BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

California Condo Management

Phone: (562) 531-1955

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints1

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

The property in this case is located at **** ** ***** ******* *** **** ****** ** XXXXX. We received notification from this business due to an increase in assoc dues that they put a lean on the property and sent the matter to an attorney. After numerous attempts to talk to ***** ****** we were able to speak to her early February of this year. She told my husband that the amount required to close this case was going to be $508.70. As such I made a payment (Check #1107) for that amount. According to ***** that was the amount needed to close this case. Where or whom this money went to?Now I received your letter from their attorney letting us know that we owe $1,965.00 and that amount is not even considered or documented as received. In addition they are continuously charging $15.00 late late fees when I have copies of the checks and bank statement that the association fees were collected before the 15th of each month when the association fee become delinquent.I am very frustrated with the number of errors this this HOA Association continues to make and their representative condone the errors. This has been going on since early 2012 so to prevent confusion I began to make the payments by mail since October of 2012 I began to mail checks with each payment and you can notice by the date each check was cashed that they were cashed before the due date on the 15th day of each month. I had to justify all electronic payments made from our credit union (Southland Credit Union)and they still charge late payments. I always paid the dues timely. At one point when I was not aware of the increase I still made the payments timely.They charge us late paymentsWe want to close this matter ASAP. We thought that everything was resolved and now this again. This business can't maintain their records straight. The attorney they hired is as inadequate as them. Please contact me,***** ********,with any question in this matter at (XXX)XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
We want this harassment to stop. We want to close this matter ASAP and stop this game.We thought that everything was resolved and now this again. We want them to honor the amount agreed in February as the closing amount of $508.70 with Southland Credit Union(***********).This business makes many mistakes and are not very customer service oriented. Often they were arrogant to my wife in person when we came to talk in person & the manager is often unavailable & often doesn't return phone calls.

Business Response
Mr. ******** contacted our office originally over a yr. ago (April 2012))regarding his past due acct.He kept insisting his acct was not in arrears, & each time he called we would either send him a statement or go over his acct via phone. At the end of each call he would state he was going to contact his bank & get copies of cks that were sent to our office, but possibly not applied to his account.
Months would go by & we woujld not hear from him. I, ***** ****** (office mgr.) called him in ***., 2013 several times to go over his account with him.Finally in mid ***. 2013, he was instructed to send a ck in the amount of $733.70 to pay his full with Association & Attorney. The Assoc. evern agreed to waive over $300 in late fees to help him out. The agreement was to pay the $733.70 before Jan. 31, 2013.
As with all of Mr. ********'s other promises, it never came to be. He did not make payments & therefore was in default of his agreement with the Association. The lien was placed on him property as per CA Law & we believe Mr. ******** is just trying to be vindictive against our business because of his financial situation. I guess it's easier to blame other people then to take personal responsibility for your situation. We have forwarded his complaint to our Attorney and the Association's Attorney. Clearly, asking for monies owed to the Association can hardly be called "harrassment."
Please feel free to contact our office if you need further clarification or information.

** ******** Owner
** ******* Office Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I read ***** ********* response, and cannot accept it, as it is factually untrue. She and owner ***** ******* still haven't answered the basic question: what has happened to the money I have sent to their office to resolve this matter? The checks have been cashed by California Condo Management. Where is this money?

First off, Ms. ****** is stating that months would go by before sending them proof of payment. Not true. I spoke to my credit union and they faxed proof of payment in a timely manner. I called their office to make sure they received it and they said yes. I have also sent their attorney copies of all the bank statements. Still nothing. She claims we had to pay $733.70 with $300 in waived fees for a total of $433.70, although she asked us to pay $508.70 over the phone (more inconsistencies on her part). Regardless, I paid $508.70 to her office resolve this matter in February 2013. I sent the check for $508.70 (check #1107) on 2/4/13 and it was cashed by them on 2/8/13 but they STILL did not give us credit. I sent a copy to their attorney as well.

Additionally, since October 2012, I have been sending physical checks to their attorney's office as instructed by California Condo Management. The dues used to be sent electronically via my credit union but it seems they couldn't handle that,as they were making constant errors in their bookkeeping. Again, I have shown their office and their lawyer proof from my credit union that these were sent.

Ms. ****** is claiming this complaint is "vindictive" and that we are looking to "blame others" for our situation. This is ridiculous and their disgraceful way of not taking responsibility for their incompetence. What IS vindictive is putting a lien against the house for an amount of money that has been proven time and time again to have been sent and received.

I own other properties throughout Southern California and have dealt with two other management associations for many years. The ONLY one we have had problems is with is California Condo Management. By involving their attorney for a simple matter like this, they are complicating matters and incurring more costs, because they can't run a business properly and solve their own problems. California Condo Management is a unprofessional and negligent business and their bookkeeping and is sloppy and amateurish.

I will ask it again, where is the money I have sent and why hasn't it been credited???

Final Business Response
Good Afternoon *******

If Mr. ******** could please spell out exactly a check number, date, and payment amount I can check into his dispute. His account was with the attorney for lien service and collection until he brought the account current in September 2013. As of today's date, Mr. ******** has a $95.00 credit on his account.

Let me know if you need anything further. Thank you so very much.

***** ******

California Condo Management
Office Manager

**** ***** ****** ***** E
********* ** XXXXX
Ph: ************
fax: ************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Business Forms & Systems, Business Services - General, Property Management, Bar Coding Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.