BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Oempcworld.com

Phone: (408) 350-0341Fax: (408) 521-1888View Additional Phone Numbers2800 Bowers Ave, Santa ClaraCA 95051-0918http://www.oempcworld.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Oempcworld.com is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Oempcworld.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Our complaint history for this company shows the company gave proper consideration to complaints presented by the Bureau.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Oempcworld.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PCWORLD refuses to reply to my request for a refund after they went all digital.
I have been a long time subscriber to PCWORLD (6-8 years). I renewed my subscription for 2 more years in march 2013. Paid up until September 2015. In July 2013 I was informed that PCWORLD was going all Digital. When I tried to ask for a refund I got no response whatever even though they said in the announcement that they would give refunds to everyone who did not want the Digital Edition.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $29.97 for the renewal payment I made in March 2013

Business' Initial Response
This customer is mistaking us for the magazine company PC World, we are oempcworld.com, online retailer of computer memory products, not affiliated.

Consumer's Final Response
Paid in full 7/22

10/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased product through advertisement on Pricewatch, checkout had incorrect price, requested honoring of advertised price or cancel, did not honor.
I was directed to OEMPCWORLD via pricewatch.com for a Micron 8GB memory card for $59.98, at checkout price was $69.98. Order number XXXXXX. Since I have had this issue in the past I wrote in the notes section of the order, "Pricewatch.com price is advertised at 59.98 w/ free ship, please honor that price or cancel order." and I provided the URL for the advertisement. I received an email the next day stating that the current product was out of stock and they would honor the same price for a replacement in stock item brand of Crucial 8GB memory. I agreed. Upon checking my email for shipment I saw that the price had not been adjusted and the product shipped. I called OEMPCWORLD for explanation as to why the price was not honored AND why it shipped when I explicitly stated otherwise in the notes. They had no explanation other then because of current market they can't honor the price advertised. They offered refund but I want the advertised price since I waited for the product for four days before I found out the price was not honored. My home based business system is down when for the $69.98 I could have had the memory replaced from a local vendor. I purchased from this company because of the price.

Desired Settlement
Honoring of advertised price. Apology for rudeness on the phone and forcing return when I don't want a return.

Business Response
The item was in correctly invoiced without adjustment of the $10 in question. We apologize for the error and we tried to correct it but the customer would not co-operate. We attempted to offer the credit but customer requested to return the item and was provided with a free return label. This was customer choice. He will be provided full refund upon receipt. Product was already in customer possession.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not offer the $10 credit!!! That is a bold face lie; nor did they even consider it when I asked. They said they could not offer a credit because their, "profit margin would not allow it." And went on further to chastise me asking if I would sell something at a loss. I even tried to rationalize the situation with them stating they would lose business and have to pay for shipping to and from my home rather then credit me the $10. ************ the rep I spoke with said that is, "the only option available." I even wrote into their customer service department to complain the same day and have yet to receive any response. Saying I opted for return as being my choice is disingenuous at best since they flat out told me there was no other option!

Final Business Response
The customer service agent never got a chance to complete the offering of the refund, which had already been decided by a manager, because the customer in question was abusive and would not let the agent make the offer before shouting obscenities and demanding we accept the return, which we did and paid for. Customers statements are not factual and we are processing a refund for the full amount with no further action on our part.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Computers - Multimedia, Computers - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/11/2001Business started: 01/01/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Michael Rosito (Owner)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Computers - Multimedia, Computers - Dealers

Products & Services

This company's business is Computer Software Services

Alternate Business Names
MX Leasing, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Oempcworld.com

2800 Bowers Ave

Santa Clara, CA 95051-0918

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2800 Bowers Ave 

    Santa Clara, CA 95051-0918

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oempcworld.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (408) 247-3479
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers Hardware, Software & Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.