BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

B & D Security, Inc.

Phone: (562) 821-2902

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues7
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints28

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (28)
04/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 11-18-15 ********* ******* came to our door and represented himself to be with ADT alarm systems, and wanted to upgrade our existing alarm hardware in our home. This seemed a little odd, but sounded legit. About an hour later an installer came to the house and removed the existing ADT equipment and installed a new system. ********* ******* and the installer seemed to be professional. Later that day I had a question on how to operate the new system. I called the monitoring company "B&D Security", I was surprised to find a different monitoring company. It Was sure not ADT.When I called Mr. *******, he stated it was no problem. He offered to buy out our existing contract with ADT. This sounded Ok, I did not care, B&D was fine. On 11-19, Mr. ******* called and stated that the buyout from ADT was to high. I requested the new system removed and the ADT system be re-installed. The installer stated he was unable to reinstall the ADT system and I would have to contact ADT. I called ADT, and have an appointment in December.The false representation made has caused me to not have a alarm system now for several days, and fees to ADT to reinstall our old system are to be determined.California Marketing and B&D are not licensed in the State of Arizona, and must stop the bad business in our area.
Product_Or_Service: Alarm system update

Desired Settlement
California Marketing Group, B&D Security, and Alarm.Com all need to stop doing business in Arizona. False claims to be ADT must stop. This business practice has caused us to feel unsecure in our own home.

Business Response
I have personally talked to Mr. ********** and advised him that while we did put a call in to have ADT visit his premis to resend signals on the account, they did not have availability until the following week. I advised Mr. *********** that unfortunately once his wife granted us permission to take over the alarm service from the existing provider we took off all signals from the existing alarm service. Once, Mr. ************ reached out to the sales rep and chanced their mind about the service, we cancelled the account and at that point we were were able to reinstall the system, but not able to send signals to their existing alarm provider since they require specific codes, and only that provider and it's employees know those codes. Therefore, we were not able to send the signals to the existing alarm provider. Mr. *********** told me at that time that he understood.
We have cancelled the account, this account is cancelled on our end and not further information is active.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The enclosed response is not acceptable. Mr.Aguilar had stated that they would cover the cost of ADT to reinstall our old system. My main interest is to be made hole again. This would give us our old system back and operating as before the false statements which led to the above issue. At this time ADT has on Dec. 8 put us back as before. An invoice from ADT indicated a fee of $207.73 is due to cover the reinstall work done. As soon as I have a hard copy of the invoice it will be forwarded to Mr. Aguilar for payment.

Final Business Response
Mr. ***********'s account was cancelled out. He went back to his previous alarm company. Therefore, there is nothing for us to do with this account. We are not his alarm provider and what has been done to assist him as they requested was to cancel the account. Mr. *********** has been advised as well that the account was cancelled per his request.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
B&D promised to pay the remainder of my contract with my previous alarm company. After 4 mos no refund received.
Sometime around late December or early January two B&D representative someone named ***** and his immediate supervisor ***** *****, came to my house and offered the services of their alarm company. I told them that I am currently under contract with my current alarm company (******). They told me that it wont be a problem and that they will pay for the remainder of my contract. I called my the current alarm company at that time and inquired the remaining months - which was 4 months - contract will expire on April 2015. I told ***** and ***** about this and ***** called or maybe pretended to call someone supposedly from their main office about my situation. ***** then said thats they will pay for the remaining of my contract as it was "aproved". ***** then said they - B&D SECURITY WILL TAKE OF IT. He then proceeded to continue with the sales and I asked t osign a contract. February 2015 came and I saw in my checking account that ****** was still charging me for their services. All this time I was thinking that they will TAKE CARE OF IT as they promised. My first call was sometime mid February 2015 and called ***** in whcih he said that he will talk to their company. Also called ***** ***** to inform him about the situation and to asked to a solution. The same answer I get - they will talk to their company and promise dot call me back in 20 MINUTES. Waited all day - NO CALL BACK. March 2015 came and I dont want to be double charge again - so I called ***** - No answer - even after multiple tries. I called *****-he answered and said he will call back because he actually on his way to their office and will talk personally to the person in-charge. Again, waited all day - NO CALL BACK. I tried to call their Field Supervisor ****** ******** - no answer after multiple tries. Then ****** ******** called back after about 20 minutes. I explained to him the situation. Then at this time - he made it llok like it was my fault. He asked me if I sent I letter to ****** to inform them that I will be cancelling their services. He also asked me if I sent a copy of the bill statement from ****** to them. I told him that this was never mentioned to me by ***** or ***** *****. They said that B&D Security will take care of it. He then proceeded to give me instructions on how to claim for refund - to send him or one of their representative a copy of my bank statement (since I opted for paperless billing) that they were taking money out of my checking account either thru fax or e-mail. I told ****** that I prefer to e-mail it to him since its faster and I dont have acccess to any fax. I asked and verified ****** ********'s e-mail address and proceeded to send the documents. There was no reply from ****** ******** after I sent the email that he received it. I waited for two days and thesn tried to call him up - no answer after multiple tries. This I keep doing once or twice per week since the beginning of March. I have not spoken to anyone of them since then. Just today I called their main office in Springfield, CA and talked to their representative - was put on hold for about 3 minutes and then was advised that someone will call me back. So up until now - I dont know if this will be given closure.

