BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

SanDisk Corporation

Phone: (408) 801-1000Fax: (408) 542-0503951 SanDisk Dr, MilpitasCA 95035-7933

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2010

BBB has determined that SanDisk Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SanDisk Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 36 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented by the Bureau.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

36 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues7
Problems with Product / Service25
Total Closed Complaints 36

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (36)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a sandisk card from walmart on around May 15th, 2014. I never used the card until June 15th at which I put the new card in my Nikon D80 and took around 92 pictures for Fathers Day of my daughter. I hooked the camera up and tried to transfer the pictures to the computer and the computer froze and failed to transfer the pictures. I turned the camera off and back on only to read the card was not able to be used. I took the card out of the camera and tried it in a card reader and it failed to load the pictures as well. Being that it was a Sunday, sandisk was not open when I called their number for help. I googled some information and downloaded many programs to try to retrieve the photos but each program said their was no pictures on the card or gave me an unable to read error. Monday morning I was so stressed out over the pictures not being able to load that I took the card to computer software store for retrieval. I ended up having to pay $75.00 for them to only retrieve 78 of the pictures. The first 8 pictures were irreplaceable and hurt me to no end to lose. I contacted sandisk when I got home and tech support told me I needed to format the card which I already know I would not due. I told the tech guy that the computer IT man said the card was corrupt. Sandisk said to me there was nothing they could do for me but replace the card. I want my money back that I am out having to pay to retrieve pictures that were irreplaceable when I put my all into their company. The tech for sandisk was very rude and not willing to help at all. I have a receipt from the computer store that shows the card was corrupt.
Product_Or_Service: SanDisk 8Gb

Initial Business Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for providing the communications for your Case Number XXXXXX for ****** ****** in Dickinson, North Dakota. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution or clarification for all customer concerns.
Our internal records for CaseID: XXXXXXX indicate the technical support manager has been in communication with ****** ****** regarding her data recovery concern for an 8GB SanDisk SDHC Memory Card. An update regarding the recoverable images and FAT corruption by the host device was provided to ****** ******. Upon the retrieval of several images, the 8GB SDHC card was formatted and was found to be fully functional. Out of customer consideration, the data recovery was offered in an attempt to investigate the issue with the card and the offer of two (2) units of 16GB Extreme Pro SDHC Memory Cards as replacement products were accepted and documented by ****** ******.
Upon the completion of the recoverable images, and the acceptance of the two (2) units of 16GB Extreme Pro SDHC Memory Cards, we now consider this case closed.
Best Regards,
** *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purchased a Sandisk ReadyCache Drive almost a year ago. Worked great until latest software update which caused massive issues and broke functionality.
I purchased a Sandisk ReadyCache drive for my PC late last year. This device worked great on the 1.0 and 1.1 versions of Sandisk's ExpressCache software and rarely caused any problems in my PC.

This summer Sandisk released an ExpressCache software update, version 1.2.1 which promised many bug fixes. Unfortunately this update has rendered the Readycache drive I paid for useless. One of the features of this device is a GUI monitoring program, which now constantly says it is wiping out the drive with alert message boxes appearing on the screen. Additionally, with this new software update, once the drive is 25GB full Windows freezes during start-up for about 10 seconds at the point where the orbs are coming together to make the Windows logo (Win 7). I've also encountered several blue screens and after debugging the dump files the issues are related to ExpressCache 1.2.1. Once I unhooked and uninstalled my Readycache drive from my PC it instantly became stable again so I know the issues are due to Sandisk's ExpressCache "update".

I tried unsuccessfully to reach out to Sandisk's support for help. Even after providing them with a myriad of information about my PC they refuse to provide me with previous versions of the ExpressCache software which made this product useful/stable and their website download link ONLY contains the latest version (the broken ExpressCache 1.2.1). Their advice was "close out of the ExpressCache GUI application it will still work" but this is a feature of this product I paid for and it still doesn't resolve the Windows startup freezing and stability/blue screen issues.

