BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2000

Fry's Electronics

Phone: (408) 487-1000Fax: (408) 487-1018

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

435 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 127 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues86
Billing / Collection Issues10
Delivery Issues13
Guarantee / Warranty Issues39
Problems with Product / Service287
Total Closed Complaints435

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (435)
01/22/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refuse to fix computer covered by warranty. They advised they refunded my warranty but cant prove any refund was ever made.
when computer was having issues the store advised i should go thru dells warranty the 1st year. I asked why and advised if they were not going to fix computer I wanted a refund on the warranty. I still had issues after the 1st year, spoke to corporate office & store techs, when they found out the harddrive was corrupted they refused to honor warranty and said they had refunded it to my credit card. I have email proof of this, when I asked for dates they refused to give me dates. they advised a gift card was issued in exchange for it and because of it, this nullifies my warranty even though I was never made aware of it. I think the district manager took it personally when I confronted him about his ethics and refuses to honor it. Doesnt indicate anywhere on the warranty that it becomes null and void if a gift card is issued and if it did, I would still have a valid warranty because I have no refund as of today 12/18/2014
PRODUCT PURCHASED:
ADDRESS OF STORE:
INVOICE NO:

Desired Settlement
The warranty clearly states that I will get a credit for the amount paid and this is also what the store clerk advised. I would prefer a check for the amount of 338.00 plus tax less the insurance amount

Business Response /* (1000, 5, *********** */
Customer's request for a refund was honored and is waiting for her at the store.
Thanks.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I made it clear to the District manager **** ******* that I would have my computer fixed, He advised that the my credit card was refunded on or about the 24th of August and that invalidated the warranty. I never received any credit, so my warranty is still valid. When I advised I never received any credit, they back pedaled and advised a gift card was issued , this was not our conversation and not agreed upon by me. I also advised Mr ******* that I was in the store discussing m y computer being fixed. He advised he could not explain this. So again I still have no refund as of today 1/1/2015 and we need to follow what the warranty indicates. If they can show me where in the warranty that a gift card issued with out my knowledge is considered a refund i would appreciate it. A refund should be a credit to my card or a company check. I have numerous emails and voice mails to prove my case.

Final Consumer Response
Dear Fry's, I am reopening this complaint because consumer is requesting a little more information. She is concerned that the gift card may not be for the amount she is requesting. Please read below and provide one final response. Thank you, ***** -BBB
.....
I purchased the two year warranty from Frys. It was for any thing that went wrong with the computer. It was faulty right away. I called Frys and they advised me to go through the original 1 year warranty thru Dell. I asked why did I purchase their warranty and if my warranty would take effect after the Dell warranty. They said ''no ''. I asked if I could have a refund of my warranty if they were not going to honor it. They refused and advised me to keep it since there may be trouble after the 1st year. I had several problems with it through out the year.
When I called Frys about the refund of the warranty and I may need that money to fix my computer they advised they would fix it. I said ok and I went to the store to advise that I have very important information on the computer from clients that can not be compromised. They advised me to back up my computer. this was on August 24th 2014. My Dell warranty ended on or around the 5th of September 2015. The district manager called me back after I had made a complaint about Fry's having me go through the Dell warranty and i thought it was fair to start my two year warranty at this time. He advised me that was not an option and they would fix it with in the year. Since Dell had been viewing my computer I asked them to send me a print up of what was wrong with it. They did and I called the district manger to advise that the hard drive was indeed bad and had been faulty from day one. It also was a return. I asked why I wasnt advised on this and he said Frys is under no obligation to disclose this information. Keep that in mind. I said ok well this is what Dell told me is wrong and I need it fixed. He then advised me that they had refunded my warranty and I was not entitled to get it fixed. He specifically said that my credit was credited on august 24th 2014. He also said he was giving me an additional credit to my card of $25.00. His exact words were that once the refund to the credit card goes through there is nothing they can do about it. I checked my credit card and no refund was made. He advised at this time his exact word '' OH UM oh yeah a gift card was issued to you and its been sitting in the office for you. I told him i was ever made aware of this and i had went into the store and they were making arrangements to fix my computer. He said I dont know why it wasnt given to you and why they offered to fix your computer. 'So I asked what amount the gift card was for he came back with an odd number $40.000.

