BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Razor USA, LLC.

Phone: (866) 467-2967

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
E100 Scooter is 9 months old and the charger is defective. But since it is outside of 90 day warranty Razor will not replace.
E100 Purchased 19 Apr 2013. Serial No XXXXXX-XX XXXXXXXXXXX. The scooter will not charge. The charger is defective. Will not light up when plugged in. This item has no moving parts. It was used just a few times to charge the scooter. Now it does not work. Razor will not replace unless I pay for it and shipping. I already paid $150 for the scooter and it only lasts 9 months, despite the 3 month warranty? There is obviously a manufacturer defect. There are several consumer boards describing the exact same issue. The ethnical thing to do would be to replace this free of charge but according to ************, customer rep...nothing they can do!

As a consumer I am appalled by the business practice and believe a complaint under the Consumer protection act is warranted. obviously a manufacturing problem on the cheaply made (in China) charger. Govt should request company to disclose detailed information about the charger...it may among other things pose a fire/safety risk with known defects.

I will never buy a razor product again, and I will ensure my experiences and opinion of the shoddy products are communicated at and on public forums.

Desired Settlement
At a minimum---replace the defected charger! stand by your product, own it's failures! keep consumer confidence.

Business Response
We already spoke with ****** directly on Feb 7 and resolved her issue with her directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Razor shipped me a replacement charger. Although I had already purchased one on ebay, I appreciate the gesture and the willingness to resolve this issue. However, I regret that it took the BBB to resolve this issue when I gave Razor an opportunity to make it right on their own morals. What may be a measly $20 to Razor, reputation, consumer confidence and loyalty, and word of mouth is worth a lot more. I hope Razor will elect to take the more dignified path in future consumer complaints.

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This isn't my initial complaint with this company. Several months ago I complained that the scooter wouldn't run.After several attempts and contacting BBB, Razor finally fixed the issue.Now the scooter chain keeps popping off and I don't mind paying the $10 for the part, but to pay shipping fees is when I draw the line.The scooter was under warranty, but because the company prolonged the initial issue, warranty has expired. I believe the procrastination was done purposely, to prevent any new issues to be covered by warranty.
Product_Or_Service: june 2013

Desired Settlement
I want to purchase the $10 part, but I want Razor to foot the shipping bill.

Business Response
On July 16 we received a call from **** ****** stating her unit was no longer working. We trouble-shot the issue with her and advised it appears she needed a new battery. We explained we would place the order however before we could ship under our warranty we needed a copy of her receipt. She was advised to send us a copy so her order could ship out under warranty. We also advised she had 10 days to send us the Proof of Purchase or the order would be canceled. On 7/30 we canceled order as no Proof of purchase was sent to verify warranty. On 7/31 she called to check status and we advise no receipt was received - she got upset and hung up. On 9/27 she sent in receipt and order was reinstated and shipped on 10/1 by UPS tracking number 1Z0R99W7YWXXXXXXXX. the delay in getting her warranty assistance was due to customer not sending proof of purchase for 2 months. Warranty is for manufacturing issues and is good for 90 days from the date of purchase. There was no procrastination on our end to provide warranty assistance. The warranty part was sent out within 5 business days of receiving her receipt which is required for warranty verification.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have proof; fax confirmation on July 22, 2013; to which I faxed receipt. This corrupt company is unreliable, unprofessional, and dishonest. I want the chain tensioner, minus the expense.

Final Business Response
Although we do not agree with Mrs. ****** as the unit is no longer under warranty, we will waive the shipping. Please call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask to speak with ******.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree with the waiver.

10/22/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective product in 2 weeks company will not fix, the rubber stopper on the bottom tore off and is now EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. ***** said Reps name that was given to be was ****.***** - 866-467-2967UPS Tracking # -Order# - ******************
Product_Or_Service: ***** BoGo Pogo

Desired Settlement
I want ***** to ship out the replacement parts and/or a new unit the ***** BoGo Pogo Stick.

