BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/04/2009

Elite Merchant Solutions

Phone: (866) 822-2378

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues7
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
05/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to cancel credit card processing account as requested, continue to be billed.
On 4/7/15, I phoned the 800 number at Elite Merchant Solutions to cancel my credit card processing account.
The representative told me that she could not take the request and that I would need to speak to the sales representative.
She transferred me to "*****" . When I told him I was cancelling he became increasingly upset to the point of becoming belligerent, but eventually stated that "he would take care of it" and hung up on me.
I continue to be charged from Merchant Choice Payment solutions for fees, as they stated that they never received notice that the account was closed.

Desired Settlement
I want the following charges credited:
4/15 $19.95
5/15 $19.95
5/4 $10 gateway billing
5/1 $4.99 Elite billing

Business Response
Elite was in contact with **** ******** today via email and phone. This has been resolved and Elite will be refunding what the merchant has requested in good faith to resolve this matter. Funds will be in the merchants bank account on record in 24-48 hours.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My account has been credit for the amounts requested and the matter has been resolved to my satisfaction.

02/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After terminating our contract with this business, calling and writing, they continue to draft unauthorized fees from my bank account.
In early 2014, my company started looking into moving to a Quickbooks platform for credit card processing. We were using our own machine and had Elite doing our processing into US Bank, merchant number XXXXXXXXXXXX. I attempted to contact Elite as I assumed they had a platform that we could use to integrate into the QB system. At that time, my intent had been to continue using Elite's services, or at least obtain a price quote.

My phone call inquiry began on 1/3/2014. I spoke with *****, explained my needs and was told that my account representative, ******* was the only individual that could assist me. She assured me that ****** would return my call by 5:00pm. He did not call. I called again on 1/6/2014 and again ****** was unavailable. This was repeated on 1/10/14. By then I had decided that my business was obviously not important to Elite so called to cancel my service altogether. I finally spoke with ****** on 1/13/14 and was told by ****** that my my merchant processing would cease through Elite.
I called on 1/21/14 to verify the closure of my account. ******* told me that ****** was unavailable, but he would have ****** call me to verify my account status as being closed. I received no phone call. I called on 1/27/14 and ***** assured me that both ******* and ****** would get back to me to verify the closure of my account. ****** did call me at 2:15 on 1/27/14 to assure me that he had submitted all of the required paperwork on 1/21/14 so I should see a bank credit by 1/31/14. I did not.

I did not check my account for a few months, then in July noticed that a charge from Elite was still showing up. A little research showed me that the charges had never stopped.

I decided to try a new tact and called as a new prospective business client. This effort allowed me to speak with **** who drafted a cancellation agreement for me and sent it in. At least I thought. I have a copy of the letter he requested I send with the fax number to send it to.

The monthly draft from my account has not stopped. I have a stop payment confirmation that I had to purchase from US Bank for $39.00 to block any further attempts at drafting money from my bbusinesses account.

I sent a certified letter with all supporting documents to the President/CEO of Elite with an explanation and a request for reimbursement of this payment. I received no response.

Thi company has no business being in business.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be reimbursed for all of the fees incurred since trying to cancel this contract-fulfilled service. $39.00 for the stop payment fee as well as the monthly $4.99 for the months of February through September, 2014 totaling $44.91.
The grand total I am seeking is $79.91.

My time would be a nice compensation as well!

Business Response
First and foremost I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this merchant has experienced as customer service is the backbone of our companys long history. I cannot verify the complaint by the merchant with respect to nobody returning calls but can say that this is certainly not the way we do business. I do see the account was closed August 15th 2014 at which time all billing ceased. In good faith we will gladly refund $79.91 the merchant is requested and sincerely hope this satisfies any and all issues the merchant has with respect to this case. At this point if the merchant would kindly reply to this message with all of the current contact information we will issue a check immediately.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am glad to have received a response, and appreciate the apology. Furthermore, I am pleasantly surprised to be told that my request for financial reimbursement is being fulfilled.
I am not certain what information is needed, so will do my best to provide what seems logical.