I have a voice mail from the assistant manager on that day Ive been saving and he never mentioned a gift card. Th district manger advised he was prorating my warranty, But when I told him that Frys made me go through Dell the 1st year , they should at least refund the whole 100.00 of the warranty. I asked him to show me where the warranty states this as acceptable has since advised he will no longer answer my questions. I sent a registered letter to the bosses the *** s and ***** ******* They also refuse to acknowledge their wrong doing. I know the BBB has several complaints regarding their refusal to honor the warranty. Since the district manager advised me they dont have to disclose faulty merchandise why would I want to buy another item from there store. This is why I wont accept a gift card. I am in the right to complain, I had to send computer in three times and this next time I have to pay for it. I only had it a year. I will send the warranty in the next email and will forward emails that prove my case in dealing with Frys avoiding responsibility. also keep in mind that Frys holds their own warranty. They do not outsource , so when they explain that there is no way to reinstate the warranty is just baloney. Once again I need to know what they are trying to send me, Ii still dont know what they are offering me, Are they offering me the 338.00 in a gift card so I can buy a new computer.

******* *********
XXX-XXX-XXXX - Fax - XXX XXX XXXX


Final Business Response
According to Store Manager, we will issue a refund by check for full amount of $99.99(PSC's are not taxed), which will be mailed to her address.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had bought a radio at Electronic Fry's and purchased the service to have it installed for me at the store. They told me the installation came with a 90 Day Warranty at that point. However the installation wasn't properly done and the radio and my car's battery died causing me to have to buy a replacement battery and to repair the car. I returned to the store about two months later than when I bought the radio to use the warranty, however they said that the warranty was only for 3 weeks and refused to give me either a replacement radio, or my money back.
Product_Or_Service: Radio

Desired Settlement
I would a like a full refund of my money back from the radio and installation.

Business Response
**** ****** talked to *** *******.
Agreed on a refund for his purchase.
We will be submitting a damage claim
for the battery. *** ******* was very
please with these solutions.

08/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item offered with $24 rebate. Rebate not honored although all terms were submitted.
Item offered with $24 rebate. Rebate not honored although all terms were submitted. Advertisement states product Promotion: SI XX-XXXX ************ USB 2.0 to VGA. Claim ID: XXXXXXX. Order was placed online. Account: XXXXXXXXX. Order: FXXXXXXXXXXXX. Rebate requires purchase between 5/16 and 5/22. Purchase made 5/16. However, vendor will not honor date as valid. Vendor is committing fraud by denying my rebate.
PRODUCT PURCHASED:
ADDRESS OF STORE:
INVOICE NO:

Desired Settlement
my entitled $24 rebate.

Business Response
Check for amount of $24.00 will be mailed to customer's address.
Thanks.

06/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item offered with $7 rebate. Rebate not honored although all terms were submitted.
Advertisement states product (Rebate Item UPC number: XXXXXXXXXXXX) can be purchased to receive $7 PAT-XXXXX rebate. Order was placed online. Rebate requires proof of purchase. However, vendor will not honor online receipt documents as proof of purchase. No other documents are available other than the online receipt documents, so vendor is committing fraud by denying my rebate. Vendor site has a pdf of all the documents http://patriotmem.4myrebate.com/Claim/CheckRebateStatus/?zip=XXXXX&trackingnumber=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX , but still will not give me my entitled rebate.
PRODUCT PURCHASED:
ADDRESS OF STORE:
INVOICE NO:

Desired Settlement
$7 rebate

Business Response
Credit for amount of $7.00 has been issued to customer's account.
Thanks.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
credit received

