BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bay Area Energy Group

(408) 359-7470901 Laurel Wood Rd, Santa ClaraCA 95054

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Bay Area Energy Group is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Bay Area Energy Group's rating include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Factors that raised Bay Area Energy Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bay Area Energy Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bay Area Energy Group remodeled my kitchen and all cabinetry in my home. I have over $20,000 in damages pending.
January 12, 2013 I contacted ***** ****** who represents and works for Bay Area Energy Group to provide an estimate to build a new kitchen for my house. We signed the contract (which has the license, Workers Comp and other information of Bay Area Energy Group) early February and ***** started work. In March/April we ask to have all the cabinets in the house, their fixtures and granite tops to match the kitchen. ***** provided us estimate on his forms called Affordable Kitchen. Upon payment either towards the contract or further estimate was provided on Bay Area Energy Groups receipts. ***** did not show up all the time and made erroneous excuses. His workmanship was very poor and we decided to fire him. Providing Bay Area Energy Group a second chance to remedy the situation, we contacted ***** ****** and ****** ******** (Owners of Bay Area Energy Group) to come and ***** our issues n July 2, 2013) They uncovered many stupid issues including electricity sockets not grounded, sub-zero fridge not anchored, damage to our front doors, all faucets and fixtures loose, speaker wire used for cabinet lights, damaged front doors, destroyed new carpet because ***** nearly never covered it, water pipe leaking under one of the new cabinets and much more.

***** wrote me an email saying "*****, rest assured we are committed to giving you a product that you can be proud of (July 22, 2013). ****** wrote me an email stating "...I want to assure you that we are committed to completing your home to your satisfaction. ***** and I will be sure to meet you to address all of your concerns as soon as possible. Thank you for allowing us to complete your job and rest assured we will make everything right" (July 18, 2013). They were appalled by the workmanship. They had other employees come to my house (*** and *****) and **** and electrician to start fixing things. They also contacted Todd Kruger a master craftsman to come to my house, assess damaged and draw pictures of finished products for us to approve. ***** and ******, to make things right with us also offered non=gratis a new heating and air conditioning system, clean all our air ducts, vacuumed out our attic and reinsulated and installed an attic fan. We did not ask for these things but they wanted to make things better. The last email I received from ***** was July 24, 2013 confirming we had another meeting with ****** and Todd.
Through the remained of the year I sent emails and texts that were unanswered. I finally received a call from Todd stating that all my correspondence were to go through him. Then by November I am told we should wait until the turn of the year. Baffled and stupid on my part, I continued to agree to their delays.
January I threatened to take action if they did not get back to work on my house and fulfill the promises outlined in their emails. January 21, 2014 a ******* ****** from Bay Area Energy Group came to my house with **** ******* He said that Bay Area Energy Group had only received one check against the contract. (Weird, I have receipts from Bay Area Energy Group provided by ***** Bolden showing all my payments and on time). (You make your own assumption as to what ***** did with the money). Then with direct intimidation and calling me "Dude", Tinker said I only have two choices. Sign over all my rights, destroy our current contract and write a new one (where I would have to pay for all fixes) or he threatened to take me to court. (By the way, the documents were already written and signed by BAEG and brought to this meeting.) I can show you when you come visit my home. Did I forget to tell you that during August through December that ***** and ****** were selling Bay Area Energy Group to someone else? I found that out on Tinkers visit January 21, 2014 also.
In February 2014 I hired someone from the California contractor's license board to assess my situation and received a report indicating that my $50K investment has over $22,000 worth of damage.

Desired Settlement
It seems that the moneys I gave to ***** ****** the original contractor did not pay Bay Area Energy Group although I received receipts on Bay Area Energy Group letterhead. I want all payments made to ***** ****** paid back to me plus an additional sum $22,000 to repair all damages. This amount from estimate given by the former contractor of the Contractors License Board dated February 21, 2014

