BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2007

Egnyte Inc.

Phone: (650) 968-4018Fax: (610) 968-4012View Additional Phone Numbers1350 W Middlefield Rd, Mountain ViewCA 94043-3061

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2007

BBB has determined that Egnyte Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Egnyte Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Our complaint history for this company shows that the one complaint brought to the company's attention was responded to and given proper consideration.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Egnyte Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Egnyte changed their terms and conditions mid-contract, giving only 30 days to agree to a 1000% increase.
After being with Egnyte for 3 years, they have changed their terms mid-contract and called to state I had 30 days to comply with the 1000% increase or they will lock my account, even though my contract is not up until Feb 2014. I will have to go from $550 per year to $4980 per year for the same level of service. This will cripple my company with my customers. I need the original terms to remain until my current contract ends.

Desired Settlement
To allow my current contract to remain in place until the expiration date of Feb 2014, without this 1000% increase.

Business' Initial Response
This complaint was resolved on 09/03/2013.

06/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company lied upon selling our service. We've now over 800.00 due to their horrible service.
We called Egnyte and inquired about using their service as a solution to Dropbox.com not working for us. We explained, in detail that we would be uploading thousands of files that needed to be shared to our customers on a daily basis. We were told that as long as we didn't not go over our storage quota, we could send unlimited links to customers which we have been doing. We recently received an email that states, "You've reached your download quota" Our customers are seeing this message which is resulting in us losing money. After calling our sales rep, his only solution was to pay five thousand dollars for an upgrade. Now, the technical support team is refusing our calls.

Desired Settlement
We want the original service we were told we were paying for.

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry that our service has not lived up to the customer's expectations.

We have already issued the customer a full refund in the amount of $45.

04/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up authorizing a $5.99 charge and was billed $119.00
Then they refused to let me cancel the order.
I signed up for the program after seeing it advertised for $5.99. I knew this was monthly and I I believed I would be paying $5.99 a month for as long as I used the program.
So I signed up and entered all my information and the entire time only saw a charge of $5.99 and that is the only charge I authorized.

A few hours later I found out I had been billed for the entire year. $119.00.
So I immediately tried to cancel the program. I did succeed at canceling the program but they refused to reverse the charge.

Desired Settlement
I just want a cancellation of my account with them and I want my money back.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****, Admin Dir
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@egnyte.com
This issue has been resolved and we anticipate that the consumer will retract the complaint. A refund was processed.

02/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues
03/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Disaster Recovery, Internet Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/06/2007Business started: 09/01/2005
Contact Information
Principal: Vineet K. Jain (CEO)Customer Contact: Yolanda Celi (Director of Administration) Rajash Ram (I.T.)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Computers - Disaster Recovery, Internet Services

Products & Services

This company's business is Computer Disaster Recovery Services and Internet - Products & Services. They provide an on demand file server that enables businesses to store online company data, share files and backup all computers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Egnyte Inc.

1350 W Middlefield Rd

Mountain View, CA 94043-3061

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1350 W Middlefield Rd 

    Mountain View, CA 94043-3061

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Egnyte Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 368-7614
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers - Disaster Recovery

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.