04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello. Please help me! My son bought me a 32" flat screen TV from FRYS.COM. He received it on April 7th 2014. He brought it over to my apartment and hooked it up tested it for about 3 minutes, saw it was ok, left and went back to work. When I came home I turned the TV on and after being on for approx. 4 minutes it went mute. TOTALLY MUTE ON ALL CHANNELS. I turned it off then back on it was fine for another 3 or 4 minutes, then went mute again on all channels. I unplugged and tried different cable cords, different outlets and the same thing happened. I called my son who said he would come by Tuesday April 8th (the next day) to check settings, which he did. Found nothing wrong with settings but TV continued to go mute after a maximum amount of time of 15 minutes. He then took TV to his place and it continued to mute itself there. This is obviously a defective TV! He paid $119.00 for it. He called FRYS on Tuesday the 8th and told them of problem. They said to send it back but when my son told them he threw away the original box they basically said "too bad". He told them we have another box made for this tv to be shipped back in and they still said "too bad". Now as far as I'm concerned if I had bought this at Target, even without the original box they would still exchange for working product. Last time I checked it was still illegal to sell defective products in US. Here is info I have from packing slip FRYS.COM they list address of************** *********************. Phone # is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Can you please help us get either an exchange for working product or a refund? Again we have appropriate box for this TV to be shipped back in. I will even pay out of my pocket to ship it back. They are unwilling to even work with us simply because we do not have original box but yet they are getting away with selling obviously defective TV. If needed I can fax you all paperwork we have including email from them saying they are willing to work with us. But since Tuesday the 8th of April they are NOT willing to do anything. Please help us.
Product_Or_Service: RCA ***********
Order_Number: FXXXXXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
An even exchange for working product or all of my son's money back. Either one will do. we just want a working product for the same price he already paid.

Business Response
Customer was contacted, a return label was sent to her.
Thanks.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied if in fact FRYS.COM actually follows through with what they have promised which is full refund upon return of the TV. Which was shipped by UPS yesterday 4-29-14. I will let you know when this happens. If it doesn't within a reasonable amount of time I will contact you again. Thank you for all of your help!

Page 1 of 34
07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I CALL FRY.COM AT XXX-XXX-XXXX ON June 29 to find out how to deal with a problem I had with the wrong Microsoft word they sent me. I ask them to sent me a cd. After been put on hold for several min I explain my problem they told me several times they will call me back when they look in to it. I call back for several week to be disappointed when peter say, they going to keep the Microsoft word I sent back to them, and they was going to keep my money. I do not have the cd or my money. I ask how can you keep my money and Microsoft and I get nothing, they we call you. I order back in may it is July now. my order no. is fXXXXXXX
Product_Or_Service: microsoft word
Order_Number: fXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
money or cd

Business Response
Customer's account was credited for amount of $106.99, on 7/14/2015.
Thanks.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In February 2015 we purchased a Samsung Galaxy s4 phone which was supposed to be a brand new phone from Frys Electronics. We did not use the phone right away. Since this was a present we did not use this phone until April 2015 we activated the phone and and noticed the speaker was not working no sound would come out of the phone we kept using the phone in May 2015 we could no longer receive calls or make any calls. Phone slowed down and would shut down on its on. We took it to our phone carrier Metropcs to have it diagnosed. We were told the phone had been hacked or "rooted" (which we were told could possibly void the warranty with Samsung) so the diagnostic could not be completed and we had to go to the phone vendor. We were really baffled since this was supposed to be a brand new unlocked phone. We went to Frys and spoke to **** *** Wireless manager. They were very rude to us acted in a non-caring way and said they was nothing they could do. They informed us it was not their problem since we had gone past the 30 day return policy. We complained the phone apparently was not brand new as they sold it to us since it was apparent phone had been tampered with. They sold the phone to us knowing the warranty was not valid and the phone was defective. They refused to do anything or even exchange it. This is not right and no one should sell defective equipment and advertise it as brand new.
Product_Or_Service: Samsung Galaxy S4

Desired Settlement
We would like a refund or exchange for a brand new phone

Business Response
we will exchange the unit for customer.
Thanks.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a call from Terrence Lockhart, Store Manager at Frys Alpharetta location in GA last week to come by and get my phone exchanged for a brand new phone. I told him I had shipped the phone to samsung for repair and would bring it in when it came in I came by the store yesterday June 2, 2015 to have the phone swapped out. ******** was not available so the representative (Prosper he was very nice by the way unusual for me at Frys) called him for authorization to do the exchange. Prosper informed me he had reserved a phone for me which was an S4 like what I had but after seeing my receipt he did say the one I bought was no longer available and the one they had on had was more expensive so ******** had instructed him to give me my money back. I have to tell you I was very disappointed at this as I was expecting to get a brand new phone as a replacement as was promised to me by you and in Frys response to the better business bureau.

