BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

B & D Security, Inc.

(562) 821-2902View Additional Phone Numbers9120 Norwalk Blvd., Santa Fe SpringsCA 90670-2534http://www.mybdsecurity.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

B & D Security, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered B & D Security, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 27 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.
  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s).
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues7
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on B & D Security, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (27)
04/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues
05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service
12/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Norberto Casillas, sales rep of BD Security came to my business because I was going to have them install their alarm system in my home, located in **** Sprague ***** Ln. ************ CA. We signed a contract but we then an hour later contacted them and said we wanted to cancel because we have a cat and were afraid of possible tickets we would get for false alarm.
Your representative came back the following day and said that that was no problem and I said no. Mr. ******** told me that he was going to look at the contract and see if the contract on my business was over to see if he could install the alarm in my business. He then asked me if he could borrow my phone. After a few minutes he told me that my contract was...

Desired Settlement
I want the cancellation of this contract and the installation of my alarm from ADT and a reimbursement of 3 months charges of $35.99 x3

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They lied to me about contract.Alarm went off twice,no one called to check up on me.Asked for calls they made,never received paperwork indicating tha
It all started one day when B&D secrity came into my store and were selling alarm. Everything sounded great, they promissed me that i would not be in a contract and that if i had plans of moving the location they would change the alarm for me freee of charge (I had plans to expand) I opend a second location.. and I got a second alarm with B&D security.. but when it came to my second location they explained everything well and thats when i knew i was in a 3 year contract and i as well found out that there was a $250 charge to change my alarm.
At my first business.. i was being charged $34 a month.. but i complained to them about the situation and they understood they made a mistake so they gave me the second alarm for $29 a month.
As time went on i was very upset with the company and that individual that made the alarm sale to me, that individual would text me and try to explain things to me but he knew he was wrong and after i compalined to him that he lied to me about the three year contract he stopped texting back (i have those texts). During the first contract i signed a paper, my mistake was not reading it all the way but they had promissed me i was not in a contract.. and they had a lady call me explaining what was in the contract.. and she never said anything about 3 year contract, until i made a second contract thats when i found out.. it was like false advertisement. I also asked them to send me my statements for what i have been paying and they were never recieved.
As time went on i had no choice but to be upset there was nothing much i can do about it. Until one day the alarm system went on, i had my sister working that day and she forgot my passcode. The alarm went on for about one minute. I was upset at my sister but then i realized why didnt the alarm system call me at least to find out that everything was fine. If im paying and if im in a legit "contract" then they should have called me to see that everything was fine.
I called the next day (im sorry i forgot the dates but it was this year 2014)and they had told me that they have a "sound sensor" the listens to everything that is going on and if it doesnt here anything that they wont call. Then someone told me if it doesnt ring more than 1 minute that they wont call cus it might be a false alarm. At that point i was sick disgusted with this company everyone was telling me something different.
For my safety i wanted to let the alarm go off again (I have a video of it) to see that it was properly working. I let it go off for about one minute or so and no one ever called again.
So what i did is i contacted someone that can help me because the branch in L.A were no help what so ever.
So i took it to facebook and they helped out more.. you can see our conversations on there (https://www.facebook.com/update_security_info.php?wizard=1#!/pages/B-D-Security-Inc/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX)
They were able to have an individual higher up in rankes call me, her name was ***** ******** She was just trying to argue with me instead of finding a solution, she was trying to intimidate me more than anything. She kept saying that it didnt ring enought time, but i beleive that acouple seconds is enough for someone to come in and shut it off. She had promissed me that after the alarm went off that there system had called me, and that they had called my girlfriend ***** at XXX-XXX-XXXX and then called my second option, my sister at XXX-XXX-XXXX
That was a lie my gf and sis checked there phone records and there was nothing indicating that they had called them, and ofcourse didnt call me
I told ***** that i was able to get records thru my phone provider that i never reiceved those calls. ***** told me that she was going to send those phone calls that they supposably made and also the statements i asked for in the begining but inever recived anything till this date.They called couple days ago and were insisting my options #s were my house phone amd my younger sisters #, and thats a lie

Desired Settlement
Since they lied and the alarm wasnt working properly i wanted to get out of the contract. If not keep it but to get some sort of refund for those months i paid. I have an alarm that is not being used because i closed my first business down already. I didnt switch the alarm to my house because they were going to charge me 250 to move it and 250 to change it to my next business.

