loyal customers. Upon initial contact, I'd requested that they apply the refund to another headset on their site that I'd already placed in my cart and we'd pay the remaining difference; I was still making the purchase from Amazon!! They have good items and great deals and I was not allowing one bad purchase to ruin future purchases - now, I'm not so sure :) but seriously, I'd just like a full refund. If they are so inclined as to send an upgraded headset for my inconvenience and their abhorable behavior, I'd greatly appreciate that as well.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund and an upgraded headset.

Business Response
We have issued a refund back to the customer on 9/18.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Computers - Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/10/2009Business started: 05/18/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 100952297 for this company.

Type: Board of Equalization / Resellers Permit

BBB records show a license number of C2989142 for this company.

Type: Department of Corporations

Check License Status: http://search.dre.ca.gov/integrationaspcode/C2989142

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2007, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Winnie Huang (Customer Service Manager) Allen Fung (Manager) Frank Sun (President/CEO)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Computers - Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

This company specializes in laptop and electronic accessories.

Alternate Business Names
Babatek, Hoo Too, Hootoo, Papatek, Sun Valley Tek, Sunvalley International, Inc, Sunvalley Tek, Sunvalley, Tek, Sunvalleytek, Sunvalleyus, US Adapter, Usadapter

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunvalleytek International Inc

2228 Junction Ave

San Jose, CA 95131-1210

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2228 Junction Ave 

    San Jose, CA 95131-1210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunvalleytek International Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.hootoo.com
  • http://www.sunvalleyus.com
  • http://www.babatek.com
  • http://www.papatek.com
  • http://www.usadapter.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.