BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

OCZ Technology Group, Inc

Phone: (408) 733-8400Fax: (408) 733-5200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service23
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints30

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (30)
02/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an OCZ SSD less than a year ago. It started malfunctioning, so I sent it in to replacement. They refused to replace the item.
I purchased an OCZ SSD less than a year ago. It came with a 5 year warranty, so after it started malfunctioning and losing my data after just a few months, I sent it in for replacement. They sent it back to me claiming there was nothing wrong with it, but upon reinstalling it into my computer, and reinstalling my OS, the issues still continued. I sent it in again and asked for a refund because I was tired of their non-working products. They once again said nothing was wrong with it, and when I replied that there was clearly something wrong with it or else my data wouldn't be getting lost and corrupted, they said the case had been escalated and I would be contacted by a manager. This was almost two weeks ago, and I just received my defective drive back in the mail today. I went to add a comment to my case, and the case had been close, without ever having been contacted by anyone. They refuse to honor the warranty by not only refusing a refund, but not even replacing a defective product.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund from OCZ for my drive. I'm sick of paying shipping charges to send it back to them only for them to tell me it's not broken. If it weren't broken, I wouldn't have continued issues with it. Issues that continued through multiple (over 20) installations of different operating systems. Issues that prevented the drive from functioning and saving data.

Business Response
Both RMAs returned by Mr. ***** ********** has tested to be no trouble found. Furthermore, we have even replicated and determined no compatibility issue between OCZ SSD and Mr. ********** system. Nevertheless, we have granted Mr. ********** for refund. Mr. ********** approved RMA is EUXXXXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Firstly I bought a solid state drive from OCZ and it locked within 2 weeks of use, now its taken over a month to get my exchanged product.
I bought a solid state drive from OCZ awhile back and it worked for just about 2 weeks worth of use until it locked. So I contacted customer service and I jumped through all the hoops until they agreed to replace it if I paid the shipping. So I did and that was December 18th, today is January 21st and I still do not have my product. There is no reason why it should be taking this long, and since OCZ did not respond to my email, I contacted you.

Desired Settlement
I do not have an exact settlement in mind but a little something for my trouble would be nice. I bought an OCZ product because I was told it was the best in the business of Solid State Drives.

Business Response
We apologize for the experience Mr. ***** having; but, unfortunately, OCZ is not responsible for any delays caused by our shipping courier. Mr. ***** replacement drive was ship-out on January 3, 2014 and estimated delivery by USPS on January 13, 2014. Unfortunately, USPS has delayed the delivery (see attachment) package. Tracking number - XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. According to USPS - Mr. ***** should received this package on January 22, 2014 at 16:07.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The courier was the problem, not OCZ

01/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Won't replace/refund computer memory.
Memory has failed. 1 out of 4 sticks will operate.

So far the company has refused to honor the LIFETIME warranty because original proof of purchase cannot be located/provided.

Comment:
As per our warranty policy we do require a copy of the original receipt/invoice for the original purchase of the original product. This is the receipt/invoice provided by the store or retailer when you initially purchased the product.

Without this we are unable to replace the product as per our warranty policy.

Our full warranty policy is available here:
http://ocz.com/consumer/support/warranty

Due to the circumstances of this case there may potentially be a fault with the product you have and while this does meet the criteria for an RMA unfortunately there is a problem with verifying the warranty status.

If you wish to speak directly to our RMA department about this you can contact them at:

Phone: ************** ****
Email: http://ocz.com/consumer/contact/customer-care

Please provide them your trouble ticket number so they can accurately and more quickly identify your claim.

Hello *******,



The warranty is a limited lifetime. The "lifetime" part of the warranty can be a bit confusing. It does not refer to the lifetime of the user, but the lifetime of the product line. All memory has been discontinued by OCZ thus the lifetime of OCZ memory products has ended. However, because OCZ understands this potential confusion, we do offer warranty support if you have the receipt.



