BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/12/1970

Signtronix, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 729-4853

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service27
Total Closed Complaints43

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (43)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I own my own Tanning Salon. On 01/20/2011 a salesman came into my business selling this Signtronic led super high tech business sign. He gave us a great demonstration. promised you could see the sign's advertising from down the street, that you could change your promotions everyday. I decided to buy the sign. the lease agreement was for 3 years for 112.03 a month. My salesman gave me his cell # to call him as soon as the sign was delivered. The sign was delivered 2 weeks late. As soon as it came in I called my salesman. his # was disconnected, I then called the company. Nobody was available. we struggled with this sign.The sign delivered was not even the sign he showed us in my business. Wasn't even the sign that we purchased. The company was no help, to no avail nobody cared to help me. in august of 2012 my business ran into economic tough times. I decided to close the Salon. So I had to close out the account the sign was be debited from. I have just leaned that they have placed a judgement against me. this is just so wrong. They sold me a product that wasn't even what we ordered. please help
Product_Or_Service: ********
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
please im looking to have them take the judgement off of my credit. they we're dishonest in there promises about the product. It was dishonest & corrupt. Please help me. thankyou

Business Response
According to our system records, no complaint has ever been documented that the consumer, *** *******, attempted to make contact with our offices to state that she was dissatisfied with our product or services. The consumer's sign was manufactured, shipped, and delivered on 2/16/2011. On 2/23/2011 we received a call from the consumer requesting technical support to setup and program her sign, one of our technician's assisted the consumer and confirmed she able to communicate and send messages to her LED sign. Signtronix followed through with our commitment in manufacturing and delivering a sign that was ordered by the consumer.
Signtronix is only the manufacturer, any leasing or account issues must be directed to Northern Leasing. You may reach them at: XXX-XXX-XXXX.
We appreciate the opportunity to respond.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called the business on several occasion complaining about the product, also complaining it not being the same product the salesman was selling in my business. I Was never told to call Northern Leasing on any matter. This sign is not the one they walk around & come into business's trying to sell, Its fraud they get the poor business's to fall for there tactic's, Then were stuck with there lousy product. If your car was parked in front of it you would not even be able to read it.So much for there LED product. This type of business tactic's need to be stopped. They lied. Please the little business's of America need support. Don't let company's like this one & Northern Leasing get away with things like this.

Final Business Response
Regarding the consumer's claim that the product she received is not what the salesman offered her upon signing the contract, prior to manufacturing and shipping *** *******'s sign, according to our records our Verification Department contacted the consumer on 2/9/2011 and verified the order with *** *******,upon approval of the order, the sign was manufactured and shipped to the consumer.
After the consumer received her sign, Signtronix received a call for Technical Supoort on 2/23/2011,at no time did the consumer mention any dissatisfaction about her sign, or state that it was not what she was initially presented by the salesman. Signtronix manufactured the sign that the consumer ordered and what was on her contract-a copy of the consumer's contract is attached.
Once again, Signtronix is only the manufacturer, if the consumer has any concerns regarding payments she must contact Northern Leasing directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a display sign almost a year ago. It worked fine for the first 3 months, then, the time and temperature display started to malfunction, and it has not worked correctly since then. Signtronix have sent replacement parts, and each time, I have to pay the service charge from the sign company to come out and install the parts. I have spent hundreds of dollars on service charges for installing replacement parts on a sign that is less than a year old. I feel I have a defective sign, and I either want my money back, or a new display sign.

Desired Settlement
A new replacement display sign, exactly like the one i purchased. If not, I request my money back.

Business Response
Signtronix is sending a reimbursement check to the consumer, ** ******, for the amount of $250.00. Our Technical and Warranty Team made contact with *** ****** on 1/2/14, and is working with the consumer to schedule an appointment for a technician. Our Technical and Warranty Team is scheduled to follow up with the consumer in order to resolve this matter.

01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company took a non refundable deposit to create a sign for my company. The artwork,design and customer service was atrocious. wont refund deposi
I have barely any contact information for this company, "Signtronix" Order Number XXXXXX. I only have a phone number, no correspondence has a name on it besides "customer service" X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. It's all very unprofessional and shady. I get a different person each time I call or email.. communication has been nearly impossible. We gave a 1154.00 cash deposit to a sales rep who came to our office for a company sign for our office building. No acceptable proof or design was ever able to be reached the contract for the sign leaves no clause for customer approval of sign. They have cancelled our contract but refuse to refund the money paid up front. This is deplorable to keep money for a product not produced. We believe they are running a scam. getting money up front and never producing the promised product.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of my cash deposit of $1,154.00. Since they failed to meet and produce the promised product.

