BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Famous Characters Inc

Phone: (866) 424-9625

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
06/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blatant False Advertising California BBB Complaint vs Famous Characters LLC

My experience with Famous Characters LLC in Tarzana, CA has been extremely frustrating to say the least. I purchased their "Business Opportunity" and Website in May 2013 for a total cost of $2500.00+, and had multiple problems for months. There is much additional detail that I can provide if necessary. My primary Complaint is blatant False Advertising.

Example: Their initial advertising material stated: "Now revealed - An amazing little-known way for you to make $4,000 to $5,000 a month from your home ... working only 4 to 6 hours a week ... with NO selling involved. With no experience, earn your first $2,200 within 45 days - GUARANTEED or you pay nothing!" (I realize that it was a major exaggeration).

After purchasing the initial package for approx $125.00, I then received on 5-3-13 a letter from President ***** *****"stating "I've decided to share with you an amazing new strategy to earn at least $10,000 in clear profits ... with hardly any effort on your part. BUT you must call me within 48 hours. That's $1,000 a week for the next 10 weeks. There's no charge to learn about this effective strategy."

As it turns out, the letter was a pitch to sell a personalized website to me, which I did purchase after much discussion with the "Business Advisor" assigned to me. After my purchase, I received additional, nearly identical solicitations, except that the Famous Characters' President was usually listed as ***** *****, but sometimes Adam Darvish was listed instead with a different Company name.

I then got a letter dated XX-XX-XX from ***** ***** offering a personalized Website for $497.00, approximately $2,000.00 less than what I paid a few months earlier (but my Program did include business cards, fliers, brochures and postcards)! I sent an email to my "Business Advisor" requesting an explanation, but did not receive a response.

After placing marketing materials at several locations in town - - no sales. The only purchases on my Website were made by me (a gift certificate which was not "centered" and did not look professional) and a small order by my girlfriend for her grandkids ( items arrived 2 weeks late with no explanation). I gave my commission to to her so I earned 0.

I did receive helpful assistance from the "Business Advisor" and the "Business Mentor", although often the phone system did not work properly and at times my calls were not returned. Eventually, as I became more and more frustrated and sent a few scathing emails to the BA and BM, they did not respond to me.

The final straw was when I lost a potential Fundraiser for my granddaughter's high school marching band in October 2013 - - I received no response from the BA after several emails and vmx messages. The band chose to sell cookies and candy instead, so my opportunity to earn hundreds of dollars was lost.

I will be 65 years old in 2 months, and I relied on Famous Characters' assurances that I would earn monthly income. I am retired on a tight budget, so my loss of nearly $2700.00 (including postage) has been a financial blow.

My proposal:

1)FC LLC returns $2,000.00 to me and retains $500.00 for the marketing materials and for the time that the BA and BM spent on the phone with me. I will "go away" and they cancel my Website ... OR

2)FC LLC returns $1500.00 to me and I will keep the Website "just in case" I am able to sell any products in the future. FC LLC is charging only $497.00 now for the Websites!

I spent many hours and much effort trying to get the business "off the ground", with no success and a resultant increase in my already high blood pressure. I await a response from the BBB and/or Famous Characters LLC. *PS: My next step will be to contact the CA AG (if my proposal is not met).

** *****
************@satx.rr.com

Desired Settlement
REF

Business Response
Famous Characters stands behind its business, and we have mentors available to assist our customers in achieving success; however, we are unable to guarantee a specific income. We are sorry that Mr. ***** has not yet achieved the level of success he was looking for when he invested in this business.
Our Business hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm Pacific Time, except for holidays, when we are closed. We try to return all messages left within 24 business hours. Our Business Consulting Group was unavailable to return calls due to the end of the year holidays from Monday December 23rd through Wednesday, January 2nd. We picked up all voicemail messages left during that time frame and have been returning all calls as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, the Business Associate that the customer was attempting to reach is in longer with the company.