Allen Chung
Technical Support, Manager
OCZ Technology Group
**** San ******* Ave
San Jose, CA XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX Office
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax
******@OCZTechnology.com

OCZ Limited Warranty

OCZ Technology warrants its products to be free from defects in materials and workmanship for a specific length of time from date of purchase. Warranty periods vary by product and are defined at the bottom of this document. If the product proves defective during the warranty period, OCZ, at its option, will either:

replace with a new or refurbished product
provide a refund at current market value

This warranty is valid only for the original purchaser of products when purchased from an authorized OCZ dealer. Except where prohibited by law the warranty is non-transferable. An original sales receipt or valid copy of the receipt is required to establish purchase date and original purchaser.
Limitation of Warranty

Connection to a faulty power source
Alteration, Modification, Disassembly or unauthorized repair
Improper use of product
Normal wear and tear
User inflicted intentional or accidental damage
Any other cause not resulting from defects in materials or workmanship

This Warranty is void if any manufacturer labels or stickers have been removed or altered, or if any counterfeit labels are found on the product. Any counterfeit products are excluded from warranty and will only be returned at the expense of the sender.

OCZ Warranty is void for products within or destined to Cuba, Iran, Sudan, Syria or North Korea. OCZ cannot provide technical support or replacements for those products.
Discontinued or Unavailable Products

OCZ Technology will attempt to replace all products with the same model as originally purchased. In the event OCZ Technology is unable to replace product with the same model purchased, OCZ, at its option will: replace that product with a product of similar function or provide a refund at current market value.

Current market value is defined as the same, similar, and/or equivalent specifications of OCZ and/or competitors product within the territory and/or continent. Current market value is determined as OCZ product and/or Competitor(s) product based on the chipset, and/or specification, and/or features. All determination current market value are based on an average of current market price and product availability. ALL refund shall be an amount no greater than the original purchase price of the product. OCZ is not responsible

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund to purchase a competitors memory product of equivalent specifications.

Business Response
We're sorry you are having issues but there seems to be some confusion here. Mr. ****** RMA delays were due to proof of ownership. "Limited" lifetime warranty required proof of ownership and required Mr. ****** to be the original purchaser. This act is enforceable by court of law. This being said, we have contacted Mr. ****** directly and resolved/issued RMA# for refund prior to this BBB case opened. Mr. ****** RMA # was issued on December 30, 2013 at 10:52am under EUXXXXXX. Please don't hesitate to contact OCZ for further assistance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2 defective drives
I had emailed ocz customer support and they gave me several things to try which all failed and then ask if I had receipts I told them I dont keep receipts but that could see from all the information I had given them that the drives where legit and not stolen or old drives in fact they have a date just a few months old?
then they never said they would replace them or repair they just stopped communicating with me ?
and I just want them fixed or replaced with working products that was all I asked and I get ignored?
well thank you for your time and look forward to a resolution?
thank you again
**** ******
God Bless

Desired Settlement
replacement of defective device nothing else.

Business' Initial Response
We apologize for the issue Mr. **** ****** are having with our customer service member(s). OCZ footprint all communications between customer and customer service member(s) - after reviewing Mr. ****** ticket#XXXXXX and email communication between Mr. ****** & Mr. ***********/OCZ TSD manager; we have determined that our members have responded all in the proper matters. Mr. ****** delays of service was due to uncooperative by Mr. ****** to provide our request in proof of original ownership and purchased. OCZ limited warranty enforcement is a standard business practice for all manufacture and policy details were always easily available in product manual or OCZ website http://www.ocz.com/consumer/support/warranty. ALL communication could also be viewed online at http://www.ocz.com/consumer/support/americas-status and phone conversation is available upon request (if applied).

This being said, OCZ would be gladly to service and honor our warranty should Mr. ****** providing OCZ with proof of receipt.

We have reopened Mr. ****** ticket and please don't hesitate to contact me directly should you have any issue and/or concern.

01/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
OCZ Solid state drive failed within 3 months of little or no use. OCZ did not process my warranty/replacement product request.
I have purchased OCZ Solid State Drive 4 months ago, it died after a very little to no use during the period of last 3 months.
I looked up the warranty information , My product was still under warranty. I called a customer service for support, they ask me to file a support/RMA ticket on their website.
I submitted a ticket, I received a confirmation of the acknowledgement of the ticket, I didn't get any response/RMA from the support, and they even closed my ticket for no reason and without informing me.
What the hack is going on with the support team. What happen to my RMA request.

Desired Settlement
All I care is they treat the support request like they promised in the warranty terms.
How can they just close a request without any action or acknowledgement to the consumer.
I need my Replacement product under warranty terms.

