BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Zip Cloud

Find a Location

(888) 851-0954View Additional Phone Numbers111 East Broadway Suite 210, GlendaleCA 91205View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.zipcloud.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Zip Cloud is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Zip Cloud's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Zip Cloud

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In Aug. 2013, I bought a one-year subscription to the ZipCloud backup service. It never worked at all. The company refuses to refund my $120.
In August 2013, I purchased a one-year subscription to ZipCloud, the online backup/storage service using the American Express card for my company, Stony Point Communications, Inc. The amount charged was $120.37($24.95 on 8/5/2013, $95.42 on 8/19/2013). Ostensibly, this was to provide me with unlimited cloud backups a year.

From the start ZipCloud did not work as advertised, and despite following advice from ZipCloud support, it never did. At first, the daily automatic backups I scheduled with it did not start at all. After installing a "new version," backups began starting every five minutes. Yet another version solved those problems, but I then discovered that hundreds of files I had selected for backups were not backed up to ZipCloud at all, nor was there any way to get them to backup.

In spite of numerous attempts to get ZipCloud to refund my subscription fee and honor the "Anytime Moneyback Guarantee" promoted prominently on its website (*****************************************), the company repeatedly refused, saying, "Regrettably, we cannot process your request for a refund, as it is indicated on our Terms and Conditions, Section 6. ZC ."

Upon further research, ZipCloud appears to be one of a few scams perpetrated by a company called JDI See these links:

*********************
*********************

Given my experience and that of many others, it appears as if Zipcloud is using false advertising to defraud millions from individuals and businesses on at least three continents.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the $120.37 I spend for the ZipCloud service.

Business Response
At the time customer cancelled the account he was not eligible for refund, however I am happy to review this.
Customer would be receiving pro rate refund dating back to Oct/20/2013 when first requested cancellation.

However customer paid long time ago (Aug 2013), the credit for the transaction is now expired. (only valid for 6 months).
The only way to send the credit is via our PayPal account. If customer has existing PayPal account, please let me know the email address associated with it and I will send the funds right away. If he hasn't got a PayPal account, I can strongly recommend to register one (can do it free of charge on PayPal's website). Once customer has a fully functional PayPal account, just advise us with the registered email address, and we'll issue the credit.

We are not associated with any kind of scam or whatever the customer is referring to, we just purely follow our T&C rules that customer agreed to.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I pair for unlimited service with Zipcloud. The service was not the besteven from the start. Backing up files took MONTHS even though I had purchased the fastest program, their top service. And then, files did not overwrite as they were updated. I was told this was being addressed. When I DID need to access files, download time was twice as slow as the back-up had been. So it was pretty much worthless. I tried again to back up files as I had paid over $200 for the service. The software kept quitting after it had been backing up for less than 10 minutes. I was told this would be addressed. The issues were FINALLY fixed. I then received a notice from their legal team that I was not using the system correctly and to be able to keep my account, I needed to PAY MORE MONEY. I was given 30 days to either UPGRADE (mind you, I purchased UNLIMITED BACK UP)or have my account shut down. I called billing to discuss. They told me they would give me a refund. Oddly enough my call was disconnected before that happened. When I called back, I was told they could NOT give me a refund. At that time, my account was CANCELED. I could not access my files and I was not given a refund. I had paid for 2 years of service which should have lasted through November 2014. I had faulty, unacceptable service through August 30, 2013. At that time they closed my account and now will not process any kind of refund.
Product_Or_Service: Unlimited 2 year back up with 2 devices.
Order_Number: XXXXXX-XXXXXX, XXXXX
Account_Number: *******************

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a refund for the portion of service not used, which is over a year's worth of service. I also paid for a second device to be backed up as well and would like a refund on that, too.

Business Response
The customers usage went against our terms and conditions. They were provided the option of upgrading to business or cancelling, they chose to cancel and were refund the renewal payment they had just made. All other payments relate to service rendered.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business did not refund my unused portion of my contract. I did not go against the terms of the contract as I had purchased unlimited storage and back up capabilities for multiple devices. I paid for multiple years of service and used less than one. They have not refunded the difference. They have not been forthcoming with help from customer service. I would not recommend working with them. There are better businesses out there with greater transparency and customer service. The refund I did receive was a payment they charged me for AFTER I had canceled my service. It was not a refund of any of my original paid contract fees.

Final Business Response
The customers usage went against our terms and conditions. They were provided the option of upgrading to business or cancelling, they chose to cancel and were refund the renewal payment they had just made. All other payments relate to service rendered.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ZipCloud offers an unlimited data backup of your computer. I signed up for a year of service and paid extra to back up two separate computers.I have two personal computers, both Macintosh. One has a capacity of 150GB, the other 200GB. I am a college student and use these computers at my home and at school.I used ZipCloud's service to automatically backup my computers once a day which generally occurred while at home, but occasionally while I was at school. I do not run a business, am not a business, do not use ZipCloud for business purposes. In fact, as a student, I am not even employed.After only a few months of uninterrupted service, ZipCloud terminated my personal membership, informing me that my account had been flagged for using their service for "business purposes". There was no further explanation. I tried to contact ZipCloud and received only a boilerplate response informing me that it had been flagged, I could not get the flag removed, and that there was nothing ZipCloud could do to stop it. There was no further explanation as to why or how my personal use of two computers totaling less than 500GB would be considered business use.I was told to upgrade to a business account (a higher price) or all of my files would be deleted.ZipCloud's practices are arbitrary and secretive. They are in direct conflict with their advertised pricing and offers. It is a clear bait and switch, once they have all of my data and threaten to delete it if I don't upgrade to a business account. There is no explanation as to why a college student who uses their service for personal backups would qualify as a business.Further, ZipCloud has not responded to my multiple inquiries about a refund on my annual membership and upgrades which I paid for ahead of time. Zipcloud needs to either reinstate my personal account or give me a full refund on my subscription and all upgrades.