Business Response
Signtronix' Graphic Artists have been working with the consumer, *** *********, to produce a layout from 9/22/13. According to our records , Signtronix has presented multiple layouts to the consumer which none of them were to her liking. In an attempt to satisfy the consumer, on 10/25/13 the order was turned over to Customer Service due to the fact that the consumer was unhappy with all of the layouts that were presented to her. A customer service representative made contact with *** ********* on 11/19/13 to try to resolve the matter at hand, at the time *** ********* was informed that her deposit was non-refundable. In another attempt to resolve this matter, our Regional Manager, Bill Gigax, sent an e-mail to *** ********* on 11/26/2013 offering her other options for signage, he also made contact with *** *********, she stated that she understood that the deposit was non-refundable. Our Director of Customer Support, ***** *******, also made contact with *** ********* on 12/4/13 and explained to the consumer that the deposit can only be applied to a sign of equal or greater value. A Letter of Credit was mailed out to the consumer on 12/4/13. The consumer, *** *********, can make contact with all of our Departments by calling us at XXX-XXX-XXXX, for general assistance or to speak to the Operator please dial 0 or extension 501. Signtronix has been in the business of helping small business owners for over 50 years. We strive to have customer's that are 100% satisfied with their signs.

06/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was visited by a sales rep from Signtronix on the afternoon of Thursday, May 9th and did initially purchase a sign after much strong convincing from the rep. He kept stating that I could not waithad to make a decision THEN. He left no paperwork whatsoever and no way to get a hold of him when he left. I later regretted the decision and simply want the whole thing to be reversed. The rep did indeed stop into my store the following day (today-May 10) and I stated my concerns and that I wished to reverse the transaction (this is less than 24 hours after the transaction). I also called the parent company and they stated that the $445.00 check that I made out was NOT refundable, even though I was not made aware of any deposits or non-refundable items. I simply wish to 1. Stop the order (thus receive no sign and owe no money), 2. Have no funds taken from my account (monthly payment plan was set up), and 3. I want my funds back of $445.00. Taking care of these 3 things will satisfy my claim. Contact **** **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX for additional questions. Thank you.
Product_Or_Service: Signtronix Sign
Order_Number: I have none
Account_Number: I have none

Desired Settlement
1. Stop the order (thus receive no sign and owe no money)2. Have no funds taken from my account (monthly payment plan was set up)3. I want my funds back of $445.00. Check number ****. Taking care of these 3 things will satisfy my claim. Contact **** **** at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX for additional questions. Thank you.

Business Response
Signtronix made contact with the consumer on 5/23 & 5/24. Signtronix inquired about a reason for wanting to cancel the order and the consumer stated she had buyer's remorse. Signtronix explained to the consumer that all orders are non-cancellable and deposits are not refundable which is clearly stated on number 4 on the Sales Agreement. The consumer mentioned she does not have a copy of the Sales Agreement. Signtronix contacted the Salesman and informed him to provide the consumer with a copy of the Sales Agreement.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive the signed document, over 15 days after the deposit check was given. The contract states that the deposit is non refundable, but no where does it say that the $445 that I paid is a deposit. The verbiage on the document is "initial investment" and it does not say this is non-refundable. I also have not signed the final document stating the artwork and 10 year guarantee. I have not been in contact with the sales rep, as I have no way of getting a hold of him-no business card or phone number is available to me. He did send me the contracts and they do state that it is non-cancel-able, so if this is the case, then I am apparently stuck. I am still very unhappy. The note from the rep also says that the company will send me a rendering of the artwork, so apparently I have little to say about this whole transaction. I would still like to cancel the whole thing and get my $445 back, but will also honor the contract that I did sign. I will not recommend this company to anyone. I regret ever speaking to this company and have learned my lesson about reading what I sign.

Final Business Response
Signtronix made contact with the consumer on Friday 6/7 and asked whether she would like to proceed with her order or if she would like a letter of credit to receive her sign at a later date. The consumer stated that she would like to proceed with her order but would like to know what other sign options are available. Signtronix informed her that we would notify our Regional Manager to make contact with her in regards to this matter.