12/21/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Representative, owner and employee all indicated that they would pay off present security system. They lied.
The representative indicated that they would pay off our present security system up to $250. They reniged on their promise. It's been two months and now they are indicating that I need to pay present security system off and B&D will reimburse me.
THEY ARE LIARS!! BEWARE!!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking from $239.00 to pay off my present security system.

08/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed up with company for new home alarm service. Company charged my account by accident. Company failed to provide accurate and consistent info.
I signed up with B&D Security late in September. B&D representatives came to my door and told me they could match my current ADT system at a cheaper monthly rate (ADT $49.99/B&D $36). Additionally, the representative informed me they would cover my cancellation fee from ADT and would contact ADT to make the cancellation on my behalf; they reassured I had nothing to worry about. I made the change and the new system was installed shortly after.

There was an initial payment of $103.99 on 10/6/14 for installation. On 10/14/14 there was a secondary charge for $69.00. I contacted B&D to question the charge of $69.00 on 10/15/14. I was informed by the representative that the accounting department was closed and could "usually" be reached between 11AM-6PM. I called on 10/16 at 3PM and my call went to voicemail twice. I called again at 5:50PM and was informed the accounting department was unavailable and they would take my information and have them call me back. It took me over a week to get a hold of someone who could explain why they charged me $69.00. I spoke to ***** in accounting who explained the charge was a mistake and stated a check would be cut a week later and mailed to me because they could not electronically reverse the charge since it had been over 24 hours that they made the charge.

While speaking to ***** I also asked about the cancellation check for ADT; at this point I already had emailed proof of my final bill to B&D. ***** stated the check would take several weeks to process and encouraged I pay the cancellation fee myself (over $450) in order to avoid further penalties from ADT. I contacted ADT was informed they never received a cancellation from B&D and they charged me an additional $49.99 for the month of October, even though I longer had their service. I was told they would make the cancelation and they failed to do so.

On today's date, 10/24/14, I called B&D to check on the status of the $69.00 check. The representative who answered advised the check had been ordered. I informed him I spoke to ***** in accounting who advised it would be mailed on Monday, 10/20. I was transferred to ***** who stated, "I never told you it would be mailed on Monday." I told her that that's the information she gave me and I apologized if I misunderstood. I then mentioned that there was so much miscommunication between departments and there have been several issues and I'd only been with them 3 weeks.

* They failed to cancel with ADT
* I was charged an additional 49.99 by ADT because they did not cancel
* I was charged $69.00 by mistake
* It's been almost a month and I have not received the mistake charge (69.00) or the cancellation check for ADT
*It took me over a week to contact someone from the Accounting/New Contract Dept.

As I began mentioning these concerns ***** made it a point to tell me that the cancellation check for ADT was an exception and the B&D could decide at any time to not pay me and I could do nothing about it. ***** said, "if you read your contract you'll notice we never made mention of paying off your ADT contract." That information was given verbally by the representative. She added, it's an exception and we're not committed to give you anything.

At this point the conversation was a back and forth between ***** and me. I understand I was frustrated, but I expected information that would ease my frustration not challenge the overall conversation. ***** made no effort to appease the situation. I asked to speak to a supervisor to make a complaint about her ******** service, she stated, "I'm the supervisor, there's no one else." I asked what if I want to make a complaint against you? She stated, there's no one else. The call ended.

I called back a few minutes later to cancel my service, in order to cancel I'd have to pay over 1k. So now I'm stuck with a company who owes me money and has horrible service.

