BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bayview Construction and Design

Phone: (831) 917-0903Fax: (831) 659-2735PO Box 222079, CarmelCA 93922-2079http://www.bayviewca.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Bayview Construction and Design is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bayview Construction and Design's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bayview Construction and Design

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund my $1275 I paid and removed the toilet, tile, grout.
Contractor has refused to do anything about the poor workmanship.

Desired Settlement
Remove the tile, grout and hall away the material, plus reimburse me my $1275 I paid.

Business Response
Mr. ****** originally contacted us to do this job for him in early October 2015. We bid the job and didn't hear from him again. In January 2016 he asked us to again bid a job for him. This bid was changed 3 times by Mr. ****** in an attempt to reduce the costs. Each time, removed items from the original bill in hopes to get the costs significantly reduced. Mr. ****** finally agreed to the bid in early March 2016 and we scheduled the installation for March 14, 2016. We were only contracted to install the tile, grout, toilet, a small grout repair in the shower and set the sink in its' place on the countertop. Mr. ****** removed the plumbing from the contract as well as installation of the sink, back splash and mirror. We showed up on the 14th of March for the installation and were told that the ******'s had not purchased all of the materials needed to complete this installation as previously discussed. Our technician then had to go and pick up additional materials to complete the installation. Mrs. ****** had selected the grout color and asked our technician to pick it up, he did as she requested. As our technician was completing the tile installation, he was watched over by Mrs. ****** the ENTIRE time. Once the tile installation was completed, Mrs. ****** called our office to complain about the grout color she selected. Stating that she didn't like the color against the tile. Please note, we did not select the materials and only installed what we were asked to. 20 minutes later, Mr. ****** showed up in our office stating that Mrs. ****** didn't like her selection on the grout and wanted it changed. He stated, he wouldn't pay for this change and that if she wanted it, she can pay for it out of her own pocket. A few days later Mr. ****** came in claiming poor workmanship and requesting a reduced bill. We lowered his bill from $1,710.00 to $1,275.00, he begrudgingly paid his bill. Two days later he called again demanding that ***** come to his house for a site visit to see the poor workmanship. Claiming the grout was uneven and coming out in places. ***** went to his home for a site visit two days later and was appalled to find that Mr. ****** had taken a permanent marker to the tile and grout. He drew all over them and inside the grout lines which destroyed the work which was performed. He's now requesting we remove the product he damaged and a full refund. Since then, Mr. ****** has called and threatened our office several times. He's been asked not to contact our office or stop by any more. Attached please find the pictures showing the defects caused by Mr. ******. Please also note that the materials purchased by ****** were of poor quality.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The person I communicated with is ***** which I presume is the office manager. I never made any threats to their office. I was always professional on the phone and when I visited their place of business. The only way I could get ***** to schedule an appointment with ***** to view the tile job was to tell her I would seek litigation to resolve this matter. ***** needs to evaluate the workmanship of his employee. The ceramic tile was purchased from a Monterey Tile and Marble. The issue is not the color of the grout, but the fact that the grout lines ranges from 1/32, 1/16, and !/8 of an inch. Tile spacers were not used even though Mrs. ****** asked **** why he wasn't using tile spacers. **** made no response. The list of supplies that their worker purchased, listed spacers at a cost of $25 from Homedepot. When I told ***** he didn't use spacers, ***** deducted that amount from my bill. ***** evaluated the workmanship with *****. ***** took his thumb nail and scrapped some of the grout loose which I complained was coming loose. I marked 7 tiles with a Black "X" that were higher or lower than the adjoining tiles to show *****. The black lines on the grout was to show ***** the irregular grout lines. The black "X" or black lines did not damage the tiles or the grout lines.
Mrs. ****** was present while **** was installing the tiles, because she was making sure the pattern went in the same direction.

Bayview charges $62@ hour. **** logged 15 hours on my job which is a total of $930. To resolve this issue I am requesting Bayview remove the tile, grout, backerboard, haul away these items and reimburse me $930.oo. This is what I wanted to discuss with ***** when my appointment was cancelled with ***** on April 13, 2016 and ***** told me not to come to the office anymore.

Sincerely yours,
****** ******

Final Business Response
Mr. ******'s timeline is inaccurate. The threat of litigation was made after Mr. ********* visited the site. Mr. ****** wanted immediate payment for what he felt was incorrect. The bottom line on this situation is that the ******'s disagreed about the grout color AFTER it was installed. They don't want to pay for this to be corrected and are therefore attempting to force Bayview to pay for this issue with the threat of litigation for non compliance of their requests. This is EXTORTION. There were no complaints of the workmanship UNTIL they had to pay. The only complaint was that Mrs. ****** didn't like the grout color she chose. The job was based off of a bid, not an hourly agreement. Bids include the cost of materials we supply. The cost of the spacers was not deducted from the bill as Mr. ****** states. We ask that you close this complaint as it is fraudulent.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/30/2010Business started: 04/16/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 963118 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 07/31/2017.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/LicenseDetail.aspx?LicNum=963118

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2011, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Erick Meyenberg (President)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Bayview Construction & Development, Inc
LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bayview Construction and Design is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.