Business' Initial Response
Apparently, there was some confusion on Mr. ****** ******. OCZ warrants all legit purchased drives from authorize resellers. Perhaps, Mr. ****** was unfamiliarized with our RMA system. Our system showed that we have notified Mr. ****** on Jan 15, 2013 at 13:51 that his RMA has been created under RMA # EUXXXXXX Mr. ****** could also see/review this data with time stamp under Troubleshooting ticket http://www.ocztechnology.com/TicketStatus.html and/or RMA ticket http://rma.ocztechnology.com/rmalookup.aspx.

For the past, we have few experience with this issue where our RNA automatic email process went into customers' spam box. I would strongly recommending customer to check his spam email; but, strongly recommending customer to use our ticket status. It is effective and accurate update.

This being said, this case is closed. Customer has already issued RMA number for replacement on Jan 15, 2013 at 13:51.

Page 1 of 2
03/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased 3 SSD drives with $15/drive rebate offer. Claim was denied for rebate yet UPC codes match offer and provided proof UPCs matched.
Rebate offer from OCZ / Rebate claim # **************** (#XXXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXX)

Purchased 3 units of VTXXXX-XXSATA3-128G.RF XX-XXX-XXX with UPC Code XXXXXXXXXXXX from Newegg (Edison, NJ). Printed rebate form & filled out according to directions including clipped out UPCs from boxes. Scans show matching UPC codes yet company is claiming they do not match. Documentation was postmarked before 2/28 deadline and units were purchased on 2/19. Company responds by email with only ambiguous statement that does not clarify any discrepancies. I have copies of all materials proving I met requirements.

Desired Settlement
I would expect either the full rebate promised in the advertisement for the 3 drives or I will return the units to OCZ for full refund plus shipping. I spent $69.99 for each drive plus 7% tax and shipping charges of $8.83. (Total of $234.12 for purchase). Without the rebates, would have gladly purchased a competitors product for less money without waiting for a rebate.
XXX-XXX-XXXX Thanks * ********

Business Response
We have contacted customer directly and resolved this matter. Mr. ******** will receive a full rebate as promised by OCZ Storage Solutions.

01/31/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The OCZ Solid State Drive I purchased failed, and I lost my operating system and projects I was working on. I tried to get an RMA for 2 days
The OCZ Solid State Drive I purchased failed, and I lost my operating system and projects I was working on. I tried to get an RMA for 2 days now, but the person i was in contact with is giving me the run around. I told him I was a certified IT professional, but he kept questioning me anyway.
I told them if I had not received a satisfying answer I would be filing a complaint. This company has the worst customer service I have ever had to deal with. Most companies would at least give you the opportunity to get a drive sent out right away, but this company did nothing at all.

Desired Settlement
I would like the money I paid for the drive refunded plus $200.00 for loss of information and time to get another drive to get the computer up and running.
I have both a degree in Computer Information Technology and Comptia A+ certified in hardware and software.
I informed their RMA person of that in the first email I sent them.

Business Response
We apologize for the experience that Mr. ******* are having. With all users, we would strongly encouraged to have a proper troubleshoot process with technical support team before creating a RMA. With respect of Mr. ******* IT degreed - Mr. ******* should already knew that processing RMA without troubleshooting might seem to be quicker and easier; but, it doesn't identified the root causes nor resolve your problem. In many time, it's only delays the resolution. According to our record, Mr. ******* created a supporting ticket on January 22, 2014 at 14:24 and he was approved for RMA on January 24, 2014 at 10:35 under RMA # EUXXXXXX. This is within the guideline of 72 hours responsive time and 30 days turn-around-time for returning RMA policy. Furthermore, OCZ limited warranty warrants products to be free from defects in materials and workmanship for a specific length of time; and we don't compensate direct and/or in-direct cost involved with defective drive(s). This being said, Mr. ******* request for compensation has been denied.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I purchased this drive with the endorsement from PC magazine that it was the top drive out there for both performance and durability. The warranty on the drive was for 5 years. It failed in less than one. I. Not only lost my operating system but also several unfinished word projects.
my computer was down for 2.days. They did not offer a replacement turn around and their excuse was. They were
just purchased by Toshiba and not authorized to do so at this time. If i had known this before i purchased the drive i would have chosen a different company. I would prefer a refund rather than a replacement as i would not want to take a chance with this companies products again. I think an additional charge for my inconvenience and loss of information is not unreasonable.