Barry W. Leeder, Inc.
DBA Collection Plus
**** ******** **** Ste H
*********** CA XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
merchant# XXXXXXXXXXXX

05/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled our contract with the listed business in Aug 2013. Business sill continues to auto-debit our bank account for service fees to this day.
We have many e-mails since August 2013 when we cancelled our contract with Elite Merchant Services. We have been e-mailing **** ** their Vice-President and have made multiple phone calls with multiple representatives (09/13, 10/13, 11/13, and multiple times in January 2014) assuring us that the matter would be taken care of immediately. We have been been attempting to resolve this matter since August 2013 with no results. We are just told the same script repeatedly over the telephone and are charged and auto-debited from our bank account for their monthly service fees which we cancelled.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting all service fees debited from our account after our service cancellation ($319.40),$200 for our staff time and resources relating to this matter and a written explanation from Elite explaining why our matter was not resolved in their promised timely manner.
Total dollar request: $519.40.

Business Response
The merchant signed a merchant services agreement and schedule A listing all rates and fees. All fees were billed according to the schedule A and agreed upon by the merchant. This account was closed upon merchants request. After reviewing the file I am going to refund the early termination fee as a courteousy in the amount of $495.00. All the other fees associated were based on the merchants payment processing activity.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted for credit card services. Severed contract in Dec. 2012. Continues to have bank debits monthly for PCI Compliance.
I am the owner of Mountain Comforts in Oakhurst, CA. On March 20th, 2012 I contracted with Elite Merchant Solutions for our credit card services. When I contracted for these services I was told that the contract would be on a month-to-month basis and therefore I could end the contract at any time without penalties. In October of 2012 I signed a contract with World Pay for credit card services and their representative, who had previously been my Elite Merchant Solutions representative, was to contact Elite Merchant Solutions, but I continued to have both credit card processing fees and PCI compliance fees debited from my bank account by Elite Merchant Solutions. I then faxed Elite Merchant Solutions a letter on December 10th, 2012 stating that we were canceling our services with them and followed it up with a phone call to ****. My bank account continued to be debited for PCI Compliance fees ($4.99/month). I did not realize this was happening until I was reconciling my bank account in June 2013 and found that my bank account was debited $79.00 in May for annual renewal fees. I called Elite Merchant Solutions and was told that I needed to speak with **** and was given his voicemail. I left him a message stating that I had ended the contract in December and had $108.94 in charges debited from my bank account since January. I asked for both a refund of that amount and to stop having the PCI compliance fees debited from my bank account. In July and August Elite Merchant Services again attempted to have the PCI compliance fees debited from my account, but I was able to stop the debit from occuring. At this point I am having to go to my bank on the first of each month to stop the debiting of fees.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of the $108.94 which was debited from my bank account between January 2013 and June 2013. I am also asking that Elite Merchant Solutions stop any further debits from my bank account.

05/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
your company charged much more than we have agreed on phone in October 2013.We e-mail you you ask you to cancel it on 1/9/2014.You still charge us.
My wife and I have a Acupuncture clinic business for many years, Last year we decide to accept credit card from our patient. On the phone conversation with Elite merchant solutions'rep Javier Iraheta,he told us that each credit card transition is 1.99% of the charge amount plus$0.10,and $10.00 monthly fee.After we signed up, we found out the charges are much more than they had said. So far we collected$240.0(12/23/13),$80.0(1/6/14)total$320.0 and their charges are$10.0(11/4/13),$109.7(12/2/13),$40.16(1/2/2014),$35.83(2/5/14),$495.0(2/7/14) total$690.69.I call many time and left many messages then I e-mail them on 1/9/2014 ask them to cancel the agreement ,but they e-mail me saying that we have signed a 3 yeas term and there's$350.0 terminate fee.I e-mail them and told them that I did not see anything saying it's 3 years contract,and I want to stop any business with Elite merchant solutions.However that did not stop them from collecting money from our bank account.We like to stop this very costly mistake before it gets worse.

Desired Settlement
I like to get all the money ($690.96) that they have taken from my account back.

