BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2000

iBuyPower.com

Find a Location

(888) 462-3899View Additional Phone Numbers11581 Federal Drive, El MonteCA 91731

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2000

BBB has determined that iBuyPower.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

65 complaints closed with BBB since March 10, 2013
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service51
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 65

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (65)BBB Closure Definitions
03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2013, I ordered a computer for my son from iBUYPOWER (order number ******** The computer had problems from the beginning. Initially we thought it was a problem with our VGA monitor and ended up using our HD television as a monitor so we could get a picture. For a time this seemed to solve the problem. By August, the computer was shutting itself down frequently and then we began to have problems bringing up Windows at all. I called the company and explained these problems as well as fact that some of the USB ports did not seem to work correctly. It was determined that the computer should be sent back to the company. I had to argue with them to get the cost of shipping covered by the company (I had paid $75 for the initial shipping and did not have another $75 for the cost of shipping it back for repair). It was shipped back to the company in September and returned to us by the end of the month (RMA XXXXXX) after a stress test on Windows revealed no problem. Before it was returned, I reminded a technician that it had problems shutting itself down, but the technician was not concerned. My son used the computer for several weeks before the same problems returned. When I called the company again, I believe in December, I wanted to send everything back for a refund. I was told that I could not get a refund because I was beyond the 30 window for return of the merchandise. In January I decided to take the computer to a local computer repair tech. He was able to determine that the problem was a bad motherboard and was able to get a replacement directly from the manufacturer. I called iBUYPOWER customer service today to request a reimbursement of the cost of labor for this as I was charged $90 for the labor associated with this repair. I was told that could not be done. I asked to speak to someone with more authority that could assist me and I told the customer service manager that I planned to file a complaint with the BBB.
Product_Or_Service: Computer
Order_Number: ******

Initial Business Response
As stated in iBuyPower's warranty, we cover the cost of parts for up to one year from the date of purchase and labor costs for up to three years. Also in the warranty it states that we will cover the shipping costs for repairs back to us within 30 days. The customer was outside of the 30 day range mark but we provided the customer with a label to ship back the computer out of good faith. Unfortunately the original issue was not resolved during the repair. In situations such as these, iBuyPower will cover shipping costs and place a priority on repeat repairs. However, the customer requested a refund which in our warranty states is not permitted beyond 30 days of the original purchase. The customer could have sent the computer back to us and we would have attempted to diagnose and repair the issue without any cost to the customer. Being that the customer went to a third party for repairs and did not attempt to contact us in any regard before doing this we are unable to pay for the customer's costs for labor charges from the third party.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company did not automatically pay shipping charges for the first attempt at repair. I had to argue with the customer service rep to get these charges paid. I had no reason to expect that they would be paid the second time. I also had no reason to have faith that the repairs would be done correctly. When the technical folks called me after the first attempt at repair, after they had done a stress test for Windows and before they sent the machine back, I questioned why they were not checking for other problems. I told them that the machine had kept shutting itself down. They simply told me it was working now. The outside tech I hired to do the repair was able to tell me within a relatively short time that the problem was a bad motherboard. This indicates to me that either there was a lack of effort on the part of the technician at iBuyPower or a lack of knowledge. I have ordered computers from other companies in the past that arrived in working order. I have also purchased computers on-line that have not worked correctly. Both times this happened, the faulty computer was promptly repaired or replaced with a new computer. My opinion is that the computer should have been replaced with a new one when a clear cause for the problem was not identified. It may not matter to the company that my 13 year old son saved his money for a full year to purchase this computer, but I feel compelled to include that in this response. He also had to pay me back for the repairs. He is certainly disallusioned with iBuyPower as am I.

Final Business Response
The customer is fully covered under our parts warranty from one year of the customer's system's shipping date. Our warranty states that iBuyPower will only cover shipping charges back to us within 30 days of purchase. As a show of good faith we covered the customer's shipping costs to us. After our technician troubleshooted and repaired components, he stress tested the computer for 48 hours to verify everything was operational. In the case if a customer continued having problems with their computer, iBuyPower will offer to pay for return shipment back to us and will place a priority on repairs for that system. However, the customer was unwilling to do this and requested a refund, which as stated in our warranty, iBuyPower will only offer refunds within 30 days of shipment of a system. On the customer's own prerogative, the customer went to an outside source to obtain repair service and paid upfront the costs. iBuyPower's warranty states that we will only cover repairs that come to our facilities and not to other third party vendors. Due to this, we are unable to refund the costs of the customer's repairs at another shop.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/16/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: Placed an order with this company on 3/30/2013 with an expected ship date of 4/12/13. Was charged on 4/1/2013 and as of 4/16/13 the order has not shipped even though i was told several different sip dates from their CS all of which were lies. They had no issue charging me right away however I recieved little to no support as to what is making this order take longer than usual.
Product_Or_Service: Gamer Paladin
Order_Number: ******