If you view the official Sandisk ReadyCache product forums there are a lot of people having issues with ExpressCache 1.2.1 and Sandisk is silent, not giving any details of when the fix is coming and what it will address.
http://forums.sandisk.com/t5/SanDisk-ReadyCache-SSD/bd-p/readycache

I cannot return this to Newegg since I am outside of their warranty window (but I'm well inside of 3 year Sandisk manufacturers warranty). I've been a Sandisk customer for 9 years but in this instance they've taken a good product, broke it with a buggy "update" and refuse to offer any help to consumers who are left ripped off with a broken product.

Here are the details of my purchase:
Ordered from: Newegg.com
Order Date: October 24th, 2012
Order #XXXXXXXXX
Order Total: $42.98
Payment Method: American Express

Initial Business Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for providing the communications for your Case# XXXXXX for **** ******* in *********************. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution for clarification for all customer concerns.
SanDisk Corporation strives to provide upgrades and performance updates for many products to ensure customer satisfaction. Oftentimes, the new releases may include features and performance updates that may not appeal to all customer needs. Our engineering team had released the latest software update of ExpressCache on Friday, October 18, 2013. Mr. ******* was contacted by a technical support engineer to assist in resolving concerns regarding his last software update. Information was provided to Mr. ******* for installing the recently released update, and the information for an earlier ExpressCache update is available, if preferred.
**** ******* has access to an older version and the most recent ExpressCache updates.

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product & Service Problems won't replace a defective SD Card
I returned my defective 4GB SD Card to SanDisk at their Malpitas CA address on X-XX-XX and followed up with a phone call to verify their receipt of it. After 3 foreign(Indian)reps asked ridiculous questions over and over about the package I sent it in...a white envelope - tricky eh?, they gave me the run around. Next, I e-mailed them and got the run around. The first of many excuses was that the address that I mailed my letter and the defective card to was no longer their address. Check their website. It is still the main address on their site on their 'contact' page even today. After numerous excuses and even blaming me for not 'doing it' (returning the card) right, low and behold they found my letter and card at their address. It was their address afterall...no kidding! So, guess what they did with the defective card??? They returned it to me along with their warranty policy. The card NEVER worked and could not be formatted EVER. They have lost my $$$ permanently. Companies should not be allowed to steal from consumers. They are thieves. I paid for a product that does not work and the refused to replace it. I have read online that they do this frequently. I have a copy of my original letter to them and al the e-mails. They should not be allowed to rip off their customers.

Initial Business Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for providing the details for you Case Number XXXXXX for ******* ********* in **************. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution or clarification for all customer concerns.
Upon reviewing our case notes (CaseID XXXXXXX) for ******* *********, we have confirmed the issue is in reference to a SanDisk 4GB SD Memory Card that was received as an unauthorized shipment at the SanDisk Corporate Office. A company representative had returned the memory card to ******* ********* with a letter stating to contact our technical support division to assist with any warranty claim. As with many corporations, a RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization) is required for processing all warranty claims. The RMA is generally provided prior to returning products as a means for accurate product tracking. In addition, our customers are provided with a complimentary prepaid UPS label for the return of the product for processing. To satisfy this Better Business Bureau complaint, a prepaid UPS label will be mailed to ******* ********* at the address listed with the Better Business Bureau for review and replacement of her memory card. This action is solely for the purpose of the Better Business Bureau complaint and is not meant to supersede our existing RMA policy. In the future, we request ******* ********* to contact our support team with assistance with any SanDisk product prior to returning such unauthorized product without a RMA. The UPS Return Service label (1Z XXX XXE XX XXXX XXXX) will be sent via expedited service for delivery on Wednesday, October 2, 2013 via UPS 2-Day Air (1Z XXX XXE XX XXXX XXXX).

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any envelope to returen the disk for the second time. This began on X-XX-XX and it is now 10-2-13. It is ludicrous to blame the customer for not following their RMA policy. If and when the disk is replaced, I will be satisfied only. This power trip they are on chastising me like I was in grade school and didn't follow their instructions is foolish. This could have and should have been handled as a simple return and replacement request. There have been many promises of follow up from SanDisk and all that has been done so far is to waste my time and energy with endless delay. I will believe it when I see it. They have done nothhing to prove their word to me thus far.