Business Response
We have tried to educate the merchant on how Visa and Mastercard transactions work with respect to the various rates. The merchant has a qualified rate of 1.99% and .10 per transaction however if the merchant accepts a corporate card, rewards card to name a few the rates are higher. This is not something Elite nor any payment provider controls it is governed by the card associations Visa and Mastercard respectively. We have pointed out that you can get a list of the interchange rates for each card on their respective websites mastercard.com and visa.com. What the merchant is asking of Elite is to pay their cost of accepting credit cards which we simply cannot do as we would be out of business if we did that. With respect to the early termination fee this is pretty standard in our industry to have a three year agreement and an early termination fee if cancelled before the three years. We would be more than willing to work with the merchant with respect to this fee. Elite Merchant Solutions has been in business for 12 years with an A+ rating from the BBB and been given numerous awards for outstanding service. We take customer complaints very seriously and strive to resolve any and all complaints with complete satisfaction of the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The agreement I signed with Elite Merchant solution on XX-X-XXXX absolutely did not state 3 years contract with early termination fee. On X-X-XXXX I asked them to cancel the agreement and requested a copy that stated early termination fee with my signature on it and I had never received that copy.On 2-7-2014, Elite Merchant Solution charged $495.00 from my account for termination fee. The total amount of $690.69 that was charged by Elite Merchant Solution was for 2 transitions of total $320.00 in 3 months.This might be the way your company doing business, however, to me this is not a fair and right business. I believe anyone doing business should be honest and truthfully to there customer.I certainly not feeling it with Elite Merchant Solution.$690.69 may not a big money to Elite Merchant Solution, it is big to a small business. Please refund.

Final Business Response
It is quite obvious the merchant is not being genuine in their response nor has any interest in closing this case. As detailed in prior rebuttal the money was refunded already and this would show up on their May 2014 statement. I further let the merchant know in my rebuttal i will be happy to provide all the backup and documentation but cannot attach to the response as the BBB site is public. Instead of pointing to the fact how can we credit an account in May when it was closed in February the merchant should be simply looking in their bank account to see the credit was issued. The fact is although an account is closed in our system we are still able to submit refunds and other transactions that occur on that account. When we submit a refund it goes to the checking account on file for that account. Once again if the merchant would like the backup please provide me with a fax number and I will have it sent. Additionally, please confirm the refund hit your account in the timeframe i provided in previous rebuttal. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract I signed had absolutely no indication of 3 years early termination charge. However, I would accept the refund of $495.00 early termination charged on X-X-XXXX plus the questionable charge of $109.70 on 12-2-2013.

11/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are removing from my business bank account $4.99 and $19.95 monthly. I have cancelled our account
they are still removing money from our account as I have not given them permission to back door my office computer. I have cancelled out account however they still continue to remove money from our account. They will not let me speak to a supervisor or stop removing money from our business checking account.

Desired Settlement
I want all the money they have removed from our account given back to us.

Business Response
This merchants account was recently closed as requested. Regarding the $4.99 and $19.95 fees that were previously withdrawn from the account, those were for PCI. These fees are an industry standard which is designed to assess merchants vulnerability within their payment processing hardware/software to potential hackers. Over the past five years merchants getting hacked have been a big issue and continues to be a big problem. We advised the merchant on several occasions if she does not want to become PCI compliant she would have to opt out of the program. She didnt want to OPT out of become PCI compliant even after discussions as to the tremendous financial exposure to her business if she were to get hacked. As stated above this account has now been closed thus any fees including PCI fees will not be assessed moving forward. I strongly suggest the merchant get PCI compliant as the risk of not doing so could put a merchant out of business. I hope this resolves this issue.

11/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were wrongly billed for some new account fees. They promised to refund the $328.28 to us but never did.
Elite Merchant Solutions (EMS) has been our credit card processor for the last 2.5 years. I recently contacted them in mid July of this year to see if our rates could be improved since I had received quotes from other processors that would save us money. I corresponded with ******* Mosquera at EMS and he suggested that we sign a new contract that would be month to month and they could lower our rates. I specifically asked him if this would cause us to be charged anything and he said no, everything would stay the same except for the rates. He said there would be no new sign up fees or new account fees. Within the next few days we started seeing fees/amounts being taken from our checking account. I attempted to contact **** and EMS multiple times to see what these charges were. I was frustrated with the situation since I was given false information and told them I wanted to just stay with our existing contract. On September 4, 2014 I signed a form from EMS so that they could return these wrongly charge fees of $327.28 to our checking account. **** said they would hit our account in a couple days. The money never came so I called **** and he said they would show up on our next statement. I waited for that until October 4, 2014, but the returned fees were not there. I called **** and he said he would look into it and call me back right away. I haven't heard from his since. Each time I call I have to leave multiple message and emails before they give me a response.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking that Elite Merchant Solutions return the $327.28 that was wrongly taken from our checking account.