06/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We bought a sign from signtronix. The sign has since been fried two times by lightening. The sign is still under warranty. The first time we had to contact signtronix everyday by phone and email to get anything done. It still took 2 months to get the part in so we could fix our sign. Now, the sign is busted again and we need the same part. It is going on its second month without our sign and we still have no part to show for it. On top of that I have requested several times to have the part shipped as well as the tracking number of said part sent to me to no avail. Last week, I was told the part had come in and was going to be shipped that day. Today I was told the exact same thing. The exact same words. This is becoming ridiculous.

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement ID: Other (requires explanation)
We want our sign to work first and foremost. We have waited for the part patiently. The sign has been broken for four months total out of the past twelve months. It looks unprofessional as well as costing us business because people have thought we were closed and so on. We would also like an adjustment on the price of our sign as it has been broken we feel the months without it should be taken off of our bill.

Business Response
Signtronix made contact with the consumer & she confirmed that the new part was delivered and their sign is up and running. Signtronix informed the consumer that the warranty for outdoor EMC's does not cover lightning damage and Signtronix shipped the parts to the consumer as a courtesy instead of charging for the part.Consumer also wanted to add it is very difficult to reach a technician to assist with Technical & Warranty issues. Signtronix addressed this matter to the Head of Customer Support.

Page 1 of 7
08/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesperson hurried me though contract and did not disclose that it could not be cancelled, even though I mentioned concerns.
Salesperson ******* ****** ***** came to my business on June 18th and tied up my time for several hours. By then I was rushing to teach a class so I agreed to order, assuming I would be able to cancel in 3 days (by CT law). He filled out all the paperwork for me to make it "quicker". I expressed that I had concerns since my business was not making money and could be closing soon but that did not deter him. He never mentioned that the contract was "non-cancellable" or that the $372 deposit was "non refundable" and I did not have time to read the details.

After reviewing my company's finances and talking to my advisors, I decided it was not a wise decision so on June 20th I sent an email to the company and as soon as they opened, I called and left a message. No one returned my call or email, so on Monday, June 23 I called again and this time hit "0" and was transferred to ****** ****** in the Lease department. She agreed to cancel production. When I asked about my deposit, she said "No" and said she was sending me a letter to explain. The letter arrived on June 30 and states I can still use the deposit if I change my mind within 30 days.

On June 30, I called *** ****** and said I was not changing my mind and requested my deposit be returned. She again said no and informed my my contract was "non-cancellable". I inquired why they should keep my money when they have not done any work but she held her ground.

I feel the company should return my deposit for the following reasons:
- The salesperson took advantage of the fact that I was rushed and did not explain the terms.
- The salesperson never told me the total amount the sign would cost, nor does the contract. Once I had time to do the math with the deposit, monthly "lease" payments and final "buyout", the cost is $3868! (My current sign cost $250)
- The salesperson did not consider that I am unable to pay my bills and in danger of closing. I point blank asked him what would happen if I went out of business and he stared at me blankly.
- In good faith, I made all attempts to reach the company within 3 days, using all venues available. The salesperson refused to give me his personal contact infosaid just to call the company.

I am a single woman and sole proprietor. As such, salesmen often try to take advantage of me and this one succeeded. ******* is high pressure and did just that. I appreciate any assistance you can provide in getting my deposit back. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
$372

Business Response
Signtronix reviewed the consumer's order. On June 18, 2014 the consumer, *** **** ********, signed our Merchant Agreement which showed a complete breakdown of the monthly payments : $96.18 + applicable sales tax (36 months), initial investment ($372.00 deposit) ,and buyout cost ($178.30). According to Signtronix' records, on June 30, 2014 our Leasing Manager spoke to *** ******** and informed her that deposits are not refundable, furthermore this agreement is non-cancelable , as stated in item #4 on the consumer's Merchant Agreement. A Letter of Credit was issued to the consumer on June 26, 2014, in which she was informed that she may re-instate the order at any time once she is ready to move forward with the sign purchase. Signtronix has been in the business of helping small business owners for over 50 years. The consumer can make contact with all of our Departments by calling us toll free at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Signtronix is incorrect. I was never informed that the deposit was non-refundable or that the contract was non-cancellable. As soon as I got the letter of credit, I called the company and told them I could not afford the sign and again asked that they return my deposit. The company had not started making my sign yet so how have they earned my $372?

