BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Finest Home Remodeling, Inc.

View Additional Phone Numbers22287 Mulholland Hwy #141, CalabasasCA 91302-5157

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Finest Home Remodeling, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Finest Home Remodeling, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Finest Home Remodeling, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business will not provide service as advertised in their coupon on Angie's List.
I purchased a coupon for Finest Home Remodeling's services. Company will not schedule an appointment with me nor honor their repeated statement that "someone" will call me back. Several weeks of calling and still no appointment. I have paid $250 and received absolutely no services for my payment.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back. They have performed no services in a very untimely manner and would like to end our relationship with a refund.

Business Response
***see attachment***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was trying to pay the balance of the invoice with my credit card rather than check, but the company stated can not accept credit cards, only cash.
Company can not accept payment with credit card, I paid the main balance with personal check but I decided to pay the balance with my credit card. very surprised that a big company
Can not accept major credit cards.

Desired Settlement
Just want to be able to pay the balance with my credit card rather than personal check.

02/24/2016Problems with Product / Service
01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged water pipe, cheap material and carpet, adding work and money without permission. Not working until I agreed to pay the extra.
They added plywood without asking and then charged me another $2900.00. They didn't work for 2 days until I agreed to pay the extra. They shot 2 nails into a water pipe. They broke my sprinkler manifold. I had to pick up between 60 and 70 nails from my front yard. I had to patch, sand and paint 2 large cracks because they used cheap wood. Today I had to patch, sand and paint 8 more cracks and 6 places where they spliced wood together instead of using full length pieces of wood. They didn't have the carpet I ordered so I had to take something else. The carpet is a piece of junk, I wanted to use another word but I am trying to keep my cool. The carpet is suppose to be brown and it was when they installed it and after I vacuum. But, when you walk on it, it changes to tan. The area by the front door is not down right, the seems show and by the kitchen, the tacks are coming through the carpet. They also took my large screwdriver. So on a scale of 1 to 10, I would give them a minus 100.

Desired Settlement
Partial refund. At least the $2900.00 for work done without permission, they would not complete the work until I signed paperwork for the extra work. It actually should be more because of the cheap material used and not cleaning up the area.

Business Response
The file regarding ******* ******** has been closed with the CSLB and we resolved the matter with the customer for a settlement amount of $1500 and the file has been closed!

Thank you,
*******
Customer Service
(XXX) XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not heard from them since they called me after receiving a call from you. They said that they were going to send someone out to inspect the work but no one has come out. The last time they were going to send someone out was when the state contractors board contacted them. They were going to send someone the next week but when I told the state about the settlement Finest home remodeling didn't call me again until they heard from the BBB. This was over a month since they last contacted me.

Final Business Response
***see attachment***

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like my complaint to remain open, but, I don't know if I can. Finest Home Remodeling did a
terrible job on my house. Since I last contacted you, I have found a couple of other things they messed
up. In the front of the house there was a 3/8 inch gap that was filled in with some kind of filler. It
separated after some strong winds. On the side of the house they replace a 2 by 6 beam that was
to short. They added a peace at one in and use filler at the other end which fail out. Three times they
have promised to come out and check it out but have yet to do so. Since they paid me a settlement I
don't know if I have to close this case. They have threatened to sue me more than once. Since there
was no attachment of the rebuttal form 01/06/2015 I don't know what they are saying. If I have to
close my case because of the settlement, close it. If I don't have to close my case, leave it open because
people need to know about this unprofessional company.

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FHR breached its agreement by failure to supervise the remodeling job, leading to costly errors and delays. FHR diverted funds without completing work
. We hired FHR for a master suite expansion to enlarge the living space, create walk-in closets and an upgraded bathroom with tub and shower. It was imperative that we hire a general contractor to handle the remodel because my husband and I work 24/7.We thought we checked this company out thoroughly and they assured us our job would be assigned a project manager who would supervise their employees,doing the actual work.FHR failed to supervise the work, failed to adhere to the blueprints, damaged parts of our home that were not involved in the work of improvement and work was done by unlicensed subcontractors in a most substandard manner.FHR abandoned the most vital part of our contract - supervision.The project manager, *** assured me he would oversee the entire job, from pulling permits to the filing of the Notice of Completion.His idea of project management was to show up occasionally to collect checks!He rarely examined the work of the employees, hence many jobs had to be torn out and redone.We had a tankless water heater at the site to be installed, but when I came home from work, the plumber instead had poured concrete outside the bathroom window and placed the old water heater outdoors in a cheap tin enclosure right in the view of the window.*** dropped by to pick up a $10000 check for the roof work, although the roof had not yet been completed.Days later the rain came 12/7;they had not covered the roof properly between the existing house and the addition, and the rain flooded into our home through our new built-in bookshelves, flooding the living room carpet.FHR responded 2 days later with a commercial fan and it took 3 more days to dry out the carpet.The ceiling is water-stained.The Flood Restoration company I contracted with has outlined a very costly,detailed plan to prevent the impending mold and mildew behind the built-in wall unit and in our drywall.I paid for a change order to complete an 8 ft soundproof wall instructing them to use Quiet Rock and acoustical adhesive, but FHR used Insulfoam and screwed it in, making it anything but soundproof - and they want to charge us $1500.Brea City inspectors were called by FHR over and over again to perform periodic inspections, only to find no one on site to meet them.As a result, the City refused to come out to the house for inspections without being paid by us to inspect! They told us that the FHR work was either not completed or not done to code. The office would ask me to send photos so they could see the work.I ordered double hung windows and received single hung windows in a double frame. Considering our patience and efforts to continue work with FHR, we asked to meet with the owner,instead we were given another salesman who promised everything would change and he would see that we were taken care of properly.A new "project manager" Eilon was assigned. The special order windows were not even to the city fire code and the city inspector left a STOP WORK notice on our door. Soon afterward, Eilon stopped being the project manager.The sloppy workmanship and use of inferior materials continued. Trash, hardened cement, and boards with nails still fill the side yard. They didn't center the drain in the shower and asked if that would be alright with me. Then the office girl ****** informed us that she was going to manage the project from Calabasas!This was project manager #3, and everything went further downhill. She never consulted the blueprints and told us closet doors were going to cost extra,they were on the original plans and to center the shower drain would be a change order,even though FHR workers failed to do it right.Finally we hired our own project manager for $8000 to supervise the workers, because again, FHR had abandoned the most crucial component of our contract, the supervision of the job. This is why people hire general contractors.Well, it did not work here. We firmly believe the errors and costly mistakes all stem from FHR's lack of supervision.