Desired Settlement
I'm in the process of being refunded the cancellation check and mistake charge. I want to make a point to expose their horrible ******** service and the fact that they rubbed in my face the fact that the check is an exception - so I should not believe the B&D reps unless something is in writing?

Business Response
Customer was issued a refund check for his ADT : Check #XXXXX in the amount of $488.75, in addition he was provided another check for the additional months ADT charged him double, which should have been included in the first check from ADT and we should not have paid this amount out, but did as a courtesy to the customer: Check XXXXX $69.00. Customer's complaints were satisfied and customer passed resurvey. Account has been sold to Monitronics and any further issues or service calls should be directed to Monitronics.

08/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was fraudulently sold service with B & D Security by one on their representatives.
In October 2014, I was contacted by a representative of Safe Home America about security services. I initially was going to sign only one location because of cancelation fees with the other locations. The rep called me and said that he could negotiate with my current company about getting the remaining stores. He told me that he got the cancelations of the stores down to $550 and the company, SafeHome America, would pay the fees for us in order to get our business. He stated that the check was being sent to us in the mail. Within a few days, the rep came back to me to sign the remaining stores. Each time the rep visited me, he was representing Safe Home America. Never did he show or mention anything about B & D Security. Without my knowledge, he signed two stores with B & D. I want these two contracts canceled because I never wanted, asked for, or was informed of B & D Security. I wanted everything that Ive been charged by B & D to be refunded back to me.

Desired Settlement
refunded of all chargers and cancelation of contract.

Business Response
Customer was advise that they were signing a B&D Security Inc contract. As well the pre-printed contracts that she signed all have endorsement print from B&D Security and not SafeHome Security. Prior to install our company conducts a pre-survey to ensure the customer is aware of the terms and conditions of the new contract. This is followed by the installation of the equipment. There is a second resurvey that is conducted to ensure the installation and training was successful. There is also a 3rd independent resurvey, that is recorded for quality assurance by Monitronics advising customer again, about the terms and conditions of the contract. If any point during these 3 resurveys the customer is not happy or is not aware of the contract agreement, or does not agree with any of the terms, the installation is stopped until issue is resolved and the customer passes a new resurvey. Customer passed resurvey. As well customer receive a payout check for her existing alarm company in the amount of $284.65 check #XXXXX. Customer was satisfied on our end since customer cashed the check and passed resurvey. Account has been sold to Monitronics and any further issues or service calls should be directed to Monitronics.

Page 1 of 5
05/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** ***** stole my money. He cashed my check and didn't deliver cameras. I have bank records for cashed check by ****** *****
On March 6, 2015 Caesar Trejo knocked on my door offering free security cameras to switch alarm companies. It sounded good so I agreed if I could upgrade the 2 cameras for the cost of $100. On March 11, 2015 two camera installers started to put up the cameras. I told the camera installers I should have 2 dome cameras I paid in advance for. The installer said Caesar had only one camera and to talk to ****** about all the business. So they hooked up the one camera and put another basic replacement camera and said it could be switched out later and talk to ****** to make a appointment. I called Ceasar multiple times on multiple days to get second camera installed and also inform him the camera that was installed need to be replaced because it don't view at night. Caesar Trejo dodged my calls, never called back, never followed up, didn't even check the work from his unprofessional camera installers. I wrote him a check prior to install and seen or heard from him since.

Desired Settlement
Want the camera replaced and full $100 refund. Along with an additional $2159.64 for the 36 month agreement I had to sign. I don't trust a alarm company that steals money from it customers. For a total of $2259.64 Caesar stole from money from my family and I have no trust with this company.

04/12/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Security Systems Consultants, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Principal: Oz Lerma (President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Security Systems Consultants, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

B & D Security, Inc. has received 2.3 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B & D Security, Inc.

9120 Norwalk Blvd.

Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670-2534

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9120 Norwalk Blvd. 

    Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670-2534(562) 821-2902
    (562) 821-2900
    (888) 848-8988

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B & D Security, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (562) 821-2900
  • (888) 848-8988
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.