Business Response
Our customer service department spoke with him on April 26 and offered to send him the replacement rubber pad at no charge. The part was shipped to him on 5/2 under tracking number ******************. I am not sure what the complaint is in regards to as we did send him the part at no charge based on his phone call to us on the 26.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please send me the requested BROKEN PARTS to ************************************************************
Serial# - ***********
Model - ************************

You sent the other parts to the wrong address

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/30/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a Razor EcoSmart Scooter that broke within 10 days of use. Razor refuses to repair scooter.
I recently bought a Razor EcoSmart Scooter. Within two (2) days of first use, the seat fell off. Within another two days, the motor failed. I found out that the motor failed because the frame holding the motor was improperly built by the manufacturer and was bent. The motor would only make a grinding sound when the throttle was turned, but would not turn the wheel. Keep in mind this was only after less than 1 week of use. I had probably only ridden it about 5-10 miles. I attempted to contact Razor about the issue, but they refused to replace nor repair the unit, repeatably claiming that it was not their fault because it "did not come broken out of the box." They repeatedly asked me to contact the retailer where I had purchased the unit, however the retailer had an agreement with Razor where Razor would be the one responsible for refunds/returns/repairs.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking Razor to stand up to their responsibility and repair my defective product. If said product cannot be repaired, I am seeking a full exchange or refund

Business Response
Razor warranties our products from 90 days from the date of purchase. If you have a receipt showing a date of purchase we would be happy to send you a replacement part under warranty. Did you send us a copy of your receipt or a picture of the damage you claim above? IF the frame was damaged in manufacturing as you claim the motor would not have worked from the start so we would like to research how the unit became damaged as you described. Please call our customer support team for assistance or email your receipt and photo's to *******@razorusa.com.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After purchasing the product, my area experienced a extremely long period of unfavorable weather. It rained and snowed for weeks and weeks. As a result, I only used the scooter for only a couple of times within the 90 day period. Once the weather improved and I got the opportunity to use the scooter more often, it broke within days (this was only a few days after the 90 day warranty). Immediately after the scooter broke, I called Razor and explained the situation. I was redirected by Razor to the seller and then to Razor by the seller, and on and on, which took over a month until I finally refused to continue the cycle. The person at Razor whom I spoke to repeatedly said that "she could not send me parts even if she wanted to". Because the product is made by Razor, I believe Razor should repair my scooter.

Final Business Response
Thank you for the follow up response. I am sorry that you are outside the 90 day warranty. If it is just a few weeks as you indicate send us a copy of the receipt along with a photo of the unit. This does not appear to be a manufacturing issue however the photo and the date of the receipt will help us determine options available. We can pull the call as you indicate the agent said she would like to help you but "couldn't send parts even if she wanted to ?" this is not something our agents would say so if you can provide your phone number we can pull the details of your call and listen to what the agent said. Please send receipt and photos so we can determine best way to assist you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This sounds more reasonable than before. However, what is the contact information of the person I should contact? I have already contacted your customer service and they said they couldn't send the parts.

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased the MX350 through amazon.com. We followed the assembly instructions exactly and charged the ride-on for over 12 hours. After riding the toy for only 20 minutes, the bike malfunctioned while we were trying to cross the street, putting him in danger. After we pulled the bike back up into the initial dirt hill, we noticed that the motor no longer "pulled" which is why it stalled out. We tried charging and checking the assembly, and everything was done correctly. After repeated attempts to reach RAZOR'S customer service, we've been unsuccessful. Their product completely RUINED my son's Christmas, and put his life in danger!!! It's been a horrible experience all around.
The product malfunctioned after only one use, and we've been unable to reach the company for any sort of compensation for our troubles.