Final Business Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
As previously indicated, a prepaid UPS Return Label was sent to ******* *********. The UPS Return Label was delivered to the stated address on October 2, 2013 via UPS Tracking Number 1Z XXX XXE XX XXXX XXXX. A 4GB SD Memory Card was later received at SanDisk HQ from ******* ********* via the provided prepaid UPS label. Our records and recent UPS records for a replacement 4GB SD Memory Card was sent to ******* ********* on Monday, October 7, 2013 via UPS 2-Day Air - 1Z XXX XXE XX XXXX XXXX. The replacement card was delivered to ******* ********* on Wednesday, October 9, 2013, along with information for contacting our support center for any necessary assistance regarding our products.

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/25/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Multiple attempts to get RMA for a defective SD memory card which had lifetime warranty.
Incident: XXXXXX-XXXXXX

32gig Sandisk card that had complete failure.
Sent all information regarding card twice.
CS failed to respond via email and phone.

Initial Business Response
Upon reviewing our CaseID: XXXXXXX for *** ******, we have documented the technical support provided was for a 32GB SanDisk microSDHC memory card. Records indicate a request for additional information to setup a RMA was forwarded to *** ****** via email on August 5, 2013. The data was received to complete the RMA process via chat on September 17, 2013. RMA RXXXXXXX was generated for the return of a 32GB SanDisk microSDHC on September 17, 2013. *** ****** was also provided a complimentary prepaid UPS label to return his product via UPS tracking number - ****XXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Once the defective unit has been received via the complimentary prepaid UPS label, *** ****** will be notified of the return and the processing of the replacement unit.
Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: SanDisk is not honoring a warranty on their Defective product
About 8 months ago, I purchased a SanDisk Rock-n-roll SlotRadio card from a retailer. That card no longer works in my SanDisk player. I have several other cards that work fine in my player so I know the player is fine and the card is defective. SanDisk provides a year warranty on these cards. However, I cannot get them to respond to my inquires about how to replace it.
They can keep this card and send me either a refund for $56.00 or a new working rock-n-roll slotradio card. Its their choice because I'll be happy with either outcome.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
08/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: Sandisk 32GB micro card suddenly became inaccessible from the phone or the computer. This was a batch production issue. Sandisk denied data recovery.
My Sandisk 32GB ultra micro card was purchased from BestBuy last November. Only started to use it in my Samsung GS3 phone around this May for a 1 month trip. I shot pictures and videos on on this card during my trip. Before I was able to backup the data after I came back, the card suddenly became inaccessible either from the phone or computer.

I researched and found this was a production issue that specifically on 32GB ultra micro card. It affects a percentage of the users. The card gets extremely hot eventually and suddenly fails. Mine may happened to be in that old batch. (research links and card information are attached at the end of this letter.)

I contacted Sandisk and discussed this matter with them. Sandisk immediately knows what I was talking about and offered the replacement card, and recommended a data recovery company that worked the best with their product. How convenient!

I then was told this was a "mechanical issue", per supervisor **** from Salt Lake support center. Sandisk support promised this mechanical issue was corrected in the newer productions.

But, I lost my data because of this Sandisk's production issue. So I denied the offer of replacing card, but ask for Sandisk to either recover the data or to cover the data recovery cost. It'll cost me about 400 dollar.

Then a couple of support persons (****, ****, **** the manager from Salt lake City support center) called me and try to convince me to take the replacement card. I insisted Sandisk to recover the data or cover the cost for data recovery.

I believe my request is reasonable, because this is not my user error or a random product issue, nor a physical damage of the card. It is a production issue because of Sandisk's negligence on their production line. It caused a great loss of my time and money. Why should I spend additional $400 to correct Sandisk's production error? Even if I spend that money, I still may end up with not being able to recover the data from that card.

I insist Sandisk to be responsible to recover the data, or cover the data recovery cost for me!



