BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

MicroNet Technology

Find a Location

(310) 320-7272View Additional Phone Numbers20525 Manhattan Place, TorranceCA 90501http://www.micronet.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

MicroNet Technology is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MicroNet Technology

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I still have not received $20 mail-in rebate. I have already submitted a rebate inquiry on this website and received no response.
Purchased on 07/29/2013 from Rakuten.com, order number XXXXXXXX. Was promised a $20 mail in rebate from manufacturer but Fantom never honored that rebate. The tracking code is XXXXXXXXXXXXX. The item purchased is Fantom Green Driver ******* ***** USB **** ********** SGXXXXXXX, XXXXXXXXXXXX. I have copies of all materials to prove proper rebate submission.

Desired Settlement
$20 rebate as promised, mailed to **** ******** ****** *** ***** **** ****** ***** ** XXXXX.

Business Response
As we explained to the customer, the check was mailed Nov. 21 to the address that was on the rebate request. His email was answered promptly with this information.

Since the customer moved according to this complaint, and his mail is being forwarded to his new address, it usually takes 6 to 8 weeks for the USPS to do so. We advice the customer to wait for 8 weeks then contact us again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told two contradictory things. First, I was told that my rebate was already sent and that I redeemed it. I told them that I did not redeem it and that I would like to see proof that it was redeemed or even proof that it was mailed. I asked them to send a check to my new address. Then, they no longer claimed that it was redeemed, instead they said that because I had a new address they couldn't send it because that wasn't the original address. Then I let them know that I have mail forwarding so it doesn't matter which address they send it to, if they ever sent it I would have received it. Then they asked for 8 additional weeks because they allege USPS takes this long to perform mail forwarding. That simply is not true. I receive forwarded mail within 1 day of when it is received at the previous address.

I will be satisfied with this company's response and withdraw my complaint once I receive payment in the amount of $20, and not any sooner.


Final Business Response
the replacement check was already mailed Monday to ****** ******'s new address -
**** ******** ****** *** XXXX XXXXX
**** ****** ***** **

Customer should check again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After returning this External Drive for repairs twice(once at my cost, once on them) the drive still does not work. I need a working, reliable drive.
Operating System:Windows 10 Model No:GD2000U3
Serial No:SJXXXXXXX Purchase Date:11/25/XXXXX
Retailer: *******
Subject: Drive not being recognized by pc
Your Return Authorization number is: RAXXXXXX
********************************************************************************
The drive failed, I lost my backup & music. I paid to send the drive back for warranty repair. It was returned to me & failed within a few days. Sent drive back again (they paid) for repair. It came back & failed within a few days. I don't believe they can fix it or maybe they just don't care. You can see the history by pasting the above address in your browser or I can send you a copy with dates & documentation

Desired Settlement
I want a reliable backup drive that doesn't stop working every few days & destroys data that I can't get back.

Business Response
The customer agreed to send it back so we can further take a look into it since we've already replaced the hard drive twice. The customer suggested the problem may be with the USB 3.0 cable. We are going to replaced a complete unit with new USB 3.0 cable when we ship it back.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not accept that the matter is closed until I get the drive and make sure that it works for more than a few days. After I use the drive for a few weeks and providing that it works the way it is suppose to, I will then accept that the matter is resolved. Thank you.

Final Business Response
I'm sorry you feel that way but you are the first person in my 12 years with this company who came across a problem like this. If we've exhausted every option as to replace the necessary components including swapping with a brand new unit and it still doesn't work, the problem might by within your computer/system. Every time you sent the unit back to us, we run a series of test including SMART test and there was never a problem found.

Final Consumer Response
I have come to the conclusion that this type of drive will not work with my HP laptop. The drive they sent me today was suppose to be a new drive, just as they said the old drive was fixed using new hard disks both times it was repaired. I don't know what the problem could be. I shouldn't have purchased a hard drive from a company I knew nothing about, I should have stuck with Seagate. I will toss this drive, take the monetary loss, & buy a new drive from a reputable company. Thank you for your help, it was greatly appreciated.

01/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Fantom Drives DataBank 64GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive ******** The drive did not work from the start. It would not mount. I mailed back the drive to Micronet for a replacement. They refuse to replace the drive. They say they mailed a USB 3.0 drive to me, not the USB 2.0, that I had ordered.Micronet says the serial number on the drive does not match the one they sent to me.I mailed back the exact drive I received in their package! The serial number is missing on the invoice I received with the defective drive.
Product_Or_Service: Fantom Drives DataBank 64GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of $45.15, or a replacement. A 64 GB USB 2.0 or 64 GB USB 3.0 would be fine.

Business Response
Customer, ***** ****** ordered one unit FDB64U2 (64GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive) from our Online Store last Nov. 28. On Dec. 3, we sent him an email saying we no longer have the FDB64U2 in stock, and offered to give him the FDB64U3 (latest model, 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive ) instead for the same price. Customer agreed and his order was processed and shipped on Dec. 4, 2013. We have the email and copy of the invoice to prove this.

On Dec. 11, the customer submitted a RMA request claiming that the flash drive does not work. We issued customer a RMA. What we received back is a ******* together with the copy of the invoice that was sent to him Dec. 4th but the serial number of the drive was removed on the invoice. Upon further investigation, we found that drive that was sent back to us for warranty repair or replacement was actually purchased from one of our resellers (MacMall / PCMall) around July 2012 which is no longer under warranty.

We can prove without a doubt that the unit that was sent back to us was not the unit that the customer purchased from our online store on Dec. 4, 2013. We can provide documents supporting our claim upon request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The drive I received was the drive I ordered, the USB2. I figured Micronet had found they had more of them.

The drive would not mount. I sent the drive and a photocopy of the packing slip, back to Micronet. They are claiming the drive isn't the one they sent to me, but it IS the one I received from them. The copy of the packing slip is a xerox copy of the original.

I can provide a copy of the invoice, the package, and order confirmation, on request.

Final Business Response
Once again, here are the facts of this case :

1. Customer ordered ******* - USB 2.0 Flash Drive from our online store last Nov. 28, 2013.
2. An email was sent to customer on Dec. 3, saying we no longer have ******** We offered to send him ******* - USB 3.0 Flash drive, instead, for the same price. Customer agreed.
3. On Dec. 4, 2013, we shipped to the customer one unit ******* - USB 3.0 Flash Drive
4. On Dec. 11, 2013, the customer requested a Return Authorization claiming that the flash drive he received does not work.
5. Customer RMA request was issued. Customer then sent back the flash drive, which was ******** and definitely not what was sent to him on Dec. 4.
6. Our investigation showed that this flash drive was actually sold to one of our resellers, PC Mall over a year ago and PCMall sold it to this customer over a year ago and is therefore no longer under warranty.

First, we can't issue a replacement for a drive that is no longer under warranty. Second, we already gave this customer a good deal the first time, by giving him a USB 3.0 flash drive for the price of a USB 2.0 flash drive. Third, what the customer is claiming in this case is not true and although we try to make all our customers happy, we can't allow people to make false claims against our company thru BBB.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I found I do have a PC Mall account. I checked my purchase history. It shows "There are no orders associated with your account."

04/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
Business started: 03/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Computers - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
B N L Technologies, Inc., Fantom Drives

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MicroNet Technology

20525 Manhattan Place

Torrance, CA 90501

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 19260 Van Ness Avenue 

    Torrance, CA 90501

  • 20525 Manhattan Place 

    Torrance, CA 90501

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MicroNet Technology is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (949) 453-6100
  • (949) 453-6000
  • (310) 445-6600
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.fantomcrive.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers - Supplies & Parts

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.