BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Skyline Security Management, Inc.

(888) 775-973210642 Downey Ave #205, DowneyCA 90241-3442http://www.skylinesecurity.com! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Skyline Security Management, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Skyline Security Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 44 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

44 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues13
Problems with Product / Service31
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 44

Additional Complaint Information

According to BBB files, this company offers burglar alarm systems & monitoring services. Our records show that the company has a pattern of complaints concerning consumers being misled to sign a contract with the company by being misled to believe they were signing a renewal/update with their current security company or being misled to believe their current security company had gone out of business. Additionally, consumers alleged having hard credit reports ran without their authorization. On April 6, 2015 the BBB contacted the company in regards to our concerns about the amount and the pattern of complaints.

On April 7th, 2015 the BBB received a response from the company stating their quality assurance is exercised twice before approving any customer for products services in an attempt to assure customer satisfaction. The company states each customer goes through a qualification center where a credit inquiry is mentioned and a contract is verbally reviewed and explained. The company also states they will make sure the customer understands their product services and contract by sending a letter from their Loyalty department and by following up with a phone call; however, upon further inquiry, the BBB was unable to obtain additional information or assistance from the business.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Skyline Security Management, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (44)BBB Closure Definitions
10/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 23rd ***** ****** representing Skyline/Monitronics came to my door and misled me into thinking I absolutely had to change to their security company. He told me GE made the components for the ****** security system and they did not want to be associated with a company with an F for a BBB rating and that Skyline had a B rating. He told me with that rating ****** was going out of business and I'd be left without coverage. I did sign the contract not realizing I was being lied to. On the contract there is a part to be filled out by the homeowner. *** ***** filled this part out for me with misinformation. He has me as the homeowner. I am not. My husband is. There is not a date on the contract at all. I was under another contract and he circled I wasn't. The technician took the panel off the wall without sending a signal to ******. ****** contacted me on Nov. 2nd and informed me that I had been lied to. GE does not make the components.
Product_Or_Service: security

Desired Settlement
I do not want my two payments I have made paid back. I would like the contract to be rescinded.

Business Response
On or about august 2013 customer ****** ****** came to agreement with skyline security for 60 months at 49.99 for home alarm monitoring services , customer signed agreement of acknowledgement and verbally agreed to term and conditions ( recording ) . Skyline security agreed to assist with cancelation of previous account and sent customer ****** a check of 106.98 for pay off of previous company. On or about Nov 2013 customer called in stating she did not want services and wanted to cancel as she did not agree to services , customer was explained about early termination fee or breach of contract. Customer was provided with recording and copy of contract customer fail to recognize he sign contract and skyline proceeded with cancelation of services. This complaints lacks merit customer as said in complaint agreed to sign services knowing that skyline security is not affiliated with another company , also customer was given a check for 106.98 pay off to previous company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was not ****** but me, *******. Yes they sent me a check to pay off the other company but I offered to pay that back. I do not agree with their business practices being they are deceitful and lied to me about ******. The only reason I agreed to their term is because they made me feel like I wouldn't be protected by ****** anymore and I had to switch companies. Again, *** wasn't home at the time and did not sign any contracts. I have contacted an attorney and told ***** I had. At that he asked for his name and phone number and the conversation was over. ***** told me in another conversation, later, that he had sent a packet with the contracts and whatever else to my attorney. I waited and then called my attorney and he had not received anything from Skyline. No one seems to be honest in that company.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 11/08/2013 a representative from Skyline Security came to my door and told me that his company was taking over the area that Vivint had and I would be able to get an up grade on my security system because I had 6 points I could use. After hearing that statement I assumed(wrongly) that the company he worked for was taking over Vivint I assumed(wrongly again) that they would be the same company. The rep. filled out all of the contract and said it would save time and it was standard procedure he also said they would cancel out the vivint contract and Monitronics would be the company that I would now be paying. Come to find out when I got a phone call from Vivint asking if I was satisfied with their service did I find out that skyline wasn't taking over and I was being double billed form both companies. I have tried to reach the rep. but he won't return my calls and when I try to complain t6o skyline I get no satisfaction from them either. I feel like I was mislead by their rep. and have since been working with Vivints Slam Team to get out of my contract with Skyline. 1) If skyline wasn't taking over Vivint how could I get an upgrade of 6 points with a company I wasn't with? At Christmas time their security system went down. I called Skyline and Monitronics and was told it would take 7 days to get someone out to fix it. I feel that their rep. broke the contract by the way he represented himself and his company to me.