Here are the links to the reports:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2013/03/18/galaxy_s3_sandisk_msd/
http://crave.cnet.co.uk/mobiles/samsung-galaxy-s3-fault-is-caused-by-sandisk-memory-cards-XXXXXXXX/
http://forums.sandisk.com/t5/Mobile-memory-professional-cards/32gb-Micro-SDHC-card-is-not-detected-by-phone-and-unable-to/td-p/XXXXXX
http://www.phonearena.com/news/SanDisk-says-it-produced-some-bad-32GB-and-64GB-microSD-cards_idXXXXX

The card:
32GB ultra micro sdhc (1)
product code: ************
purchased from BestBuy
11/26/12
no physical damage

here is an email quote that sent by ******* on 6/25/12 who stated this was a production issue. I can forward this email if it is needed:
"I would like to inform you that Sandisk identified and fixed problems affecting a small percentage of Ultra MicroSD cards.SanDisk will replace your microSD under warranty if you have any functional failures. All replacement microSD are new and have the latest manufacturing updates."

Business' Initial Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for providing the communications for your Case# XXXXXX for **** **** in Stilwell, Kansas. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution or clarification for all customer concerns.
Upon reviewing the case for **** ****, we have documented the technical support provided was for a 32GB SanDisk Ultra microSDHC Memory Card, per our Incident Number XXXXXXX. The information provided to Mr. **** by the technical support representatives and supervisors was correct, courteous and in-line with SanDisk policy. We are sorry if **** **** felt otherwise.
Per the terms of the SanDisk Limited Warranty, if a product fails under the terms of the warranty, SanDisk will inspect the product and at its option, repair or replace the product. SanDisk's sole liability, and the exclusive remedy, for any acknowledged defect shall be the repair or replacement of the product in question.
SanDisk does not warranty, and shall not be responsible for, any lost data or images contained in any product (including in any returned product), regardless of the cause of the loss. Data files are not covered under the SanDisk Limited Warranty, nor is it covered by the warranty of any other mass storage manufacturer, including the manufacturers of hard drives and portable storage devices.
In our response to **** **** on July 25, 2013, data recovery is not offered or implied. In accordance to the SanDisk Limited Warranty, a replacement 32GB Ultra microSDHC memory card is offered to **** **** with the return of his non-functioning unit for the express purpose of maintaining the end-user agreement.

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I am not satisfied and I do not accept Sandisk's resolution and response. I stand my demand.

BBB, please tell me what you can do other than just forwarding the communications.

thanks!

Business' Final Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
The rebuttal for your Case# XXXXXX for **** **** was received. As previously indicated, data files are not covered under the SanDisk Limited Warranty, nor are they covered by the warranty of any other mass storage manufacturer, including the manufacturers of hard drives and portable storage drives. **** **** may elect to use any data recovery resource conveniently available to him. SanDisk Corporation had acknowledged the defect and offered a warranty replacement product as outlined in the SanDisk Limited Warranty. Our records indicate a warranty replacement claim was approved for **** **** and issued under RMA RXXXXXXX on June 26, 2013. The defective unit can returned for the warranty replacement at the earliest convenience to satisfy the warranty claim.

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Several years ago I purchased an 8 GB SanDisk Cruzer Flash Drive. I used it approximately 10 times to backup some 7 GB of crucial and personal information. Last week when I tried to open the drive I kept receiving an error and could not retrieve my stored data.
I contacted SanDisk Customer Service several times, in India, ticket # XXXXXXX; finally spoke with **************, in Milpitas, who categorically stated to me that they were not responsible for corrupted data. I was furious because there is a lot of critical data on this drive. They suggested a private company that charges, I think, $175 to attempt to retrieve the data without any guaranties whatsoever. There was a serious problem with this drive and they know it for it appears all over the Internet that others have had this same problem. Furthermore, I own two more of their flash drives and have given away several as gifts.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,