Business Response
Please see below as to what transpired and I am confident we will resolve this with the customers full satisfaction. The merchant contacted *******, the account executive and advised him of some competitor pricing. ******* was able to extend the preferred pricing to the merchant which required the merchant to switch platforms. The merchant agreed and when converting we advised the merchant we needed to setup new authorize.net accounts which is how they process their payments. The merchant was hesitant but when advised he would have to do this with any comapany he switched to he agreed to move forward with the change. When our IT departement contacted him to move forward with the conversion he asked to have **** call him back at which time he decided not to move forward. The authorize.net account creations have a cost associated with them including the setup fee charged by authorize.net which is passed ******* to the merchant. Based on this his account was charged by authorize.net directly and not Elite. That being said, if the merchant already had an authorize.net account which he did we could have these amounts credited. **** has called the merchant yesterday and today to try and rectify this situation and thus far has not heard back. If the merchant would call **** at a convenient time we will ensure he is made whole and credited. This appears to be an unfortunate situation where there is some miscommunication but rest assured Elite will do everything to ensure the merchant is satisfied and made completely whole. Jeffreys contact information is XXX-XXX-XXXX and merchant can either ask for him by name or his extension is 218. I left out his last name for privacy concerns given this information can be viewed by the public. The merchant can identify himself with his business name and/or merchant ID which will allow our operators to transfer the call to him. We look forward to a quick and satisfactory resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept when the money has been returned. The most recent contact I have had with anyone at Elite was yesterday, 10-15-14, and today. Elite is now saying that the money has not been returned because an authorize.net account needs to be closed. This was never mentioned before. They are unsure of when the return will actually hit our account.

Final Business Response
As stated before we have processed the request for refund to authorize.net. Elite is also waiting for our refund as well since the merchant never actually used the service. Authorize.net is a third party gateway and we must adhere to their policies. The following is what we received today. As you can see the merchant has already been refunded for one of the setup fees and the others are funding.
Gateway id- XXXXXXX- XX.00 set up fee end of month
Gateway id XXXXXXX- refund pending 115.38 at end of Oct month
Gateway id XXXXXXX- refund pending 13.87 at end of Oct month
Gateway id XXXXXXX- XX.00 set up fee already refunded.
If this were in the hands of Elite we would have refunded immediately however as stated we are out money as well until getting refunded for additional setup costs they charge. In conclusion one setup fee has been refunded, and the rest will be refunded at the end of the month and this case will be closed. We appreciate the merchants patience in this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will accept when the money is returned. They never told me that the authorize.net account needed to be closed until after I filed the complaint.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I originally spoke with Sheena when setting up account and stated i did not want to be in contract but was put in a contract unknowingly!
I explained to Sheena that i had an issue with the prior processing company and absolutely wanted to use my own terminal that was still new. I for some reason could not use it and they had to send me a terminal which they said was required but I am not sure if that triggered me being placed in a a 3 year contract. all signatures were e-signatures and no where was it written that i was entering into a 3 year contract which was contrary to all discussions had with Sheena.

Desired Settlement
I do not want to be held to a contract that i did not agree to. The way electronic signatures are received, does not allow you to know what your initials are agreeing to.

Business Response
Our retention department reviewed the notes on this account and this complaint has no validity. The merchant signed a merchant agreement which is three years like the most of the payment processing industry.The merchant never purchased a terminal from Elite but rather it was loaned at no charge for as long as she continued to process with us. Further, her current terminal was no longer supported on our networks for security reasons. The terminal we provided was a far better terminal then she was currently using and met all the current security requirements dictated by the various processing networks. Further, we let her out of her agreement with no early termination fee so we are scratching our heads here at Elite wondering what the complaint the merchant is making here. A rep will be contacting her immediately to discuss this matter and why they would have filed a complaint. Further we will be demanding a full retraction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke to ****** and she did state that she never charged me a termination fee. So I stand corrected that i was never charged a termination fee. I sent a letter in April 2014 detailing my discussions with ****** but didn't realize that I was not going to be charged a termination fee per the letter submitted. I sent the complaint immediately after submitting the letter to the processing company.



Final Business Response
Please see notes with the rep that reached out to the merchant this morning:
I called this merchant and spoke with her and explained to her that even though she was in a contract I waived her cancellation fee. She just sent back the terminal. I spoke with her and explained to her she was never charged and she agreed to let BBB know that she is satisfied.

04/25/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card - Merchant Services, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.