Desired Settlement
I want out of the contract with Skyline and Monitronics.

Business Response
services have been terminated as of 04/14/2014 letter was sent to customer regarding cancellation of services, customer was advised account has been terminated and she will not be liable for any fees their of , confirmed with customer that she will also not have any financial responsibility to skyline security with monitronics. customer was advised understood and is now satisfied.

09/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The salesperson from Skyline ********* told us that ******** system was not installed correctly because we didn't have the glass breakage,the motion detectors, the fire alarms, nor the carbon monoxide detectors in our home. She said that this voided our contract with ******. She also told me (******) that she was told by the sheriff's dept. that permit's were null and void-where in fact-it was not-it was Skyline's permit that was not valid by the local police dept., and sheriff's dept. doesn't have anything to do with the permits. I (******) told her that this home was owned by father (******) not me and at the time that she was here my father had some guests here from one of the local churches. I told her that I only had Medical Power of Attorney over my father NOT Legal Power Of Attorney, but when she called into her office to turn in the information about the contracts in which she kept pushing me to sign before my father could finish his visit with his other guests. After he had finished his visit then she really made a push on my father to sign the contracts before he could even read them. We signed the contracts on the 17th of July but every one of the initials on all of the contracts were done by the salesperson not by us. We have tried to cancel the contracts and the company tells us that that there will be a breech of contract fee of $1250.00 because it is after the 3 days. Since my father is the age of 70 we understand that possibly in some states that seniors might have 30 days instead of 3 days to cancel a contract. We have talked with the Attorney General's Office and the State DPS Office and they advise us that since the sales rep. has initialled the contract for us that it should be null and void. The sales rep. also promised to pay us for the first month's installment of $54.11 in cash and we have yet to see it. Also, the sales rep. talked with her office and made arrangements for the first draft to come out on August 26th andI heard her tell them,then it came in July.
Product_Or_Service: home security system ( take over)

Desired Settlement
WE WANT OUR MONEY BACK BECAUSE THEY DECEIVED US. EVERYTHING THAT THEY THAT TAKE FROM US THAT IS WHAT WE WANT BACK.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** manager
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@skylinesecurity.com
I am sorry that your cancellation was not completed as you believed. I have researched your account history and could not find a cancellation request. Never the less, I will be able to close this account for you today. As a courtesy for being a loyal customer, your account will be cancelled and you will no longer have any financial obligation to Skyline Security with Guardian. We thank you for allowing us to provide for you monitoring services we apologize for the inconvenience this matter has caused.

If I *** provide further assistance regarding this matter, please contact me toll-free at XXX XXX XXXX

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this guy named ******** shows at my door and offers me a completely free alarm system,as he is filling out all the paper work i see that there is a monthly fee of $49.99 ,so i asked what is that for and he explained me that that was to be connected with police, i said i need time to talk to my wife about that and he said not to worry that they will install the system and if we decide not to keep it to give him a call and they will come and get the system back !,next day (7/22/14)i called him and told him that i wanted to cancel the system,he said no problem! but im really busy doing installation i wont be able to go get it till monday and i said ok!. monday came(7/28/14) and he did not show up,i calling him and left message on wednesday(7/30/14)at this #XXXXXXXXXX and i got no answer back.same day i called the company and they couldnt help me after putting me on hold saying that they were talking to managers,at the end this lady told me se was going to call me back in two hours and she never did!, today i called back (7/31/14) and they said they cant help me since my 3 days to cancel was over dont know what to do now please this is my number XXX XXXXXXX if you can help me ill apreciate since i fill that that guy did me wrong!thanks.
Product_Or_Service: alarm system

Desired Settlement
i want my refund and contract cancelled!

