BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Atman, Inc.

Phone: (310) 287-1900

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
02/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I Ordered a package CD case from this company and they arrived damaged. Called customer service and waited for 4 days for a response which said I needed to take a picture of damages box, they would contact shipper and send instructions for return. I am 83 yrs old, don't take pictures. The shipping box was not damaged, the merchandise was. Now they tell me I must pay for return shipping which was not revealed on original order, placed through Best Buy web site. Best buy would not accept return and told me that PCRUSH would pay for the return. NO ONE EVER SAID TO ME NOR DOES THE ORDER STATE THAT I MUST PAY FOR THE RETURN. This is deceptive at worst, poor customer service at best.
Product_Or_Service: CD Jewel Cases
Order_Number: BBYXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Totally refund credit card charges and pay for return of defective merchandise

Final Consumer Response
company has agreed to a full refund, no further action is needed.

02/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got a printer from them defective and they don't want to return it.
I got a Ricoh Aficio SG 3110SFNw printer from them that was defective and I ask them for a refund and they said they will accept it but will not take it back unless I pay $35 for a return fee. How do I just give them $35.00 to take back something that's no good, so I'm stuck with a piece of garbage.

Desired Settlement
All my money back and they pick this **** up.

Business Response
Greetings:

Merchant regrets technical difficulties encountered by consumer. Fortunately, all items sold by Merchant eligible for warranty replacement or repair directly from manufacturer at no cost to consumer.

Return shipping costs non-refundable as per terms and conditions of sale agreed to at point of purchase. However, to demonstrate Merchant's commitment to complete customer satisfaction pre-paid/preaddressed return shipping label provided as a onetime courtesy.

Merchant waived industry standard 15% re-stocking fee.

Consumer shipped product to Merchant using pre-paid label provided. Full refund processed in the $220.68.

No further credit due to consumer.

09/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Made the order for a printer on July 31, 2013 when I got a quote. I paid for the printer that day and after over 10 telephone calls, I am told that they have in stock more expensive units, which are supposedly the same exact item, or I can keep waiting for a cheaper printer to arrive or pay more for the printer that they have on stock. It appears to be bait-and-switch tactics. Twenty days after this organization has accepted the governments money, they still can not provide in writing the date of delivery of such item that cost almost $2000. I have come to learn that this company has many complaints under AKA Atman INC.
Product_Or_Service: LaserJet 500 M575DN Laser Multifunction Printer -
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Send us the product that you have in stock for the price that you quoted the government when they called. You also provided the governement in writing the price for the printer in an email. That is totally ridiculous to have the customer wait for you to get a cheaper unit, when they are supposed to be the same exact item.

Final Consumer Response

08/18/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The 7 printers I bought from pcRush.com, through American Express has not be delivered; Instead, I received 7 ink toners.
I purchased a total of 7 high performance printers from pcRush.com through American Express Rewards for a great price, unfortunately I was shipped toners instead of the printers. I want the full delivery of my printers plus a compensation for the opportunity costs incurred as a result of the breach of contract.
Item Description: Dell Multifunction Color Laser Printer C5765dn - Multifunction printer - color - laser - Legal (216 x 356 mm), A4 (210 x 297 mm) (media) - up to 45 ppm (copying) - up to 47 ppm (printing) - 700 sheets - USB 2.0, Gigabit LAN, USB host Manufacturer: Dell Part Number: 4DKY8 UPC: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX https://www01.extra.americanexpress.com/Product.aspx?usclongcode=XXXXXXXX&lid=fs_XXXXXXXX&merchant=&searchstring=laser%20printer&sortcol=Ranking&manufacturer=XXXXXXXXXX&category=&singleresult=

Desired Settlement
I want pcRush to deliver the total order of 7 printers and to pay a compensatory fee of $5000.00 which will be used partly for handling the shipment and to help recover my financial position.
Description:

1) http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=bsd&cs=04&sku=XXX-XXXX

2) Dell Multifunction Color Laser Printer C5765dn - Multifunction printer - color - laser - Legal (216 x 356 mm), A4 (210 x 297 mm) (media) - up to 45 ppm (copying) - up to 47 ppm (printing) - 700 sheets - USB 2.0, Gigabit LAN, USB host Manufacturer: Dell Part Number: 4DKY8 UPC: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX https://www01.extra.americanexpress.com/Product.aspx?usclongcode=XXXXXXXX&lid=fs_XXXXXXXX&merchant=&searchstring=laser%20printer&sortcol=Ranking&manufacturer=XXXXXXXXXX&category=&singleresult=

Business Response
Greetings:

