BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2008

Sage Personal Finance

Phone: (800) 516-2759Fax: (888) 733-50474043 Contera Rd, EncinoCA 91436-3601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We offer the second required course for individuals going through bankruptcy. We have been in business since 2005 and have been approved by the Dept. of Justice to offer the course in all states.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2008

BBB has determined that Sage Personal Finance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sage Personal Finance's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sage Personal Finance

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently filed bankruptcy. I received a letter from Sage Personal Finance stating that I must complete debtor education. This was in addition to credit counseling. However, this requirement had already been paid for (to my attorney) when I filed bankruptcy. I finished the course, and the certificate (which is generated immediately) went to me and my attorney. At this time, my attorney advised me that I should demand my money back. I'm pretty non-confrontational and I usually do not ask for my money back. However, I am in a financial bind already (or I wouldn't be filing bankruptcy), and the company represented themselves as if this was something set up through my bankruptcy that was required of me. I paid 35.00 online to complete the course. Their refund policy states that if you are not completely satisfied, we will provide a full refund (up until your certificate is generated), which, again, is immediately after completing the course. I called their customer service department on 7/15/2013 and requested a refund. I was told what their refund policy was, which pretty much meant I was just out of luck. I believe this company misrepresents itself and takes advantage of people who are in a bad situation already. I would like a full refund for this course. It seems like this company is fairly reputable, it has the BBB accredited business logo on their letter. Again, I am just very dissatisfied and would like a complete refund. They also put a code on the letter that you could enter at checkout and save $7.00. I entered the code, however, did not save $7.00 I paid the full price of 35.00.
Product_Or_Service: debtor education online class

Desired Settlement
35.00

03/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Educational Consultants, Online Education

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/02/2005
Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Principal: Dr. Allison Geving (President)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Educational Consultants, Online Education

Products & Services

We provide the second bankruptcy course by phone and internet 24/7 and deliver certificates immediately; course is in English/Spanish with no possibility to fail; unlimited access to course material; U.S. based customer service available 7 days/week.

Refund and Exchange Policy

We have a money-back guarantee--a full refund is provided up until certificates are delivered; once certificates are delivered, no refunds are provided.

Service Area

Nationally

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sage Personal Finance

4043 Contera Rd

Encino, CA 91436-3601

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4043 Contera Rd 

    Encino, CA 91436-3601(800) 516-2759

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sage Personal Finance is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Educational Consultants

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.