Initial Business Response
We apologize for the delay. The system had already shipped last week via Federal Express. FEDEX XXXXXXXXXXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago I bought a laptop from IBuyPower (order *********** it has easily been my worst purchasing experience. I ordered my $1855 laptop on 12/07/12 and as of today, 4/24/13, I do not have my laptop. When I did initially receive it the video card was non-functional, after over a month of talking with their support I finally sent it back to them. I sent it back to them for repair on 2/14/13, they said it would take 5-7 business days to get it back to me and I would get an email when it was done. When I emailed them in March they replied with one sentence saying it wasn't ready and to email back in a week. Finally they sent an email on 3/21/13 saying it was shipped... but it wasn't, the tracking number says 'Shipment information sent to FedEx.' Thats it. I asked for a refund and I have just been ignored. I still do not have my computer. Oh yeah, and one last thing, I paid extra for a rush order so that I could get it by Christmas...
Product_Or_Service: Battalion 101 P170EM Gaming Laptop
Order_Number: ******

Initial Business Response
We have been trying to get ahold of the customer to no avail. Can you have him call us and speak with the supervisor so that we can come to a mutually agreement.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: I purchased a computer from www.ibuypower.com and applied for a rebate for a part they sold. Five months later, I still have not received the rebate. After I called them, they said that I did not mail in all of my paperwork and they do not have the information to process my rebate. The fact that they can track my order and the rebate means that they really do have all of my information. I asked for a refund for the rebate amount and they refused to pay.
Product_Or_Service: Computer
Order_Number: ******

Initial Business Response
The rebate was for an Intel hard drive and it required a copy of the original invoice. The customer did not send in the invoice but instead sent in an email confirmation. Intel did not approve the rebate because he did not send in the required documentation, however as a courtesy we will send the customer a $70 check from our company as a gesture of good will. The tracking # for the check is XXXX-XXXX-XXXX shipped via Fed Ex.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Purchased an iBuyPower PC from Walmart as a Christmas gift for my son. The PC would constantly freeze up. Placed a call to iBuyPower and they (over the phone) diagnosed it as a hard drive issue. Wanted me to remove the hard drive and send it to them then they would send me a new one...which I did. This didn't resolve the problem. Then they asked I ship the entire PC (at my expense) to their location ...which I did. Received it back and it's still freezing up. When I called they said the diagnostics showed a bad hard drive which means the one they originally sent my was bad. It's now March 18th and 3 months into my warranty without a working PC.
Product_Or_Service: iBUYPOWER Black Gamer Power WA508B Desktop
Order_Number: XXXXXXX-XXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Unfortunately we only warranty the systems for the 3rd party and would not be able to send them a new system. We would be more than happy to warranty the system for them.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Did they read the complaint at all? "We would be more than happy to warranty the system for them." I know it's under warranty, I sent the hard drive back to them. Then I sent the entire unit back but still having issues. Guess I don't have a choice but to send the entire unit back again (at my cost).

Final Business Response
Unfortunately because they did not purchase the system from us directly we would not be able to issue them a refund. We can only do the warranty work on the system.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 11
05/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: The computer purchased was defective in several major areas and the shipping time takes off the warrantee period. First, the RAM was defective. Within a year, the battery gives out at 50% charge. Then the video card burned out. when i sent it in for repair, they did not mark RMA ont he box and i was charged $142 for duty and have to resolve THAT claim with Canada Post. Now the battery won't even charge.
Product_Or_Service: Laptop Computer
Order_Number: ******