Desired Settlement
All I wasnt is to given the refund that was promised to me. A refund for the last four months that my previous alarm company (Vivint) has charged me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *****@mybdsecurity.com
******** was contacted back on March 4th, by a Supervisor, who advised ******** that we needed the final bill from his previous alarm company in order for us to review, confirm and approve any monetary refunds. ******** simply gave B&D a verbal amount that under no circumstances would we pay out on verbal amounts. ******** has yet to mail in or fax over a copy of the final cancellation bill from the previous alarm company as requested back on March 4th, 2015 by Supervisor at B&D Security. Therefore, if ******** wants resolution we need an actual invoice not a verbal amount. We do not assist in refunds on verbal amounts.

06/21/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A salesperson from this company told me untruthfully that he was an ADT security rep to gain my trust,then ran my credit without my knowledge or conse
The salesperson tried to scam me...saying he was an adt person who was there to upgrade my alarm panel because I had been a ******** for x number of years...I was reluctant to do business with him initially, but he insisted he worked for my present alarm company. A little while later I sensed he was trying to get to much personal information out of me...I sensed something wasn't right...I confronted him over what company he actually worked for at which point he said B&D security...I told him I wasn't interested and asked him to leave. This morning my credit reporting agency called me to say the received a credit (hard pull) inquiry from this company...I am very upset that this company would do this without my knowledge or consent. Completely unethical practice. Thanks ****

Desired Settlement
I want credit hit off my credit...And I want other customers aware of this scam

Business Response
We understand that we ran his credit. We would be happy to fix this problem, in order to do so we would need ******* to send us the report he received informing him that we ran his credit to ****@mybdsecurity.com. Once we receive this information we can then notify the credit company to remove this from his report.

06/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
B&D Security, Inc. and Monotronics are billing for services I do not owe. I get the run a around. I canceled the contract with the 3 day period.
B & D Security, Inc. ( B & D) (XXX) XXX-XXXX and Monitronics. I have called B & D Security, Inc. with no resolution. I canceled my agreement with the 3 day period via fax which did not work and e-mail. I spoke to **** (XXX) XXX-XXXX the sales rep which confirm they received the cancellation. Days later I spoke to B & D Security, Inc. as Monitronics was billing me a second time. They informed they had not received any notification form B & D. I called several times and days and finally spoke to someone they also confirm they had received they the cancellation within the 3 days period and told me they would follow up to ignore Monitronics calls. I spoke to my credit card company AMEX and opened and investigation. Amex ended up refunding me the charges because either company never replied to AMEX. This last time I spoke to Monitornics with ****** on 04/08/2016 around 10:13 am and they informed they would request B & D to communicate to them the cancellation as they till date had not received anything , I informed them I have proof of the 3 day cancellation and they said they need B & D to communicate to them the cancellation, ****** also attempted to call B & D with no success. So I conference both B & D and ****** from Monitronics in we spoke to a ***** and then a *******. ******* at B & D pretended to be able to help that she was not able to provide the information to Monitronics, ******** said the person to do that was not in the office. I ask to speak to some else such a manager or some one that could but with no result. They just keep giving me the run a around and I keep getting bills and past due bills which I do not want to affect my credit later on.

Desired Settlement
For them to stop billing me for something I do not owe and them not to report bad credit against me.

Business Response
We are aware and also confirmed that in fact ******* did cancel within the 3 day period. In order to stop the charges we need to schedule an appointment with him to remove the equipment that is currently installed in him home located at XXXXX ************************** XXXXX. We have been in contact with ******* up until April 8, 2016. We have tried to get a hold of ******* to schedule a day to come in to remove this equipment and he has not answered or returned any of our calls. The dates we called are *** 11, 2016 left a voicemail that day as well, *** 16, 2016 and also on *** 23, 2016 left a voicemail that day as well. We would appreciate if ******* could give us a call to schedule this so this issue can be resolved.