Thank you for providing the communications for your Case# XXXXXX for **** ********* in Lake Elsinore, California. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution or clarification for all customer concerns.
Upon reviewing the case for **** *********, we have documented the technical support provided was for an 8GB Cruzer USB Flash Drive (SDCZ6-008G/SDCZX-XXXX) with U3 Technology. The information provided to Mr. ********* by the technical support representative was correct, courteous and in-line with SanDisk policy. We are sorry if Mr. ********* felt otherwise.
Per the terms of the SanDisk Limited Warranty, if a product fails under the terms of the warranty, SanDisk will inspect the product and at its option, repair or replace the product. SanDisk's sole liability, and the exclusive remedy, for any acknowledged defect shall be the repair or replacement of the product in question.
SanDisk does not warrant, and shall not be responsible for, any lost data or images contained in any product (including in any returned product), regardless of the cause of the loss. Data is not covered under the SanDisk Limited Warranty, nor is it covered by the warranty of any other mass storage manufacturer, including the manufacturers of hard drives and portable storage drives. SanDisk's products are not warranted to operate without failure.
Mr. ********* has the option to choose any data recovery solution available to him, as LC Technologies is only the preferred data recovery specialists. We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience encountered by **** ********* with the use of our product, and would like to offer a 16GB Cruzer USB Flash Drive solely out of customer consideration. The offer is not in lieu of compensation for lost data.

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sandisk's response is absolute nonsense. "California upholds limitations of liability, but strictly construes their terms. A party may not limit liability for fraud, willful injury to persons or property, or for violation of law, whether willful or negligent. Cal. Civ. Code XXXX (XXXX)"; there are various adjudicated cases on record.
Sandisk was well aware that there was a serious problem with the software, as clearly evidenced on the Internet, but continued to sell the flash drives nonetheless. This action clearly negates Sandisk's "Limited Warrantee". In accordance with California Civil Code XXXX (XXXX), they are clearly responsible for any damages. It is my belief that this was a clearly a fraudulent action perpetuated by Sandisk on the customers that purchased this product.

Business' Final Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
The rebuttal for your Case# XXXXXX for **** ********* was received. For our customers' convenience, the SanDisk Limited Warranty is readily accessible via the Warranty - Guide URL (www.sandisk.com/wug) printed on the packaging for many SanDisk products, or provided as an insert in the packaging. As previously indicated, data files are not covered under the SanDisk Limited Warranty, nor are they covered by the warranty of any other mass storage manufacturer, including the manufacturers of hard drives and portable storage drives. SanDisk has offered **** ********* a courtesy upgrade of a 16GB Cruzer USB Flash Drive in exchange for his returned 8GB Cruzer USB Flash Drive. **** ********* can send his 8GB Cruzer USB Flash Drive with a copy of this BBB report to the address below. This offer is not in lieu of compensation for lost data.

SanDisk Corporation,
Attn: Customer Support/ XXXXXXX,
951 SanDisk Drive,
Milpitas, CA XXXXX

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Inferior product that never wants to work right whether or not I received a replacement model.
First let's start with my original complaint I had left them "there seems to be some errors in the firmware's programming. For example sometimes I will click on one thing such as the FM Radio and it will take me to the beginning of my songs list when I didn't even click on music, and when this happens it will not let me changed the song or back out unless I hold the back button down. Plus when trying the reset explained in the PDF it never would reset at all. Another error that I see quite often on the Sansa Forums as well as other forums on the net is that eventually nothing can charge the Sansa ClipZip except the PC it is hooked up to no matter what cord or AC adapter you use, some people have reported that their PCs will not even charge it but I haven't had that issue yet. I use to be able to charge it with my old cellphone's AC adapter, but now I can't. When I got it on March 31st I tested it and it had these issues and then a few days later I updated to the latest firmware and it was fine for a few months but now the errors are back. I've also tried showing the Album's artwork and it never wants to show yet the artwork is there and setup correctly, but I don't care about that; or even the fact that putting a folder on my external 2GB Sansa MiniSD and naming it will always change to "New Folder" once disconnected, even plugging back in and renaming it doesn't work but I don't care about that because it's just a nice feature to have that never worked out. Please help me out with most of the issues if you can't get them all to start to work." they concurred and gave me a replacement, however I plugged in the replacement to see if it would even turn on and it did but after that when I unplugged from the system it didn't turn on, then I hooked it back to the system and it won't recognize it or even allow it to be powered on. All of the same issues are there on my replacement and more. By not allowing me to not turn it on or reset it because of a inferior MP3 player brand's bad programming it seems to have constant issues no matter what I or my friend's receive. If this company cared about it's customer's it would do away with the bad programmers and cheaply made products, granted it is a memory card company but by making a product that is geared towards music listeners that never works puts it under mass scrutiny because of the fact it's just not their expertise. I look forward to doing business with them in the future for my USB drives, but my love for their products ends there and they should be ashamed for screwing the customer over in such a way.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for providing the communications for your Case Number XXXXXX for ****** ****** in Royal Oak, Michigan. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution or clarification for all customer concerns.
The concern presented by ****** ****** was presented to our technical support engineers for review. Our records indicate a RMA was generated for ****** ****** without the proper troubleshooting by our technical support agents for the issues Mr. ****** was experiencing. The proper technical troubleshooting will often provide a favorable resolution with most issues, as it is not common for the same issue to arise with a different device. To properly satisfy this BBB complaint, we will send Mr. ****** a prepaid UPS label to have his 8GB Sansa Clip Zip returned for failure analysis. The analysis results will be provided with the proper resolution.
Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I already stated I have gone through this process already before in the past and it didn't work. Once again I already stated all I want now is a full refund so if they want me to return it I need a refund first, I don't want to get screwed over again by a company who obviously does not care 1 bit about their consumers. As I showed 3 messages ago, the issues obviously span across the whole entire product line and not just the Sansa Clip Zip model. I am obviously not the only one who has these issues with Sandisk's problematic audio/video player products, and unethically sending out a product knowing that it has issues without alerting the customer first on the box is unlawful and unethical. It seems they didn't care to read any of my responses. I still don't accept their response unless it involves me getting a refund first, I don't want to get the shaft from Sandisk again. Take them to court if you have to.