Initial Business Response
Unfortunately for all RMA warranty returns the customer is responsible for the shipping to us and we are responsible for the shipping back to them. The duty fee's should be recouped from UPS International after they have paid it.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
they have not provided me with any proof that Canada Post needs to provide me with any reimbursement, even though I've called and asked for it TWICE.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately we cannot issue the customer a refund. The battery warranty is only good for 90 days. If the customer is still having a problem with the laptop he can contact our tech support dept directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not address the problem. I sent my laptop in to repair the video card and they repaired the wireless adapter. I want them to pay for the shipping to and from my house and repair the video card at no extra charge. I also listed that the headphone jack does not work properly and have not received a repair for that either. My wireless adapter had no problems, why was it replaced?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered a total of eight systems from this company, and out of these systems only two have functioned properly. To make matters worse, my customers are attempting to contact iBUYPOWER for customer technical support with little to no response. I have attempted to contact them on several occasions as well on behalf of my customers via contact forms, emails, and phone calls, with no response. Below is a detailed list of failed systems:System #1: System OKSystem #2: Computer will not start after 3 months of very limited usage. Customer cannot get ahold of iBUYPOWER tech, over 1 hour wait times. After lack of support customer is purchasing new computer from another vendor and throwing away this PC.System #3: PC not working upon arrival. Fans not operating and PC overheating, plexiglass scratched. Customer removed cover and found fans not plugged in. iBUYPOWER sent replacement plexiglass coverSystem #4: PC left in box for about 6 weeks. First startup resulted in blue screen. Computer won't start unless in safe mode. Customer called iBUYPOWER tech with no response after leaving message and waiting 45 minutesSystem #5: PC operates very slowly when configuring sound in Windows. Takes several minutes to open control panel for sound. Surround sound not working for rear speakers. PC started hanging up and having to hard restart. Then after some time started getting blue screen. Sound system never worked properly. Customer contacts iBUYPOWER tech and goes through reinstall of software but still no sound working. After several more blue screens and lockups, customer requests return of PC. iBUYPOWER accepts return but refund has not been received after RMA package being delivered.System #6: System OKSystem #7: System slow to open sound control panel (approximately 2 minutes to open window). Otherwise PC operating properly at this time.System #8: CD drive not working. Lights not on and does not respond to eject button. Customer called iBUYPOWER tech
Product_Or_Service: Custom built PC
Order_Number: ******* ******* ****

Initial Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the wait times on our tech support lines. The call times fluctuate greatly throughout the day. Most of the time the wait is only a few minutes. Please have the customer try to call them at XXX-XXX-XXXX so that our tech's may better trouble shoot the problem.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Several customers have called several times, waited 45 minutes to an hour before giving up, left messages and no one called back, and sent emails and no one replied. They are not interested in trying again.


I don't leave my customers hanging like iBUYPOWER does, so I have paid $300 to have system #4 diagnosed by a local tech and repaired. The system had a faulty video card. At this point a refund for the $300 would be enough to settle up.

In other news, the refund for one of the other faulty systems (system ******* was received, but the refund is not correct. I paid an additional $118 for upgraded components for a total of $1,055. The refund charged back to my card is $937 and $9. This refund is $109 short of what is owed to me.

Final Business Response
It looks like the deduction was due to a $75 shipping and handling charge that was nonrefundable and a network card that was not returned. As a coutesy we will issue a refund for the $75 for the shipping and handling.

Final Consumer Response
From: ****@************* (******:****@*************)
Sent: Tuesday, March 26, XXXX X:XX PM
To: ******* ****
Subject: RE: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Hi *******,

In response to the last message:

Not only does $75 (shipping) plus $25 (network adapter) not equal the $109 still owed to me, but there is no shipping charge on the invoice, and I had to pay to have the defective PC shipped back. The $109 remaining is from the options that were added to the order which I have not received credit, except for an erroneous $9. Even if the network adapter was not in the box, then I am still owed $84. The disorganization of this company is very clear. Here is a charge summary:

PC $937
Tax $0
Shipping $0
Video card upgrade $98
Power supply upgrade $20
Total: $1055

Refund #1 - $937
Refund #2 - $9

Balance: $109

Note that all this detail is only one out of six defective computers. I don't consider a $75 refund, incorrectly classified as non-refundable shipping, to be a courtesy. My compromise was a refund for the video card I paid to have replaced for $300 because iBUYPOWER would not respond to emails or calls, system #4 as detailed in the orginial complaint, order ********



(end response)



Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/31/2013Delivery Issues
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/20/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Dealers, Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1996
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Computers - Dealers, Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Alternate Business Names
I Buy Power
Industry Tips
Picking a Computer for Your College-Bound Student

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for iBuyPower.com

11581 Federal Drive

El Monte, CA 91731

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 11581 Federal Drive 

    El Monte, CA 91731

  • 602 Monterey Pass Road 

    Monterey Park, CA 91754

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*iBuyPower.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (626) 281-0120
  • (626) 281-0767
  • (626) 281-8262
  • (626) 281-6040
  • (626) 228-1153
  • (888) 618-6040
  • (626) 228-1171
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers - Dealers

Picking a Computer for Your College-Bound Student
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.