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The equipment provided by B&D is defected and their ******** service is below satisfactory.
About 1 month after getting system in, the battery was defected and had to be changed. couple of months after that, (approximately June 2014) the image sensor started malfunctioning. December 22, 2014 and several times before that but can't remember the dates, alarm went off detecting motion and no one was inside and we had just pulled off about 2 minutes or less. I do not own any type of animals (inside or outside). Both Monitronic and B&D was called and informed. Every time i call monitronic they tell me i need to call B&D and vice versa. But i did at least speak with someone at Monitronics. However, It took 3 weeks(12/22/14 - 01/09/15) before someone came to look at the system and nothing replaced or recommended. This was done by Monitronic because they couldn't get a hold of B&D. From that month on, same problems occurred. Malfunctioning of the image system which make the alarm go off and Sheriff dept called as well as them disturbing my contacts. I cancelled a couple of calls made to Sheriff dept so i wouldn't get billed by the City for false alarm, as they sent me a letter back on June 8, 2014 stating such. Monitronics and myself contacted B&D with no success. They never returned my calls or response to what monitronic called a ticket they generate for B&D to come out or to at least call me. B&D did neither. I have not, as of today, 01/20/2015, of them coming out to check and/or replace the system. I am not interesting in them coming at this point, just end my contract and come get their equipment. January 14, 17, 18, 19, and 20th the alarm went off detecting motion from the image sensor and no one was moving as well as the system was set where if we did get up we can because the only alarm that was set, was the doors and windows. Therefore, the alarm went off for no reason waking us up from our sleep. I do not have the model number, account number, purchase date, nor any other information on me at this time but i wanted to complete this before another day pass. I tried contacting B&D yesterday, 19th of January and was left on hold by ***** for 7 minutes without anyone coming back to the phone or anyone else assisting me and i called back with no answer, this was the last draw and is what assist me in making the complaint, I AM DONE. The Supervising Rep that signed me up was ***** (unk last name right now), other Reps that i spoke with at Monitronic, located in Dallas Tx, their main company contact, were also identifying themselves as Supervisors but not giving last names just saying they were in Dallas TX and told me they were contacting B&D themselves are as followed: ******************************* (who was the first one that gave me his id #XXXXX) ************(who also gave me his id #XXXXX and stated he was the manager from the Retention Custody Loyalty Svc Dept) where he asked me to give them a chance to resolve the problem on the 9th, Friday of January), but he will then be able to credit me for the time the service was interrupted or not working properly, but as i mentioned earlier, nothing was done except monitronic sent a technician out that just looked at the system without replacing or recommending anything because they said B&D should be the one to replace the system. *******,from monitronic is the last person i spoke with at monitronic and credited me 1 month, this was on January 18, 2015. The only live person i spoke with at B&D is ****** on 01/15/15 around noon and she stated she will send a message to technical ******* scheduling to have them call me and as of today, no call. Everyone at monitronic stated that the system was malfunctioning and needed to be repaired or replaced but no one has taken the responsibility of having that done. As i have not even had the system a year yet. I am not getting the proper monitoring and do not feel that my home is protected fully because it's always a false alarm activation and we will not know when there's a real alarm. I AM VERY DISSATISFIED AND UNHAPPY.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for B&D to come get their equipment and to end our contract without an early termination fee, to stop the automatic payment from my checking account and refund me my monthly payment for the last 2 months. If no refund is acceptable by B&D, that is fine, just come get their equipment and end our contract. I am no longer interesting in their equipment and lack of service. I AM VERY UNHAPPY AND DISSATISFIED. I am also seeking that they learn how to treat their customers with respect and to respond to their customers. Utmostly, To uphold their part of the contract for service.

Business Response
********'s alarm system was serviced on February 10, 2015. ******** was then resurveyed (recorded converstation) regarding the system and the service she had received. ******** states she in happy with service and the system is working properly. ******** was granted 2 months credit to her account for downtime. ********'s account as of 4/22/2015 has been purchased by Monitronics, and therefore any future issues or questions should be directed to Monitronics directly, per clause in customers' contract regarding sale of contracts.