Business' Final Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
The rebuttal for your Case# XXXXXX for ****** ****** was received. As previously indicated, a prepaid UPS label (1z XXX XXe XXXX XXXX XX) was mailed to ****** ****** on June 28, 2013 to the address provided on the BBB case. The 8GB Sansa Zip MP3 Player is to be returned to SanDisk corporate office for a thorough investigation to satisfy the filing of the BBB complaint.
Per the terms of the SanDisk Limited Warranty, if a product fails under the terms of the warranty, SanDisk will inspect the product and at its option, repair or replace the product. SanDisk's sole liability, and the exclusive remedy, for any acknowledged defect(s) shall be the repair or replacement of the product in question. Information pertaining to accessing the warranty and user guide is indicated on the product packaging - www.sandisk.com/wug.
The return of the 8GB Sansa Zip MP3 Player by ****** ****** is necessary to provide an accurate and appropriate report to satisfy this BBB case.

Best Regards,
M. *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

06/13/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Instant Winner
Hello *****, Congratulations!!! You just won a SanDisk 32GB Extreme Pro SDHC Memory Card.
(Never delivered at all)
Purchase Date: May 11th 2013
Problem Date: May 26th 2013
Probelem issue: never called me contacted me no delivery


Email:
SanDisk25t​h Anniversar​y Promotion - Instant Winner
*******@sandisk25th.com
May 11
to me

Hello *****,

Congratulations!!! You just won a SanDisk 32GB Extreme Pro SDHC Memory Card.

Your prize identifier is *********** Please keep this for future reference. You will be contacted via phone or email within 14 days. All prize awards are subject to verification of eligibility and compliance with the Official Rules.

Regards,
SanDisk25th Anniversary Promotion

Business' Initial Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for providing the communications for your Case# XXXXXX for ***** **** in Las Vegas, Nevada. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution and/or clarification for all customer concerns.
Upon final investigation, it has been determined that ***** **** did not contact SanDisk Corporation to address this concern. SanDisk Corporation has a proven track record of recording and addressing all concerns when communicated as such. The concern that is raised by ***** **** was reviewed with the sweepstakes promotion company that hosts the SanDisk 25th Anniversary Sweepstakes. A thorough review if their records indicate the entry by ***** **** was disqualified for registering with multiple emails, which is in violation of the Official Rules readily located on the SanDisk 25th Anniversary Sweepstakes homepage. The sweepstakes promotion company has also offered to provide the same update to ***** **** via email notification within 24-48 hours. All updates from the promotion vendor regarding prize awards will be subject to verification of eligibility and compliance with the Official Rules located at www.sandisk25th.com. To request a hard copy of these Official Rules send a self-addressed stamped business size envelope to SanDisk ***** **** ** ******* **** *** **** ******* ** XXXXX, specifying OFFICIAL RULES REQUEST.