Item delivered exactly as ordered on the ShopAmex web site. pcRUSH is merely a fulfillment service for American Express rewards points program. Any discrepancies regarding features or specifications must be addressed directly to ShopAmex. Product description clearly indicated item purchased was "9,000 Page Yield Black Toner Cartridge for Dell C5765dn Color Laser Printer." Unfortunately since a photo of the printer compatible with these toner cartridges was included in ShopAmex listing consumer misunderstood the offer thinking laser printers for sale, not merely toner cartridges. Obviously a high end color laser printer does not sell for $116 each. Consumer is purposely stirring up controversy where none exists. Nonetheless, in the interest of complete customer satisfaction pcRUSH authorizes all returns within 30 days of purchase date. Return Authorization # XXXXX both emailed to customer and verbally provided over the telephone in 12/10/2014. Industry standard 15% restocking fee waived as a customer service courtesy. Consumer refused to cooperate with return for refund. Goods not returned to merchant. All action taken to amicably resolve the matter have been met with hostility and aggression on the part of the consumer. Return authorization has now expired. Merchant unable to accept return in June 2015 for transaction completed in Dec 2014. Merchant complied with all best practices expected of a reputable online reseller commitment to the highest standards of integrity and customer satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
pcRUSH provided misleading information in its statement. First the items were never delivered as stated. A picture of the toner was not included in the listing. There was only one picture, which is that of a printer matching the description provided and also advertised on Dell's website. The state of mind of a major corporation or a major store (given the variety of your products) is not my concern. You make an offer; I accept the offer; we have a contract and you must fulfil your part of the deal by law.
Infarct pcRUSH acknowledges that there was a picture of a printer in their statement "a photo of the printer compatible with these toner cartridges was included in ShopAmex listing;" but pcRUSH cannot provide evidence that there was a picture of a toner in the listing. Secondly, I was not confused in what I was doing. A contract was reached when an offer was advertised and I accepted the terms of the offer. When I reached out to Amex and pcRUSH about the problem, they tried to evade the issue by offering me a refund.
I understood the business laws enough to know what they tried to do with me so I returned the items to the shipping address used on the labels. I did not accept the return authorization agreement offered by pcRUSH since it will legally cancel the contract. I also paid the full cost as advertised and AMEX gladly took the interest charges that resulted and for which I did not complain. If I a small consumer can meet my end of the bargain, why can't the large corporations? Why do they want to cheat me? I want the supply of the equipment as promised. And by law, AMEX, and its suppliers pcRUSH and Rakuten share a responsibility to deliver the items as promised. The party which takes the liability is determined in the agreement that is signed by AMEX and its distributers. If no agreement is available, AMEX must negotiate with pcRUSH and Rakuten. That is how the law is to be followed by responsible parties. pcRUSH should not presume to suggest what I am thinking and AMEX should consider that I take my responsibility seriously such that when another card member I included to help her improve her credit score caused me some significant penalties and even when I was denied full managerial control of the accounts I paid my debts and settle later with the other party. Let these giants be responsible also for a change. Pay your debts.


Final Business Response
pcRUSH has no knowledge nor control nor liability for content posted to Amex web site. Merchant does not "advertise" on Amex web site. Amex accepts purchases from cardholders and passes ***** to merchant for fulfillment. The invoice issued for this transaction by Merchant clearly documents the fact that items purchased solely toner cartridges and not printers as consumer asserts. Exact description of product ordered included in confirmation email sent to consumer at checkout. Consumer could have cancelled order upon receipt of confirmation email for full refund. Furthermore, the second order placed by consumer more than a month after delivery of "wrong item" reflects consumer's willful effort to create a dispute without merit (see invoices attached). Consumer's expectation to profit from what he insists is an Amex listing error is a matter to be addressed directly with Amex. Obviously color laser printers are not available on planet earth for $116 each. The solution to product delivered other than what was expected is return for full refund. Merchant issued Return Authorization for full refund in multiple emails and verbally over the phone. Merchant approves all returns within 30 days for purchase date. Consumer refused to cooperate with customary and standard industry practice. Merchant unable to accept return of item more than 7 months beyond original purchase date. If consumer feels he is due any restitution his concerns must be directed to Amex. Merchant performed according to highest standards of integrity as expected from reputable online reseller. Unfortunately, consumer's refusal to cooperate with equitable remedy leaves merchant with no further recourse to resolve this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from the pcRush does not resolve the problem. PcRush did not make any genuine effort to contact Amex about the issue. PcRush sold its products through Amex and therefore if there is a dispute concerning the delivery of the appropriate item, pcRush had a duty to cooperate with Amex to resolve the problem as opposed to simply blaming Amex. PcRush shares in the problem since they market their products jointly with Amex. To resolve the problem, pcRush must make a formal case to Amex transferring all responsibility to Amex otherwise pcRush remains partly liable. I am aware that the party responsible can be determined from the trade agreement between pcRush and Amex. The customer is not in a position to know the details of that arrangement and can only blame the party on whose website the item was advertised or on pcRush as the party advertised in the website as selling the product. If there is a dispute between the two parties. I suggest American Express and pcRush discuss the distribution of liability risk and determine which party will shoulder the most burden. Is pcRush responsible for the data entry in the website? if not then American Express who advertised the data is liable only up to the amount in excess of what was agreed to be delivered by pcRush. If on the other hand pcRush enters its own data in the Amex website, then pcRush is responsible for whatever it advertises and is 100% responsible for fulfilling the delivery. by the way, the wrong item was returned to pcRush using the return address provided.