Desired Settlement
At this point, I would like ZipCloud to refund all of my money and all upgrades that I paid for to use their service.Secondly, I would like to be told why I triggered a "business use" mechanism on their site.Alternatively, I would like my personal account reinstated.

Business Response
A temporary hold was placed on the account which will prevent any further backup.

Regrettably this was due to a breach of our terms and conditions and specifically our Fair Usage Policy.

14. Termination and Fair Use Policy
If you have purchased a ZC Product or Service that is inappropriate for your actual usage, ZC may require you to switch to an appropriate ZC Product or Service which may result in your having to pay ZC additional fees for use of the appropriate product or to terminate your purchased ZC Products or Services and refund, on a prorated basis, any fees paid you may have paid on the unused portion of your ZC subscription.

We monitor the usage of our heaviest Unlimited account users, a dynamic margin is calculated based upon averages which, should a user fall into, we may require them to cease backup or move onto a business account.

(www.zipcloud.com/terms)

Put basically, the account reached our fair usage dynamic limit. This dynamic limit is calculated by taking the average backup space of our top users who have backed up less than 100mb in the last 30 days. Regrettably the account exceeded this dynamic limit by 50GB. The customer chose to cancel the account.

03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased back up service specifically because the company advertising ability to back up network storage. Paid a premium to have this ability. Upon charging my credit card without me responding to their inquiry for updated payment information, my account was active and I am unable to back up network storage as advertised. The company only offers email support, for which I have emailed numberous times and was told this was due to a technical issue on thier server and i should wait 24 hours. After waiting 48 hours, I emailed again and was told to be patient. I waited 24 hours more and emailed them again and requested cancellation since they could not deliver me the service I paid for. They emailed me and told me they were forwarding my request to the cancellation team. That was the last communication I received from the company. I have emailed them back on 3/19 indicating I would put the charges in dispute and file a BBB compaint if I didn't hear from them. After 5 days of not receiving any further correspondence, I have concluded this company is incapable of delivering on their advertised service and have placed the charges in dispute with my bank and request BBB's assitance in holding this company accountable for their inability to deliver an advertised service, provide resolution to what they self described as a technical issue with their servers, and in the absence of telephonic customer service or a response to my cancellation request, assistance in closing my account with them.

Desired Settlement
delete my data that did back up
refund my money in full totaling $283.27
unsubscribe me from any further advertisement by this poorly run bait and switch organization

Business Response
Mr Perez's account was fully cancelled and refunded as requested. Cancellation and Refund Confirmations was sent to **** ******** on Mar/24/2013 11:15:07AM

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not sure who ** ***** is? My name is ********

Final Business Response
Customer complained that he cannot back up his network drive. This was due to our server migration (moving servers for better and more secure service). We have asked the customer to be patient till it is fixed. He was ready to file bank dispute just after 3 days of his initial email (not weeks as he is claiming), but this was simply not enough time for the server fix. Since the customer disputed the charges, it is/was down to a bank decision if he gets the funds back or not. Whatever the bank decided, it was final.
Account has been cancelled on the 24th March 2013, when we received the chargeback claim from the bank.
No further action required.

06/28/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Classic bait and switch techniques. Try to sign up for online backup services. When you sign up it's $5.95/month special for this level of service. By the time you get to entering your credit card it's now $9.95/month. Clicked on "backup my desktop and external hard drive" when signing up for account. Now that I'm all paid up, when I click on "back up external hard drive" a window pops up that I've got to upgrade to back this up, for an extra $79.95! I've heard this about this company, but was hoping it wasn't so. Now to go delete my account, I"m sure they've already processed the credit card.
Product_Or_Service: unlimited backup plan

Desired Settlement
external backup included in plan

Business Response
I apologize for any confusion. We offer a variety of different billing terms, I see you have chosen to pay on an annual basis. The full payment is for the amount of $95.42 which breaks down to 7.95 a month. We do offer a 2 year plan, that was offered to you on the order form, for $142.80. This breaks down to 5.95 a month. We can easily downgrade or upgrade your plan and refund you or charge the difference. I have added the ability to backup your external drive free of charge.

Page 1 of 3
05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Multimedia, Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/14/2011
Number of Employees

106

Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Multimedia, Computer Software Publishers & Developers

Alternate Business Names
Corporation Just Develop It, ZipCloud.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Zip Cloud

111 East Broadway Suite 210

Glendale, CA 91205

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • Unit 6, Fulcrum 2 

    Solent Way, Whiteley Hampshire, PO15 7FN

  • 111 East Broadway Suite 210 

    Glendale, CA 91205(888) 317-9315
    (888) 851-0954

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Zip Cloud is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 317-9315
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers Hardware, Software & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.