Desired Settlement
REF

Business Response
As mentioned in the manual and the box this item is not for street use and should not be ridden in the streets. As the consumer mentions the unit worked fine for 20 minutes but after going down dirt hill the rear wheel no longer works. It appears either dirt or debris may have gotten into the wheel either causing the chain or wheel not to move properly. If you have cleared the debris/dirt and the rear wheel is still now moving please call our customer service department Monday- Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm PST at XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ***************@razorusa.com.

Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response that it shouldn't be ridden in the street is obsurd! We read the manual, so we understood that!!! Which is why he was only CROSSING THE STREET! Regardless of the location, the bike only worked for 20 minutes IN THE DIRT! It is not a dirt bike if it cannot sustain being rode in the dirt! If you can't ride it in the street or in the dirt without it falling apart every 30 minutes, then WHERE is it supposed to be ridden???! This item is substandard at best, and the only help this company provided was to try to turn you into a dirt bike mechanic or take the item to a shop. I've read other customer reviews about this product and they all seem to have the exact same issue, it worked for 30 minutes and then nothing!!! If the company is aware of a particular issue with this so called dirt bike, then they need to recall or because it is very dangerous. A motorized vehicle that stops randomly??? They are risking the safety of everyone's child with this faulty product, and their only response is to call customer service?? This product is not safe, at best it's being falsely advertised as a dirt bike, and it's definitely not made for preteens or teens if it only works for 30 minutes out the box. They obviously do not understand children very well.

Final Business Response
The response did not indicate if the chain had fallen off or had become damaged due to dirt or debris. In order to assist the consumer to understand why it was working and then stopped working after 20 minutes we need to know what is damaged or broken in order to get it resolved. Please call us so we can best assist you in getting resolution.

02/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item broke 2 days after chirstmas, still waiting for replacement parts after 3 calls.
Bought the razor dirt quad for my daughter a week before christmas, took it out the box and did minor assembly, charged it for 24 hrs, my daughter road it once on christmas day, the next day the she tried to ride it and it moved about half a foot and wouldn't go. I took apart the side foot fender to get at the fuse which was blown so i replaced it with a 30 amp fuse to specification. The product still did not run, turned on but did not run, I called the service center explained it to them they had me do a small trouble shoot which nothing worked so they said they will send a electrical kit which will arrive in about 5-7 days, the next day they called me back saying that they wanted me to trouble shoot it again because there supervisor wanted me to try something else, after that was over they said again they will send out the electrical kit and it will arrive 5-7 days,it is now the 14th of january and still no part so I called again and yet again they had me try to trouble shoot it again, which nothing works. The operator told me that the order was not processed because they wanted to trouble shoot it again so it was never cleared to be replaced, i bought this product for my little girl and if this is the way they do business I will sure to tell all my military buddies not to by their product even if I have to post it to different military community websites.

Desired Settlement
I want the product to work the way it was intended i bought for my little girl to ride and have fun on and that's what I want to happen.

Business Response
We spoke with ********* on 12/30 and placed an order for the warranty part. It shipped to him on 1/15/14 by UPS tracking number ******************. According to UPS it is at local post office for delivery as of today.

10/29/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a complaint on this product razor go cart. It stopped working a 6 months after having it . It snows from anywhere from oct to end if April . We pulled it out and it wouldn't start. Check the battery start button . Nothing. I just want them to do something about it ! Instead just tell me it's out of warranty. I spent well over 300.00 for it .
Product_Or_Service: Razor

Desired Settlement
Just get it to work!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jo Ann ****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****@razorusa.com
According to the conversation Mrs.Goret had with our agent on 9/27/2013 she purchased this item 4 years ago from Wal-mart. She did not have the product with her at the time of the call and was unable to trouble shoot the issue with us to determine why it was no longer working. We recommended she take it to a service center and she refused. Our warranty is for 90 days after the date of purchase and we do take into consideration weather and holidays. If she would like assistance she can contact us again when she has the product with her or visit one of our authorized service centers for assistance

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contract Manufacturing, Manufacturers & Producers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.