Final Business Response
Our Company policy has always been, once a contract is signed our dealers receive a check from the customer in order to secure a deposit for their sign purchase. This deposit is used towards processing fees, and artwork development for the sign purchase.
When the contract was signed by the consumer, detailed terms of the agreement were visible above the signature line. Unfortunately, deposits are not refundable and the agreement is non-cancellable as stated in item #4 of the Merchant Agreement. Although, the consumer's deposit remains secured, and as stated in the letter of credit , *** ******** may reinstate the order at anytime once she is ready to move forward with her sign purchase.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I mentioned in my original complaint, the salesman took full advantage of the fact that I was running late to teach a class and did not have time to read the fine print (the non-cancellable clause buried #4 out of 14 statements). He filled out the entire contract for me so all I had to do was sign. In fact I was so rushed, I printed where it says "signature" and signed where it says "PrintName" so I question if the contract is even legal. The money I put down on this sign created a hardship for a business already in trouble (a position I mentioned to the salesperson and stated in my original complaint) and the business is now being forced to close and will definitely not be needing a sign.
In good faith, I contacted the Signtronix within 48 hours and according to *********, no work had been done yet on my sign and she said the salesperson approved cancellation of the order. If Signtronix was really about helping small businesses as they claim, they would do the right thing and return my deposit.

07/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased two signs form Signtronix, the purchase price was to be 9,000, and we were leasing the sign for 48 mos. with the option of paying it off anytime. However we never received the a copy of the leasing agreement. I signed the lease and my salseman was to mail me a copy (which never happened) The leasing company withdrew 347.00 from my acoount on the 15th of May, which I had no idea was going to happen. So I called my salesmon ***** ******** 3 times and he never returned my call..so I called the leaseing company Northern Leasing Systems and they sent me the lease. So today I called Signtronix and requested the payoff for the sign. They told me the price given initially was only if I had paid cssh that day, this was never told to us, and upon looking at my merchant agreement he left out the retail price which leads me to believe is why they did not want to send me an invoice. They told me I could pay the sign off early but I had to pay the full price of the lease which is $16,656 plus the 1,000 down payment plus an 800 fee at end of lease. I just want out of this lease for I have never heard of such a scam in my life!!
Product_Or_Service: outdoor lighted sign

Desired Settlement
I want them to take the sign back and release me from this lease. I will take full responsibility for all payments due UP TO THIS DATE. I am in the process of building my credit up from a divorce and don't want this to affect my credit history.

Business Response
Signtronix made contact with Ms. ******** on 6/21/13, she was informed that she has had the sign since 4/2013 and should have expected the leasing company to have withdrawn money from her account on the 15th of each month, as this is per the agreement that she signed. Consumer stated that her monthly payment was $321.59 and questioned why $347 was withdrawn from her account. The contract clearly reads $321.59 "plus applicable sales tax."
It was explained to Ms. ******** that at any point she could have requested the cash option but chose not to do so. Signtronix made contact with Ms. ******** on 3/8/13 and verified her order prior to shipment of her sign, and at no time did she express any concerns about the lease or wanting the option to pay cash. The consumer, Ms. ********, signed a contract and is responsible to follow through with that agreement.
In regards to not receiving a copy of the lease, Signtronix did apologize for the leasing company's shortcomings but explained that at any time she could have made contact with our customer support team in order to assist her with this matter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, as I did not receive as requested several times, a copy of the lease nor did I receive and still have not received a bill containing a breakdown of pricing for each sign ordered. I was NEVER informed that there was a cash option for the sign; I have four witnesses that can state that this option was not given by *****. Had I known that the cash price was $9000.00 and the next day the price of the signs would double, I would have never have purchased signs from this company. We were told that the sign could be paid off at any time but not told that the price would be doubled!!! I am deeply disturbed by this fraudulent business practice and I plan on taking this to Pennsylvania's attorney general if not resolved ASAP.

Final Business Response
As previously explained to the consumer Signtronix contacted her on 3/8/13 to verify the order prior to shipment of her sign and she was informed of the monthly payments due. In addition she did sign "3" different documents at the time of purchase confirming that she understood she was signing a lease. At anytime if the consumer had addressed her concern of going forward with her lease order we could have converted it to a cash order. She expressed no type of concern until she was in possession of the signs for approximately 3 months.
Again, if the consumer is concerned about the breakdown of pricing for each sign, she may contact our Leasing Department and a representative will gladly assist her in regards to this matter.
The consumer, Ms. ******** signed a contract and is responsible to follow through with her agreement.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fact of the matter is I have requested a cash breakdown SEVERAL TIMES. And the fact is I was never told the 9,000 was a cash only price, if I had been I would NEVER have signed a contract. I contacted you after they withdrew my first payment, and I still have not received my contract, nor a cash breakdown. That is when I found out about the "CASH" price

03/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues
07/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Commercial Products Manufacturers, Signs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.