Final Business Response
OCZ limited warranty guaranty free defects in materials and workmanship. OCZ is only obligated and must guarantees the availability of repairs, replacement, and refund is at manufacture option. OCZ is not responsible for problems with goods beyond their control; and only obligated to replace a workable drive. It also waive all manufacture right for substitution with options by repair and replace when product has failed beyond their control. By law, manufacture only obligated to replace or repair within the warranty period. Due to limitation warranty, OCZ doesn't compensate direct or in-direct cost involved with defective drive. Mr. ******* request has been denied for compensation and return for refund.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel that my response projected what happened. It would bedifferent if I was a novice, but I am a trained IT professional and while I can see them not wanting to compensate me I think that this is a unique ssituation where this drive failed within 1 year. Nowconsidering Iit has a 5 year warranty and I purchased it for its durability I think I am due a refund and compensation.

01/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a SSD from an Ebay Seller, brand new. I have contacted OCZ and they will not honor a warranty because it was purchased on ebay.
Support ticket #XXXXXX. Description: ***************** I purchased a Solid State Drive from OCZ via Ebay. it was a brand new product and I have been told from the warranty claims department that because I did not buy it from an "approved" retailer they cannot honor my claim. As the SSD is almost out of the 3-year warranty, I thought I would try as it just died on Sunday, January 12th, 2014. I purchased the SSD on May 8th, 2011. How would I know where I had to purchase this product from before I bought it to have a valid warranty. When I have gone through my claim tickets with **** *** ********** (as we speak) I am being told that they don't transfer warranties. This wasn't being transferred as it is a new product. I can't seem to get anywhere with this all because I bought it somewhere. How does a consumer know about this "authorized retailers" list before they purchase? Is it my fault as a general consumer to read 3 year warranty when I bought it, and then come to find out when I wish to have this warranty used that I can't because of where I bought it from.

Desired Settlement
I wish to just have my warranty covered. It isn't asking for much as a consumer. I bought a product new, I wish to have it covered by the company who offers the warranty.

Business Response
OCZ is not responsible and/or obligated for second hand resellers and/or unauthorized resellers purchased. Main reason that most manufactures excluded Ebay or second hand resellers from warranty is because only products sold from authorized resellers can be verified to be genuine products and of working order. Products sold second hand such as EBAY cannot be guaranteed to be good as there is no accountability if faulty/stolen, used, and/or even fake products are sold. Like all the manufactures - OCZ warranty stated warranty is non-transferable. Warranty only warrants to original purchaser and this is permission by court of law. Our full warranty policy is available at http://www.ocz.com/consumer/support/warranty. In this case, Mr. ***** ******** brought this drive from eBay user named ****************** under used condition. Serial number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX was tracked to be manufactured in April, 2009. Mr. ***** ******** couldn't be the original purchaser nor was this drive purchased in "new" condition in May, 2011 (which was claimed by eBay seller).
This being said, Mr. ***** ******** request has been declined for service at OCZ. This is due to the fact that this drive was manufactured on April, 2009; warranty non-transferable clause; and purchased under "used" condition with unauthorized resellers. Our recommendation to Mr. ***** ******** is to contact eBay and file a complaint to seller for false advertisement which misled/resulted in wrongful transaction purchased.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have looked into Ebay and the longest they have was a 45 day policy. Which this product was purchased 2.5 years ago this is of course long overdue. Again the product was sold as "New" so regarding the SN date showing the date it was made is irrelevant. Are you stating because it was made back in 2009 that the warranty is dead even though it was never even purchased beforehand. Does that mean if I have a product in my warehouse and it sits for 3 years before its sold its immediately out of warranty...no. This logic is dumbfounding.

All I am asking is that OCZ stands behind their warranty. Again when I bought this product the warranty was not into question as I think I am purchasing a NEW product it has a warranty, not limited by where I purchased it.

Based on what you stated above it's the consumers job to do research on a warranty before they even purchase a product, again I am dumbfounded that is the logic.

I bought a product, I wish the company to honor this product. Case and point. Is this is any way because the company is in bankruptcy?

