BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2011

iD Tech Camps

Phone: (408) 871-2227Fax: (408) 871-2228View Additional Phone Numbers910 E Hamilton Ave #300, CampbellCA 95008-0645

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2011

BBB has determined that iD Tech Camps meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised iD Tech Camps' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on iD Tech Camps

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I called the to cancel the reg. within 3 business days and they told me there was a 250$ non-refundable fee.
Dear ***** *******,

Congratulations! ******* M ******* is now registered! This is your Order Confirmation email.

As a condition of enrollment, you, the Legal Guardian, must complete the Required Form in My Account no later than 05/15/2014 for ******* M *******. We really thank you for your cooperation.

Confirmation number for ******* M *******: ********

Customer Name: ***** *******
Order Number: *******
Account Number: **********

Date May 8, 2014 Friday
Paid with credit card
Total paid-954.00

Desired Settlement
Full Refund of 954$ to credit card used to pay for registration.

Business Response
This client has filed a complaint stating they registered to send their son to camp with us, then called our office to cancel said registration within 3 business days of the initial transaction. They've claimed that an iD Tech representative agreed to refund them, but to withhold the $250 non-refundable deposit; however, I saw no record of this conversation in our database.

The client requested a full refund of the tuition cost, and although, the deposit being non-refundable after registration is definitely our policy, and is stated clearly in our Terms & Conditions - it is highly unlikely that we would not make an exception in a circumstance of this nature.

To demonstrate this, we were able to reach out to this client and successfully rectify the situation by providing the full refund they've requested. They were genuinely appreciative of this, and we were surely glad we could help turn this situation around for them.

Client Services Lead
iD Tech

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My child enrolled and 7 days before camp our engine blew up leaving us with no way to get there and requested a refund.
My child went to one of the ID camps and was enrolled for a second one. Our car engine blew up about 7 days before the start of the second camp.
I called right away to let them know and to request a refund. This was last year. I have still not received a refund or even a telephone call until today when i emailed them about the refund.
Their policy is 3 weeks, however if your car engine blows up, there is no way to get your child to the camp. They have my money.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to accept a full refund not a voucher and i am willing to subtract hardships that the scheduling might have caused.

Consumer's Final Response
Just recevied a phone call and they are going to refund my card for the full amount minus the tuition deposit so i am getting 599 back which is better than nothing.

08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My son has a documented severe allergy to nuts attended your camp where he was given nuts and suffered anaphylactic shock requiring hospitalization
My 6 year old son who has a documented severe allergy to nuts attended your camp where he was given a cookie containing nuts. He suffered anaphylactic shock (a potentially lethal condition) and required emergent ambulance transfer to a emergency room for treatment. He remained in critical condition for most of that day and slowly improved after 2 epinephrine injections. He was observed with telemetry for 24 hours before release. After release, he was severely sedated due to medications. The regional director who had called me to discuss the matter trivialized the entire episode by crudely stating, "I am sorry that your son did not have a positive experience in our camp" -- when in reality my son had suffered a near death experience with severe consequences for the rest of his life. I get the sense that this director was glibly trying to pacify me without genuine concerns for the stress that this episode had imposed to me, my son, and my family. Prior to the call from the regional director, I had calmed myself enough to discuss the matter rationally. After the call from the regional director, I was so upset that I cannot continue to work.

Desired Settlement
I previously registered my three boys for a ID Tech Camp two weeks from now. I demand a full refund of the one week camp during which my son suffered the anaphylactic shock as well as the three upcoming weeks. We no longer feel safe to have our kids under the care of your camp, especially hearing the non-chalant tone of your regional representative and his insincere attitude toward the matter. It seems to me that your employees are more interested in making money than to genuinely care for the children attending your camp.

Business Response
The client accepted a resolution during a conversation with iD Tech's President. He had also agreed to remove his complaint filed to the BBB.

The situation was handled in accordance with all ACA safety procedures. The client's 6 year old son was signed up for the university dining plan, and brought an extra lunch in the event there weren't appropriate options. The student had been selecting his own lunch items three days successfully before he picked up a macadamia nut cookie from the campus dining service's dessert bar.

When he suffered a reaction, staff acted wisely and appropriately, contacting the guardian and campus dining. The university simultaneously contacted local paramedics. The director accompanied the child to the hospital until the mother and father arrived.

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 11/04/2004Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity


Incorporated: February 1999, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Elise Neef (Manager) Ryan Barone (Marketing) Pete Ingram (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

This company specializes in technology camps for kids.

Alternate Business Names
Internal Drive

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for iD Tech Camps

910 E Hamilton Ave #300

Campbell, CA 95008-0645

To | From


1 Locations

  • 910 E Hamilton Ave #300 

    Campbell, CA 95008-0645(408) 871-2227

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*iD Tech Camps is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (408) 637-2400

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Camps


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.