In the interest of Customer Service we are willing to do the following:
1. We will issue a refund of $1,000 to the customer, he keeps all of the marketing materials he has and we keep his website live. He will continue to receive fifty percent of the profits realized on any sales made through his website. Sales commissions are paid monthly, approximately 15 days after the end of the month.
2. We will provide additional coaching to assist the customer in marketing his website. He can call our toll free number, XXX-XXX-XXXX during business hours, and ask to speak with a mentor to schedule these sessions at no additional charge.
We trust this solution will be acceptable to the customer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I DO accept the counter-proposal extended by Famous Characters,Inc - - with the added stipulation that I receive 70% commissions as I was promised by "Business Mentor" ***** Mercado and "Business Advisor" Mike Abrams (I have it IN WRITING via email).

I would like to thank the Famous Characters Management Team for their willingness to compromise in this matter. Their products and marketing materials are excellent - - I just hope that they will "tone down" their advertising claims to prospective Representatives like me.

I look forward to receiving the $1,000.00 refund ASAP: KT ***** PO Box *** ******** TX XXXXX.

Thank you.

** *****
San **************** TX

PS: ***Who left the Company - - ***** or *****

Final Consumer Response
2-19-14 I still have NOT received the $1,000.00 refund from Famous Characters, LLC. I last notified the BBB of this fact on 2-7-14, but have not received a response.

Please expedite my refund ASAP. Thank you.

KT *****
PO Box ***
******** Tx
XXXXX
XXX XXX-XXXX
Email: ************@satx.rr.com

11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
see scanned doc

Desired Settlement
see scanned doc

Business Response
The customer is complaining that he has not received training. Our system indicates many mentoring sessions and emails. He is also complaining that he had a customer and did not receive a commission check. We have no record of the person or any sales from any person. Services were rendered, he received the marketing tools with imprinted website and his #. Our Mentor is trying to contact him again to see what further training is warranted.

Consumer Response
***SEE SCANNED DOCS***

01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service
08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a advertisement letter from Famous Characters, LLC. It stated that for every customer that I direct to their website (Myfamousfuncharacters.com), I would receive 60% of every order they receive. So I sent them credit card order for $119.00, and they sent me this package with materials from their company. It explained what I was suppose to do in order to start sending customers to their website (MYfamousfuncharacter.com) Then, I ordered a "CD" from them so that I could print out my own materials. A few weeks later, I received a phone call from a person name "****" that in order to reach a large percentage of customers I should purchase my own website through their company so I did. This website cost me $3995.00, so I sent them the amount with my credit card. A week or two later , I received a phone call on my cell phone stating that I should call them so I did. ***** stated to me that one of his Joint Venture Partners was making over One Hundred Thousand Dollar as a JV Partner. So I sent "Myfamousfuncharacters.com" Two Thousand
dollars. I also mailed out over Twenty-Five Hundred postcards to potential
customers. I received a commission check for sales from my website ending June 15,2014 for $85.00 dollar. Since then , I have not received a single cent from this company. My website has been taken off-line by this company. I would like to receive my Six Thousand Dollars back in addition to the postage that I spent on mailing out the postcards. I would also like my Two Thousand Dollars refunded to me for becoming a JV Partner in the company. I am requesting a refund of $6800.00.
Product_Or_Service: Alvinsfamousfuncharcters.com Website & JV Part

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $6000.00 dollars Plus an additional $2000.00 for becoming a JV Partner.