Business Response
In or around January 2013 Mr. ************* approached ***** ******* a part time employee of Bay Area Energy Group who also owned his own business known as LB Constructs, about replacing his kitchen cabinets. ***** quoted him $23,817 which Mr. ************* agreed to. Mr. ************* wanted to use a licensed company for insurance reasons. We allowed ***** to work the job through Bay Area Energy Group. The scope of work was for cabinets and granite and touch ups. The contract that Mr. ************* signed was not a **** contract, nor were any official signatures on said contract.
***** came to us with a deposit check in the amount of $15,878 in February of 2013. We deposited and handed funds over to ***** for purchase of materials and his labor on job. **** never received another payment from Mr. *************. Nor were we aware of any other work being done within home.
In May I was contacted by Mr. ************* as he was complaining about *****'s attendance on job site and excuses. We met with ***** and he assured us he was on top of the job.
In June our company was sold to another corporation who determined we were no longer going to pursue remodel projects. ***** knew this would be his final job with us and was committed to completing the job.
In July Mr. ************* once again contacted BAEG and informed us he was firing ***** and was going to make several online complaints about BAEG unless we met his demands. We scheduled an appointment and met with him. At this point he was demanding that job be finished. However, we found out that he had changed the scope of the project several times during the spring and had been paying ***** directly for the added work.
During the meeting Mr. ************* presented a short list of items that needed to be addressed. We felt compelled to complete the work and felt that it could be done within a few days. We offered to add some value to his home in order to alleviate his frustration. We installed a new furnace, new air conditioner, removed old attic insulation, installed new insulation, and installed an attic fan....all for free. Mr. ************* was more than willing to accept these high ticket items. During the following weeks as we went out to do work Mr. ************* continued to embellish the list of items which had nothing to do with the original scope of work that BAEG was hired to do.
We brought in Mr. **** ******* a master cabinet maker, to address the kitchen items. Mr. ************* grew more demanding every time he met with Mr. ****** demanding more items and labor and embellishing what he had paid. Mr. ****** made us aware of some discrepancies between what Mr. ************* was telling him and what we had told him.
It became apparent to us that Mr. ************* was attempting to take unfair advantage of the situation. At this point we ceased work and along with the new ownership began to research and discovered several breaches in the contract.
Here was our conclusion:
1. April Mr. ************* had breached the contract by paying cash and other payments to *****, our employee, without our knowledge. This in effect voided the contract as Mr. ************* began negotiations under the table.
2. He made mulitiple changes to the scope without our knowledge or consent.
3. In July 2013 he fired our employee thus terminating the contract.
4. He has only paid $15,878 to BAEG at this point for the original contract, which was $23,817, which to our knowledge was for a cabinet replacement with granite.
5. He has received his cabinets, had them installed, had the granite installed, not to mention the additional work that BAEG added to try to alleviate his frustration.


Consumer Response
I disagree with the reply to you made by Bay Area Energy Group (BAEG) and I am not satisfied. BAEG contracted with me. The contract listed it as the contractor. It accepted payments from me and issued invoices on its forms for both work performed under the written contract and for extra work it contracted to do. I did not know it at the time, but ***** ****** is a former contractor whose license has been revoked by the Contractors State License Board because of numerous violations of law. BAEG's Responsible Managing Employees did not oversee the work as required by law. BAEG's work was poorly performed and it has refused to make repairs. There is no embellishment of the list of defective work as that list was compiled by an independent contractor. According to the original contract, final payment is not due until completion of the contract of which it is incomplete. Additionally, BAEG received the initial deposit amount by on the date indicated by contract, received the second installment by date of contract and deposited additional checks toward the final balance of which they do not recognize in their correspondence to you; albeit the work is incomplete and therefore their requested amount is incorrect.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance, Auto Electric Equipment, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Contractor - Electrical

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/26/2011Business started: 06/08/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 965780 for this company.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Contact Information
Principal: Dennis Avilucea (CEO/PRES) Paul Amos (RME) Richard Smith (RME)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance, Auto Electric Equipment, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Contractor - Electrical

Products & Services

This company's business is General Building Contractors, Electrical Contractors & AC & Heating Contractors concentrating in complete residential and commercial remodeling and new construction projects including general building, electrical, heating and air conditioning.

Alternate Business Names
Total Comfort Energy Efficiency Remodelers Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bay Area Energy Group

901 Laurel Wood Rd

Santa Clara, CA 95054

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 901 Laurel Wood Rd 

    Santa Clara, CA 95054

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bay Area Energy Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.