Best Regards,
** *****
SanDisk Corporation

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear BBB,


I bought 3 flash drives

the number was 3

why is SanDisk kept denying the truth That I have purchased 3 flash drives for the company

all3 packages that resulted the promotion codes for entry in the inner packages

all my recipe and credit card records indicated that I bought 3 flash drives,so I registered 3 user names for entry of the lucky draw


I feel it's a shame of Sandisk to deny the luckydraw products

From now on,I would never ever to purchase any Sandisk products personally


I would ask the purchasinf department of my company to switch to Kingston

I will post on the social media that this luckydraw scam outbreak from SanDisk that the customer bought 3 products but could not register 3 times

It's ok,the LUCKY draw sdcard only worths 70 dollars, if I started to telling ppl.not to buy SanDisk no more I would be more than happy than.doing it

No more SanDisk ever again

Business' Final Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
The rebuttal for your Case# ****** (***** ****) has been acknowledged. As previously indicated, the sweepstakes entry for ***** **** was disqualified for registering with multiple email addresses, which is in violation of the Official Rules readily located on the SanDisk 25th Anniversary Sweepstakes homepage (www.sandisk25th.com). The sweepstakes promotion company has indicated ***** **** had registered with the following email addresses which resulted in the disqualification:
1) ***********@gmail.com - the promo code was used 10 times, which resulted in an alert stating the maximum number of codes was used.
2) *************@gmail.com - the promo code was used 10 times, which resulted in an alert stating the maximum number of promo codes was used.
3) *******@unlv.nevada.edu, the promo code was used 3 times.
Each purchased product has only one (1) promo code. As indicated by ***** ****, three (3) flash drives were purchased. This would have resulted in the use of only three (3) qualifying promo codes registered to only one email address/sweepstakes entry.
All updates from the sweepstakes promotion company that hosts the SanDisk 25th Anniversary Sweepstakes regarding prize awards are subject to verification of eligibility and compliance with the Official Rules located at www.sandisk25th.com. By adequately providing the facts for the disqualification of the sweepstakes entry by ***** **** in accordance to the Official Rules, we now consider this case closed.
Best Regards,
** *****
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