Desired Settlement
The only part of the contract that we have accepted as executed is the $6500 we paid on a change order for the sewer work. Since this is not part of the original agreement, it really has no impact on this complaint.

With respect to the rest of the monies we paid FHR, here are the amounts we want refunded as a result of incomplete work, substandard work or work not done in a workmanlike manner, or work not completed in accordance with the plans:


1. Bathroom - incomplete -$5000

2. Flooring -not started -$5000

3. Electrical - not complete, many hot boxes that are not in accordance with the plan need to be removed - $5000

4. Demo rubbish - not removed -$1000

5. Plumbing - a) bathroom not completed, b) sprinkler lines cut from new Sewer line - $5000

6. Special order Windows not to code and not level - $900

7. Blue Prints - did not indicate the water heater placement, did not include "as built" and errors resulted in unsupervised workers devising their own solutions to things like placement of water heater - $3900

8. Stucco - not started -$10,000

9. Soundproofing - materials not used as owners specified and as change order increase in cost was approved - $1500

10. Exterior Paint - not started - $5000

10. Two-way clean out - not installed as agreed upon signing of contract - $3,000

11. City of Brea overcharges resulting from countless visits to inspect which were fruitless - $300

12. Flood Damage to existing house on 12/7/2013 - mold/mildew - $13,100.
a)includes Tear out and rebuild of existing built in bookshelves - original cost $10,100
b)Living Room Carpet replacement - original cost $1,300

13. Homeowner-hired Project Manager to supervise FHR subcontractors/employees - $4000

Total Damages to be reimbursed $61,700

Business Response
We filed a lawsuit against the above named customers due to an open balance of $29,000! We contend that we were approximately 70% done with the job when, suddenly, the customer ordered us to stop working! We are currently in litigation with the customer and waiting for a final judgement! As code requirement, the company passed *** inspections that was needed up to the stage that the customer decided to fire us from the job site. The company has proof and paperwork that's required to prove that the job was done up to CSLB guidelines.

Regards,
*******
Customer Service


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not accept the response made by FHR, dated 6/27/14, as it is quite clear this is a false statement or FHR is not familiar with our remodel at all.

First, I have the city inspector's STOP WORK notice that was placed on my door 1/14/14 for FHR's failure to comply with California building code, section R327.8. Therefore FHR's statement "As code requirement, the company passed *** inspections that was needed," is in gross error.

Second, we have photos and complete documentation of FHR's substandard workmanship, which CSLB has substantiated to the extent that it has advanced our complaint.

Third, FHR continues to violate its contract that states "It is against the law for a contractor to collect payment for work not yet completed." Our personal residence is proof that FHR did not complete the work for the money they demanded from us.

Our home, the remodel addition that FHR took on, is still in a state of distress due to the fact that FHR abandoned their responsibility to supervise their workers.




Final Business Response
***see attachment***

01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failed to supervise employees, failed to deliver wood product and correct wood product on time. Failed to finish job on time approx. 2 months later.
general contract not written correctly, overcharged, failed to supervise employees and sub contractors. failed to finish job on promised date, approx. 2mo late. FHR had to redo all wood floors over had to redo painting outside. poor workmanship. I had to supervise the job because no one from the company showed up until the end when they finally sent a supervisor to oversee the end of the project. Failed to inform me when I wanted to use the wrong kind of wood on a concrete sub floor. Was constantly late or not showing up for work. Made promises of equipment that they did not keep. Had a theft of jewelry by their subcontractors. Overall a poor quality company.

Desired Settlement
met with supervisor at end of job. I refused to pay complete final payment. settled for 50% of final payment for my time spent supervising the job and I fined them for each day past 10 days when the job should have been finished. This does not include claim for stolen jewelry.

Business Response
The complaint regarding ****** ******** job is completed! We were in court last week and Mr ******** alleged that jewelry was stole from his home. Judge told Mr. ******** that he has 90 days to show proof (Sept 2014)! We are confident that our workers did not steal anything from Mr. ********' home and await his proof in September!!

Regards,
*******
Customer Service


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not respond to the complaint. They did not finish the job on the given date they stated. Up until the very last work they did not have supervisors on the job daily.

Final Business Response
***see attachment***

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service
01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/24/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues
02/24/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/19/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 554502 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 07/31/2016.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/LicenseDetail.aspx?LicNum=554502

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2012, CA

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Lanny Dugar (Owner)

Lanny Dugar is also associated with California Preferred Builders. A separate BBB Business Review is available.

Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Finest Home Remodeling, Inc.

22287 Mulholland Hwy #141

Calabasas, CA 91302-5157

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 22287 Mulholland Hwy #141 

    Calabasas, CA 91302-5157(800) 968-2558

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Finest Home Remodeling, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 968-2558
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.