BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Rosewill

Phone: (800) 575-9885

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/01/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been trying to contact the company to do an RMA of a product. So far, they have never replied.
Last year, I sent an email to the company requesting RMA for a power supply unit. I never got a reply from them. My computer worked fine for a while. Recently, my PC again started having issues, and I believe it could be the PSU, again, which miraculously worked last time after having issues. However, Rosewill, manufacturer of computer parts, never replied to my concern. The part comes with 5 years of manufacturer warranty, and it has been about 3 years since I bought the part, so it is still under warranty. I just want to resolve this issue as fast as possible given that my PC is my livelihood. A replacement of the unit would be preferred, but repair could be a resolution as well.

Desired Settlement
Preferably, I would like to exchange the faulty unit for a new one, however, I'd accept repair service for the unit, but I think a replacement would be faster in nature, which is what I would like, given that I need my computer as fast as possible, without having to purchase a new power supply unit.

Business Response
Hello Mr. *****:

We regret to hear of the trouble you are experiencing in obtaining warranty service for your Rosewill power supply. Based on your comments, we understand that your power supply has been having technical difficulties. We also understand that you attempted to contact us of these issues last year but did not receive a response. Please accept our apology for the lack of response for your request for warranty service.

We will gladly do all we can to assist you with this matter. Please expect one of our agents to reach out to you via email. They will assist you with any questions you have and obtaining warranty assistance.

To that end, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to speaking with you soon. If you happen to have any questions or issues about any other Rosewill products, please feel free to call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best Regards,

Rosewill

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I hope this time it gets resolved, my computer is my work tool, and I'd rather not purchase a new one while this one is still under manufacturer warranty. I'll be waiting for a response regarding this issue.

07/17/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
100% failure rate on 3 RPLC-200PKIT for 6 adapters in 2 weeks, 3 months, and 7 months. Should be recalled for bad design. Want replacement/refund.
Model: ************
Purchase Date: 8/19/2014
NewEgg Invoice #: XXXXXXXXX
Amount: $45.98 for 2 kits

Problem Date 1: Within 2 weeks - 2 adapters dead
Replacement Date: 10/3/2014
NewEgg Invoice #: XXXXXXXX

Problem Date 2: 12/10/XXXX - X adapters dead
Rosewill RMA #: XXXXXXXX
Received refund for 2 adapters

Problem Date 3: 6/30/XXXX - X replacement adapters dead

Bought 2 RPLC-200PKIT for 4 adapters 8/19/2014. 2 failed within 2 weeks & 2 failed within 3 months. 2 were replaced by NewEgg and 2 were refunded by Rosewill. The replacement failed too in 6/30/2015 and I reported the problem to Rosewill on 7/1/2015. I've paid $12 - half of the original cost $23 to return 2 bad adapters for replacement in October 2014. Rosewill now is asking me to pay shipping cost again to return the failed replacement adapters for full refund. At the end, I'd end up paying return shipping twice which is equal to the original cost being refunded. Effectively, I would get nothing back after the shipping cost. That is not fair! Statistically, 100% failure rate on random samples indicates systematic problem such as design defect. This type of problem should be resolved by recalling the products at manufactuerer's cost. Moreover, this product carries a 1-year warranty. As such, I should be able to get the detective product repaired or replaced. As ******** only offers refund, it is a breach of the warranty. In case of the breach, ******** should cover for the return cost. I also read online that many customers have had the same problem within few months of their use of this product. That supports my assessment on design defect which is different from manufacturing defect - systematic vs. random. I feel strongly that Rosewill should recall this product. Unless Rosewill would repalce my bad adapters with the same or similar product, I'd demand for full refund plus return shipping if they want the bad adapters back.

FYI - below is the e-mail I received from Rosewill support:

"From: ******** Tech Support <***********@rosewill.com>
Date: Thu, Jul 2, 2015 at 5:29 PM
Subject: Re: Failling RPLC-200PKIT adapters #XXXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXXXX#
To: ********@gmail.com

Dear *****

Thank you for contacting *********

As an exception we will process as a Refund back to your original form of payment. However, you will need to pay for the return shipping. We are not responsible for any shipping for orders beyond 30 days.

Once the package has been received, there will be 2-5 business days processing time frame to inspect for any physical damages. Once the items are confirmed without damages we will issue the refund and may take an additional 2-3 business days depending on your credit card's company processing time frame.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Sincerely,

****** R.

Rosewill Support Service Agent"

Desired Settlement
Full refund plus prepaid return shipping label. Also, I'm requesting reimbursment for my return cost of $12 paid for the replacement last year since I now have no product to use any more.