Final Business Response
Our JIT inventory control allowed OCZ to turn-around time within 15 days of inventory and a strong partner programs with authorized resellers (price protection, stock rotation for aging inventory for 60 days) - there shall NEVER be any product(s) sat in our Authorize Resellers warehouse for 2 years. We truly understand the frustration of Mr. ******** for trying to get his drive for service to OCZ when this drive was purchased on second hands (warranty is non-transferable) and was misinformed by his seller as "new" condition in 2011 when in fact this drive was made in 2009. It would be hard to believe any authorize reseller would sat around drive(s) for 2 years. Mr. ******** request for service has been denied due to the fact that this drive was not purchased at our authorize reseller, and purchased second hands - warranty is non-transferrable as stated under our limitation warranty. This is enforceable by all manufactures.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one has ever stated it was bought and transferred as a new product.I bought it brand new. No transfers...Is this the way OCZ gets out of warranties? I as a consumer bought a BRAND NEW product. It may have sat on a shelf for 2 years, who knows? How is it your decision? Based on a receipt of purchase, it was bought when it was bought. Unless i am mistaken on that. All I wish is this product to be warrantied.

10/28/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent them equipment that failed and they only replaced one of the 4 items. They did not return the other equipment and have given me the run around.
I had my OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular High Performance Power Supply from OCZ technology blow up and it destroyed my vertex 3 and my two vertex 4 ssd's. I purchased the vertex 3 and the psu on 7/7/2012 from newegg.com Order #XXXXXXXXX. I purchased the vertex 4's some time after from bestbuy, walmart, or cdw. I am unsure of which (I work medical IT and purchase a lot of tech for personal testing purposes). I got in contact with a member of their team by the name of on 8/4/13 at 1:56 pm EST.I believe the first person I spoke with was **** from their RMA team. Well they tested my PSU and found it faulty. So they sent me a new one. After I realized that they did not send my SSD's I contacted their team to find out what had happened. They said that they lost them and would search for them. Well after a week and a half I was told that I would be contacted by their manager, ************. He started off by saying that I was not telling the truth and that I never sent them any SSD's. I explained to him that I have my UPS confirmation of the package and its weight showing that it was not just a UPS and it was in fact a UPS and 3 SSD's. He then said that my PSU was working perfectly fine. I asked him why they would send me a brand new PSU if mine was working fine. He of course could not answer the question and just started blaming me and saying that I am not being honest. He asked for me to send him my receipt and the ups shipping label/info. So I did just that. I checked back in a few days and found that he had just closed my ticket and was ignoring my calls and emails. I was pretty upset, so I called ****** ***** and emailed him at ******@ocz.com to discuss what had happened. He is OCZ's Director of Customer Service. After a few calls with him and a few emails, he still attempted to blame me for the package contents not being there (even though I sent in a receipt and a ups label). I explained what steps I had taken and told ****** that I was told that my SSD's were lost and then Hy changed the story because I think they lost my product. ****** quickly dismissed that and claimed that I must be confused and that this was my fault. After a long discussion he asked me to send him the UPS label/ship confirmation and my receipt. I did just that. ****** said to give him a week to look into it and he would get back to me within one week tops. That was almost two weeks ago and now he is ignoring my emails as well. That is why I am contacting you today. Thank you

Desired Settlement
I have gotten my new 700w PSU from OCZ. I would like to receive a new vertex 3, and two vertex 4's. If they wanted to go above and beyond they could pull the items I ordered on that order number from newegg and replace it all, seeing as how a catastrophic failure of their PSU has most likely caused damage to the motherboard, cpu, and all other components...

Thank you

Business Response
Mr. ******* ****** was given a chance to providing proof of shipping (tracking record) and proof of purchased on these three drives and one psu. So far, Mr. ****** was only able to proof tracking and one drive of ownership (vertex3) & psu (OCZ700) purchased at Newegg. This delay that Mr. ****** described to BBB was due to (1) OCZ internal investigation, and (2) incomplete pending documentation provided by Mr. ******. In-fact, we have explained to Mr. ****** on 10/9/2013 at 9:58 PDT. So far, OCZ was unable to find and/or locate these drives.