02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i ordered a tablet from Walmart and with that they had this company pcrush send me a tablet out with that it turned out to be used not new
I placed an order ON JAN 17TH with Walmart and I guess there other company they deal with is PCrush, When I receved the order I had discovered that it was a dirty used tablet , each new tablet comes with a new protective scratch screen sheet and I noticed that it had been replaced and under it was dirt, indicating it was used along with the dirty packaging behind it I emailed the company they wanted me to ship it back with me paying for shipping how ever because they send me a dirty used tablet when I ordered new they need to pay for shipping back with a prepaid label and I have yet to get that, !!! and they owe my son a tablet

Desired Settlement
I want them to send out a new tablet and a label to witch I would send this dirty used tablet back to them !! but they have been no help at all thank you

Business Response
Merchant regrets technical difficulties encountered by consumer. Fortunately, all items sold by Merchant eligible for warranty replacement or repair directly from manufacturer at no cost to consumer.

Product ordered is a non-stock item which shipped directly from manufacturer's fulfillment warehouse. Merchant has no inventory on-hand to provide replacement as requested by consumer. Returns to Merchant for refund only.

Return shipping costs non-refundable as per terms and conditions of sale agreed to at point of purchase. However, to demonstrate Merchant's commitment to complete customer satisfadtion pre-paid/preaddressed return shipping label provided as a one time courtesy.

Pre-paid/pre-addressed shipping label FedEx tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXX emailed to consumer on 2/4/2015 to return product for full refund with no out of pocket expense.

RMA valid 15 days. Encourage customer to ship promptly to expedite refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because they failed , I had to resort to contacting the maker of the tablet visual-lnd and take a loss

Final Business Response
All items sold by pcRUSH eligible for warranty replacement or repair directly from manufacturer at no cost to consumer. Consumer encouraged to contact merchant with tech support case ID # if in any way dissatisfied with warranty options provided by manufacturer. If consumer prefers return for refund please ship unwanted item to merchant. Although terms and conditions of sale agreed to by consumer clearly state "return shipping non-refundable" merchant provided pre-paid Fedex label tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXX on 02/04/2015 to ship unwanted item to merchant with no out of pocket expense. Consumer encouraged to ship promptly to expedite full refund. Merchant performed above and beyond terms and condition of sale in keeping with best practices and highest standards of customer service expected by the BBB.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not pay for an item to be returned they should pay for it over night and return it back over night

11/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
pcRush listed 4TB hard drives at $39.79. They would not honor the sale and claimed to have reversed charges but the money has been withheld from me.
At 10:31 AM on November 5, 2014 I purchased two Constellation 4 TB 3.5" Internal Hard Drive for $89.78. At 6:32 PM I received an email that "Unfortunately, we had to cancel your order (details below), as the item(s) you requested is/are not currently available." I figured this was normal as the demand was high for a product at such a cut price. Until I received this email at 11:21 PM "Thank you for your recent order. Unfortunately, database error encountered during automated update of product details. pcRUSH shares your frustration with technical difficulty resulting in discrepancies in the listing.

Order has been cancelled with transaction reversed on payment method provided at checkout. pcRUSH regrets the inconvenience. Thank you for your understanding and consideration. " Legally, they are responsible to honor the orders as they did not specify excluding listing errors. I was peeved but was willing to accept it with a grain of salt. The next day I saw a severely discounted 4TB hard drive of another make for $100 shipped. I went to purchase it and, much to my chagrin I had not been refunded from pcRUSH yet. It is now four days after that and I have yet to received my refund. What's more, I lost the deal and now can only pay retail price. I have taken a mammoth loss due to this company's incompetence.

Desired Settlement
I do not believe just refunding my money, something that legally should have been done a long time ago, is enough to justify my loss. I want pcRUSH to honor my ORIGINAL purchase which was THEIR error. There have been several discounted items I wished to purchase but lost the opportunity because this company is withholding my money.

Business Response
Greetings:

Early morning Nov-XX-XXXX, one of Merchants vendors sent a faulty feed to online system. This resulted in a pricing error that has since gone viral. Although immediate action was taken when this was discovered, any orders affected will be cancelled. Merchants sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused our customers. We truly appreciate your understanding in this matter.

