BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2004

Cal Micro, Inc.

Phone: (408) 321-9777Fax: (408) 321-8811726 Charcot Ave, San JoseCA 95131-2207

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2004

BBB has determined that Cal Micro, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cal Micro, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cal Micro, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Laptop repair service damaged my laptop during service and expected me to pay for parts necessary for damage repair. I asked this company to remove some stripped screws on my laptop and replace some damaged parts: palm rest and LCD bezel. They told me it would be done in a couple of days, but they kept my laptop for two plus weeks without contacting me. They called me a day or two after I dropped off my laptop to ask me if I wanted to replace the memory cover because it was damaged and this would take an additional 2 days to repair because the part needed to be ordered. I said okay, but questioned this because I knew I did not give it to them with any damage to the memory cover. They later explained that they damaged the memory cover when trying to remove a stripped screw I had asked them to remove. However, they failed to notify prior to performing the action that caused the damage so they should be responsible for the expenses incurred to replace this part. Additionally, they showed no remorse for keeping my computer for two plus weeks 5/7/2013 to 5/23/2013 when I expressed to them that I wanted a quick turnaround. They failed to call to provide updates about the status of the repair and they did not answer their phones for and entire week and did not return my message.

Desired Settlement
I expect a full refund because they damaged my laptop without my permission and they provided poor customer service by not keeping me abreast of new developments. I also expect them to pay for or provide me with a new memory cover.

Business' Initial Response
Cal Micro's success for the past 15 years is based on the good relationship it has with customers and the excellent customer service it provides to all our clients.

Regarding the complaint, here is the other side of the story:

Customer dropped off the laptop to remove and replace some stripped screws (damaged heads) on his laptop and replace some other damaged parts: Palm rest - Bottom Cover including the memory cover - LCD Frame, and Top cover.

Customer did not want to pay diagnostics fee and insisted that we only replace the damaged items and provided us with some of the spare parts to save money. Cal Micro was only contracted to replace the spare parts he provided and suggested to replace few other items to insure the spare parts he provided works, and the customer agreed.

The customer was informed clearly over the phone at that time that we did not have the extra spare physically on hand and that we will order and will take 5-7 business days to get pending availability with our supplier. Our supplier was little late in shipping but we managed to install one of them on time to avoid any further delay.

Customer then called us end of day on 05/16/2013 and we called back on 05/17/2013 and told him the laptop will be ready on 05/20/2013 as we need more time to install the second spare part and test. Customer was very angry and wanted to pick up the laptop immediately (same day Friday 05/17/2013) at end of day without waiting for the second item to be replaced or tested.

We the prepared the laptop for pickup and only charged for the item replaced and had it ready but the customer did not show up until six days later - not the same day he said he is coming - and picked up.

From our side, we did not charge any restocking fees for the cancelled item, or even the shipping charges to return the cancelled spare part to the vendor, as a good gesture from our side.

Cal Micro believes that it did communicate properly with the customer throughout the process and we tried our best, like with all our customers, to make sure we provide the best service possible. We are surprised of the customer complaints, especially after trying our best in saving him the extra charges.

Attached, please find the work order and the invoice for your reference.


****** ******
Cal Micro, Inc
XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Dealers, Computers - Multimedia, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/15/2004Business started: 01/01/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Khaled Hamade (President) Youssef Omar (Public Relations)
Number of Employees

11

Business Category

Computers - Dealers, Computers - Multimedia, Computers Hardware, Software & Services, Computers - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Products & Services

This company's business is Computer Dealers Retail, Computer Equipment, Parts, and Supplies Retail and Computer Software Services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cal Micro, Inc.

726 Charcot Ave

San Jose, CA 95131-2207

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 726 Charcot Ave 

    San Jose, CA 95131-2207

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cal Micro, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Computers - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.