Business Response
Hello ** **:

Thanks for contacting us about the trouble you've been having with the two Rosewill ************ 200Mbps Powerline adapter kits purchased from Newegg (sales order # XXXXXXXXX). We regret to learn that you haven't had much success in using the Powerline adapters. We also recognize that you're requesting a refund for your order, a prepaid shipping label to return the adapters you have, and a reimbursement of your return shipping costs for your initial return.

Upon speaking with Newegg, we confirmed that you submitted an order with them for the two Rosewill RPLC-200PKIT adapter kits on or about Aug. 19, 2014. Newegg also confirmed that on or about Sept. 10, 2014 you contacted them to return one kit to them for a replacement because they were defective. This return was received by them on or about Sept. 17, 2014 as incomplete because one of the two adapters in the kit was missing. Also, we've been told that Newegg issued a replacement kit to you and a $12.00 refund for your return shipping costs on that return.

Further, Newegg confirms that one kit did not work well for you and therefore returned it for a refund on or about Dec. 10, 2014. We understand at this point in time that the second set of adapters is no longer working well for you and that you are requesting a refund. After speaking with Newegg, they have approved to issue a refund return on the defective adapters along with a prepaid return shipping label to send the kit to their Returns warehouse.

We hope this addresses your comments and thank you for bringing them to our attention. If you require any technical assistance with any of your Rosewill products, please contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received the RMA and the prepaid return label. I will send the whole package back to NewEgg. Thanks.

Just a clarification on the original return cost. I actually had to return twice. The first time was the defective adapter alone which turned out to be incomplete. Before I sent it, I e-mailed and asked if I should send the defective adapter alone or the whole package but I had received no response. Due to the time limit for the RMA, I sent the bad adapter alone assuming I just need to swap out the bad one instead of swapping out the whole package when I didn't get any timely response from customer services. Later, I was told I had to send in the whole package so I sent in the rest. The 2nd shipping was covered. But since the cost of the first shipping was due to no response on my question of I need to send back the whole package or not, I still think I should be reimbursed for any net out of pocket cost, i.e. the first return, as I'm ending up with nothing after this final return.

Final Consumer Response

04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Rosewill power supply, this power supply comes with a $30 rebate. When I received my power supply, I looked through all my paper work for the rebate information. I did not find it. Thinking it was possible the company was like other companies that have done this for me in the past, I thought maybe they went ahead and processed the rebate for me, and that I'd be getting a check in the mail. Then today 3/10/15, I had to log into Newegg and look for a recent purchase of something totally off this subject. I see a link for my Rosewill purchase and a rebate link. Realizing I needed to get that going ASAP, I did and I got everything all prepared, only to find I need the original UPC code from the package in came to me in. I have the proof of purchase, but I didn't have a piece of the shipping box. I called them and told them what happened and they told me since I don't have the UPC code I don't qualify for my rebate. I told her I have the receipt, she told me it doesn't matter. I think I should have been informed in the paperwork how to process my rebate, had I had that information I would have attached the UPC code to the paper.
Product_Or_Service: Rosewill Power Supply
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want my $30.00 rebate, and I can supply my receipt.

Business Response
Hello *** ******:

We thank you for notifying us of the trouble you're having in obtaining your $30.00 rebate for the ******** power supply you purchased under. We also apologize for the delayed response.

As you mentioned that you purchased the product from Newegg, we reached out to them on your behalf to verify your purchase. We confirmed that you submitted your order with them on or about Feb. 16, 2015 under sales order # XXXXXXXXX.

Please be aware that all rebate submissions must include the original UPC code to redeem. Nevertheless, in cooperation with Newegg, the service courtesy of $30.00 will be reimbursed onto your original method of payment. Please allow a few business days for this to complete.

We hope this redresses your concerns. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact us via our online webform at http://rosewill.com/about/ContactUS.aspx.