After all the trouble I had gone through I was expecting Frys to give me the other S4 even if the price was slightly higher as a goodwill gesture in compensation for my trouble. Yet I was given my money so I would go away with my problem that is how I felt. I dont think what Frys promised me in this response was fulfilled. Because I did forward Frys my receipt and Frys was aware of how much I purchased the phone for so if I walk in and the rep tells me "I have a phone reserved for you" I am expecting to go home with the phone. It has been weeks since this issue has been going on and Frys should have ensured I had a phone available for exchangeas promised in this response. I am now without a phone and several S4 accessories that I have no use for. I feel that the magnitude of what happened selling a used phone to a customer as brand new should not be taken lightly and I should be given a phone even a better phone as compensation. I do not think it was resolved as was promised to me.

Final Business Response
Customer came in today, and the phone was exchanged for the unit she wanted.
Thanks.

06/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertisements without having products.
Frys make false advertisements for products they don't have in hand for a lower price and have the customer wait for long period (Bait) and then offer different product (Switch) that are not comparable. Please check this link...
http://slickdeals.net/f/XXXXXXX-***-s-samsung-60-f7500-series-smart-led-tv-un60fXXXX-X-XXX-XX-open-box-and-demo-items-only

where not even a single person seem to have received the product. They refuse to replace with similar product that they have in stock. Managers make false promises and never follows up on the issue.
PRODUCT PURCHASED:
ADDRESS OF STORE:
INVOICE NO:

Desired Settlement
Requesting to fulfill the order with the same product and for the same price. If that product is not available then replace it with the comparable one and not a lower end models that they try to push it. The comparable models are ********* or **********

Business Response
Customer has been contacted, working with customer to find a replacement unit.
Thanks.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered brand new UNDAMAGED Energy RC70 speaker; Received a DAMAGED speaker unit; Request Frys to RETURN the unit free & issue FULL refund;
Bought Energy RC70 Speaker - Brand New Undamaged as advertized on Frys.com
Order Number: FXXXXXXX
Order Date: APR 02, XXXX XX:XX AM
E-mail: *************@yahoo.com
Shipped on Apr XX XXXX
Delivered On: Thursday, 04/24/2014 at 4:55 P.M.
Tracking #: 1ZWXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

The box was damaged when I got it.
Unpacked the box to find the speaker is damaged as well.
The box was infact apparently a customer return and was sold as new to me.
There were items in the box that had been opened.
I called the 800 number the weekend I opened the speaker. The 800 number said they cannot issue the refund and return the unit. Instead that they will open a case with UPS and that they will issue refund only after UPS accepts responsibility for damage.
As a customer, I DID NOT ASK FRYS to use UPS. I DID NOT unsufficiently package the speaker. FRYS contracted to UPS and FRYS packaged the item inadequately. How is this my issue. Why am I being made to suffer whrn the issue is between UPS and Frys.
All I am asking in return for all the misery i have already gone through is for FRYS to return the speaker with paid shipping and issue me a full refund.

Desired Settlement
(1) Free return of the unit
(2) FULL REFUND to the originl form of payment - $370.99
This has been an extremely stressful dealing for me with Frys but I will leave it at that.

Business Response
We have left four voice mail messages, customer should contact us on ***************
Thanks.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we bought a tablet and paid 50.00 for a 2 year warranty. purchased it on feb 11, 2014. The salesperson who sold us the product said, "This is the newest and best on the market and if you buy this warranty and should happen to have any problems with it, we will replace the product or give you instore credit. Guess what, that didn't happen. Had it 3 months and approximately 2 weeks. They sent it in for repair and said if it doesn't work they will send it back again. Sounds like they don't expect it to really work!!!!
Product_Or_Service: Idea Usa 9.7" tablet

Desired Settlement
we would like a store credit so we can purchase another brand. this is the second time we had to return this brand. The first one we had one day and it didn't work, so took it back and they gave us the same brand and said "That was the old model, this is the new one and we have had no returns on it." We have bought numerous electronics from Frys electronics but will not buy anything else from them.

Business Response
Customer was contacted, once the unit comes back from the Service Center, we will give customer store credit for the old unit, store credit can be used for different model.
Thanks.

Page 1 of 54

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Equipment - Service & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.