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I changed Alarm companies from ADT to B& D since they offered a better price, I had have nothing but problems with alarm.
I signed contract with B& D in January 15 account under ******* ******** XXX XXX-XXXX, I have a business and home alarm with them within 4 months the battery went out on both accounts they said not under warranty its 30.00 for new battery I agree just to purchase for business to see if it was going to work because meanwhile every time we set alarm we would get a burglar alarm which was a false alarm, after installing new battery about 2 months ago they where not able to trouble shoot alarm over the phone, I haven't been able to have secure alarm at my business for 2 months because every time I arm it they call me with a false alarm, I explain the issue to them that I have valuable items at store I need alarm fixed as soon as possible, It took them a week to call me with an appt. Nobody showed up for appt., when I called them they said technician was backed up and not able to come, I been patient they reschedule my appt 2 days later, somebody came out we armed the alarm and we get a call again burglar alarm I went to the business as I have before cause I don't know if its a real burglar alarm or false alarm it turned out to be a false alarm again, I called to report problem this was last Thursday XX-XX-XX explain problem was never fixed asked for them to remove alarm and if we could get out of contract since they cannot fix problem and issue hasn't been resolved its going on 2 months, they said we can't get out of contract, they will give me a call for a technician to come out again, I called them today XX-XX-XX spoke to ******* at b&d (XXX) XXX-XXXX to follow up on appt. Said she didn't see any appts. She needs to check to see if maybe on Friday XX-XX-XX she will get back to me, she never called me back that means we are going withoutany security sservices since alarm doesn't work.

Desired Settlement
Since they don't have technicians in our area to service alarm within 1-2 business days of any problems, and we haven't been able to resolve current issue we would like to cancel services with no penalties due to current contract.

Business Response
Mr. ******** was first mailed a check in the amount of $139.34 for previous alarm cancellation, which they cashed. I also see that Mr. ******** was advised that he needed to contact ****tronics to do an over the phone troubleshoot with the service technician to narrow down the issue, if any. This was not done. Mr. ********, then called again, our service department was busy, but ******* called Mr. ******** and then someone hung up on her. ******* called back again and left a detailed message for Mr. ******** to call us back regarding the service. I personally talked to Mr. ******** and advised him that he needed to trouble shoot the alarm over the phone with **** and if they were unable to fix the issue over the phone, they would open up a service ticket assign it to B&D and we would have to service the account since they only give us 10 days tofix the problem. At this time Mr. ******** stated he would call back when he had time. A service ticket was never opened and upon confirming with ****tronics, Mr. ******** never contact them to advise them he had issues with the alarm. Protocol is for Mr. ******** to contact ****, troubleshoot over the phone and if no solution then the service ticket is open. I personally called Mr. ******** on 2 other occasions to find out if he had infact called **** and both times the person who answered: ********* ********'s fiance answered and on one ocassion hung up on me. I called again, and advised her that I needed to get in touch with him regarding the alarm and the service he said he needed that it was urgent. I have yet to receive a call back. If ******** failed to call ****tronics as instructed and a service ticket was never opened, then it is ********'s responsibility that his alarm is having issues. ******** does not answer and let's phone ring and send it to vm. I have tried contact ******** via my private cell phone but as soon as I state I am from B&D, they hang up. We are unable to assist ******** if he does not follow protocol.

12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We want out of our contract due to needing service on our alarm twice & technicians failing to call or show up for the issues. We are under contract with this alarm company, but we want out of it with no penalties due to the B&D failing to comply with our service issues in a timely manner. We will call them for a technician to come out to service our sensors and no technician will show up (mind you we have to take time of work to be able to open our home to them) nor call us to let us know they won't be showing up. When we call them to tell them they have to "research" the issue which means they end up calling us back in 3-5 days only to reschedule another appointment, but not before telling us it will STILL be $60 for a technician to come out. This is ABSOLUTELY ABSURD! We do not want these services any longer. We want to move to a different alarm company (locally) & be done with this mess. Including not having to pay the remainder of this contract (at 80% is what I hear) because we didn't fail to hold up to our end of the bargain.

Desired Settlement
Our of our contract with zero penalties.

Business Response
Account is over 1 year old. But account was given $151.98 in credits due to the Representative having offered the 2 months free and the ******** being charged in advance of the 2 months free, plus a $22.50 nsf charge. ******** is in good standing and passed * Q&A done by Monitronics to ensure he was satisfied with the account and the credits to his account. ******** passed *******

Page 1 of 6

Industry Comparison| Chart

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service, Security Systems Consultants, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.