Best Regards,

********



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rosewill promised me to replace the broken item, They do not want to send me new item because I have to send old broken item to them.
I contacted Rosewill via e-mail. I informed them about my problems with product RSH-407CB. I wrote many e-mail to Rosewill. Rosewill promised me to replace broken product for new one. Problem is with shipping cost. Rosewill want to get broken product but I can not pay over $20 for shipping for broken item. I called to customer service and I told them that it does not make any sense to sending broken product to Rosewill. Rosewill do not want to cooperate.
I CAN NOT PAY FOR SHIPPING BECAUSE IS MORE THAN $20 FOR PACKAGE. PLEASE CREATE RMA STICKER OR SIMPLY SEND ME NEW PRODUCT.
IT DOES NOT MAKE ANY SENSE TO SENDING BROKEN DEVICE TO ROSEWILL AND PAY MORE THAN $20 FOR SHIPMENT.
I CAN SEND BROKEN DEVICE ON YOUR COST OR SIMPLY PLEASE SEND ME NEW PRODUCT.
I WILL BE WAITING FOR RESPONSE.
THANKS

W dniu 2014-09-11 18:40:52 użytkownik ts.service.wh1(rw).us <***********@rosewill.com> napisał:

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for your feedback.

We were able to locate your order #: XXXXXXXXX with the information you have provided, thank you. Unfortunately the invoice in which you purchased this device shows that it is no longer under the warranty period. As a one-time exception we will honor the warranty. At the current moment the item is out of stock. We would replace it with model RFSH-XXXXX http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82EXXXXXXXXXXX.



This will require you to ship the item back to us. We do not provide return labels on warranty replacements. When the RMA is returned and process we will ship out the replacement item.



Please let me know if this is acceptable.



Thank you for choosing Rosewill.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.



Sincerely,



Carl

Rosewill Support

Call Center X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST





From: dr_****** mailto:*********@poczta.onet.pl
Sent: Wednesday, September 10, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ts.service.wh1(rw).us
Subject: Re: RE: Thanks for your Information at Rosewill.com - RSH-407CB RTL





I want to ask you for replacement Roseewill. I called two times to Rosewill customer service. They informed me that my device is out of warranty but anyone I want to ask you for replacement.

W dniu 2014-09-10 19:30:02 użytkownik ts.service.wh1(rw).us <***********@rosewill.com> napisał:

Dear Valued Customer,



Thank you for contacting Rosewill Support.

We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with our product.

We will gladly assist you with your problem.



In order to validate warranty service please provide electronic copy/full screen shot of your invoice of this product. Unfortunately we do not pull up that information through the serial number.



Thank you for choosing Rosewill.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.



Sincerely,



****

Rosewill Support

Call Center X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST





From: ***************@Rosewill.com mailto:***************@Rosewill.com
Sent: Wednesday, September 10, XXXX X:XX AM
To: ts.service.wh1(rw).us; *********@poczta.onet.pl
Subject: Thanks for your Information at Rosewill.com - RSH-407CB RTL



*****Please don't respond to this email since it's a system generated email and not monitored by a person. *****

Dear ******,

Thanks you for your inquiry regarding Rosewill products. Below is a summary of your Request.

Product Model Number: RSH-407CB RTL
Comments: I bought Rosewill shredder 2 years ago. My shredder has been broken week ago. I have some photos, some kind of problems with metal elements in side top part. ( cover ). Bin is OK, just cover with engine does not work at all.

Desired Settlement
please send me new product

Business Response
Hello Mr. ********

On behalf of Newegg, please accept our apology for any difficulty you experienced with your request for a shipping label to return a defective product. We appreciate your taking the time to report this matter and you can be assured it has been brought to the attention of our Customer Service Management team for review.

Our records reflect that a prepaid UPS shipping label was issued by email for you to use in returning the product to our facility. The label is valid for 7 days from today. Just print out the label and take it with your package to a UPS store or facility for shipping.

Your time and consideration in this matter are appreciated. Feel free to contact our customer service if you have any questions and we will gladly assist you.

Thank you,
Newegg.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received a replacement as a new device also newegg promised me send a gift card.

06/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No Rebate as promised with purchase.
Purchased a Rosewill Arc-M650 power supply on 11/24/14 from www.newegg.com sent in all required information to receive rebate this is the second rebate Rosewill has stiffed me on for a total of $40 Newegg did give me $20 credit for the trouble and advised me to still contact Rosewill about my Rebate Check. Rosewill constantly promised it would arrive within a month for 6 months now I do have emails to back this up if needed.

Desired Settlement
Would like my rebate checks for both the Green series purchased and for ARC series purchased.

Business Response
Hello Mr. ******:

We thank you for contacting us with the trouble you have in redeeming your rebate for the Rosewill 650W ARC-M650 power supply you purchased from Newegg.com in Nov. 2014. After speaking with Newegg.com, we have been told that that matter has been resolved.