06/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company solicited us to be sales and marketing representatives for the area in which we live and used dishonest marketing to gain our confidence.
Famous Characters solicited us through the mail to market licensed cartoon character merchandise in our area. We did some research through the BBB and the internet and did not find any bad reports regarding this company so we decided to pursue their joint venture as they described it. This company also purported to be a member of the Better Business Bureau which gave us more confidence when we pursued this business opportunity. When we called the business we initially spoke with "****" who advised us that we could opt for a "Bronze", "Silver", or "Gold" level and each level came with certain services. We chose the "Silver" level which cost $4500.00 and included 100 $20.00 gift cards to jump start the business, a free website set up by famous characters, %80 share of any profits and a 6 week training course. **** advised that at the end of the training we would receive our initial investment back on our credit card. We questioned this guarantee asking **** why everyone would not make this investment given the guaranteed return the initial investment. I very specifically remember **** stating "I don't know, thats a good question.....you can't lose." **** advised that "*****" would be our coach and he would contact us within a week. He also advised that we would receive our marketing materials and the gift cards within a week. He stated that the website would be set up in 3 days. None of these promises were kept and when ***** did not contact us we called to see what the problem was. ***** did eventually contact us and stated that he would be helping us to get our business started and provide us with counsel but that it would not be a 6 week training as stated but that we should just call him when we had questions or concerns. There was no layout or objectives to the training and all ***** ever did was to mail us labels for "leads" that the company provided. The majority of these "leads" were for businesses that had their own licensed merchandise vendors or companies that were no longer in business. Every time we inquired about receiving our money back ***** just stated that they did not do business that way and we would have to sell $6000.00 worth of merchandise prior to having our initial investment returned. We contacted the company again and were not allowed to speak with **** but we did speak with someone who claimed to be a supervisor named ****** ***** had no information on the guarantee that **** gave us and we were not allowed to talk with ****. We pressed ***** to honor the guarantee but he stated that he could not and that if we desired he would have the company owner, ***** *****, contact us. This was over a week ago and we have not received any further communication from Famous Characters. We feel that the company misrepresented their business and made false guarantees just to get our money. We have requested a refund but have been denied. We have filed complaints with the California Department of Consumer Affairs and the North Carolina Dept. of Justice and would like to file a complaint with the BBB as well.

Desired Settlement
A full refund of our initial $4500.00 investment as promised when we joined.

07/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cannot make money as advertised. Could not sell any products.
On or about January 20th 2014,I bought in to the advertised business of Famous Characters about which I was sent unsolicited in the mail. It sounded very Plausible. I paid them initially 119.00 dollars to join. They sent some paper materials and a get started binder which I read fully. They sent some more literature and asked for 138.00 dollars for one set of address leads to advertise the products, however, If I would send 519.00 dollars, I could get a lifetime of leads otherwise I would have to pay 138.00 dollars each time I needed more 250 lead packet. They said you could make money by mailing out these postcard s to the addresses from the leads. I bought stamps and mailed out I think over 300 cards. I passed *** 10s and 10s of brochuers that I also purchased from Famous Characters Sales rep. was named Keith B. Invoice number is #INV-3760 dated 20 January 2014. My Co- Partner Code is CPXXXXX. I did expect to sell at least one product, but nothing sold. Within one to two weeks of initially buying into their company, they wanted me to immediately purchase some online websites for hundreds of dollars more even before any of their products sold. I am a 71 year old man looking for some kind of home base business to supplement my social security income. But this is what I get from trusting these advertisers using very famous name brand products. I would like my money back.

Desired Settlement
I would at least like my 519.00 dollars back and my 345.00 dollars I sent them September 2014 for the package deal of 500 Brochures-500 Circulars- and 500 Business cards or which did nothing toward selling any products. That number was X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.

12/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3 misleading claims were made in the direct mail advertising.
On 8-21-2013 I received a direct mail piece in the mail from this company. On the front of the envelope it states in bold lettering "BBB Accredited Business". Upon researching the BBB web site I found that the business is not an accredited BBB business. The second problem with the advertising is that they claim they will accept only 25 opportunity seekers to sign up with the company before the opportunity is closed and they want to interview people over the phone before they sign up. Yet a) they have a sheet that has testimonials from 30 people saying how great the opportunity is and b) they have an option to just mail your check or money order and NOT talk to anyone over the phone. Also, there is a web site called MY Famous Characters, but this is not a password protected site as suggested in the direct mail piece. A customer can create an account without needing to use the password provided in the sales literature that is recommended to be distributed by the opportunity seeker.

Desired Settlement
I would simply request that the company acknowledge making false and misleading claims and refrain from doing so in the future.

07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Business Opportunity Companies, Novelties - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.