03/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: ISSUES WITH EXTREME SOLID STATE DRIVE. TWO WEEKS AGO TECH SUPPORT DETERMINED THAT MY DRIVE WAS BAD. I AM HAVING ISSUES RECEIVING A REPLACEMENT.
INCIDENT # XXXXXX-XXXXXX STARTED NOV 15TH. I CHATTED WITH JUSTIN P. HE DETERMINED THAT MY DRIVE WAS DEFECTIVE. MY ISSUES STARTED WITH THE RMA PROCESS. I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD RECIEVE OVERNIGHT DELIVERY OF A REPLACEMNET DRIVE IF I CALLED WHEN THE DEFECTIVE DRIVE WAS RECEIVED BY SANDISK. I DEFECTIVE DRIVE WAS RECEIVED ON NOV 21 @ 9:34AM. I CALLED SHORLY AFTERWARDS AND WAS TOLD THAT THE REPLACEMENT WOULD BE SHIPPED THAT DAY AND I WOULD RECEIVE AN EMAIL WITH THE SHIPPING INFO. I NEVER RECEIVED THAT EMAIL. ON FRI NOV 22 I CALLED AND SPOKE TO VINCE A WHO TOLD ME THAT THEY NEVER SHIPPED BY DRIVE BECAUSE OF THE THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY. HE SAID THAT EVERYTHING WAS CLOSED FOR OUR THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY STARTED ON WED NOV 21 AND ENDED ON MON NOV 26. ON MONDAY I CALLED AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD SHIP IT OUT THAT DAY AND I WOULD RECEIVE AND EMAIL WITH THE TRACKING INFO. OF COURSE THAT NEVER HAPPENED. ON TUESDAY NOV 27TH I SPOKE TO CLINT PETERS AT YOUR CORPORATE OFFICE. HE SAID THAT HE WAS SENDING THE DRIVE AND CONFIRMED THAT IT WAS A NEW DRIVE WITH THE LATEST FIRMWARE. OF COURSE THE DRIVE I RECEIVED ON WED NOV 28TH DID NOT CONTAIN THE LATEST FIRMWARE VERSION. ON THUR NOV 29TH I CALLED THE CORPORATE OFFICE AND WAS TOLD THEY DO NOT HAVE AN EMPLOYEE CLINT PETERS. I WAS TRANSFERRED TO AN EXTENSION THAT JUST RANG AND THEN HUNG UP. I CALLED BACK AND WAS AGAIN TRANSFERRED TO AN EXTENSION THAT JUST RANG AND THEN HUNG UP. I CALLED BACK A THIRD TIME AND ASKED FOR THE RECEPTIONIST NAME. SHE HUNG UP ON ME. EACH TIME I TRY TO CALL BACK NO ONE ANSWERS AND IT JUST RINGS AND RINGS. I HAVE TRIED TO DEAL WITH LIVE CHAT BUT THEY ARE USELESS. ALL THEY HAVE DONE IS LIE TO ME. AT THIS POINT I WANT A FULL REFUND FOR PRODUCT I PURCHASED FROM NEWEGG IN THE AMOUNT OF $124.99. I WILL BE MORE THEN HAPPY TO SEND YOU THE INVOICE SHOWING THE PRICE I PAID.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
Thank you for providing the communications regarding your case number XXXXXX for ****** ****** in Tucson, Arizona. SanDisk Corporation is eager to provide a resolution or clarification for all customer concerns.
A review of our records and update from the technical support group indicates a new replacement 120GB Extreme SSD was shipped directly from SanDisk HQ to ****** ****** on Tuesday, November 27, 2012 via UPS Overnight for delivery on Wednesday, November 28, 2012. In order to expedite the replacement process for customer satisfaction, the replacement unit was shipped for the firmware update to be downloaded by ****** ****** from the SanDisk Support homepage. The firmware link was provided to ****** ****** by the chat agent on Thursday, November 15, 2012, who indicated the possibility of having to update the SSD. The firmware update for Extreme SSD units is a very quick and easy download using the SanDisk Toolbox. Otherwise, a replacement unit with the firmware already updated would incur a much longer delay as the unit would need to come from the factory.
Our records also indicate a Sr. Technical Support Engineer from SanDisk HQ called ****** ****** and left a voicemail on Thursday, November 29, 2012 and Friday, November 30, 2012 to assist him with downloading the firmware update, if needed. A call from ****** ****** was not returned. If ****** ****** should require assistance with updating the firmware for his 120GB Extreme SSD, we will be happy to assist him.
Regards,
M. ******
SanDisk Corporation

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only resolution I will accept is a full refund. SanDisk has dragged this case on for 3 ½ months. The only thing they have been consistent about during the past 3 ½ months is their constant lying. Not once have they given an honest reply or come close to telling the truth. They have waited until the last second to reply in each of my rebuttals. If they really cared about their customers they would have tried to resolve this case 3 ½ months ago. Their favorite line is "according to our records." Not once have they given an honest reply or even acknowledged what other people in their company have said even though they have the same documentation as I do of what their tech support told me. They have constantly shown that they either do not have any records, lie about what record they do have or they just make things up as they go. As far as customer service goes SanDisk has shown again and again they do not care about their customers.

Business' Final Response
Dear Better Business Bureau,
The replacement order of a 120GB Extreme SSD with the latest firmware was delivered to the address provided by ****** ****** via UPS Tracking Number 1Z XXX XXE XXXX XXXXXX on Thursday, February 28, 2013. The delivery confirmation can be obtained by UPS. We now consider this case closed.

Best Regards,
M. ******
SanDisk Corporation

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/11/2000Business started: 06/01/1998
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1989, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Manny Brown (Customer Support)
Number of Employees

1778

Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Industry Tips
Computer Software Piracy
Counterfeit Software Offers Flooding E-mail Inboxes
Does Your Business Play "Software Piracy Roulette?"

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SanDisk Corporation

951 SanDisk Dr

Milpitas, CA 95035-7933

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 951 SanDisk Dr 

    Milpitas, CA 95035-7933

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SanDisk Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.