After speaking with Newegg we confirmed that the rebate promotion for the ARC-M650 power supply (which ran from Nov. 24, 2015 to Nov. 27, 2015) provided a $20.00 Newegg.com Visa prepaid card when purchased off of Newegg.com. We further learned that this rebate promotion is one that originated with Newegg.com. It is not a rebate offer by Rosewill.

Moreover, according to Newegg, they state that you purchased the power supply during the rebate period and that you submitted your rebate in accordance to the application requirements. In addition, Newegg states that you contacted them on or about Apr. 8, 2015 because you didn't receive your $20 prepaid Visa card. In response, they issued a $20 Newegg gift card to you in lieu of the prepaid Visa card which you then redeemed the next day.

As Newegg used its best efforts to assist you with the rebate promotion, we consider this matter resolved. Lastly, they inform us that you returned your Rosewill RG630-S12 Green Series power supply to them for a full refund in Nov. 2014.

We hope this addresses your concern and thank you for informing us. Should you have any further concerns over the rebate we suggest contacting Newegg at XXX-XXX-XXXX, otherwise if you have any difficulty with your Rosewill products please contact us at XXX-XXX-XXXX for assistance.

Sincerely,

Rosewill

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Matter is not resolved ***** hides behind his pawns and I still have not received my rebate check only 20 dollar credit for my troubles

Final Business Response
Hello *** ******:

Thank you for contacting us once more with regards to the rebate trouble you're experiencing with your Rosewill ARC-M650 power supply. We reviewed the documents you provided and note that the rebate application form is the same as we provided to you. More importantly, it indicates that the rebate promotion is solely a Newegg promotion.

Rosewill has no participation in this rebate promotion as indicated by the application form. Again, if you request assistance with receiving your rebate please continue to speak with Newegg, as based on the documents you provided.

We hope this addresses your concern. Again, if you require technical assistance with any of your Rosewill products please call us at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Sincerely,

Rosewill

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again Rosewill continues to point the finger at Newegg and Newegg points the finger at them I am getting nowhere junk products failure to deliver rebate terrible customer service. This matter is still unresolved and we will never buy from Newegg and Rosewill ever again they have proven to me they are a shoddy business with less than adequate products.

05/04/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******** has not provided a replacement or refund for my defective keyboard as promised and guaranteed under their warranty.
I contacted ******** on 2/12/14 to setup an RMA for my defective keyboard. I was first promised a replacement, then was told I could only receive a refund, but not to my original payment method. It would be a store credit to newegg.com and it would not cover the full price required to replace the keyboard. I shipped it back at my own expense and Rosewill received it on 2/28/14. It has now been 7 business days and I still have not received the refund. I emailed ******** for an update and have received nothing but the run around.
3/4/14 I was told it would be 2-3 business days
3/7/14 I was told it would be an additional 3-5 business days
3/10/14 I was told the refund had already been issued on 3/7/14 - It has not been issued as of yet.
3/11/14 I was told it would take another 3-5 business days to receive the refund.
I have now requested the defective keyboard be returned to me along with a refund for my out of pocket expenses so I can fix the keyboard myself. This request has been ignored.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a replacement along with my out of pocket expenses to ship the keyboard back or to actually receive a refund for enough to cover the purchase of a new keyboard and compensation for out of pocket expenses

Business Response
Hello Mr. ********:

We thank you for informing us of the trouble you had with your return on your Rosewill keyboard. We apologize for the delayed response as well.

We reviewed our records and confirmed that you contacted us on Feb. 12, 2014 with a request for a return. We regret that you were unable to obtain a replacement under your warranty through us. However, we observe that we cooperated with Newegg in processing a return for a refund in the form of store credit with them in the amount of $59.99. We learned from Newegg that this was redeemed at some point later in time as well.

With respect to the shipping costs you incurred we are disheartened that we did not offer to provide a pre-paid return shipping label when you initially contacted us. As some time has passed ***** then, our ability to redress this matter for you is a bit tenuous. Nevertheless, we still intend to, and thus through Newegg's cooperation, a $25 Newegg Customer Care gift card can be issued to you. All you need do is contact their agent, ****** (*************@newegg.com) and inform them of what account, if any, you would like to have this applied issued to.

We hope this addresses your concern. If you have any other questions please contact us via our online webform at http://rosewill.com/about/ContactUS.aspx.

Best Regards,

********

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Supplies & Parts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.