Business Response
customer was contacted regarding complaint, we have advised customer in order to cancel services he will need to send over cancellation form that is attached to contract , we have also advised of 3day right to cancel services . customer failed to follow proper cancellation procedure we have advised customer to send over ETF of 1200 a long with cancellation form to complete full cancellation,

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrongly miss led on security system
The rep ******** ********* who sold us the security system on Friday X-XX-XXXX that evening at 6:30 p:m told us we had until Wednesday X-XX-XXXX to cancel.I called on X-XX-XXXX to cancel But sky line told me we should have called on Monday X-XX-XXXX and the other person at sky line said I should have called on 7-15-2014.This rep told my wife and I. That our current security system which is ****** had sold out. That was a lie after I called vivint to confirm. ****** said no they have not sold and told me I had been slammed. and that they have had that problem a lot. ****** said people like that Drive by see a security sign and tell people that same story to get them to switch. I called sky line to tell them I was miss lead and want out of this contract. They refuse to void contract and are threatening to turn us into collections. I called our soliciting licensing Here in Dalhart Texas. sky line only had a license from X-X-XXXX To 6-4-2014. So this contract should not even been solicited. They are currently on the Amarillo Texas news and Radio stations stating they are not licensed to do so.

Desired Settlement
To have this contract with sky line VOIDED.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** manager
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@skylinesecurity.com
** ****** , I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you after reviewing your account we have decided to cancel and terminate your services your account will be cancelled and you will no longer have any financial obligation to Skyline Security with Guardian Protection. Again I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.
If I *** provide further assistance please contact me at XXX XXX XXXX Mon - Fri X:XX -X:XXX pm PST .

Page 1 of 8
01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I were moving to a new home in June of this year. In April and May I tried numerous times to contact Skyline Security to have our security system transferred. I either could not get an answer or I would be put on hold for over 20 minutes with no one coming back on the line. We moved from our home at **** ***** **** ****** in Grand Island Ne on June 28th leaving the security system in that home. The new owner of our house North Park Avenue was to take possession on the 11th of July. On the 8th of July I finally got ahold of someone at Skyline Security. The lady who answered the phone asked how she could help me. I told her I needed a transfer of service as we had moved. After 3 hours on the phone with Skyline and Monitronics who services their systems I was given a service number to give a tech who was suppose to call within the hour. No one every called. We called and after an hour we were told how to disconnect our system ourselves. I filled a Facebook compliant with Monotronics and received a call back an hour later. **** ***** at Monotronics cancelled our contract. We received a letter from Skyline in August about our system. I called them up and spoke with someone named *******. I told her what had happened and she said she would have to talk to upper management. When she came back on the line she said our contract was taken care of. Now we have received a letter from ********** ******** and Associates saying we owe Skyline Security $3,149.52. If you need additional information, Please call me.
Product_Or_Service: Security System
Account_Number: Skyline XXXXXXXX and

Desired Settlement
We would like Skyline to cancel our contract like **** ***** and ******* said they were doing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@skylinesecurity.com
upon review of account skyline security has closed file and account is not in collections or owes any monies due, customer has been contacted and confirmation letter has been sent, customers account is closed no balance due.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We wish to receive and review the confirmation letter from both Skyline, Monitronics as well as the collection agency ********** ******** and Associates. Upon receipt of the confirmation, we will review and at our satisfaction, then acknowledge this matter has been resolved.

Final Business Response
confirmation was sent to customer account is now closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have yet to receive confirmation letters of the cancellation of our contract with Skyline Security or the withdrawal of Collection from ********* ******** and Associates. Until we receive these notifications and review them we will not agree to these terms. It appears at this time, no letters were ever sent.

08/08/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was lead to believe I would receive substantial savings on my home owners insurance and had to install panel that night.
Two gentleman approached me outside of the home to discuss their security system. Both gentleman were very nice. However, I indicated multiple times that I wanted to check with my home owners insurance to see what the savings would be before proceeding. I was told I had 5 days to review.

They then said that someone would be arriving at my house at 8:40 to install the panel. I asked if it was AM and was told, no that night. I told them I couldn't because I had to be somewhere by 9:15. They insisted that he had to be done that night. Of course the tech arrived and didn't leave my house until 9:15 which made me very late for another appointment.

Now, this morning after calling my insurance company, I found for a $55 month service, my substantial savings for home owners insurance is $20 for the year.