NO CHARGES BILLED BY MERCHANT FOR CANCELLED TRANSACTION

Any hold of funds based on policy of consumer's financial institution beyond merchant's control. With transaction immediately reversed banks typically do not hold funds more than 24 hours.

Following best business practices as a longer term BBB member, terms of usage pcRUSH.com web site clearly state no liability exists for damages or suffering. Full extent of merchant's liability amounts to purchase of product purchased by consumer. Consumer in BBB CASE#: XXXXXX explicitly confirms no out of pocket expense due to technical glitch. No further credit due to consumer.

11/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PCRUSH through the best buy marketplace sold me an item twice, delivered the wrong item twice, and refused to send purchased item at advertised price.
On 10-7-14, PCRUSH via the BEST Buy marketplace sold me two HP server model #XXXXXX-s01 for 485.43 each(retail price per item is almost 8,000). However, they delivered 2 "portable hard drives" instead. I called PCRUSH numerous times on 10-7,10-8,and 10-9 to explain that they sent me the wrong item and they indicated that they would research the issue and get back to me. This never happened. I suspect their research showed that they were going to take a 15,000 loss by actually honoring their sales price, for which they had no problem taking my money. They have refunded my money, and taken the item off of the pcrush.com website as on 2pm EST on 10-14. I then called best buy seeking resolution, and they indicated they had zero liability as it was a market place vendor, and that they couldn't force the vendor to provide a cure. I realize the lunacy of my complaint, however that doesn't change the problem. They sold me an item for the wrong price, fulfilled it with the wrong item, and then explained they had no obligation to honor the "computer glitch". I'm only familiar with New York State and FTC consumer laws as the yapply to "brick and morter" stores, but if this were the case, they would have to take the loss. Do I have a case?

Desired Settlement
In order of desire:
1 - Send the actual item purchased for the originally published price if law requires.
2 - Make a significant good faith effort other than just giving me my money back.

Business Response
Seller regrets database discrepancy resulting in inaccurate product listing on BestBuy Marketplace. Seller immediately resolved the matter by providing pre-paid FedEx return label XXXXXXXXXXXX. Buyer encouraged to return unwanted item promptly to expedite full refund. Terms and conditions agreed to by Buyer when completing account registration on BestBuy marketplace includes standard disclaimer found on all internet ecommerce web sites: "no liability expressed or implied for listing errors, inaccurate descriptions, specifications or price discrepancies. Liability for any transaction shall not exceed total amount charged for a specific purchase." Buyer has been made whole with full refund to ensure no out of pocket expense for the listing error. Seller resolved the matter according to the highest standard expected of long time BBB member company in good standing.

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
not happy would not work
was not compatible with the rest of equipment not happy with best buy 3rd party

Desired Settlement
not happy want a refund on cameras order from best buy and got a night mare sent it all back to manbait in ny and now they tell me they are not there product so im wating for them to send them back so i can return to the right place what a night mare

Business Response
Seller regrets difficulty encountered by Buyer. Seller approves all returns within 30 days of original purchase date.

Item purchased on 06/05/2014 delivered to Buyer via UPS tracking # 1Z5808EXXXXXXXXXXX.

Buyer first notified Seller of malfunction 09/16/2014, beyond the 30 day return period agreed to at point of purchase.

Buyer encouraged to contact manufacturer for warranty support and/or service.

If Buyer in any way dissatisfied with manufacturer warranty options please provide Seller with valid technical support case ID # so matter can be escalated with Product Manager to ensure manufacturer fulfills all warranty obligations.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
not happy got riped off dont know how this companey got involved order from best buy nothing would work uniden technical support could not help nothing will work this is not right.Who ordered these from this comppany not happy



Final Business Response
Seller regrets difficulty encountered by Buyer. Seller approves all returns within 30 days of original purchase date. Buyer full of invective and hostility towards Seller, towards BestBuy towards Uniden and some company Seller has no knowledge of by the name of "manbait in ny," but Buyer refuses to take responsibility for his own failure to follow directions provided and abide by terms and conditions of sale agreed to at point of purchase. No internet reseller can accept returns of electronics products more than 90 days after purchase date. Product protected against defect through manufacturer's warranty process. Buyer refuses to provide Seller with tech support case ID or ticket # so case can be escalated to Product Manager to ensure manufacturer fulfills all warranty obligations. Buyer more interested in complaints and hostility than resolving the technical malfunction. Seller attempted to resolve the matter according to the highest standard expected of long time BBB member company in good standing. If Buyer refuses to cooperate with manufacturer warranty process Seller is powerless to provide any assistance.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Supplies & Parts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.