BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2000

Guess?, Inc.

Phone: (213) 765-3648

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service18
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased some clothing from Guess store and was asked for my email address in return for a discount. I was hesitant because I didn't want to receive spam related emails. The clerk assured me I could unsubscribe at any time so I accepted the offer. After receiving several emails from this company I choose to go online and unsubscribe from this company as directed. After this request being ignored and after several more emails I called the customer service number provided and requested that they cease and desist their communication with me. They assured me that the emails would not continue and I would be removed from their mailing list within 48 hours. That was two weeks ago, and since then have received several emails from this company. I would appreciate your intervention in this matter in order that it may be resolved******** ********************

Desired Settlement
I want them to stop spamming me.

Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Our records indicate that you contacted us on 5/15/2014 to request to be removed from all email and notifications. We received confirmation on 5/28/2014 from our Email Marketing team that your email address (*********@gmail.com) was removed from our email lists.

We will go ahead and work with our Email Marketing team to ensure that your email address is removed and ensure that you no longer receive email notifications.

06/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi, This complaint is about an online order: Online Order Date: 5/6/2014Order number: "*****XXXXXXXXXXXX" in total $135.66, included 1 non-sale item $32.16 (tax included) and 2 sale items in total $103.51 (tax included). When I return all 3 items in the store on 5/17/2014, I only been told that they can refund 1 non-sale item $32.16 to my credit card, but those 2 sale items can only be returned as "merchandise return card". I have no choice but took the "merchandise return card" which has $103.51 in there.Then I called their customer service on 5/22/2014 and see if they can do the refund, the representative told me that they can refund the money back to my credit card if I ship the sale items back to their warehouse. But I've already return the items back to the store, therefore, the representative told me to go back to the store and the store manager is able to void the "merchandise return card" and refund the money back to my credit card. But when I go back to the store on 5/22/2014, the clerk told me that the system is not allowed them to refund me the money from the "merchandise return card".I've tried both GByGuess's Customer service and retail store, none of them can return the money back to my credit card, that's why I file a complaint here.When I made the order online, I only see "free return in the store", if I saw "sale items can NOT be refund and can only be return as store credit", I'll NOT purchase those 2 sale items. I wasn't been told that I have an option to ship those 2 sale items back to their warehouse, if I want the refund back to my credit card on 5/17/2014 in the store. If I knew I have the option, I'd ship back for my refund.Those 2 sales items that I returned are in brand new with tag, re-salable condition and within 30 days of purchase, why can't I get my money back to my credit card? In Addition, the "merchandise return card" doesn't have my name on it, if I lost it, I'll never have a chance to cancel or redeem it.Thank you in advanced for helping me.
Product_Or_Service: clothes (Meter Jacket/Ception Inset Blazer)
Order_Number: *****XXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I'll be very appreciated if GByGuess can refund the $103.51 that is issued in "merchandise return card" (number: XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX) back to my original purchased credit card (end with ****** Or void this merchandise return card and mail me a check payable to "******** (*****) Lo" to my address ***** ****** ***** *** ***** ********* ** XXXXX).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** **** - CC Asst Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@guess.com
The customer has been contacted via email and has been informed that the Merchandise Return Card: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX has been voided and a refund has been processed back to her MasterCard on order GBGECXXXXXXXXXXXX. Customer has also been informed that it may take 3-5 business days to post to her credit card account.

04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed two orders recently on ************* WNXXXXXXXXXX and WNXXXXXXXXXX, which were cancelled afterwards.
I placed two orders recently, WNXXXXXXXXXX and WNXXXXXXXXXX, which were cancelled afterwards. Order WNXXXXXXXXXX was paid by a $300 gift card and $1 from my credit card. Order WNXXXXXXXXXX was paid the same way with $125 gift card and $33 from credit card. I understand ****** ****** does not ship to a parcel forearding address. However the shipping address I used was a residential address, not a reshipper address claimed by ****** ******'s agent. Not to mention they even changed my shipping address to an unknown one on order WNXXXXXXXXXX.

After the cancellation I contacted NM many times for the refunds. One time the agent said everything, including the gift card balances would be credited back to the credit card used for the orders. The other time the agent said they would mail new gift cards to the shipping address used for the order. Finally when I contatced them again, the agent said they have not mailed the gift cards yet but will do in a few days. It's been TWO months and I did not receive anything from NM at all.

Desired Settlement
If ************ does not want my business, that is fine. But no matter what, it should not be difficult for them to get my money back. My request is simple, My request is simple, please give my hard earned money back by crediting back to the credit card I used for the order。

Business Response
This is a complaint against another retailer ****** ******, not Guess. The order numbers do not correspond to the Guess order number format and we are unable to find *** **** ** in our customer database. Please remove this complaint from our file.

03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order on Guess Factory's website for 5 purses of $187.45 on 1-6-2014.
I never received any confirmation email from Guess after that. I contacted Guess and the agent said my UPS tracking number is ***XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, which never showed up on UPS.com till now. Contacted Guess again and the agent said the package was lost. According the agent, the refund or replacement order has to be issued after UPS has completed their investigation on the case. 2 weeks after that, on X-XX-XXXX I contacted Guess for the third time and was told UPS will compensate me. I have not received any information till now from either UPS or Guess. This is unacceptable. I paid for the merchandises at Guess' website and they charged me for the order. UPS may be responsible for the missing order but the money went to Guess' account. No matter what I should not be the one to take the loss.

Desired Settlement
My request is very simple. I need my money back. That's it.
The phone may not be feasibleïïïplease email me anytime.
My email is **********@hotmail.com

Business Response
A full refund was processed for the customer's package in the amount of $187.45. The customer has been contacted via email and has been informed that the refund has been processed and that it takes 3-5 business days for the credit to reflect on the original form of payment. Additionally, the customer has been offered a $50 dollar gift card, which will be sent once the customer confirms the address where they want the gift card sent.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a Guess watch as a gift. It says water resistant on the back of the watch. I washed my hands with it on and now it's floating in water on the inside!!!!!!

Desired Settlement
I'd like my watch replaced! I love my watch and now it's ruined!!!!!

Business Response
We were very sorry to hear about the difficulties **** **** experienced with her GUESS watch. Fortunately, each of our watches have a 10 year warranty. We verified with the customer that she had not contacted our manufacture prior to submitting her case to BBB. We have contacted the customer and provided her with directions on how to send in her watch and that we will reimburse her for the cost of shipping the watch to and from our manufacture.

Page 1 of 5
10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clothing - Retail, Fashion Accessories

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.