This being said, Mr. ****** was notified on 10/9/2013 at 9:58 PDT that OCZ **** send out a replacement of one (qty: 1) Vertex3 drive under RMA EUXXXXXX. We **** not be able to replace the other drives (2xVertex4) until Mr. ****** could proof product ownership.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As was explained before, I shipped the 7lb box to OCZ and a gentleman named Spencer received it (per my UPS confirmation). So it took them a month and a half. Therefor the delay was not on my part, but on theirs. I purchased the two vertex 4 drives with cash and do not have the receipts. I did however send them the serial numbers for all of my drives and PSU. For some reason they continue to ignore this fact. It was explained that I am not just upset that my products are not being sent back to me, but that I was ignored, and treated unfair for a long period of time. My ticket was wrongfully closed without my knowledge and I was lied to several time. I am unsure of what is really going on here, but it seems like someone dropped the ball and people are trying to cover up for one another. I would like to have my other two vertex drives back(broken) as I do work in IT and could salvage data from them, or just get my two new Vertex 4's and call it a day, give up on my lost data, and start over fresh. Please make this right. I have too much time invested in this situation now. I would like to be able to come out of this and say that OCZ did the right thing. I have also posted this story on Newegg, tigerdirect, amazon, gizmodo, facebook, my companies medical IT facebook page, and a few other review sites to make sure this does not happen to others.

Final Business Response
An OCZ approved RMA # EPXXXXXX was only for PSU; but, Mr. ****** still sent in his 3 drives to Carlsbad, CA. ALL SSD RMA goes to San Jose, CA. OCZ is not responsible for any unauthorized RMA and/or misplacement with any unauthorized RMA.

Currently, we are not debating rather or not Mr. ****** sent in his PSU with his drives. We need proof of product ownership. Mr. ****** was able to proof ownership of Vertex3 120G and OCZ has already sent (1) Vertex3 120G under UPS tracking # ********XXXXXXXXXX. OCZ **** be gladly to send-out additional 2 drives; but, we need proof of purchased (receipt). Any IT would keep their cash receipt for warranty purposes especially for incorporation usages. Furthermore, serial numbers of the misplaced drives that Mr. ****** had provided has been tracked to be a major etailer/retailer. They should have all the transaction records.

This being said, OCZ would be gladly to send out additional drive(s) if Mr. ****** could proof of ownership of these 2 drives.

07/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted OCZ because an SSD drive of theirs I bought less than 7 months ago (less than 6) just broke. They told me there's nothing they can do, bye
I contacted OCZ because an SSD drive of theirs I bought less than 7 months ago (less than 6) just broke.

I contacted them asking what can be done? I currently have no working PC, and I use that drive for my job and had temporary work on there worth thousands of dollars, and not expecting a brand new solid state non moving drive to just break it was there (my last backup was over a month ago). I asked them what they can do for me but never got a response. When I contacted their head office they shrugged me off and basically said these things happen and told me to screw off. They weren't polite, they weren't helpful, and they weren't willing to even discuss fixing my broken stuff or helping me out trying to get my data back in any way even though it's the fault of their brand new drive and I'm now out thousands of dollars.

Desired Settlement
I want a newer, more reliable drive (It has surfaced that their refurbs are terrible and that this drive is a lemon all around and not reliable), I'd like an apology for appalling customer service, and I'd like them (the manufacturer) to try and replace the controller on my SSD and get my data back, especially since it's just something like that and I don't want to ship my drive with thousands of dollars of IP on it to some dude who's going to "fix" it and sell it again. That's a MAJOR violation of privacy and against Canadian Law.

Business' Initial Response
We apologize for the issue that Mr. ****** ***** are having. We have footprint all our communication between customers and technicians. Apparently, it seems as Mr. ***** doesn't know how to use our automatic system and/or ignoring our troubleshooting guides. Our records showed -- Mr. ***** created his first ticket on 6/2/2013 under XXXXXX - our finest technician replied back with troubleshooting guides on 6/3/2013 at 15:02. Unfortunately, Mr. ***** didn't receive this message because we have just realized that Mr. ***** has provided a wrong email address (*******@gmaill.com). There was an extra "L" on gmail. Mr. ***** created another ticket on 6/3/2013 under ticket # XXXXXX requesting for free upgrade and data recovery. Again, our technician replied back his inquires on 6/4/2013 at 11:52. All these communications are footprint and logon capability for customers to be review at http://www.ocztechnology.com/TicketStatus.html.

This being said, we will be delighted to assist Mr. ***** with his RMA process. Mr. ***** must contact us back and identify ticket # as XXXXXX. Under limited warranty - OCZ shall not be responsible for direct/in-direct cost related to shipping charge and/or data recovery.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Storage - Data

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.