Needless to say, I am cancelling. However, now I have holes in my wall which I am sure they will not repair before they leave and never mind making me miss my appointment the night before.

I don't think they should be installing anything the first night they are in your home and you should have a business day to review things before they start drilling holes in your wall. After clearly indicating I had prior commitments, they still had no appreciation for my time or money.

Desired Settlement
I would like to either have them repair the holes in my wall or provide compensation for me to have someone do it.

Nothing should have ever been installed when I indicated I wanted to review with my insurance carrier first.

It felt like it was just all about making the sale that evening and getting things set so you could not say no.

Business Response

To: "******** ********* <********@***************>,
Sent: Friday, June 14, 2013 1:02:21 PM
Subject: RE: BBB Unanswered Complaint

Hello Ms ********
The account was cancelled and the repairs were made on 5/13/13.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The patched one hole but I still had to go buy texture to apply to the wall. They also did not attempt to repair to small holes. The home was not returned to the condition it was prior to them installing the equipment.

Final Business Response
From: *****@skylinesecurity.org
To: "******** ********* <********@atlanta.bbb.org>
Sent: Monday, July 29, 2013 6:00:28 PM
Subject: RE: BBB Case #XXXXXXXX

Thank you ********,

Response: It is unfortunate that Ms ******** ******* feels that the issue has not been resolved. Customers are made aware upon installation and understand that the installation requires drilling and cutting into certain parts of the premise. If she still needs further assistance in regards to her concern, she can contact 480.361.9277 and ask to speak to ***** ***** or ***** ******* She can provide them account number XXXXXXXX to locate her file. Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again, high pressured sales were used the evening that the reps visited my home. It was expressed multiple times that I was not certain if I wanted the system as I wanted to discuss with my insurer first. However the install continued. They attempted to repair the area and only do a partial repair. They left a smooth area on a textured wall. They didn't repair the smaller holes along the bottom of the wall.

I will not say this issue is resolved and wipe the slate clean. They pressured me into an install I was not ready for and then did not return my home to pre-install condition.

05/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
see scan

Desired Settlement
see scan

Business Response
Mr. and Mrs. *****'s account was cancelled on 3/4/13. Agent ****** ****** from Vivint was assisting the customer to stay as their customer knowingly that the customer had agreed and signed an agreement with Skyline Security and Monitronics. They are no longer our customer.

Consumer Response
see scan

Final Business Response
We have two calls recorded. The first and second confirmation were conducted with Mrs. ******* ***** where she agrees to the terms of agreement with Skyline Security. She was made aware that we were not affiliated with Vivint and she stated that she was not in agreement with Vivint. They are responsible for the remaining term of agreement they signed and verbally accepted with Skyline Security.

Final Consumer Response
see scan

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/06/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 6480 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 06/30/2015.

Type: Security & Investigative- Alarm Co. (ACO)

Check License Status: http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/WLLQRYNA$LCEV2.QueryView?P LICENSE NUMBER=6480&P LTE ID=632

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2004, CA

Business Management
Principal: Edwin Arroyave (CEO)John Arroyave (Controller)
Number of Employees

65

Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Skyline Security Management, Inc.

10642 Downey Ave #205

Downey, CA 90241-3442

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10642 Downey Ave #205 

    Downey, CA 90241-3442(888) 775-9732

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Skyline Security Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to BBB files, this company offers burglar alarm systems & monitoring services. Our records show that the company has a pattern of complaints concerning consumers being misled to sign a contract with the company by being misled to believe they were signing a renewal/update with their current security company or being misled to believe their current security company had gone out of business. Additionally, consumers alleged having hard credit reports ran without their authorization. On April 6, 2015 the BBB contacted the company in regards to our concerns about the amount and the pattern of complaints.

On April 7th, 2015 the BBB received a response from the company stating their quality assurance is exercised twice before approving any customer for products services in an attempt to assure customer satisfaction. The company states each customer goes through a qualification center where a credit inquiry is mentioned and a contract is verbally reviewed and explained. The company also states they will make sure the customer understands their product services and contract by sending a letter from their Loyalty department and by following up with a phone call; however, upon further inquiry, the BBB was unable to obtain additional information or assistance from the business.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.